Vodacom Western Province scored two sensational long-range tries on their way to a 28-18 (halftime 9-10) victory over the Platinum Leopards to extend their winning streak to four matches in a Vodacom Cup match in Potchefstroom on Friday.
Province sprang into a 6-0 lead after the sin-binning of Leopards scrumhalf Theo van Wyk for a spear tackle on opposing centre Dabeon Draghoender in the opening two minutes.
Flyhalf Isma-eel Dollie kicked two penalties while the Leopards were down to 14 men and added a third shortly after Van Wyk’s return.
Leopards flyhalf Clayton Durand narrowed the gap by three points with his first penalty midway through the opening half and missed with a long-range second attempt before the first try of the match.
Leopards fullback Anvor Schooney launched an up-and-under down the left-hand touchline and when opposite number Wylie Human lost the ball, Schooney was on hand to pick up the pieces and scamper in from 30 metres.
Durand converted from in front of the posts to put his side into the lead for the first time – an advantage they held until 17 minutes into the second half.
Western Province had a succession of phases in the Leopards 22 until Dollie swung a wide pass to the left where Human showed good strength and presence of mind to ground the ball after slithering to within a metre of the line under a Leopards tackle.
Durand kicked a second penalty seven minutes after the try to close the gap to a single point before a sensational breakout try by Province.
Replacement scrumhalf Paul Delport – who produced a dazzling 15 minutes – ran a free-kick from his own 22 and found replacement centre PJ Vermeulen who flicked a reverse pass to Human. The fullback kicked ahead from halfway and the bounce sat up kindly for him to scuttle in from 20 metres.
A brilliant individual effort from half-way by Province wing Zhahier Ryland, bursting the line on halfway and then spinning away from would be tacklers to score, settled the game although there was a final consolation for Leopards centre Deon van Rensburg.
SCORERS:
Leopards – Tries: Anvor Schooney, Deon van Rensburg. Conversion: Clayton Durand. Penalties: Durand (2).
Western Province – Tries: Wylie Human (2), Zhahier Ryland. Conversions: Isma-eel Dollie (2). Penalties: Dollie (3).

Things seem to be coming right in WP Rugby, at long last…
Wylie Human?
As long as Rassie keeps him as far away from the Stormers team as possible…
wpw,
Sien “Kakerlakkie” het nogal weight opgetel… He’s defenitely not on “tik” …
Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth… at least he’s scoring tries
BTW, he surely do have a great step…Extra classes @ Murray dancing studio perhaps…
Charlie
It must be all the dop and pork… I heard he’s a waterslams…
I know Rob… I would still however prefer Lawson or Frolick in his place…hell even Joe Pietersen will do a better job.
wpw,
BHWAAAAAAAAA ….
Hopefully not papsak…
waterslams? What means that?
Jinne, you cullits have a completely separate language, you know that?
Who’s Lawson, BTW? And whatever happened to Frolick? I really rated that laaitie a lot.
Rob
It means he’s not a committed muslim.
Now watch how quickly saffa appears…
wpw,
At least he got a lekker no.1 haircut, daai geblowde hare het bietjie moffierag gelyk…
wpw,
BTW, Delport het nogal daai game ko’ change, daai ander boeta op 9 was mos gevrek my broe…
Anyone got the full Wee Pee lineup? Vodacom Cup must be weaker than I thought.
Interesting to see that Problems are winning some games though. Maybe things ARE improving in Goat country!
Human is actually looking decent at fullback hey.
Rob,you seriously didnt know what a “waate” was? Yoh
PJLD,
Da’ wil hy net part vannie “Cullits” geclass word…Jirre…
Where is John Daniels nowdays anyway?
ok – so someone help me figure this out? Where does the term come from? And howcome some of you are moslem and other christian? Is there a lot of tension between the two groups?
15. Wylie Human
14. Terry Jacobs
13. Dabeon Draghoender
12. Morgan Newman
11. Zhahier Ryland
10. Isma-eel Dollie
9. Alastair Siegelaar
8. Justin Melck
7. Tyrone Holmes
6. Conraad Britz
5. Rito Hlungwani
4. Francois Van Der Merwe
3. Ruaan Du Preez
2. Hanyani Shimange (C)
1. Michael De Neully Rice
Reserves
16. Simon Westraadt
17. Simo Mpungose
18. Nico Du Plessis
19. George Earle
20. Paul Delport
21. PJ Vermeulen
22. Hayden Groepes
Draghoender? That some sort of a chicken?
Draghoender???
WP have a transexual chicken playing outside centre???
Jinx Rob you biscuit!
Hi Guys…
BF – i dont know John Daniels….but i sure know his brother Jack,…rather well
Eish Rob… I heard the term while growing up… Cape Flats slang if you ask me…
17.03.08 15:24:14 – robdylan
Serious question?
Ice,
And a cousin called…Eish…
Rob,
It’s like not being “pure” or “original”…
serious question, Claytie… I am always interested to find out more about the peoples of SA
Ja, well when it’s Eid for the Muslims then suddenly all these “waterslamse” appear, needing to take leave from work…Jislaaik…
Big Fish,
And nowadays a over fed “Kakkerlakkie” on the wing…
Watered down Rob? Remember that particular expression?
