Even with all the World Cup madness going on and the air buzzing with the sweet sound of the vuvuzela, our boys in the green and gold still have a job to do on the rugby field.
The Boks, far closer to full strength than they were last week, take on France at Newlands Stadium, kicking off at 2pm. We haven’t beaten the Frogs in bloody ages… let’s hope today will mark the start of a new era.
Teams:
South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 François Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gürthro Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Dewald Potgieter, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Jean de Villiers
France: 15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 David Marty, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 Aurélien Rougerie, 10 François Trinh-Duc, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Julien Bonnaire, 7 Wenceslas Lauret, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5 Romain Millo-Chluski, 4 Lionel Nallet, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Thomas Domingo.
Replacements: 16 Guilhem Guirado, 17 Jean Baptiste Poux, 18 Julien Pierre, 19 Louis Picamoles, 20 Dimitri Yachvili, 21 David Skrela, 22 Marc Andreu, 23 Luc Ducalcon.
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), David Changleng (Scotland)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

.gif)

.gif)
Go Bokke!!!
SHOW DEM BOKKE !!!
Does Jonny Wilkinson NEVER give up??
is kick-off really at 2? Shit, but that’s early
Crap I missed the buildup cos of the Aus game.
oh my and win by 6 and then Sharks Revenge would have 2 games spot on
eeeeaaahhhhhhh
Yeah Rob!! It nearly got in the way of the hairdresser appointment!!
kick off
@wpw (Comment 7) : again
TRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!
Spies TRY! Woohoo
Spies jou doring
tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Wow
Go Bokke
SA 7 / 0
I just have to mention the missed tackle by Olivier on Marty!!
Can’t miss that now can we??
Guys look very good in the GREEN & GOLD
@ wpw is da moffie by dai hairdresser ?
What a start by the Boks! Go boys
Now why is Butch not playing?
Bok scrum looking very solid
My broe los daai dinge!!
Meisiekind het test rugby stage fright
Hehehe !
Flo grabs a turnover.. good play so far. Defence by Olivier looks ordinary,
Good work at the breakdown by Flo!!
Line out to Boks on their 22m
who nows the FS between NZ V IRE
NZ destroyed Ireland
Try
Try Aplon!!
Aplon scores in the corner after a blinding run!
APLON!!!
tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
oh my they are good
Aplon try !
What a pass by Ricky !
Got tackled, bounced off, stepped and scored..
GIOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
what a start
@JarsonX (Comment 28) : They were a man down for 80% of the game and 2 men down for 10 of those minutes. They cam back well in 2nd half.
Steyn converts 14-0 after 9minutes
14-0 after 8 minutes!!
@JarsonX (Comment 28) : was in town with kids party
Bokke up 14 – 0
Kirchner cocks up 1 meter out after a chip and chase..
Good run..
Kirchner nearly scores!! Damn the Boks are on fire!!
Great chip by Ricky
@chaz (For you Bro) (Comment 27) : NZ 66 – 28 Ireland
Zane LF
Zane had to pass that ball
Kirchner missed a try by a foot.
Penalty to the Bokke
Steyn tee’s up
S.A 17 – 0 France 11 minutes
17-0
Kirchner is a plank
@JarsonX (Comment 45) : thanks
That gives me 2/4 so far
@klempie (Comment 38) : that explains it then, I didnt really watch the 1st half
French on attack.. Loses the ball after kick forward.
January clears
South African rugby is so strong… and the Sharks are getting left behind
Meisiekind is bang !
Ricky is actually not that fat!! Urgly yes, but not fat!!
GO RICKY !
BJ is on fire today… welcome back
@Charlie (Comment 55) : would of loved to see you play today Adri
@wpw (Comment 56) : done at the hairdresser?
Where’s Butch
Ricky is gebou om te hou !
Penalty SA for a high tackle on Burger!!
@chaz (For you Bro) (Comment 59) : Adri Jacobs plays for the under 20s….
@ Chaz –
SA scrum on French 22m
Ideal attack position
Djy Rob!!
@wpw (Comment 63) : poetic justice?
