The Sharks take on the Western Force at Newlands tonight in a super 14 warm-up game.
Kick-off is at 7pm.
Sharks team:
Stefan Terblanche, Luzuko Vulindlu, Waylon Murray, Riaan Swanepoel, Lwazi Mvovo, Monty Dumond, Rory Kockott, Ryan Kankowski, Jean Deysel, Keegan Daniel, Steven Sykes, Alistair Hargreaves, Jannie du Plessis, Craig Burden, Tendai Mtawarira,
Replacements: Bismarck du Plessism, John Smit, Johann Muller, Jacques Botes, Charl McLeod, Andries Strauss, Odwa Ndungane, Patric Cilliers, Willem Alberts, Gerhard Mostert, Patrick Lambie, Adrian Jacobs, JP Pietersen.
Western Force: 15 James O’Conner 14 Dane Haylett-Petty 13 Ryan Cross 12 Sam Harris 11 Cameron Shepherd 10 Andre Pretorius 9 Brett Sheehan 8 Richard Brown 7 David Pocock 6 Matt Hodgson 5 Nathan Sharpe (C) 4 Sam Wykes 3 Matt Dunning 2 Ryan Tyrell 1 Kieran Longbottom 16 Ben Whittaker 17 Nic Henderson 18 Tom Hockings 19 Ben McCalman 20 Chris O”Young 21 Mitch Inman 22 Mark Bartholomeusz 23 Mark Swanepoel 24 Josh Tatupu 25 Joelin Rapana 26 Tim Fairbrother 27 TBA 28 Richard Stanford

ok – got a number of different folks offering to keep us updated here, so let’s see how this goes
I realise yesterday I was very harsh in my evaluation of this team. There are x-factor players all over the park. In the pack alone, Burden, Beast, Daniel and Kankowski are all deadly attacking forces. Kockott, Mvovo and Vulindlu are also great on the counter.
Reckon these lads can do well
game kicks off in about an hour, BTW
@robdylan (Comment 1) :
@rekinek (Comment 4) : should be able to keep a reasonable stream of info flowing, I’d think.
Or we can just sit here and talk crap, as usual
@robdylan (Comment 5) : the latter
@rekinek (Comment 6) : yes, why change what works?
@robdylan (Comment 7) : my thinking exactly !
Apparently Charl McLeod is starting at scrummie and Adi has been withdrawn entirely
@robdylan (Comment 5) : since you’re supporting poms we can always talk about the weather.
it’s raining dreadfully here.
Durban is pouring up a storm after one hellish hot run of days!
it’s actually dry here, for a change.
Cold as f*, though
@Baldrick (Comment 11) : here it’s rain after rain (and cold as well
@rekinek (Comment 13) : at least you know it can’t last
Ok, so what do we want from this game?
I just want 3 tries from each of the wings. Is that too much to ask?
not long now…
Go Sharks !!!
@Charlie (Comment 16) : daarsy! I hear Adi is out?
@Charlie (Comment 16) : and happy anniversary to you and Mrs Charlie
Ja but he’s player 27, so I doubt that he was going to get a run anyway
@Charlie (Comment 19) : hope player 24 gets a run, just to make life interesting
and the Force are first on the board.
Try by Sam Wykes. 5-0
@robdylan (Comment 14) : am afraid so
@robdylan (Comment 21) : maybe they got a talk after saturday
I thought this was on TV here in SA???
Score?? Whats happenin??
Did the Force score yet?
@Me2 aka Mama Shark (Comment 23) : only a friday game against stormers for now – we have charlie (the word is he’s not playing today so should be fine
I’m here, did I miss anything?
@robdylan (Comment 12) : serves u right for being a pom
So who is doing the updates? I think he/she went AWOL
@robdylan (Comment 27) : my comp does not want to display picture . would it be an attempt of censorship…
@robdylan (Comment 27) : thanks to Molly for that pic
whats goin on???
it’s Sharks 0-5 Force
Mickey Arthur resigned as Protea coach
@robdylan (Comment 33) : so in other words Petoors missed the kick
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 34) : i subscribe to breaking news via sms. This revelation woken me up this morning
you’re late
force steal next lineout & run downfield. Win penalty & kick 4 touch. Easy try 4 Cross under posts after feeble tackling.12-0 – courtesy Molly
@robdylan (Comment 35) : must be the tee
shit
@robdylan (Comment 35) : is he playing – NO – he’ll mess my prediction
well, not going according to plan so far… looks like teh guys don’t want to tackle
@robdylan (Comment 41) : they know how to defend. maybe the coach told them to forget defence and concentrate on attack.
@robdylan (Comment 37) : That blows, who missed the tackle?
@rekinek (Comment 42) : ja, fair enough, but would be nice if we could get our hands on the ball
@Baldrick (Comment 43) : apparently Cross ran straight through the centres… so guess it was either Swan or Waylon
@robdylan (Comment 44) : i guess this would fit in with all attack plan
The Big Bang Theory is quite funny
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 47) : I LOVE that show
Third try for the Force! Cameron Shepherd. Petoors converts.
