The Brumbies host the Sharks in Canberra.
Will the Sharks grab the opportunity to close the gap on the Crusaders?
Will the Brumbies ensure there are no unbeaten teams in this year’s S14 after this weekend?
Kick-off in Canberra at 11:40 SA time.
Ref: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
TJs: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand), Grant MacNeill (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)
Brumbies:
Starting XV:15 Mark Gerrard, 14 Peter Playford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Tyrone Smith, 11 Francis Fainifo, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Patrick Phibbs, 8 Julian Salvi, 7 George Smith (captain), 6 Mitchell Chapman, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Alister Campbell, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements (from): John Ulugia, Salesi Ma’afu, Peter Kimlin, Stephen Hoiles, Joshua Holmes, Matt Toomua, Sanualio Afeaki, Ben Alexander.
Sharks:
Starting XV: 15 Stefan Terblanche, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Francois Steyn, 12 Bradley Barritt, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jacques Botes, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Johann Muller (Captain), 4 Steven Sykes, 3 BJ Botha, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 AJ Venter, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Waylon Murray, 22 Adrian Jacobs.

GO SHARKS!!!!!!!!!!
SB Picks
Kandas Brumbies 10
PaarlGimmie Brumbies 9
Pissant Brumbies 6
Hmmm Brumbies 6
Western Sauce Brumbies 5
sharkboy Brumbies 4
————————–
Sandshark Sharks 2
Sinbinners Sharks 3
shark_time Sharks 3
bryce_in_oz Sharks 4
Debs Sharks 4
Fatality Sharks 4
Bru-El Sharks 4
Ghost10 Sharks 5
Dive Pass Sharks 5
SauronShark Sharks 6
Nita Sharks 7
namboer Sharks 7
robdylan Sharks 7
Sharkie Sharks 7
Lylmik Sharks 7
blackshark Sharks 8
Salmo Sharks 8
IceBabe Sharks 8
Whindy Sharks 9
Ollie Sharks 9
PostmanPat Sharks 9
PJLD Sharks 10
KSA Kette Sharks 10
fattmann Sharks 10
shark-tank Sharks 11
King Shark Sharks 12
Wehan Sharks 12
the_finman Sharks 12
Villie Sharks 13
SeaShark Sharks 14
Hope the Sharks skop gat.
Okay am home with time to spare
Good stuff KSA!!
Go Sharks!!!
Sharks playing in WHITE today!!
My cat seems to think i am back to play with her.
Flippen thing keeps headbutting the back of my head
Time on
GO SHARKS !!!!
ok gotta run now or I’ll be late
have you got the game on Villie?
here we go
Sorry ignore that question of course you do how else would you know they are wearing white.
Yes…got it on KSA. Stupid HIGH tackle from Jp
JPP nailed for a hightackle that never was.
brumbies set up LO
Sharks (Kanko) steals it.
BEEEG scraum Sharks!!
Sharks look strange in white.
Sharks scrum the brumbies RIGHT off the ball.
Ref resets and it is now our put in
Strange?
More like KAK.
They are Blue we are Black Why did we have to change?
Stupid knock on….lets hope we not gonna keep it tight all game. Dry conditions so we need to spread it a bit too
Sharks winning the scrums WELL
Sharks take the Brumbies second scrum.
Michalak should NOT have kicked away the tighthead possesion there.
Hopefully Brumbies are black & blue by the end.
forwards well on top
Me thinks the Sharks forwards have the edge.
Damn…no support for Steyn
Kak kick from Steyn Bounces Well for him and we are in their 22.
Steyn got the bushman look today!
They have the whole cliff at the moment never mind the edge.
9min now score yet
KSA to be fair to Steyn, at least he followed up his kick to turn it into a good one!
Sharks win FK at the next scrum.
Brumbies are “sukkeling” BIG TIME in the scrum
Agree with Villie. He chase his kicks.
Penalty….going for goal!
take three
Villie I agree his chase and the bounce turned it into a great kick.
