In the Black and White corner, weighing in at 122kgs, we have Epi Taione, the Sharks latest acquisition, fresh from his cup-winning feats with Sanyo White Knights.
Climbing off a plane from Japan where the season has finally come to a close, Epi arrived at The Absa Stadium Durban to meet a barrage of media on Tuesday.
“He has arrived fit and raring to go, it’s a real bonus and good to have him here,” said coach Dick Muir.
“It’s been a long wait from our side but we knew that worst case scenario was that he’d only come now, but we believe he will make a big impact. When we looked at contracting him, we took into consideration his commitments in Japan and he wanted to fulfill those. They did extremely well, winners of the knockout competition and runners up in the league.”
Although it is his first taste of Super Rugby, this is not the big Tongan’s first visit to South Africa – he was here with the Tongan National team, based in Jo’Burg in 1999 ahead of the World Cup.
“It’s good to be back,” he enthused. “I grew up in Tonga and because Tongans support New Zealand and Australian sides in the Super 14, it now looks like I’m playing for the enemy.
“But this is the most exciting time in my rugby career – to wear the shirt that greats in rugby have before. It’s a massive challenge for me, and the hardest will be getting into the team.”
He admits that he has kept a watchful eye on the Sharks’ progress in the competition, and believes that the challenge facing him to break into the side is, “possibly the hardest ever, maybe more so than getting into the Tongan national squad. But I’m looking forward to it and hopefully get a chance.”
His recollection of the Tongan match against the Springboks at the World Cup is that, “It was an exciting time for us and we probably caught the Boks napping. They didn’t start with their first choice side, we knew those players hadn’t played for a month, that’s why we decided to put our strongest side out. It would have made a mockery of the system if we won. I even changed my name to sponsor the team.”
Having been named one of the five finalists of the IRB Player of the Rugby World Cup, he certainly has plenty to offer the Sharks.
“We have contracted him as a forward,” explains Coach Dick Muir, “but it’s nice to have a player of his stature, it gives us an opportunity to take him on tour where guys like him, Craig Burden, Keegan Daniel and Ryan Kankowski can fluctuate between the forwards and backs, because we’ve been promoting guys being more versatile.” Muir confirmed that while Taione has also played at centre (against the Springboks at the World Cup), the Sharks will play him at 7 or 8.
“It doesn’t matter to me where I play,” says the genial giant. “The game’s changed; I’ve played inside centre, but in the knockout stages in Japan for Sanyo, I played blindside flank and eighthman.
“For me it doesn’t matter – in the modern game you never want to be seen as a specialist – I consider myself a rugby player first and foremost.”
Although he comes to the Sharks as a stranger, the Sharks are no strangers to him. Sanyo team-mate Tony Brown who previously spent a season with the Sharks and is now with the Stormers on their overseas tour had only good things to say about the Sharks.
“Tony mentioned how great the atmosphere is here, that he was in love with this place, so I have some insights. I also played with Warren Britz and Mark Andrews at Newcastle so the Sharks are not totally new to me.
“I am also looking forward to playing alongside someone like Frans Steyn, he’s one of the most exciting players in the world right now. It’s exciting to be here, to have a team-mate like Frederic Michalak who is a good player – AJ Venter too.”
He admits that although he has another year of his contract with Sanyo, he is “Finished playing in Japan.” His pregnant fiancé is with him in Durban and if he likes it here, he may well stay on past the Super 14.
Commercial Manager Rudolf Straeuli who looks after player contracts confirmed that Taione only has a Super 14 contract with the Sharks, “but if he wants to stay on and play in the Currie Cup, like Frederic, we’d be glad for them to make Durban their home.”
Hot off the presses of www.sharksrugby.co.za, written by Michael Marnewick.

Obviously there is a lot more brain in that body than someone would give him credit for.
Why on earth would a WP supporter be snooping around the Sharks’ official site?
Stormers
Oh and Welcome to Durban Epi. Hope you do great things down there.
Dammit you beat me by seconds!SECONDS!!
122kg’s
I suppose we have to stop refering to Dries and JP as tighthead centers now hey.
Was in the mood for sushi KSA.
