The IRB has announced a change to the law governing the rolling maul. The change is effective immediately.
The revised law now states the following:
1. When a maul is formed originally, the ball carrier must be in contact with the ball and in front of the maul formation. In other words, at this time the opposition must be able to contest the possession at the formation.
2. The player at the back of the maul, must be bound – AS PER LAW, FROM HAND TO SHOULDER – at all times. Should he detach or not be bound as per above, then the players in front of the ball carrier is obstructing the opponents
3. When the maul stops GOING FORWARD in the first instance, the referee is to call “restart or use it”. When it stops going forward in the second instance, the referee is to call “use it or loose it”. The maul may not move backwards or sideways!
To my mind, this is more a clarification and a simplification of the existing law that anything new. Am I right?Tweet