Oh if we can play like this on fire with the WC 2011 we would take that cup and bring it all the back
SA kinda mess up the scrum, maintain posession
17 – 0 SA
17mins gone
@robdylan (Comment 64) : would of still loved to see him play
ouch that must of been aannaa
Kirchner’s kick charged down!!
This guy shouldn’t be playing test rugby!!
French on the attack, defence looing strong..
Kirchner wat maak jy ?
can we please shoot Kirchner and get someone who isn’t a plank into the number 15 jersey?
@wpw (Comment 74) : Agreed.. he loks ordinary in a Bok jersey
Aplon run over.. looks very zonked
I picked the Bokke by 8
@robdylan (Comment 77) : Who would you suggest? I can’t think of any decent 15′s who aren’t planks….apart from Lambie.
SB father suit and tie to the game what ever happened to plain jeans and SA jersey
Penalty SA!!
Penalty so SA.. holding on and Flo gets us another shot at poles
@JarsonX (Comment 80) : got them by 6
Great work FLO !
SA 20 – 0 France
23mins
must be the first time Prince Albert has watched the Boks… surely?
SA 20 – 0 after 24 minutes
Steyn PK.
SA 20 – 0 France
Steyn converts! SA 20 France 0
@klempie (Comment 81) : Lambie it is, then
Bokke up 20 – 0
@klempie (Comment 81) : well i was going to say Lambie much better player a Zane and he would of done a great job
but he is still a bok just a different game
even Earl Rose is a better fullback than Kirchner
Another penalty to the Boks.
Wish January would give the line a chance
Bryce giving the French a talking to.
Another penalty to SA…
Taking the line out
inside the 22m now
8 phases, just outside the 22m now
French turn over and counter
Big crash in midfield.
Danie Roussouw got up, the French 4 down.
Dangerous hit that
Danie is one big hard SB
Danie Rossouw no arms in the tackle!!
Touch judge wants to give Danie a talking to regarding tackle with now arms.
The ref turns it down
Whats the score
It sure was dangerous.. def no arms.
Got lucky
French score through number 14
French try!!
Great try that. Rougerie goes over from wide out on the right.
Sa 20 – 7 France 30 minutes
Olivier’s try… should have drifted.
Another plank. Get JDV on
Meisiekind descision making on defence are very bad
Oh try for the French
Morgan conversion over
20/7
Jean De Villiers on for Jacque Fourie for Blood
JdV on for the best 13 in the world who is getting stitched up.
Guthro on the wing, scores in the corner
Steenkaaaaaaaaaaaaaamp!!
Guthro try !
Steenkamp try!! Woohoo!!
Steenkamp tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
what a pass from Steyn! Superb
Steyn created that try, good vision to spot the overlap>
Steyn misses conversion
25 – 7 33 minutes
SA 25 / 7
Is this seriously the best the northern hemisphere has to offer?
SANZAR forever.
Steyn missed a kick! Drop him for Pienaar
What a clearance from Steyn
Dummies, steps and punts in 40 m
Bokke is doing good
The two Bulls players Kirchner and Timotei seem to be out of depth at this level!
Sheesh but both of them are average!!
Matfield poaches French line out!
Beauty!!
@wpw (Comment 130) : Timotei! LOL Is that stuff still around??
JDV looking fantastic in defence. Getting involved!
Get rid of Olivier now!!
we’re vulnerable down the right hand side… Aplon is completely unable to contain Clerq and everyone knows it
Mossie back on..
JDV off
Mossie is back
Is anyone else concerned by Bob’s continual use of “ball and all”?
French snuff a penalty tap.
SA scrum on halfway
25 – 7 after 37 minutes
Bwahahaha
France get a scrum penalty but knock the ball on when they took the quick tap!! Lol
French handling reminiscent of the Boks’ first year under Snor.
Habs is going to look like a fool if that ridiculous press goes wrong…
SA penalised after obstruction in the maul.
French line out on our 22m
@klempie (Comment 137) : since Bob made such a hash of pronouncing “emeritus”, I’ve tuned him out
Penalty advantage to the French in front of SA poles!!