At least your Wild Knight is functioning,we waited so long and our one is broken.
seconds? the first two posts have identical timestamps down to the second!!!!!! that was by MILLI seconds dude
can’t bring myself to even TRY the stuff.
Welcome to the Sharks Epi!
Interesting that he is looking forward to playing with young Frans.
very interesting!!!!!!!!!!! could he be playing center?
Seems like he can play anywhere!
You never know! Yet another candidate fighting for the No. 12 jersey.
Sushi rocks!
Man, we are going to kick ass in the Currie Cup
18.03.08 20:22:03 – KSA Shark ©
NOOOOOIT
Seriously,where do you think he will get the most time,u need flanks like you need a hole in the head and you guys are pretty settled at center arent you?
They did extremely well, winners of the knockout competition and runners up in the league.”
They topped the league just as the Sharks did and then lost in the finals just as the Sharks did. Their league works on the same system as the S14. He should feel right at home with the Sharks
yeah we have an abundance of flanks even down to Deysel on the bench we have quality. So it will be difficult to slot him in there.
At center we have the ever recurring Barrit v Steyn v Adi argument for 12 and not adding Taione to the equation is not going to be easy.
The bright side is we have rotation ability without weakening the team now.
Time to lend Deysel to another team too. Perhaps the Blue morons could use him. They need Strauss as well.
Do we still have Strauss?
I think so. He played for the wildebeest against griquas
yoh, now this is a helluva good buy to take on the crusaders at 7 if he has anything on the other polynesian wreckers like the tualigi brothers, etc.
6. botes 7. epi 8. kanko – just about perfect imo.
With daniel still to come on
at least now AJ can concentrate on playing lock, which is where we are a bit short this season. looking forward to seeing this oke play.
man we have a good squad. i think it was rob who said that while out first 15 might not match the crusaders man for man, no other team has a squad like ours. i agree with this. with the sharks i am actually keen for the subs to come on, especially our super-super-super-super sub AD.
i hope AD gets a bok call up this year, he deserves it.
man this oke must have stuck out like a sore thumb in japan.
Goodmorning everybody…
Good morning…and welcome to sunny Durbs Epi…
great addition to a great squad… Muir sure knows how to give himself selection problems
…i can see a lot more arguments here in the coming weeks,on who should be left out
BS – the sun has come out briefly this morning in Jhb for the first time in about 10 days. It is wonderful!
Nessa- we’ve had our share of bad weather in the past week…bad storms…
I saw him on the news last night… this oke is HUGE!!!
BS – we have had this continuous drizzle and darkness with temperatures of around 16 (highest). Have had our heaters on and taken our jackets out the cupboards. And it is only March! Think we are going to have a freezing winter.
wpw – he is 3 times my weight.
g’morning Nessa and BS… i’m going to miss watching a Sharks game this coming weekend… hoping the Tahs can pull off a long shot and put one over the Crusaders…. also like to see the Lions have a good game against the Reds
Sypker – I know, and we have a long weekend and would have had extra time to watch rugby! Oh well.
Would be nice if the Lions could beat the Reds – soften them up for us for next week. Don’t want them too over confident after their win over the Bulls last week.
I added the Sharks try from Saturday for download on my site, go have a look!
apparently Epi is 1.93
hope your sunny weather holds out Ness
Spyker – don’t relish having an Easter Egg hunt in my garden for the grandchildren with gumboots and umbrellas!
Walter – where is your site?
http://www.transvaal.co.za
Look for the link to the downloads section at the bottom of the front page
but sad that I won’t be seeing the Sharkies…guess the boys need their rest…
Can’t agree more SPYKER…I hope the Waratahs and Lions can have a massive games. Even if the Lions can’t pull off a win but they need to rough those Reds up for us.
Not a difficult squad to choose at all… nice continuity and no injuries leading into the tour…
1Beast
2Bismark
3BJ
4AJ
5Muller
6Botes
7Epi-Tione-mutther-fluffer
8Kanko
9RK
10Frog
11Stefan
12Barrit
13WM
14JPP
15Steyn
16JDP
17Burden
18ABVD
19Daniels
20RP
21ADI
22Odwa
I’d prefer to start JDP over Beast…
I wouldn’t start Epi next week – would have him coming on from the bench.
