KSA Shark ©

Referee removed


Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 18 Feb 2010 at 21:27
Tagged with : , , , , ,

SANZAR’s refereeing boss, Lyndon Bray of New Zealand, has removed Josh Noonan of New Zealand from his appointment as an assistant referee at Carisbrook on Friday night.

Noonan was an assistant referee to Chris Pollock in last weekend’s match between the Crusaders and the Hurricanes in Christchurch. He got a line call wrong and most probably denied the Highlanders a try early in the first half when the Crusaders were leading 10-0.

This happened when Andy Ellis and Colin Slade were both waiting to catch a high kick by Matt Berquist of the Highlanders. They each had a foot in touch but Slade knocked the ball which was still infield further infield where Adam Thomson of the Highlanders picked it up and ran through to “score”, but was brought back because Noonan had his flag up. After consultation it was decided that the ball was not out and so a scrum was awarded for the knock-on. Noonan was wrong to have raised his flag.

Bray has kept his promise on accountability by removing Noonan from the touch-line and instead making him the television match official, swapping places with Kane McBride.

The refereeing management felt it would not be right to have Noonan on the touch-line for the Highlanders’ next match.

Bray said Noonan had admitted his error immediately after the match and accepted his removal from the assistant’s referee role this weekend. Bray expected Noonan to return to an assistant’s role in week four.

Bray said: “From my point of view this isn’t a witch-hunt on Josh Noonan.

“As referees we are working as a team just as the Super 14 teams are and we have to have a value of accountability.”

Bray said he looked for three things in considering these situations – accountability, the impact of the error (which was a try to the Highlanders) and the impact of the next appointment.

Bray said they “didn’t feel it would be a good fit” for Noonan to be involved so close to the action on Friday night with the Highlanders involved again.

Bray said: “It’s not in his or the Highlanders’ interest to put him back in there.”

It would be interesting to see if any action will be taken against television match official Steve Leszczynski who also got a decision wrong which involved a possible try, and he did not have to make an instant decision as Noonan had done.

Article Courtesy of Rugby 365.



6 Comments

  • Video Clip of the incident

    http://www.sareferees.co.za/laws/laws_explained/clips/2231300.htm

  • Comment 1, posted at 18.02.10 21:28:42 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • Law 19 DEFINITIONS

    The ball is in touch if a player catches the ball and that player has a foot on the touchline or the ground beyond the touchline. If a player has one foot in the field of play and one foot in touch and holds the ball, the ball is in touch.

    A player in touch may kick or knock the ball, but not hold it, provided it has not crossed the plane of the touchline. The plane of the touchline is the vertical space rising immediately above the touchline.

  • Comment 2, posted at 18.02.10 21:29:31 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • Bray has kept his promise on accountability by removing Noonan from the touch-line and instead making him the television match official, swapping places with Kane McBride.

    The refereeing management felt it would not be right to have Noonan on the touch-line for the Highlanders’ next match.

    Bray said: “From my point of view this isn’t a witch-hunt on Josh Noonan.

    So actually more like a little protection than punishment if you ask me.

  • Comment 3, posted at 18.02.10 21:32:57 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • Wish they’d do the same with refferees, not only Ass. refs…. :x

    Probably why Brown-nose didn’t get his first S14 for a kiwi derby.

  • Comment 4, posted at 18.02.10 21:42:07 by FireTheLooser Reply
    Assistant coach
     
  • Double standards again ….. :twisted: :twisted: Brown should have been removed too!

  • Comment 5, posted at 19.02.10 11:09:10 by Just a Fan Reply
    Just a FanCurrie Cup player
     
  • Not sure what it will achieve. But they have got to be seen doing something. Otherwise everybody moans they do nothing.

    Poor refs just can win. :twisted:

  • Comment 6, posted at 19.02.10 16:38:56 by McLovin Reply
    McLovinAssistant coach
     

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.