Richard Ferguson

Team of the Week – Round 5

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Bulls, Cheetahs, Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks, WP on 11 Aug 2010 at 09:57
Tagged with : , , , ,

Interesting team of the week this week, which has seen another great response from both authors and bloggers.

There are a few players that stay put in their positions, and some that have moved to the right position (read Lambie). Juan de Jongh, Lwazi Mvovo, Pat Lambie and Willem Alberts all recoded shut outs this week, with them being in every single submitted team.

At loosehead prop we had a three-way tie, with no way of separating them in an unbiased way, I gave them all three the position.

No surprises that the Sharks representation shot up dramatically.

Team of the week:

15. Jaco Taute (Lions)
– Close second Conrad Jantjes

14. Gerhard van den Heever (Bulls)
– Close second Gio Aplon

13. Juan de Jongh (WP)
– No other outside centre was nominated

12. Doppies la Grange (Lions)
– Close second Walter Venter

(Five different inside centres were nominated, with Bosch, Strauss and Watermeyer all in the mix)

11. Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks)
– No other wing was nominated

10. Pat Lambie (Sharks)
– No other flyhalf was nominated

9. Charl McLeod (Sharks)
– Close second Michael Bondesio

8. Willem Alberts (Sharks)
– No other eighthman was nominated

7. Francois Louw (WP)
– Close second Dewald Potgieter

6. Keegan Daniel (Sharks)
– Close second Pieter Louw

5. Anton van Zyl (WP)
– Close second Al Hargreaves

4. Steven Sykes (Sharks)
– Close second Flip van der Merwe

3. Jannie du Plessis (Sharks)
– Close second Brock Harris

2. Craig Burden (Sharks)
– Close second Adriaan Strauss

1. Beast Mtawarira (Sharks)/Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs)/Jaco Engels(Bulls)

Sharks – 9
WP – 3
Cheetahs – 1
Bulls – 2
Lions – 2 post a team which are all uncapped players. What do you guys think?’s Uncapped XV:
15 Hennie Daniller,
4 Gerhard van den Heever,
13 Jaco Taute,
12 Patrick Lambie,
11 Lwazi Mvovo,
10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter,
9 Sarel Pretorius,
8 Duane Vermeulen,
7 Jacques Botes,
6 Deon Stegmann,
5 Anton van Zyl (captain),
4 Steven Sykes,
3 Werner Kruger,
2 Deon Fourie,
1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

16 Craig Burden,
17 Wicus Blaauw,
18 Adriaan Fondse,
19 Keegan Daniel,
20 Jano Vermaak,
21 Stefan Watermeyer,
22 Louis Ludik.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.