Ness… the sun always shines on easter sunday.. have a great easteregg hunt
walter… great clip thanks, great try…. hope your boys can put a second good game together and go one better by winning
BS…100%
good morning everyone
bryce why drop daniel??? kids been a absolute star for us??
Thank you Walter – there is nothing like a try! I hate watching games that are just one penalty after the other.
Sypker – let’s hope so.
at 1,93m 122kg this guy must just have immense strength.
Not to put a dampener on things but can he carry that weight around for 80minutes at the pace required of the S14.
Maybe he will/should be another supersub in the Adi Jacobs style.
SL – my thoughts exactly!
i think Muir will give Keegan another start….good point KSA, Epi should make another great sub
No reason to drop Daniel, that’s is one of the reasons I think Taione will be a sub
BULLDOZER…to do the final damage …
to me i would have epi covering center and flank on bench
also is carstens not back from injury? ruan needs to start asap, he is my hero (now that percy has left us).
He’s not expecting to waltz into the starting line-up according to an article I read somewhere.
Hi kners, i think Carstens will join the squad tour and be brought in when someone needs a rest or there’s an injury
he wont just walk in trust me
he even gonna find it hard to make the bench
we all talking here but has anyone ever thought who will have to be dropped??
also what if he dont gel in our style that good??
also there is carstens comming back
so it also depends on what bench dick wants or needs
is it 3 backs 4 forwards ?
5 forwards 3 backs??
Deon has played two Wildebeest games now and is looking good – don’t know if he will play next weekend – but I would put my money on it that he will go overseas with the squad (as you said Spyker).
Someone was saying on the Sharks websit that it would be a good idea to play players like Sykes, Craig, Ruan, Deon, etc. for the Beeste this weekend to give them a bit of a run. Think that would be a good idea.
And as the Beeste are playing at home this weekend and the guys won’t have to travel – even better!
great idea Ness
Until one of them gets injured
Thought of that RD – but think it would be a good idea to give some of them a run as they haven’t played much in recent weeks.
“bryce why drop daniel??? kids been a absolute star for us??”
This is the modern game… 22 man 85min rugby… being dropped is playing for the Beeste… my interchanges are equally important to beating the big boys… Robbie Deans (the AB coaches too) have maintained this philosphy from the turn of the century…
How many games have we and the Boks lost in the last few minutes for playing 15 man rugga
bryce
But our new coach has made it very clear that we will be playing 15 man rugby now that he is coach.
RobD… scaredy-cat
he he….
We can maybe try play that Steyn okie back into form.
I’m sure he’ll be a good enough 12 for the Wildebeest.
so you noticed i’m a Steyn fan
Still having a go at Frans RobD…
We’d really look dumb if Steyn got injured in a Wildebeest game…
I think EPI will fit in with our style of play…he doesn’t have to do much…just need him to run through those walls…(Super-super-sub)
I’m sure he’ll be a good enough 12 for the Wildebeest.
19.03.08 10:18:43 – robdylan Edit
You DON’T want that!!!!!!!!! Once DM sees him at 12 then your love child will be upset at having to play VC for the rest of the Season
“I’m sure he’ll be a good enough 12 for the Wildebeest.”
12, 15, 10, 12… no wonder he’s not in form…
122kg, is that all?
Shame – poor Fransie. This is exactly what we didn’t want for him. We are confusing the hell out of him. How can we expect him to settle into a position when we keep moving him?
Is he really heavier than Jannie Dup?
Rachel – he is only 80 kg’s heavier than me!
of course the point was to give game time to players who’ve been missing out… Steyn’s second only to Schalk, gives more in one game than most players do in two
42kg?
Eat something woman.
Spyker – you’re saying Steyn is also a headless chicken? LOL!!!
Spyker – I know, Fransie needs a rest, just pulling RD’s chain.
Molweni.
Welkomen Epi – methinks you well be very well-managed by our team, and I hope you run absolutely rampant –
6 Daniel
7 Taione
8 Kanko
Subs – take your pick
Think I cracked the 40kg barrier sometime during sub A or B.