0-19
Molly says “z, not looking great. Another force try. Passed flat to wing, over in corner. Conversion is good. 19-0″
@robdylan (Comment 48) : tis good
sounds like Zuks found wanting on defence…
@robdylan (Comment 48) : this Sheldon dude cracks me up and that girl Kaley Cuoco is HOT
sounds like a night the Sharks would rather forget so far.
Perhaps some big names can turn the tide in the second half? Worrying, though, that apart from the wings, we pretty much have our fist-choice backline on the park…
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 53) : i love her…
from Molly: “force on sharks tryline again. Couple phases & force giveaway a penalty. Cleared to the 22. Sharks not keeping the ball.”
@robdylan (Comment 50) : its gonna be a long night
Ok, so I finally get this right, but all I can say is that we suck terribly. Stef kicking too much, missing loads of tackles, and worst of all – invisible at the breakdown. Not good omens folks…
@robdylan (Comment 54) : maybe they are checking how far from behind they can climb
@robdylan (Comment 54) : maybe not anymore …
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 57) : yup. Sounds like Burds is having lineout issues
I meant the whole team missing tackles and getting totally dominated at the breakdown.
it’s half time
Well Plummo did say something about testing the laws around the breakdowns etc
@Big Fish (Comment 62) : ay ay ay!
@Big Fish (Comment 58) : i am worried, not only for tonight
@Big Fish (Comment 62) : dude – can you post score updates directly? Might have to take off for a bit
We have good reason to worry – literally men against boys so far; and this with a near full-strength pack. The lack of co-ordination amongst the back is excusable, but this is cause for genuine concerne. Hoping for a miraculous 2nd half turn-around. Oh, and the stadium is pretty much empty.
New backline; JP, Skaapie, Odd-One and the exFS centre on. Smit, Alberts and Botes also on.
Coach put me on, we can still win this one
@Big Fish (Comment 69) : skaapie ex freestate centre??????
@Big Fish (Comment 69) : whose ex FS centre?
@willa (Comment 71) : ok got lambie, whos ex free state, dries?
Alberts and Lambie. The future of Sharks rugby
@rekinek (Comment 72) : whose = who’s
Lambie and that inside centre with no speed…
still can’t figure out centre
I really hope we wont see/read a replay of this match during the S14
@rekinek (Comment 77) : Andries Strauss
Strauss – that’s his name. We still look kak, but we just made our first steal…
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 79) : aaah
let’s see strauss rescuing sharks
@Big Fish (Comment 80) : yay
@Big Fish (Comment 80) : hows Lambie and Alberts doing thus far??
the stormers are going to kill us on Friday!!!!
@morneL (Comment 84) : hmmm
at least we’ll go into the competition as underdogs
@morneL (Comment 84) : maybe the plan is to make the Stormers think they are going to kill us
Here’s hoping the Sharks can get their crappy games out the way in the friendlies!!
can I remind everybody – it’s a warm-up , no log points for this one
Nobody shining so far – problem is lack of coordination more than individual sucking. Dare we hope its just rust?
@rekinek (Comment 89) : and it’s the first game
@Big Fish (Comment 90) : must be rust
Hopefully I’ll be able to watch Friday’s game, still awaiting my dstv installation
If they want i’ll send them some anti-rust lubricant
Score update??
still 0 19
I think its 19-0 Force
molly reckons sharks starting to look better
@robdylan (Comment 96) : well be fine, just need a butch,d’arcy,nonu,and a latham
@willa (Comment 99) : that easy huh?
remember plum did say last week that he has been focusing on fitness and neglected skills training. so we can’t expect miracles. he has three weeks to remind players how to play as a team.
give us some good news
Okay just logged on, quickly give me the low-down
@try time (Comment 101) : is that enough?
@try time (Comment 101) : Stormers game on Friday night will probably (hopefully) give us a clearer indication of the sharks strength (or lack thereof). Remember, force were down 42-0 against Stormers until their 1st choice players came on, then it evened out.
Let’s see how the 2nd half plays itself out.
@Morné (Comment 103) : Sharks behind 0-19, apparently we suck
Good news – nobody injured yet and the dancing girls are just to my right…
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 102) : Sharks jusy scored three converted tries and lead 21-19.
Or not….
@willa (Comment 104) : well it was the fitness that let the team down last year. also how many of our boks on the field at the moment? i am not too stressed.
@Baldrick (Comment 108) :
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 110) : I live in hope
@Baldrick (Comment 105) : i wouldn’t mind giving the boks another night off on friday. winning warm up games means nothing. making sure the backup players are ready is.
@try time (Comment 109) : personally dont think it was only the fitness, after 5 games i told my boet they are gonna crash because plum never used the subs, the boys played 80 min non stop and that nailed them
Try Force. Kaplan misses a knock-on: not been his best day. Its official- we Sharks fans beed to find God. Signing off…
@willa (Comment 113) : no i agree. it was plums dumb up and under and defend tactic that wrecked our players and our chances. but fitness played a part.
