Sources within the Sharks camp have confirmed to us that Wiehahn Herbst has not been suspended following a disciplinary hearing in Cape Town today.
John Bishop has subsequently confirmed the story in an article in the Witness.
Herbst was cited following an illegal ruck entry against Griquas on Saturday. The citing was a surprise, given that Herbst was yellow carded for the offence by referee Philip Bosch and it really didn’t look serious enough to warrant further sanction.
Then again, maybe the WP-supporting mafia that runs SA Rugby felt that hauling Herbst down to Cape Town for the day would serve their team’s agenda far better than if he had been allowed to train with his teammates in Durban today.
No prizes for guessing who the Sharks come up against this weekend…Tweet