Sharks win PK at scrum as the Brumbies backrow break early.
going at goal
Go Kockott!!
rory lining it up
GO SHARKS !!!
OVER
3 -0 Sharks
12min
3-0 to us!
Jannie Dup reading the programme on the bench, not even watching! hehe
Deon got complete skinhead!!
ok proof that Charlie isn’t Adi.
i just saw Adi on the bench and he wasn’t holding a laptop
good counter rucking!
Sharks Counter ruck and then the Brumbies player who has just been rucked over gets up and picks the ball up.
I think that penalty was deserved.
Sharks take to long to get the ball out of the collapsed maul.
FK brumbies
Sykes down
Sykes down…ankle!
How could the ref say ball out there is the Sharks foot was over it?
sykes down
come on Stevie!
5m scrum to Sharks!
Pushover…come boys!!
C’mon Sharks
KSA,
Pocket PC…
This is when the Brumbies will use every trick in the book, collapse scrum, push up, all sorts of stuff
Let’s hope the ref is wise to all these tricks. Kanko must score here
Commentators think the brumbies scrum popping is good pressure by the brumbies.
Both these teams are playing real bad….
Worse game of the weekend so far!?!?!
Ref????
pietersen kick and collect is just awesome. How often does he do that?
JP looking SHARP tonight….the “rest” must have done him good!
Hmmm…just coz you bitter about the Lions. We won’t take the bait!
JP having a big game
Where you drinking during the Lions game Hmmm?
Drop goal for Steyn!!!
Charlie
Steyn DG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6 -0 Sharks
well done Frans. We needed that one
Hmmm u a Lions supporter???? Shame??? They really suck.. Wanna make them look good? Turn your tv upside down when the log is on.!!
Commentators very optimistic. Glass not half full but overflowing.
GREAT stepping by Michalak!!
Are you watching this run by the Sharks Hmmm?
I am bitter……VERY BITTER
Nice run By Kankow.
Great pressure from Frans to put the brumbie in touch.
Yes Rob….that was a sensible drop goal. We need points when we in their territory!!
guys looking calm under pressure today
Hmmm
At last the Sharks look good and put the ball through some passes….
But they still lose the ball when it counts….
Ndungane saved us under pressure there as the brumbies pass to him instead of their player
Ref missed Brumbies holding the ball..Sharks were on their feet!!
Ref not a Sharks fan it seems.
Albert missed that tackle….was crucial!!
ref warns the Sharks for repeated infringements.
Says we have given away 6 infringements.
You can’t thumbsuck figures mr ref
At least boys are trying to PLAY tonight…they are giving it width
Kak pass from barrit to Terblanche.
You need the momentum, you can’t afford to stop to take a pass.
Brumbies players are blowing…must be all that defence!
I am going to and klap every LIONS player when they land at ORT
I know I wont be able to use my hands and several other body parts ever again….but still be worth it….
Well done Mr Ref..penalty to Sharks!
another kickable penalty
Sharks must sommer knock on aspris, just to scrum.
Ref Gives us a penalty for the scrum infringement.
Then as an AFTERTHOUGHT he decides to speak about them kicking the ball away.
Get it together ref!!!!!!!!!
going at goal
another big game from Kanko
Bad miss by Kockott!! Damn
missed
rachel
We could do with a try before half time
Jinne sorry…fell asleep here for a sec!?!?!
Hope Adi gets a early run…
Stephan learned hwo to grubber….WoW
That should be a YELLOW
Hmmm
Want some of my beef curry? that’ll wake you up.
Think they overlooked the “mild” request on the order.
TRY Kanko
Kanko TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TRY!!
KEEGAN awesome tonight too!!
Kanko try! well done!
We could do with a try before half time
Comment 99 of 106, posted at 19.04.08 12:14:07 by Villie Edit
Seems to be the comment that did it.
A few more of those comments will do me just fine.
Well done Kockott. 13-0
all three loosies doing well. Frans having a big game too
Conversion Over
13 – 0 Sharks
35min
13-0!
