This is touted to be the Currie Cup match of the weekend and thankfully it is televised. Western Province are looking to return to winning ways after the stumbling block (called the Sharks) they hit last weekend.
The Cheetahs come off a good run out against the Leopards where they ran out 57 – 0 victors. The visitors have lost their influential captain Juan Smith to Springbok duty, and I am sure that this will negatively impact their game against much stronger opposition.
This might be a rather dull affair with Province’s defence structures and the Cheetahs lack of attacking bite, but only time will tell.
This match is to be televised on Super Sport 1 and will kick off at 19h15 local time.
Recent results:
2007: Free State Cheetahs won 45-13, Bloemfontein
2007: Western Province won 34-20, Cape Town
2008: Western Province won 9-3, Cape Town
2008: Western Province win 35-17, Bloemfontein
2009: Western Province win 19-13, Cape Town
2009: Free State Cheetahs won 33-31, Bloemfontein
2010: Western Province won 25-11, Bloemfontein
Teams:
Western Province: 15 Conrad Jantjies, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Paul Bosch, 11 Frikkie Welsh, 10 Willem de Waal, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Nick Koster, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Anton van Zyl (captain), 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Buhle Mxunyelwa, 18 JD Moller, 19 De Kock Steenkamp, 20 Pieter Myburgh, 21 Conrad Hoffman, 22 Lionel Cronje.
Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Philip Snyman, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Louis Strydom, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Hendro Scholtz, 5 Waltie Vermeulen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 Kobus Calldo, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Skipper Badenhorst, 17 WP Nel, 18 Izak van der Westhuizen, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Tertius Carse, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Riaan Smit.
Date: Friday, August 27
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.30 (17.30 GMT)
Referee: Pro Legoete
Assistant referees: Rasta Rashivenga, Eugenia Daniels
TMO: JC Fortuin

.gif)

Prooooovince
you there yet?
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 1) : I hope your team smacks the Cheaters
@lostfish (Comment 3) : so do I
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 1) :
MOER HULLEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
MOER HULLE HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WP U21 24 – 20 Free State U21
This game starts at 19 30?
9 number changes to WP side.
Enjoy the netball Claytie.
Say hi to Xtal for me.
Tim Whitehead out, Frikkie Welsh in at 13. Aplon moves to 11.
On the bench Buhle Mxunyelwa falls away, everyone moves up one number and Morgan Newman comes in at 22
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 10) : bugger. Whitehead in my FL team
Dont know whats wrong yet.
Try Aplon – Quick lineout to Duvenage who pops it back and Aplon stays on his feet to go in the corner
Try ruled out
score?
Province!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WP 0 – 3 Cheetahs
17min
WP 3 – 3 Cheetahs
19min
Province
But not by to much
3-3 after 290 minutes
6-3 Cheetahs
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 20) :
such a LOOOOONG time.
WP 3 – 6 Cheetahs
21min
didn’t I predict a dull kick-fest here?
Oh wait, just look who the flyhalves are!
Lambie could have de Waal for breakfast and Strydom for tea!
Some bone jarring hits on the pitch
Tiaan Liebenberg off the pitch for Deon Fourie
“Pro Free State” Legoete reffing the game.
coincidence that they started winning against us when Kaplan was subbed off and now FS is doing well against WP???????
@robdylan (Comment 23) : Quiet thineself
Not a breath of wind, its warm out and nobody wants to play any rugger
9-3 to the Cheetahs as Strydom converts yet another simple penalty
WP 3 – 9 Cheetahs
26min
Penalty against Wicus Blaauw for illegal binding
At CT stadium watching Ajax take on Bloem Celtic!!
Die ding ruk hierso!!
WP 3 – 12 Cheetahs
36min
Coonie Oosthuizen returns the favour for the same infringement
@wpw (Comment 32) :
roundball moffie.
But De Waal misses an easy penalty aand score remains 12-3
Shurrup your face you dutchie!!
WP 3 – 12 Cheetahs
Go Province!!! Don’t lose please!
Fondse TRY!!!!!!!!!!!
TRY WP- Adriaan Fondse drives over the chalk after some beter play by the blue and white hoops
Score jislaaik???
De Waal makes no mistake this time 12-10 Cheetahs lead
WP 10 – 12 Cheetahs
46min
@Ice (Comment 42) :
pay attention jislaaik!!!!!!!!!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 45) :
TheseWP okes dont know shit about live updates!
@Ice (Comment 47) :
They are only used to doing an update every 15min or so, their teams isn’t the most prolific team out there.
I think they are watching ours instead!
Free state Legoete gives a talking to to Francois louw.
WP 10 – 15 Cheetahs
53min
@Ice (Comment 47) : Im doing twitter which is nasty because my teetdeck is stuffed, the folks are all asking ME for sharks updates, plus im still trying to make it all work, gimme a break Ys
Kabamba Floors try
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 51) :
Okay….
WP 10 – 22 Cheetahs
56min
22-10 Cheetahs
Excellent for the Sharks this. KAK for my SB.
WP 10 – 29 Cheetahs
59min
29-10 Cheetahs Smoker of a try by the Cheetahs, Nokwes name goes on the sheet but Floors and Bosman do all the work
Province looking even worse with some of their Boks back in the team
WP unpack the maul and the crowd love it
Especially because Gio gets a try because of it 29 17
WP 17 – 29 Cheetahs
67min
Vermeulen TRY!!!!!!
WP 24 – 29 Cheetahs
76min
AND???
Full time 29 -24Cheetahs
WP umpteen phases and then knock it on
Cheetahs win
WP 24 – 29 Cheetahs
woohoo go sharks
Ah crap. They got a BP. Oh well. 7 point lead. That’s almost two games in hand
Before this weekend.
92 teams entered the game:
43 still alive with a lifeline.
14 still alive with no lifeline.
35 out of the game.
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 66) :
Sorry, Boeta..
After this round
Sharks 48 – 30 Griquas
Western Province 24 – 29 Free State Cheetahs
Pumas 22 – 21 Blue Bulls
Lions 45 – 22 Platinum Leopards
92 teams entered the game:
32 still alive with a lifeline.
23 still alive with no lifeline.
37 out of the game.
I’ll be staying joint 1st with Nick on Superbru.
Did the Pumas beat the Bulls??
@wpw (Comment 74) :
Yip.
And the Cheetahs beat you.
I had 2 wrong picks in the whole CC to date, now I have 4.
@wpw (Comment 74) : Gaan huil seuntjie.
VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!
@Loosehead (Comment 77) : thank you for keeping it a bit shorter this time!
Stupid! Idiot! Cheatahs! Maybe I’m blind but they cant do anything good in my eyes.