KSA Shark ©

Sheehan will be cleared, says Hickey


Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Sharks, Super 14 on 11 May 2009 at 06:51
Tagged with : , ,

Waratahs halfback Brett Sheehan has being cited for a dangerous tackle in the last seconds of their win over the Sharks on Saturday and may have played his last game for NSW.

Sheehan will appear before a SANZAR judiciary in Durban on Monday and if found guilty and suspended will miss the Waratahs’ final game of the regular season against the Lions on Friday. It would also leave the Waratahs with the dilemma of having to decide who could cover for Sheehan as the back-up half for Luke Burgess, who played very well on Saturday. For Sheehan, who earned his 50th cap for NSW in Saturday’s 16-12 win at ABSA Stadium, such an outcome could be a sad finish to his Waratahs days after signing a two-year deal with the Western Force last week.

Rupert Guinness reports for Rugbyheaven that the charge against Sheehan stemmed from his hit on Sharks outside-centre Brad Barritt in the last minute of the game. The impact of his right shoulder knocked Barritt out. It also earned the immediate wrath of local television commentators and left Sharks coach John Plumtree in no doubt that Sheehan would be cited.

“I would expect so, yeah definitely,” he said when asked after the game. “The player was knocked unconscious for about 40 seconds. He is OK. He is walking around, which is good.”

After reviewing footage of the incident, Waratahs coach Chris Hickey believes they have a strong case to defend Sheehan. Hickey said the incident was accidental and was confident Sheehan would be cleared.

“It is clear that what he was trying to do is follow the ball and push through on [Ruan] Pienaar and they had a collision. There are plenty of collisions in rugby,” Hickey said. “There wasn’t any intent to try and tackle Barritt. He was trying to get through onto Pienaar.

“It all happens very quickly. Barritt is coming towards Sheehan, then onloads the ball. Brett is trying to get past to get to Pienaar who now has the ball and they collide. It’s a solid case, but you are never confident going into a judiciary because you don’t know what is going to come out of it. But I feel confident the charges will be dismissed.”

Sheehan, who came on for Burgess in the 60th minute when NSW were 11-9 up, also said the incident was accidental and pointed to the fact he immediately went over to check on Barritt when he realised the Sharks centre was down.

“There was no way that that was intentional. No way did I mean to hurt him. When I saw him down I was concerned and went over to see if he was OK,” Sheehan said.

Without Sheehan, Burgess would be the Waratahs’ only halfback on tour. Junior Waratahs halfback Jeremy Sua is probably not yet ready in his playing development to be flown over to Johannesburg during the week and then parachuted into such a big game.

Hickey said he and his assistant coaches “really haven’t discussed that yet” but one option would be five-eighth Daniel Halangahu, who has the passing game for the job.

The Waratahs will remain in Durban to train for the Lions game until Wednesday, when they will head to Johannesburg for the game at Coca Cola Park – formerly Ellis Park. An added challenge for NSW – as if there were not enough – will be the high altitude that they also experienced in their first game on tour, against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.



28 Comments

  • From another article Hickey is quoted as saying:
    “When you watch it on the video he is not looking at Barritt,” Hickey said. “He is following the ball and they collide. There’s no intent there.”

    :shock: :shock:

    No intent? So howcome his shoulder dipped before hitting Barrit?

    He is following the ball? – I would say he was turning his face out of the way of the impending impact. :???: You don’t see to many player going into a shoulder charge looking straight up at the player he is going to hit, they tend to turn their head away from the collision point.

  • Comment 1, posted at 11.05.09 07:08:14 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • It also earned the immediate wrath of local television commentators and left Sharks coach John Plumtree in no doubt that Sheehan would be cited.

    This Guinness chap is certainly enjoying the guinness in SA. :roll:

    I wouldn’t really call Murray Mexted a local commentator and for him to have agreed that it was bad, then it MUST have been bad.

  • Comment 2, posted at 11.05.09 08:54:53 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • Yes, and Rory Kockott was just trying too shooo away a fly from that Thomson kids face.

  • Comment 3, posted at 11.05.09 09:16:41 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the SubtleAssistant coach
     
  • @Salmonoid (Comment 3) :

    Kockott got off VERY lightly, should have been suspended for at least 3 weeks IMO.

  • Comment 4, posted at 11.05.09 10:23:04 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 2) : I follow Guinness on Twitter. To call him one-eyed would be a bit of an understatement.

  • Comment 5, posted at 11.05.09 11:08:16 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 4) :
    Yes, hence me equating his indiscretion to that of Sheehan’s, which Hickey says didn’t take place.

  • Comment 6, posted at 11.05.09 11:15:53 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the SubtleAssistant coach
     
  • @Salmonoid (Comment 6) :

    :lol: Oh okay I saw it as you were talking to me. :oops: :lol:

  • Comment 7, posted at 11.05.09 11:17:42 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 5) :

    Who is Twitter? Him od BB Harmse? :razz:

    Should it be “more twit”, “twittier”, “twitter” or “more of a TWAT”?

    Twit, Twat twatest?

    i dunno anymore this English language is to much for my little brain.

  • Comment 8, posted at 11.05.09 11:19:58 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 7) :
    No problemo’s, :cool: .
    Hey as a Sharks supporter that felt weird to say but somehow nice.
    No problemo, No problemo, No problemo, No problemo, No problemo,
    No problemo, No problemo, No problemo, No problemo, No problemo,

    Ahhhhhh, cathartic. Man the world looks good today…..

