Dick in the dock?

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super 14 on 17 Mar 2008 at 19:27
Tagged with :

Seems the Sharks coach may be forced to pay the price for some “over vigorous” attacking play.

This all obviously relates to the infamous “Bismarck Incident” (hereafter known as the “BI”) that occurred at Ellis Park on Saturday. A short synopsis of the BI follows, for those who may have missed it:

Bismarck trying to come back on 1) Sharks hooker Bismarck du Plessis goes off to have a nasty head wound stitched. The wound was caused by Keegan “Loskop” Daniel missing his intended target and head butting Bis instead.
2) Bismarck remains off the field for an extended period of time. By the time we see him jumping and waving his arms by the side of the field, referee Lawrence announces “then he can’t come back on” after consultation with the timekeepers. Seems the official reason was that du Plessis was off the field for more than the allowed fifteen minutes elapsed time.
3) Bismarck looks dejected; Dick Muir looks *very* angry and rushes off to the remonstrate with the timekeepers. Some unsavoury words follow.

Looking back at the incident, it seems that Muir probably got it wrong, albeit by a matter of a few seconds. His arguement, though, is that Bismarck was ready to go back into the field with a minute or two to spare, but missed the deadline through an appropriate breakdown in play taking too long to be called. He reckons that it was a petty, nitpicking decision to not allow du Plessis back onto the field and not in the spirit of the game. It appears as though Lions team doctor, the well-respected Jon Patricios, actually agreed. saying that he felt Bismarck had been patched up and returned to the side of the field with a good few minutes to spare.

What was completely inexcusable, though, was our fearless leader storming up to official timekeeper and calling him a “f*cking cheat”, as he is alleged to have done. Being upset is one thing and I can definitely sympathise with Muir in this regard, but such blatant abuse of a match official cannot be tolerated, particularly considering (in this case) it appears as though said official was correct. Correct according to the letter, if not the intention of the law, in any case. We have heard that an official investigation into the matter has been launched by SA refereeing manager, Andre Watson.

Dick – any censure that comes your way is likely to be a financial one and will no doubt amount to little more than a slap on the wrist. I urge you to go a step further and if the facts as reported are indeed true, issue a statement of contrition and apology. The Sharks are doing so much to improve the image of SA Rugby in the eyes of the world (an image that other team, in particular the bunch of blue misfits from Pretoria, seem intent on tarnishing). Let’s not have all that good work undone by a moment of rash petulance, shall we?


  • RobD has spoken ;)

  • Comment 1, posted at 17.03.08 19:33:25 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • There is no real precedent for this sort of thing and i would be interested to see what happens.

    Eddie Jones got fined $10,000-00 last season for an outburst after a match.
    Rassie Erasmus had an outburst but not public and nothing was said or done.

    Dick’s outburst was public as it was heard by some journo’s apparently.

    Would be interesting to see what happens. I should rephrase that actually. it would be interesting to see WHAT his penalty is.

    I believe he will get some sort of penalty of a monetary kind.

  • Comment 2, posted at 17.03.08 20:12:27 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • I think its inexcusable and I dont buy that it was “petty”.

    If the intention by those writing the law was that it should be 15 minutes then surely it should be 15 minutes?

    Not 15 minutes and 5 seconds but 15 minutes.

    Kicks dont get awarded when they almost go over.
    Players dont get tries for almost grounding the ball.

    Rules are rules and why would they put a time limit on it just for the referee then to go and ignore it “in the spirit of the game”. Thats absolute absolute nonsense.

    Dick, you were in the wrong, pack up your toys en sê mooi jammer.
    You’re surely a bigger man than that.

    And just one last thought – if you’re not happy with your second-choice hooker then maybe field a specialist hooker and not a wing-come-centre next time…

  • Comment 3, posted at 17.03.08 20:21:54 by VinChainSaw Reply
    VinChainSawTeam captain
  • was waiting for someone to take that line. Everything you say is, as usual, completely valid, Vin.

    Your last point is a good one… I wish they would stop being half-pregnant with Burden.

  • Comment 4, posted at 17.03.08 20:24:09 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • Players dont get tries for almost grounding the ball.

    Welllllllllllllllll On occasion they do. :wink:

  • Comment 5, posted at 17.03.08 20:24:48 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • The Bulls got a try last year… Oh nevermind

  • Comment 6, posted at 17.03.08 20:46:06 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • I think Craig was doing a fine job anyway.

    KSA – I must agree with you, I have seen plenty of tries getting awarded for almost grounding the ball. :wink:

  • Comment 7, posted at 17.03.08 21:14:27 by Nessa Reply

    NessaCurrie Cup player
  • Sour grapes the lot of you… ;)

  • Comment 8, posted at 17.03.08 21:15:02 by VinChainSaw Reply
    VinChainSawTeam captain
  • Sorry Vin – just pulling that chain of yours! :wink:

    I think Dick should have been clear on the fact before he started performing on the sideline. It is not very sportsmanlike I agree and not something that should happen. I did feel it was not like him though – so I automatically thought he was right. Just shows you!

  • Comment 9, posted at 17.03.08 21:17:44 by Nessa Reply

    NessaCurrie Cup player
  • Lets hope Dick says he is sorry, he is a great coach…

  • Comment 10, posted at 17.03.08 21:36:57 by walter van Reply

    walter van Lions WorldCurrie Cup player
  • Walter, you were actually present at the time, not so?

  • Comment 11, posted at 17.03.08 22:06:56 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.