Just spoke to my boet at Newlands.
Sharks had a shocker, 26-0 final score.
Will get the low-down from him later.
Not good, I never shouldve laughed at the Cheetahs
@Big Fish (Comment 114) : i see the worlds top ref is setting the bar high for the rest of the useless pratts. i feel the refs are going to raise my blood pressure again this season. why the hell can’t they get over themselves and let the touch judges make more decisions?
I’m out, good night all.
hahaha these sharks do suck, damn!
lmao hehehe
@Morné (Comment 116) : “sharks had a shocker” that’s a shock hahaha
@quota (Comment 120) :
Says the guy with which avatar?
No need to remind you of course that the Bulls lost all their warm-up matches last year, including against a team that ended what? 12?
@Morné (Comment 122) : the sharks are not the bulls morne…
@quota (Comment 120) : Who rattled your chain toilet duck?
@quota (Comment 123) :
Nor are the Force the Lions…
Point is, a warm-up match is just that.
Nobody smaller than a person who has the lack of dignity sufficient to gloat in a stranger’s glory. Grow some, quota.
@Morné (Comment 125) :
That said, this result is concerning.
The Sharks is our second best hope of S14 glory and this is not good for SA Rugby.
@Big Fish (Comment 126) : hahaha whatever floats ur boat “big snoek”, the sharks’ deplorable showing is what i’m focusing on, they could be playing the rebels for all i care! You can try and shift the focus all you want, your team sucked today!
oh well, back to the drawing board, folks. Lots of work to do, that’s for sure.
BTW, ignore quota. Don’t give trolls the attention they crave… that just encourages them.
http://www.iol.co.za/index.php?set_id=6&click_id=4&art_id=nw20100126211445735C228403
@klempie (Comment 130) :
Thrice during this passage of time the Sharks were halted less than a metre from Force’s tryline.
Something of a silver lining I guess.
According to keo, Monty was his normal self again, …. average at best!!!!
@morneL (Comment 132) : Worrisome.
when will plum learn, why not give Stemmet a shot, from what I have heard and seen he could be a great asset!!!
They buy him and don`t choose him??
Eish. What the hell happened??
Now watch the Sharks beat the Stormers on Friday…
@wpw (Comment 135) : not a chance! Stormers by 30 points!
@robdylan (Comment 129) : is that what you do here, label people trolls? Just because your team got pomped!!!
@rekinek (Comment 25) :
OUCH.
So does this mean the Stormer are going to beat us by 70+ points?
@quota (Comment 120) :
Is that YOU Farmer brown?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 140) : who the hell is farmer brown?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 139) :
Nah, make that 75-14
good morning ! how are the moods today
@rekinek (Comment 144) :
@quota (Comment 137) : No. Everyone here labels you a troll quota.
@klempie (Comment 146) :
Captain Schalk back for the last match against the Sharks on friday night. The Stormers stick to their guns for this match
Stormers team:
15. Joe Pietersen
14. Gio Aplon
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Juan De Jongh
11. Bryan Habana
10. Peter Grant
9. Dewaldt Duvenage
8. Duane Vermeulen
7 Francois Louw
6. Schalk Burger (C)
5. Andries Bekker
4. De Kock Steenkamp
3. Brok Harris
2. Tiaan Liebenberg
1. Wicus Blaauw
Reserves
16. Deon Fourie
17. JC Kritzinger
18. Eusebio Guinazu
19. Anton Van Zyl
21. Pieter Louw
22. Bolla Conradie
23. Lionel Cronje
24. Sireli Naqelevuki
25. Frikkie Welsh
26. Fabian Juries
Would love to see young Lionel Cronje get another shot in 10 after his big performance and good to see the Argie on the bench nr18
Also good to see a lot of WP vodacom and Stormers youngsters going straight into battle for Maties in their first round match in the Varsity Cup on monday.
Maties vs. NMMU: Jurgen Visser; Tythan Adams, Stokkies Hanekom, Dabeon Draghoender, Danie Poolman; Hayden Groepes, Conrad Hoffmann; Tertius Daniller, JP Mostert, Boetie Brits, Hugo Kloppers, Reinard Elstadt, Lourens Adriaanse ©, Matt Dobson, Michael Rice. Reserwes: Callie Visagie, Johan Roets, Andrew Pryor, Joss Strauss, Johan Laker, Stefan van der Merwe, Jonathan Francke, Buhle Mxunyelwa
That`s a strong side. Anyone care to guess who the sharks might field?
@Original Pierre (Comment 149) : i’m guessing that probably very similar looking side.
@quota (Comment 141) :
Old MacDonald would actually have been a better description.
BTW i know you are not Old MacDonald
@rekinek (Comment 150) : beast, Bis, John, Mostert, Joe, Botes, Deysel, Alberts, McLeod, Meyer, JP, Strauss, Adi, Odwa, Stef