  • Comment 9, posted at 11.05.09 11:30:35 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the SubtleAssistant coach
     
  • @Salmonoid (Comment 9) :

    No Problem? I thought maybe you meant. Uno problemo. :wink: (Log position)

  • Comment 10, posted at 11.05.09 11:43:12 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 8) : surely even you have heard of twitter, oubaas? :mrgreen:

  • Comment 11, posted at 11.05.09 11:58:19 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 11) :

    yes I have. You must think I am more twitter than I really am. :lol:

  • Comment 12, posted at 11.05.09 12:06:08 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • Rash of SANZAR citings
    Mon, 11 May 2009 11:13

    There has been a flood of citings, following the Super 14′s penultimate round of league matches at the weekend – with four players set to appear before SANZAR judicial hearings on Monday or Tuesday.

    Cheetahs scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn was cited, following his team’s 20-29 loss to the Bulls in Pretoria at the weekend.

    De Bruyn was cited for a dangerous tackle – of the spear variety – on Bulls wing Akona Ndungane in the 64th minute of the match.

    The hearing of the Cheetahs scrumhalf will take place in Bloemfontein on Tuesday, May 12.

    Waratahs scrumhalf Brett Sheehan was cited following his team’s 16-12 win over the Sharks in Durban.

    Sheehan, who came on as a replacement scrumhalf, was cited following a late and dangerous tackle (shoulder charge to the head) on Sharks centre Bradley Barritt in the 79th minute of the match.

    The hearing of the Waratahs scrumhalf will take place in Durban on Monday.

    Stormers hooker Tiaan Liebenberg and Western Force wing Haig Sare were both cited following the Stormers’ 25-24 win over the Force at Newlands in Cape Town.

    Both players, Liebenberg and Sare were cited for punching each other in the 35th minute of the match.

    Liebenberg was yellow carded for the bust-up, but Sare escaped any form of censure during the match.

    Both will appear before SANZAR judicial hearings in Cape Town on Monday.

  • Comment 13, posted at 11.05.09 12:08:00 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • of the spear variety! Nice :)

  • Comment 14, posted at 11.05.09 12:33:47 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
     
  • and stefan, i heard that he also slapped someone

  • Comment 15, posted at 11.05.09 13:05:55 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
    JarsonXAssistant coach
     
  • @JarsonX (Comment 15) : was it TT? :)

  • Comment 16, posted at 11.05.09 13:10:52 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 16) :

    :mrgreen:

  • Comment 17, posted at 11.05.09 13:18:59 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 17) : damn, but I thought that was funny :)

  • Comment 18, posted at 11.05.09 13:28:28 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
     
  • @JarsonX (Comment 15) : the dude commentating the game on RSG

  • Comment 19, posted at 11.05.09 13:51:24 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
    JarsonXAssistant coach
     
  • Haig Sare and Tiaan Liebenberg have gotten off without punisj=hment for their citings.

  • Comment 20, posted at 11.05.09 16:19:30 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 18) :

    We can only dream that it will happen. :wink:

  • Comment 21, posted at 11.05.09 16:20:09 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • The box has been cleared.
    Its a gang of thieves (or incompetants) that preside over all things rugby, I tell you. (just my opinion)

  • Comment 22, posted at 11.05.09 16:46:53 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the SubtleAssistant coach
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 16) : @robdylan (Comment 18) : now i get it :grin: :lol:

  • Comment 23, posted at 11.05.09 16:52:51 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
    JarsonXAssistant coach
     
  • @JarsonX (Comment 23) : :mrgreen:

  • Comment 24, posted at 11.05.09 16:56:06 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • Cheetahs scrum half suspended for three weeks
    Tuesday 12 May 2009

    A Disciplinary Hearing took place into the citing of Cheetahs scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn on Tuesday following their 29-20 defeat to the Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday.

    The Cheetahs scrumhalf’s case was heard in Bloemfontein on Tuesday by SANZAR judicial officer Advocate Jannie Lubbe.

    De Bruyn was represented at the hearing by his legal representative Gerrie Swart and Cheetahs head coach Naka Drotske.

    De Bruyn was cited following a dangerous tackle on Bulls wing Akona Ndungane in the 64th minute of the rugby match.
    The Cheetahs scrumhalf pleaded guilty to the charge. The judicial officer reviewed the available video evidence and the reports by the referee and assistant referee.

    Lubbe also heard evidence from the player, the head coach and a referee – Jaco Peyper.

    Lubbe concluded that the incident should be categorised as a dangerous tackle at mid-entry level which carries a sanction of six weeks suspension.

    After taking into account the relevant mitigating circumstances, De Bruyn was suspended from all rugby for a period of three weeks from May 9 until and including May 30.

    De Bruyn has the right to appeal the suspension.

  • Comment 25, posted at 12.05.09 15:56:25 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 25) : Ha Ha Ha! No punishment for knocking a player out, but three weeks for a dangerous tackle. WHAT A JOKE!!!

  • Comment 26, posted at 12.05.09 16:00:24 by Rahul Reply

    RahulCurrie Cup player
     
  • Hickey said the incident was accidental and was confident Sheehan would be cleared.

    So’oailo was banned for 1 week for accidental tramping on waugh!
    Where is the con-sistency?

  • Comment 27, posted at 14.05.09 12:41:30 by Rahul Reply

    RahulCurrie Cup player
     
  • @Rahul (Comment 26) :
    @Rahul (Comment 27) :
    I repeat
    The box has been cleared.
    Its a gang of thieves (or incompetants) that preside over all things rugby, I tell you. (just my opinion)

  • Comment 28, posted at 14.05.09 12:51:05 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the SubtleAssistant coach
     

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.