KSA Shark ©

Joubert: “Penalty try out of the question”

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :All Blacks, In the news, Tri Nations on 28 Jul 2008 at 07:20
Tagged with :

South African referee Craig Joubert would not have awarded a penalty try to New Zealand even had he seen the controversial incident during the Tri-Nations rugby Test in Sydney on Saturday.

“I was simply not in a position from where I could see (Sitiveni) Sivivatu being tackled without the ball,” Joubert said from Sydney on Sunday.

“After watching the incident on video, I agree I should have awarded a penalty to the All Blacks. A penalty try would have been out of the question because, in my opinion, (Lote) Tuqiri would have dotted down even had Sivivatu not been tackled.”

Morris Glibert writes in Beeld that Joubert was responding to an outcry in New Zealand where he has been castigated for “an inexcusable error” at a critical time of the match, which Australia won 34-19.

The incident occurred in the 68th minute when the Wallabies were leading 24-19. The match may have taken a decisive turn there and then had a penalty try been awarded.

Even Australia’s Fox Sports commentators criticised Joubert for not awarding at least a penalty to New Zealand.

And SuperSport expert Naas Botha, a former Springbok captain, said the All Blacks had reason to feel unhappy.

‘Blood-bin injury’

Joubert could even have awarded a penalty try because Sivivatu was on his way to fall on the ball in the Australian in-goal area, Botha said.

“I can only rule on what I see,” Joubert said on Sunday. “And because the assistant referee nearest to the incident (South African Mark Lawrence) also did not see what had happened, I ordered a drop-out.”

Responding to a debate in the Australian news media over the credibility of All Black scrumhalf Jimmy Cowan’s “blood-bin injury”, Joubert said he was satisfied with the explanation by the match doctor.

“I accept his explanation that Andy Ellis returned to the field after Cowan had suffered an injury that caused bleeding.

“He may also have had a sore knee, but I don’t want to express an opinion about that.”

Steve Hansen, coach of the All Black forwards, told the New Zealand Press Association he was unable to understand why the Australian camp had made a fuss about Cowan’s injury.

“His nose was broken and he was bleeding from the mouth. Yes, he had a sore knee, but he was replaced by Andy because he was unable to continue playing because of the blood,” Hansen said


  • Man, I thought we whined after Bryce Lawrence’s performances.

    If all the Kiwis can come up with is a feeble attempt at trying to justify a Penalty Try that would not have been awarded by ANY ref and a blood bin incident then we can once again be happy that the SA refs on the international scene are the best in the world.

    Why are the AB’s choking already? The RWC is still 3 years away.

  • Comment 1, posted at 28.07.08 07:54:49 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 1) : Just Karma accrued to them from Wellington, Dikenson won them that game, now they had what was coming! :wink:

  • Comment 2, posted at 28.07.08 08:10:14 by Sharksmad - The Blog's Dudette Reply
    Sharksmad - The Blog's DudetteSuper Rugby player
  • @Sharksmad – The Blog’s Dudette (Comment 2) :


  • Comment 3, posted at 28.07.08 08:28:07 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • Can’t blame the ref if he had no clear view…but I still believe Sivivatu would’ve made it first to the ball.

  • Comment 4, posted at 28.07.08 10:16:59 by blackshark Reply
    blackshark - I'm back!Super Rugby player
  • @blackshark (Comment 4) :

    His point as well and therefor you CANNOT award a PT.

  • Comment 5, posted at 28.07.08 10:32:14 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • Oh boo-hoo.

  • Comment 6, posted at 28.07.08 11:10:04 by ra-cheltjie de' be-er Reply
    McLovinAssistant coach
  • @ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 6) : tissue? ;)

  • Comment 7, posted at 28.07.08 11:15:04 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • still don’t understand Ellis – Cowan thing though… :???:

  • Comment 8, posted at 28.07.08 11:19:25 by blackshark Reply

    blackshark - I'm back!Super Rugby player
  • @blackshark (Comment 8) :

    It seems that Cowan replaced Ellis as a regular tacticval sub and then a little while later Cowan broke his nose and hurt his knee.

    under normal circumstances Ellis would not be allowed back on as it was a tactical sub. So the kiwi’s found some blood on Cowan quickly.

    The Law says if a player who was subbed on tactically has a blood injury then the player who was subbed off may come back on.

    So in this case the kiwis bent the rules a bit but theyr aren’t the first to do it and sure as hell won’t be the last.

    I have no problem with what they did.

  • Comment 9, posted at 28.07.08 11:34:56 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • I am shocked that he broke his nose and THAT didn’t have enough blood to warrant a sin bin.

  • Comment 10, posted at 28.07.08 11:36:44 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 10) : didn’t see any blood on him though…

  • Comment 11, posted at 28.07.08 11:41:49 by blackshark Reply

    blackshark - I'm back!Super Rugby player
  • I’m sure I saw an All Black scrummie with blood pouring from his nose. :?:

  • Comment 12, posted at 28.07.08 11:53:55 by ra-cheltjie de' be-er Reply

    McLovinAssistant coach
  • @blackshark (Comment 11) :

    that is the hoohaa. The doctor said he had blood and the call is not the ref’s to make.

    @ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 12) :
    Didn’t see the game at all :( so i can’t say but i would have thought a broken nose would bleed.

  • Comment 13, posted at 28.07.08 12:03:15 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.