KSA Shark ©

All the Kiwis cleared to play.

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 20 Apr 2009 at 08:32
Tagged with : , , , , ,

Highlanders captain Jimmy Cowan has received no further punishment for his contentious tackle, capping a perfect day for New Zealand players in front of the Super 14 judiciary.

The NZPA reports that All Blacks halfback Cowan faced an automatic judicial hearing in Wellington today after being sent off for a late and dangerous tackle on Blues first five-eighth Jimmy Gopperth in Friday’s match in Auckland.

Sanzar judicial officer Bruce Squire found the tackle to be neither late nor dangerous, deeming the red card from Australian referee Stuart Dickinson sufficient punishment.

Video footage showed the tackle was made less than a second after Gopperth had kicked the ball, Squire said in a statement, while the point of contact was at Gopperth’s chest level.

Cowan’s only failure was not using his arms to make the tackle, but it was “no more serious than tackles of a similar kind which are routinely met with penalty kicks or, in extreme cases, a yellow card”.

Earlier, Chiefs players Richard Kahui and James McGougan both survived charges of dangerous play emanating from their defeat of the Cheetahs in Kimberley on Sunday morning (NZ time).

Prop James McGougan was cited for alleged trampling while centre Richard Kahui was cited for a dangerous “spear” tackle.

McGougan pleaded guilty to the trampling, which was penalised at the time by referee Nathan Pearce, and judicial officer Jannie Lubbe issued a reprimand and decided to take no further action.

Kahui pleaded not guilty and Lubbe said a review of new evidence found there was no lifting of the Cheetahs player and driving of him into the ground.


  • This week has been loaded with Citings.

    Shepherson – 2 weeks
    McGougan – got off
    Kahui – got off
    Daniel – Still waiting
    Jannie Dup – Still waiting

    any I’ve missed?

  • Comment 1, posted at 20.04.09 09:07:18 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • Stamping is a slap on the wrist now?

  • Comment 2, posted at 20.04.09 09:12:31 by Rahul Reply
    RahulCurrie Cup player
  • why daniel? I know jannie got aggro

  • Comment 3, posted at 20.04.09 09:13:50 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
    JarsonXAssistant coach
  • @JarsonX (Comment 3) :

    Two Sharks players were cited for foul play, following their team’s 10-13 loss to the Crusaders in Durban at the weekend.

    Tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis was cited for striking Crusaders flank Richie McCaw in the first half.

    Flank Keegan Daniel was cited for a dangerous tackle on Crusaders centre Tim Batsmen, also in the first half.

    Hearings for both players will take place in Durban on Monday.

    By Batsmen I think they mean Bateman. I have it on good authority that Daniel was nowhere near the cricket.

  • Comment 4, posted at 20.04.09 09:17:25 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 4) : lol, must have missed keegans tacke then. I hate it when the guys wanna fight, provoked or not

  • Comment 5, posted at 20.04.09 09:21:35 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
    JarsonXAssistant coach

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.