These Affies boys…
Ice, I am not particularly surprised.
Do you perhaps know his neighbour, the retired Navy officer Captain Morgan?
Was watching the Vodaconm Cup on Friday, prefered the Afrikaans comentators, Toks Van Der Linde keeps refering to the no.12 as Morgan Freeman, was quite funny ‘coz he did it a few times…
BTW, that young energetic referee had a good debut, think he is Mr. Jason Japhta / Jafta from SWD…
The ref was 22 but looked 12, kinda like me at 22.
Big Fish,
Still searching for the ship on the rocks… Ai,ai,ai…
Captain Morgan and Ice came along way, but the Captain started getting a bit “soet” for Ice’s liking and evil ways so she opted for a rather stronger man, Jack ,although she enjoys having he heart RED hot cold as well…
Was happy that Delport looked in good nik,because he was woeful when coming back from illness last year.
PJLD,
Verwaande ding jy…
Ma’ lekker jy meisie…
PJLD,
I think the antibiotics are now out of his system…
Problem with having your heart Red is that you can breath fire for the next 2 days.
BTW BF – why were you not particularly surprised??
What’s with the sponsor’s name infront of the team name? I know they pay quite a bit to sponsor the sides, but hell.. Not even the Americans do it. Or do they?
That Blondie in Vetkoekpaleis named Boeboe, always says that champange causes her to have a change in behaviour, table dancing in the nude…
17.03.08 15:52:55 – Charlie
LMAO!!!
Ice – I thought you picked up from my avatar already – I am very smart!
Lions…Auto & General…think the supporters are oblidge to specify the T.V. & Remote on the insurance policy…
Big Fish,
Never misses a episode, Worsie are now Worsman…
Charles!!!!Behave!!
PJLD – thats why only accasional – as I normally have to stay indoors after having a heart painted red…i think they call it “Fragile” or something…
My Dear Big Fish – you cannot be very smart if you do not realise that O am a blonde!!! WTF with the big words???? LOL
PJLD – Fire and Ice???
Ice,
Somebody had to break through the “ice”….
Worsman…die instrument baba…
Ice can burn too, you know!!!
you turn your back for what, five minutes?
Ouch, dangerous…
Lekker meisie, nou toe nou…
Well Charlie – to know me is to fear me….
Dear Mr. Rob,
I apologise…
Sorry won’t loose it again…
To be feared, you need to earn some respect…
Ag Charlie, his bark is worst than his bite!!
Hierie Ice vrou het sekerlik alreeds bietjie diep in die bottel gekyk…
Ice – blondes may have more fun; but the darker the berry the sweeter the juice!
Never turn your back on a Cape Town born man Rob – the experience can be life-changing…
Lyk ek vi jou soes ‘n blou bul, huh??
Blou perhaps, a bull, surely not – your feminine charms are not to be lightly disregarded I am sure.
Ice, is daar nog Blou Bulle, seker vaal Bulle na die groot skrik Saterdag teen die Reds…
no – it’s fine
A bit of fun is mandatory
I am not interested in the berry….
So I’ll take the fun..
Cheers people – have a good evening – I need to go sober up!
I’m still not sure what we have been talking about here, but hell, it was fun!
Berry hell!
Ok people – I am off too.
Enjoy the evening everybody!
Sober up? Good day at work, Ice?
Well everbody I’m off..Have a sober funfilled evening…Chat again tomorrow… Cheers my friends…
cheers vrinne
Geez you guys lost me alway…i need to learn to speak cape…ice and red heart….mmmm need to meet up again girl. hey by the way answer da mail man.
Takes years of learning Debs.
Maar orrite ons kan ‘n plan maak dan rik die ding duidelik.
Ho$ paggamies!
Jirre know i need seeerious translation…note to myself..buy book how to talk cape for blonde
And here’s me snoozing on the couch instead of being in Sharksworld.
MAN!!!!!! you snooze you lose.
hehe dont worry KSA i realised that too….
But heck who can blame us here in Joburg…it is dark, cold and rainy…worse than pommie weather
Next time i post a thread about a trip to Newlands ill send you the translation on the side.
Cheers peeps, its been a long 10.5 hrs
im going crazy
tjeers claytie
Cheers Clayton
Do all you guys know each other here..
Okay let me try it too….Cheers Clayton…
WP & Boland is going great guns in this compo. Boland lose his first one againts the Bulle 25-18.
This year is Paarl Gimmies 150th and Paarl Rugby Clubs 125th celebrations.
Those living in the WC and want to see some good rugby over the weekend, Gimmies have a big U16 tournament going from all school across SA going.
The program
http://www.paarlgim.co.za/hskool/nuus_artikel.php?nuus_id=89
Hey Sharkie/Debs
Most of us were mates on another website and then got fedup and decided to move.
Actually a rather unique situation as all the Sharksrugby “family” know each other and all the rest of us seem to know each other from elsewhere.
So we re two happy families, united as ONE!!! A world in Union!!!! Oh hell – now i start to cry…*sniff sniff** that just brought 1995 memories back!!!! bwaaaaahhhhhh
thanks to a few brave pioneers who have feet in both camps