Rachel – I am little, that’s all.
RD – now don’t ruin a perfectly good friendship!!!
42kg? Eat something woman.
19.03.08 10:39:19 – racheltjiedebeer
BS – no, 42kg’s on the dot!
Hi BF!
RD… I do think he could slow down a fraction and make some better choices
Think I cracked the 40kg barrier sometime during sub A or B.
19.03.08 10:40:07 – racheltjiedebeer
Guess you would give Paddy a run for his money in a tackle
there we go… now we can all be happy again.
I don’t doubt he’s a great talent. But talented is as talented does and right now he ain’t doing much that’s useful.
19.03.08 10:43:50 – spykerbaard
You sound like my first girlfriend.
42kg Nessa? Wow, you must do lots of exercise.
I think I may weigh 42kg on the moon.
Im gonna make the most of this weekend – Im glad there is no rugby to stop me going out.
Anyone up for a party in CT?
How about it Nessa? Are you up for painting the town red?
And Tiger?
BF – no exercise at all. A few years ago I decided that I wanted to go to gym to tone up – lost so much weight I had to stop – much to the disgust of the people around me who lost very little weight.
Always up for a party – I even to to ladies night with the girls in Jhb!
Will just have to hop on a plane to CT – no problem.
BF… I hope you took notice
‘Paddy’ would probably put me in a wheelchair.
See – got so excited about going to a party with BF – that I can’t type anymore.
“to to” …
Rachel – he would flatten me like a pancake. On second thoughts – he would just nudge me out of the way and I would land the other side of the field.
RD… take another look at Frans’ try (walter has the video clip) and tell me again he aint doing much useful
Spyker – I always listen. But perhaps the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak?
B-S – of course!
Nessa – CT will definitely be good fun this weekend, and I have some reason to celebrate, so it would be a great party!
Anytime you make a trip down here, you know at least one place you can wipe the dust off your feet!
sorry.. Sharks try, Frans’part in the buidup
BF – why, is it your birthday?
Thanks for the invite – will bring my sidekick with me.
Nessa – I think you mean you’d land in CT…
ah yes… I think I have already conceded that point, spyker. Frans did some beautiful work in the buildup to that try.
Runs like an outside back, doesn’t he? I really think we need to force the lad to stop kicking and rather keep the ball in hand – but in SPACE. This implies he needs to be further out that 12… I wonder if he wouldn’t do well at 13? Perhaps moving Murray one spot out?
Not yet Nessa – but I look for any reason to celebrate life – your arrival will more than sufficient!
BS – exactly! Don’t joke – one of the guys at work slapped me on my back while passing me in the passage and I landed in the potplant at the end of the passage. Shame – he felt so bad.
BF – how sweet is that.
When is your birthday. Tiger and I are both in April.
I must say i dont know what the answer is RD, just know i’m happy he’s there, and hoping and expecting him to sort out his problems
ok – need to do a bit of work. Catch you guys later
cheers, i’m also out of here
This on our board at work this morning:
“super 14 news
ENS girl power!
Vanessa Ross is our star player this week in the Super 14 with her spot-on prediction of the top 3 teams in the league! We bet our ENS guys are feeling a little bit threatened by our girl’s talented prediction and are quite sure they have gone into ‘high alert’ at this stage in the game! Not to worry boys…again, the competition is far from over and you MAY not be beaten by a girl in the end!!”
Hahaha!
Well done Nessa!
My birthday is in July – I am Cancer the crab.
Coincidentally, I love shellfish, and am also quite partial to a good, hot crab curry.
Yummy!
Well done Nessa…
RD – not too shabby hey – considering I am one of the only ladies that entered the competition.
We don’t have anyone in the family with a birthday in July – we have my little grandson in June and my brother in August.
I am a Taurus (unfortunately).
A hot crab curry sounds great – just on lunch time and now I am really starving!
Ness – you know your stuff, all right
I’m also starving now… Have some homemade bobotie from a friend’s mom who took mercy on a bachelor. Almost time for tucker.