OH come SB they are getting tooooo close
French penlty after Aplon played the bal off his feet at the ruck
French take scrum, last play of the half
@robdylan (Comment 143) : To be honest, I’ve never been sure how to pronounce that either. Is it emmer-eye-tis or e-mer-i-tus? I think the latter?
Tune into Afrikans commentary!! Much better
Lmao @ Rob! I heard that one as well…
@robdylan (Comment 143) : @wpw (Comment 149) : When and how did he say it?
BJ making a huge difference to our frint row!
moral victory to the Boks there
Penalty to French again. Going for poles.
SA 25 – 10 Half time
gee French going over and over again and now going for PK
Half time
SA 25 France 10
HALFTIME
Bokke 25 – 10 Hoenders
@klempie (Comment 150) : em-er-EYE-tis
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 153) : @wpw (Comment 155) : @JarsonX (Comment 156) : anyone know the half-time score?
Boks looking good.
Hoping to actually see our backline play in the second half
BOKKE 25 – 10 PADDABOUTJIES
this is unusual… rugbyzone showing the Saffer ads. Makes me feel a bit homesick.
@robdylan (Comment 158) : Got quite a few commentators!!
What did you think of the games this morning, did you see any of it?
@robdylan (Comment 157) : I used to think that too but whenever I hear journos referring to the Arch they use they other.
meningitus artheritus en f@k@l wat oraait is
by the way, anyone know who the oke in my avatar is?
You’d think Prince Albert would be in Rustenburg for the English game tonight?!
@robdylan (Comment 165) : Steven Pienaar.
What a no brainer.. lol
@robdylan (Comment 158) : sorry mate, I have no idea
@robdylan (Comment 161) : Yeh right.
@klempie (Comment 163) : you’re confusing me… to me knowledge, the correct pronounciation is e-MER-it-is
Why the hell is Scott Gibbs working for Supersport??
@robdylan (Comment 161) : Elton en Jan
Got the Aussie game spot on not bad for a lady in Black and White
27/17
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 166) : You’re thinking of Andrew. Albert is Prince of Monaco, principality on the French coast.
ok – my dad’s here to watch with me. No more multitasking
@robdylan (Comment 170) : It is. I just checked on dictionary.com.
@klempie (Comment 174) : Oh shucks.. sorry! My bad..
@robdylan (Comment 165) :
no but he played last night and the team looks up to him must say and a great player too
Go Bokke
@robdylan (Comment 175) : eeeee
and RS
GO BOKS GO
Boks kick off. French clear.
Bok lineout inside our own half.
Smit off for Chiliboy
Chilli on the park, hoepie dit is van holbrand oppie bank sittie
GAAN SPRINGBOKKE GAAN
ohlay ohlay ohlay
SA’s 10th best hooker on for Smit
@Charlie (Comment 182) : oh Charlie you are really STH
January too slow in getting the ball away.. got caught twice in 2 minutes!!
Meisiekind gaan niks naels oor hê nie
Bang Kat
Januarie gets caught dreaming of his next garage pie
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 186) : Are you familiar with the physical concept of inertia?
BJ looks in pain.. Lets hope its not serious and he can stay n the park
@JarsonX (Comment 188) :
BJ has an ouiee
@klempie (Comment 189) : I are a dutchman who have no idea whats you is talking about
Meisiekind aint test quality
Steyn penalty
SA 28 – 10
47 minutes
Steyn converts a penalty
28 – 10
47mins
Aplon scores a 80 meter try!!
Jissie APLON!!
Oh my word!! Go Gio!! Wow!!
Try Aplon !
@robdylan (Comment 122) : Your avatar is Steven Pienaar
French on the attack, lose it in the pass and Aplon cannot be caught!! What a try!!
Aplon try!!!
He probably ran like 120 meters coz of the angle he had to take!
GO SB GO
35/10
BP try.
Steyn converts
35 – 10 on 50 minutes
Flo goes off for Dewald Potgieter
Chiliboy steals the ball.. good turnover..
Maybe he isn’t so kak
35 – 10
49mins
French penalty.. lineout on the Bok 22m
What a tackle by Janaurie
Great defence by the Boks!!