Brilliant JP
Fred looking sharp aswell Rob
Well the rugby aint keeping me awake KSA
Steyn shocker!!
Steyn WHAT A MISTAKE…try to Brumbies
Great pass by Steyn….
Into the gap and try!?!?!?
Rob….please keep quiet!!
Dammit!
is it just me or are we all playin better today, except for that try??
wattaprick. he really doesn’t want fans does he?
Oh crap….the added that score to the Brumbies…
Is there anything like an “own-try” in rugby!?!??!
sorry Villie! My bad.
That was really against the run of play, though.
It’s okay…Rob…curse of the commentator and all that
Brilliant break by Kanko…try to Steyn
Kanko you beaut! Steyn try.
Kanko is the only player on the field…
What pace….what a step…good try…
he made up for it!
yeah well done steyn making up for ur fck up lol.
Sheez i turn my back for a second and they score.
Then We score as i come back.
Seems i need to stay in the lounge.
kanko! you beauty!
the hairy boys are doing it!
Another BAD miss by Kockott!!
pdv has to select kanko for the boks, there cant be doubt
rory hits the post… we’re going into half time 11 points up
more importantly, we’re the only team on the field.
Yip Rob…..Steyn can keep the “beard” and long hair!!
ummm – so let me just check.
We still have Carstens, Burden, Venter, Pienaar, Jacobs and Murray to come on, not so?
Bonus point this week, lads
ryan has improved 200%. what a player.
Villie – is that what it’s meant to be?
Ha ha! Frans has a new nickname… “Bumfluff”
well done boys, keep it up 2nd half and we can get a bp! Go Sharkies!!
Half time
Brumbies 7 – Sharks 18
he’s looking like a pretty good 13, though, isn’t he?
VERY impressed with JP’s workrate, high-ball work and kicking tonight.
Villie – I assume you are sorted with watching the game, no?
Okay let me eat my food quickly
You guys think we in for miracle…could the Sharks score 4!??!!??!!?
I have a good feeling this week
Rob…its on SKY today!
kanko – 3 linebreaks and 7 tackle busts!
oh? Good to know
Rob…JP is the type of guy that you need to light a firecracker up his backside every now and then. He needs to be dropped just so that complacency doesn’t set in.
Our scrum has been AWESOME. BJ destroying their loosehead
GO SHARKS!!!
See you lata
Would be GREAT if we could get the bonus point EARLY in this half..could help the boys to settle and play some top stuff
Ref making lots of mistakes and crowd influencing his decisions
come on boyz!!
NEVER a knock!!
hehehee..Steyn defence awesome!!
get the ball back guyz!!
bullshit!!
Was that a punch on Stefan from Phibbs?
kanko off – yellow
Those missed kicks by Kockott could be vital tonight.
try to Salvi… this is not going to be so easy
Keegans work rate has been superb. Ref has penalised him a couple of times, although was unlucky on one occasion
only 4 points now
Barritt off….MUrray on
steyn murray midfield now
Fred having a solid game tonight. Impressed with his defence too
We need to slow the game down until Kanko returns. We should be smashing them with our forward dominance
C’mon lets go Sharks!!!!!!!!!!
pienaar on for kockott
Ruan on
Why is Pienaar’s hair so short
i think Fred is at scrummie
bumfluff!
I think |Ruan is scrummie Rob
Kankow back on.
when kanko comin back on?
kanko back on!
62m DG attempt
Come on guyz step it up a notch!
We are getting pinged for everything.
Also missing first time tackles now.
shit guys…. we need to settle this down, start playing to our strengths.
They’ve got their tails up…
63min
17 – 18 Sharks
they’re back within one
Adi on for Michalak
Steyn to flyhalf?
Hows the clean out on teh side of the ruck there
who is the bold guy? No17?
