Ryno Benjamin was withdrawn from the Springbok Sevens team because of disciplinary reasons, the South African team management announced on Thursday.
Rugby365 reports that Paul Treu, the Springbok coach, confirmed the inclusion of Shaun Venter in place of Benjamin – who is one of the senior contracted players in the SA squad.
The Boks will defend their title at the George leg of the International Rugby Board Sevens World Series on Friday and Saturday.
“Ryno breached our team protocol and I had to make a difficult call,” Treu said.
“We are a closely knitted family and our team culture is very important to us.
“It was not an easy call to make, especially so close to the tournament, but rules are rules and the healthy state of the team is more important than any individual.
“I am very satisfied with the team’s preparations and the players are looking forward to playing in front of their home supporters,” the Bok coach added.
South Africa – revised: Mpho Mbiyozo, Chase Minnaar, Frankie Horne, Cecil Afrika, Marius Schoeman, Kyle Brown, JW Jonker, Shaun Venter, Paul Delport (captain), Mzwandile Stick, Deon Helberg, MJ Mentz.

.gif)

Aai tog.
What did Rayno get up to this time??
Went to a braai with Rikki?
I guess one Earl was also there.
Not good news, especially as he was becoming the poster boy of 7s.
@billy (Comment 2) : No Ricky was with me, alibi
Benjamin will be a big loss for the Blitz-Boks
@Charlie (Comment 5) : i agree, he was fantastic in dubai
See on “Voldy” that Jean De Villiers had been dropped by Munster
@Charlie (Comment 7) : european team rotate their players on a regular basis, i think that is irrelevant to be honest
@war1 (Comment 8) : According to the Irish Independent, De Villiers’s midfield partnership with New Zealander Lifeimi Mafi has failed to gel over the course of five Celtic League and two European Cup matches, with Munster losing four of those seven games. De Villiers, however, has been playing out of position at No 13 in order to accomodate Mafi at 12.
@Charlie (Comment 7) :
More time to drink beers at the local.
Well done Samoa
@provincejoulekkading (Comment 11) :
Who did they beat??
Update please!!!
Ah, I see they beat NZ 24-22!!
@wpw (Comment 12) : NZ
Russia just drew with Oz
@provincejoulekkading (Comment 15) :
Boks 12 -0 up Chis Minnaar try with first touch of the ball
19-0
Cecil Afrika making this look easy
Stick too, Frenchies not really keen to tackle
GO BLITZ BOKKE !!! 38 – 14 vs France
Wonder why Delport got selected as captian, ‘coz Stick was doing a great job
21 hours later I bid you all good morning.
@Salmonoid (Comment 23) : hi buddy
@robdylan (Comment 24) :
How are you Rob?
@Salmonoid (Comment 25) : great thanks! Decorating the tree. How about you?
@robdylan (comment26)
I am good, tree decorated. At work while the rest of the country is seemingly playing….not:cool:
Wow! Where is everyone??
I will be working through the festive season!!
@Salmonoid (Comment 27) : @wpw (Comment 28) : it’s certainly slow out there… not a lot of news either.
@robdylan (Comment 29) :
Slow is not the word, our above greeting stretched over 3 days. I thought I was caught up in the swaer / boet Castrol advert.
@Salmonoid (Comment 30) : hehe….