Good tackle by the pie!
Ricky Show Dem !!!
Januarie just brought down the wanabe pie thief
Zane nearly cost us a try there.. bloody lucky!
Danie with a try saving tackle!!
Ricky on flyhalf
Bj replaced by Jannie DP
Flo back on the field. Must have been blod.
Potgieter back on the bench
its time the French start to score and thats only for SB
Meisiekind is useless
Flip Van De Merwe makes debut.. on for Danie..
De jongh replaces meisiekind
35 – 10
61mins gone
Zane replaced by JDV.
JDV moves to wing, Aplon to fullback
Potgieter replaces Schalk
meisiekind got butter fingers
Mossie straight through.. great run..
Penalty to SA for French holding on. Going line out 5m out
Boks lose the ball after scrappy line out
Mossie lack pace
Pienaar warming up
Steyn doesn’t look too flash.. maybe took a bump..
Pienaar warming up
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 226) : Same hairdo.
Pienaar on for Morne
Ruan Pienaar on for Steyn…
Go Ruan GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
YC for Flip
Yellow card for Flip..
Cynical play / professional foul..
SA 35 – 10 68 minutes
Vd Merwe makes a debooo and receives a yellow
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 238) : Idiot.On debut!!!!!
Boks not playing so hot in 2nd H
Boks have definitely taken the foot off the pedal or the second half.
All the replacements taking its effect.
Flo jou yster !
Yellow card for the French now. Number 20 – Yachvili.
For throwing the ball away after the whistle
Less than 7mins left and both teams has a player in the bin
14 a side. Might open things up now.
@klempie (Comment 247) : I was right.
Flo scores after a good maul from the Boks..
So happy!!
Try FLO !
Flo try!
tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Louw jou doringggggggggggggg
SA 42 – 10.. Pienaar converts
5 minutes to play
Score 42 / 10
NH hemisphere rugby is so far behind SANZAR it’s not funny.
32 points difference
Flo scores his first bok try under his grandfathers stand.How awesome is that?
Well 3 / 4 on SB eeeaaahhhhh
I hear no vuvuzellas?!?! Funny that..
French tryyyyyyyyyyy
French score under the posts..
SA 42 – 17
1 minute to play
French score again, convertion over
25 points difference
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 259) : eeeee
VuVuZelas are forbidden @ Newlands for rugby games
Penalty to SA.. lineout 5m out
@Charlie (Comment 264) : Seiously?
SH 3 – 0 NH
FULLTIME
SOUTH AFRICA 42 – 17 FRANCE
Os looks great haven’t seen him for years
FT 42 /17
Full time
SA 42 – 17 France
First win in a while!!
What a kak weekend for the French in Capw Town!!
Well done Bokke
Great South Africa
@ Richard Ferguson – Yebo
BOKKE!!!
Aplon my man of the match, just beating Ricky
Can we have a WI v SA 1st Test, Day 3 thread please?
What about the Arg v Sco thread please
or do we just have our games threads
oh my SS1 is bring all the years memorys back what a great team we had the with James Small and Monti
IRB (Smit) gives Monti award for 102 test caps for SA
WI 12/3
Ricky was usless, Louw must be MO Match.
@klempie (Comment 281) : i was just about to tell you to do just that on what cannel
WI 29 for 3
WI 38 for 3
1st innings trail by 313 runs
WI 63 for 3
GO RICKY !!!
Charlie
Go have a look at rugby 365′s ratings!
Die ou wat dit opgedink het is taatie!!
Zane kry n 6 dink ek en Timotei n 6 of 7.
Fourie kry n 8 even though hy nie so goed was nie!!
@ wpw, Ja wat verwag jy van Jan De Koning
Charlie
Jan de Koning het nie die artikel geskryf nie.
Hy is gewoonlik ‘spot on’ met sy ratings!
Ek dink hy is ok. Dit lyk asof dit n nuwe ou is!!
Dit is maar net sy opinie!!
Kirchner is probably more predictable than Oom Stefan.
Almost as flashy as Johan Roets.