Ref is blowing us for stuff he let Brumbies get away with in first half
Deon Carstens
This ref amrches around like a little kid with a tantrum when he is unhappy
we need to take this game back right now, or we will lose
guyz u did gud 1st half, take back 2nd half
We gonna lose this game
Steyn yellow
ref is costing us the game
20 – 18 Brumbies
68min
Kockotts 2 easy misses are proving crucial. Lets see if AJ can make a difference
and now they’re ahead
well done guyz!! Give the game away, why dnt all of u go sit on the side lines
He is the WORST of the Kiwi refs. I’ll take Lyndron Bray, Chris Pollock or Steve walsh anyday over these
Very dissapointing from the Sharks.
I Agree with the commentators here.
You have to be very careful when a referee is in this frame of mind.
Villie – Lawrence is not going to let us win
commentators even agree
Did the ref not see the stupid idiot standing in the scrum half’s way.
Try Ashley Cooper!
Can you believe it!
Try Brumbies and game over!
not even going to get a bonus point here
Far from over.
Sharks can still come back
ref fucking cheating. You can’t say it any more plainly than that
Good night nurse.
Conversion over
27 – 18 Brumbies
73min
Sorry to bang on about this, but you cannot afford to miss conversions and relatively easy penalties. Goalkicking is SOOO important!!
Referee off injured Pulled a calf Muscle while marching around the field.
Lawrence is injured! A chance!
Yay….ref off!!
did the ref get hurt? Gud for him!
Previous ref wouldn’t have blown that forward pass.
I can’t remember a scrum in this half. Brumbies clever coz they were getting drilled in scrums
And can’t recall a Sharks penalty this half either
this is about the first scrum… first since carstens came on, anyway
this kick is crucial
Well done Pienaar…we still have a glimmer
Sharks have 2 min.
it’s there! 6 points
RP slot a penalty
Steyn back on
27 – 21 Brumbies
78min
now or never boys u can do it
At least they got a bonus point.
Stupid play by Bismark there
At least Lyndon bray is reffing a decent game
Still second. But things are getting seriously tight.
ok – positives. We’re still in second and 1 point closer to the Crusaders
Game over
Well Done Brumbies.
You win some you lose some.
You get refs in your favour you get refs not in your favour.
KSA, he is the best NZ ref.
Anyway, next weeks game is now even MORE massive. Well a good wake up call for Sharks and shows that you have to play for 2 halves. Cheating damn ref!
i knew this was gona happen! The sharks suck big time. Kiss a semi gudbye your gona lose the rest of the season anyway
well, simple. take brad off and you have no chance.
If we can beat Waratahs, they could slide down the table coz they still got to tour SA!
But we are in serious danger of missing a home semi now. Chiefs are the form team and as you said Rob this could be a PIVOTAL game. I will be at Kings Park for that one
ok – everyone scream now… get all that tension out.
The monkey is off our back now, anyway
see how the whole backline falls apart when Brad goes off?
jarson – relax, dude…
Log Updated
brumbies go 7th
Sharks move back to 2nd
nothing is over yet… still in second, big game coming up.
It now becomes very simple. We NEED to roll the Tahs
We lost the game by not scoring more points in the first half when we were totally dominant. We had the opportunities and if we had finished the Brumbies off when we had the chance, they would never have come back.
Nevertheless it is our first loss of the season and provided we learn from it and bounce back next week, it might prove a blessing in disguise!
Worried about the injuries we picked up today. Let’s hope all are fit for next week!
Draw…..loss….BLUES!?!?!??!?!?
Jarson
It’s not the end of the world dude.
Sharks are still second on the Log.
Well you win some you lose some, Hurricanes fans will probably call this justice since this was one of the worst reffed games I saw but the Sharks players’ attitude towards the ref did not help.
When will SA players learn to get refs on your side and not piss them off? The verbal will piss anyone off but not becoming of a pro ref anycase.
But enough of that, the Sharks given their half time score should never have found themselves in this place. Ill-discipline cost them.
Weekend of upsets, Bulls the only SA win this weekend, my predictions are true to form so far with 2 games to go.
No miracels today…Sharks still no try scoring bonus point!?!?!?
Someone put Jarson on suicide watch.
I’m off to go cool down. This has got me very worked up.