Nessa, nothing wrong with Taurus – complicated folk though.
My little girl is a Taurean and I tell you, her stubbornness is driving me mad!
Ness – if you’re the sort of Taurean that was born in April, it means you’re on the Aries cusp, to an extent.
Shit… remind me NEVER to argue with you
RD – you are all so funny!
I am very stubborn and once a friend, always a friend, but if you annoy me – heaven help you, that’s all I can say.
I am the end of April (25th) so I am quite close to Aries.
Tiger is an Aries as she is on the 12th of April. A much nicer star sign.
Aries? Nah – I don’t generally get on with them, but that’s cos I’m the polar opposite (Libra).
In fact, I am almost exactly 6 months away from Tiger.
Funny story, actually… My birthday is 13 October and a friend of mine once dated a girl who was born on 13 April. Man, did we ever battle to get along!
Rob my bra, so you’re also a Libra
RD – oh my word, Libra! I don’t get on with Librans. Although, funny enough it is just Libran women I don’t get on with – the men seem to be different. Are you very picky? A neatness freak?
You are born on my parent’s anniversary.
I am indeed, KE… we’re good people, no? When is your birthday?
Aaah Libra – the star sign most inclined to homosexuality…
Taurus and Aries – bull and goat.
You come from good farming folk perhaps Nessa?
Rob, 5th
BF
“Aaah Libra – the star sign most inclined to homosexuality…”
Don’t get your hopes up. Rob and I don’t swing that way.
BF – yup! We even have horses at home. Tiger rides.
Off to get some lunch – as my grandson would say “later” …
No – I am a closet perfectionist, though, but not a neat freak by any means!
Rob and you?
Oh, how sweet!
Enjoy lunch Nessa – I’m off as well.
Later!
Fish lives in hope
When did this change to Just STARS. Just for fun?
didn’t you get the memo, BS?
Stars Are Blind – by Paris Hilton
let me get this topic back on track whilst everybody is gone for lunch…
Let’s see…EPI TAIONE was born on the 2nd of March…
(PISCES)
element: Water (Ok…not bad…)
ruling planets: Neptune
Symbol: The Fish (would’ve preferred shark…but fish is close enough)
Your stone: Bloodstone (scary)
Life Pursuit: To avoid feeling alone and instead feel connected to others and the world at large (in rugby language…he won’t run away from his support)
Pisces Secret Desire: To live their dreams and turn fantasies into realities. (make that turn SHARKS fantasies into reality)
nice work, Blackshark!
Thanx Rob
Pisces Secret Desire: To live their dreams and turn fantasies into realities”
I take it this doesn’t apply to the other star signs…gees now I have to re-learn my purpose in life…cos I always thought it was the one mentioned above.
Or…maybe Pisces folks are the only ones who keep it as a secret…
just call him Blackstar, or would you prefer Starshark?
what is your sign, BS? And no – this is not a pickup attempt
19.03.08 13:39:08 – robdylan
almost laughed myself into my epos.
19.03.08 13:39:08 – robdylan
almost laughed myself into my epos.
19.03.08 13:41:12 – Kal-El
Half man…half horse…(not exactly a bad combo)
My nephew and niece are both Sagittariuses.
Almost all my nephews and nieces are Librans – 1,3,13,20 & 22 Oct. Also my son (3/10).
Nephew and niece 20&21 oct…
Guys… I have just added a function so that you can update your birthday on the user profile page. Please go test it out and tell me if it works?
I will build a birthday calendar into the site when I have time
Eldest daughter = Sag, Youngest = Cancerian (shame), dad = Libra (geez can never make up his mind, Moi = Da Bull – but thats as close to bull as you will get me!
My gay friend is a scorpio.
RD – you are such a wizz!
Ice – it’s you and me (full of bull that is).
I like your “profile pic”, racheltjiedebeer!!
Hey Ice…
Thanks Ice.
Ness – us two are like bulls in a china shop!! So dont make us MAD!!!!
Howzit Blackshark!!! You are so scarce nowadays??? Whats up?
I’m cool…just hiding out here…
As long as you are somewhere we can find you!