Later fans
yeah i know lol sorry. We had a decent lead and blew it away. I still love u Sharkies!! Love them or fear them, Sharks forever!
Morne… we should have let you do the prediction thread this week
At least I am not all alone being BITTER and all….
that’s it, jarson… we gotta look out for each other here
Ok, now I’m really gone
PA
4 from 4 so far this weekend.
Well Done dude.
lol @rachel no worries. Im dissapointed but it happens. Can only do us good.
SB full marks for Hmmm…
Brumbies by 6!?!?
No miracels today…Sharks still no try scoring bonus point!?!?!?
Comment 253 of 260, posted at 19.04.08 13:28:53 by Hmmm Edit
And still no away win for the Lions………..
Nah mate, have you seen how far down I am lying???
Anycase I am off to a braai, catch you all later, tough luck but you are still second, the tahs and saders are the big ones and this serves as the wake-up I have been warning about for some time now – I am glad it happened against the horsies and you are still second.
At least the Saders lost as well.
Hmmm
You sharing those points with PA.
Enjoy the braai PA.
Surely when, at the same point in the match, one team is being penalized and yellow carded for the same infraction the other team is only given a free kick for, the contest can no longer be considered fair. This is what happened today, the referee ensured the contest was no longer fair. Too bad, if the ref had rather watched the game unfold instead of the pre-determined game he had in his mind, he would have enjoyed a good contest.
hey DB.
No it can’t but the team being penalised with PKs is because they have been repeating those infringements.
On the one hand the team should learn (gain discipline) from that on the other hand the ELV’s cause that. Under the old laws it would be a PK regardless.
Agree DB. First time the Sharks have had a New Zealand ref since the Canes game. Coincidence? Or was this payback?
Either way, a terrible Performance
It’s also the first Aus game we have played since the Canes game rob.
We are gonna have another kiwi ref next week.
I understand what leads up to it, but that is a problem with the ELVs KSA, it leads to an unfair contest at the end if the ref starts to penalize one team. Perhaps it should be a game warning and then both teams are penalized.
RobD, the sheep shaggers are the shackle draggers country cousins. They are apparently not too bright, if they were, they would remember it was a shackle dragger referee that messed up the end of the ‘canes game for the sheep shaggers. They should be upset with their uptown cousins, but they are so in bed together they would rather “get the yarpies” than place blame where it is properly due.
Well I have to say that Bray and Lawrence are by far the most out of shape referees I have seen at this level. Eish, how these okes can keep up with a game played under the ELVs is beyond me. I bet that he gave the yellow cards because he needed to catch his breath.
Ksa, if the canes lose today, we’ll get more of the same next week
Now WTF am I supposed to do with the rest of my afternoon while in this mood.
Am NOT going back to the office.
Rob
Not payback for the Canes game but maybe because the Crusaders lost yesterday and that gap to fist spot so vital and to be maintained at all cost (hows that for a conspiracy theory)
Salmo
That’s not a bad one
Comment 263 of 275, posted at 19.04.08 13:33:47 by KSA Shark © (FJ!ELN!)
We have at least scored 4 tries!!??!?
We score our 4th try in our 7th game…
Ok, I think we have a good article for Monday
Hmmmm
You’ll NEVER make a good Bulls fan!!!!!!!!!!
You can make fun of yourself and as a Bulls fan that is not allowed or possible.
Well, I was hoping to go race in this regatta with a better attitude, now I will just have to enjoy the beautiful day on the water.
DB.
Sometimes life is tough KSA!
For some of us it actually IS tough
Those cold dessert winters getting to you KSA?
Hey, I had to wake up at 2:30 a.m. last week to watch the match, and then this week at 5:30 a.m. Life is tough.
I should have stayed in bed this morning.
Hey i have to wear a jersey sometimes. These winters get damn cold.
The rain at least stayed away for the duration of my run this morning
I remain annoyed that we lost today.
this is just plain bull#@%^ not the way i wanted to start my week thanks
Palookas!
Kette?
What you complaining about it’s partly your fault.
You only wore half of the black kit to school.