You ALWAYS behave….
get a room guys!
You ALWAYS behave….
19.03.08 14:59:15 – Ice
get a room guys!
19.03.08 15:05:42 – Kal-El
Why, are you and Rob getting uncomfortable?
get a room guys!
19.03.08 15:05:42 – Kal-El
have to go…chat when I get home…
Kal-El…we are not “guys”
Goodday My Clever Friend!!
BF,
No, I want the room number.
OK – “Get a room g-ice”
So Ice is a Taurus as well.
Ice, forgive kal-el – he is a WP fan – the issue of gender has never been particularly clear to them!
Clark, this is payback for you not posting here for a while. What gives?
I am…I am indeed…stubborn little shit, me!
Clever, Kal-el!!
Ice, do not listen to my learned friend. I do not have any relation with that team.
BF, don’t tell me you missed me. Cause that would be plain wrong.
I must admit that I did miss you.
But not to worry, next time I will aim from closer.
Ice, that statement was made with my best Clinton voice.
BF,
Must be tough shooting from inside the closet???
LMAO!
Nice one Clark!
Now now Ice – do you often find yourself having feelings of intense dread? Have you considered the irony of having a nick lice “Ice” (denoting a degree of frigidity) and yet displaying such volatile or “hot” reactions?
Or perhaps your sub-conscious is making itself heard in that ice is merely frozen water, and water remains the most unstable and variable of elements.
Not to mention that frozen water might just be frozen on top, while the vast mass of water remains seething and flowing below – the concept of a veneer in other words.
Most curious indeed…
Off Course…its ALL about the Irony…as I said before Ice can be very hot too…
Are you saying I am Unstable?? And False???
BF,
That’s a mouthful. Just be frank and ask your ask.
Something like: “Hoesit stukkie, smaak djy afkoel met ys oor djou lyf.”
You have hurt my feelings….**ice-heart broken**
Hiesô Ice, vat die Patex en get yourself 2gether!
Stukkie??? Stukkie Ys?
No Ice, YOU are the “Stukkie”
Your invoice is in the mail.
19.03.08 15:33:30 – Big Fish
You such a show off!!!
Need to take my wife and kid to the airport. See you guys later
I Know what a “stukkie” is – just never thought of myself as one!
Geez – warra you charging for???
BF,
What’s up? Djy briekie kind se hat, en da vedwyn djy somme!
for all the
’s
Oh – Ok – I am willing to pay for some laughter!!
Kind? Why Thank you!!!
Ice, How did you know I will accept payment in kind?
Dis FB se ou laai daai, Kal-el…jaag aan en jaag weg!
Mis-Coomunication!!!!!
19.03.08 15:55:45 – Kal-El
smoooooth!!!
Ice,
Careful what you wish for…
what up uu-pee-uu?
Smooth?? Ek dink die KIND is voorbarig!!
When did I make a wish?
Ice, YOU said “Kind?” Maar jy’s reg, ek het nogal gedink jy’s voorbarig.
Jy’s the clever Trevor!!
You know I meant Kind as in yuo called me a kind….
And dont come and
– you started!!
OK Ice, your time’s up, but if you make an appointment with my secretary I’ll gladly squeeze you in 2morrow.
Ciao All!
How Thoughtful!!
Cheers!
Bye everybody!!!!
19.03.08 15:48:41 – wpw
What you on about person?
Sorry lady and gentleman – had to see a Magistrate quickly.
I see I missed the party. Is ok – I are a party on my own anyway.
N-Ice, I am sorry for any and all offence/ distress caused.
Kindly accept my sincere apologies and this complimentary bottle of chardonnay as a sign of my contriteness.
Wheres the bottle?
i did not hold out much hope against the Saders and perhaps some of the other power packs on tour, but if EPI is anything like his stats suggest, it is just what is required. Botes can go full tilt for 50mins and then Daniels for the last 30. AJ can play at lock who with Muller offer the right exp to the team. Carstens workrate is bigger then anyone’s and is ideally suited to the ELVs.
I think this is a very good squad…possibly the only thing missing is a real sharp winger to cause problems outwide, but its very very good.