The weekend of rugby action kicks off a bit later with a minnow battle of epic proportions. Both teams will have targeted this match in the preseason as a must win, and as it stands, both teams can quite easily walk away with the spoils.
As Rob mentioned in the preview and predictions article, both teams have not won a match so far, even though both came extremely close in the first round, and the Pumas even running the Sharks close last week to complete an impressive start to the season.
I would not put any money on this game, but being forced to make a prediction does make me look towards the men in pink to steal this match. Either way, we can expect a close game.
Pumas: 15 MJ Mentz, 14 Deon Scholtz, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Tiaan Marx, 11 Shandré Frolick, 10 Coenie van Wyk, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Christo le Roux, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Corné Steenkamp (captain), 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Willem Serfontein, 3 Ashley Buys, 2 Pellow van der Westhuizen, 1 Dawie Steyn.
Replacements: 16 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Eduan van der Walt, 19 RW Kember, 20 Tian Meyer, 21 Johan Jackson, 22 Carl Bezuidenhout.
Griquas: 15. Riaan Viljoen, 14. Richard Lawson, 13. Jean Stemmet, 12. Barry Geel, 11. Dusty Noble, 10. Earl Rose, 9. Marnus Hugo, 8. Jonathan Mokuena (Captain), 7. Davon Raubenheimer, 6. Justin Downey, 5. Martin Muller, 4. Hendrik Roodt, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Ryno Barnes, 1. Steph Roberts
Replacements: 16. Matthew Dobson, 17. Jean Botha, 18. Frederik Albertus Spies, 19. Burger Schoeman, 20. Warren Malgas, 21. Matthew Rosslee, 22. Rudi Vogt

Pumas by 12. How can that decision be hard with Earl Rose at flyhalf?
Come on you Pumas
family braai, I’ll have to sneak away to check on the “kids” now and then.
Pumas to take this, but only coz it’s at home.
i reckon the Pumas will take this one by 10+, simply because they have good physical pack with a very fast and creative backline.
@G West (Comment 4) :
“The forwards decide who wins the game. The backs decide by how much.”
@KSA Shark © (Comment 3) : OH and because Mummy Rose is their starting flyhalf.
Marius jonker reffing the game and it kicks-off at 19:00 SA time.
Hi all siting at the stadium, watching the guys warming up. kinda chilly here tonight, but great conditions and the field is in tip top condition.
looking at Riaan Viljoen practising his kicks at goal from 55 out.
1hr45 late, but we are here… Send the updates cause no tv
Braai now exchanged for kentucky to make up some time
hehe. will be giving updates as they score or if there is injurie.
I have the pumas to win this one by 9…..
The game started yet?
Go Pumas
game is underway. 2min penalty to Pumas and they kick for posts but miss.
7min penalty Griquas, Riaan Viljoen to kick posts and he nails it. Griquas lead 3-0
10min try by Pumas no:10, coversion is good. Pumas lead 7-3
Hey G West can you keep a close eye on number 21 when he comes on?
@G West (Comment 17) : At this rate I am going to be a very happy man on SuperBru
13min penalty to Griquas tackler not releasing, Rose to kick for posts and he slices it to the left. Score still 7-3 to the Pumas.
@Ben (Comment 18) : Number 21 for the Pumas that is.
15min TMO for try by Griquas no:14 and it is given. coversion by rose from the outline is to the left. Griquas lead 8-7
Are they playing in one of those white elephants that the soccer teams can’t even afford to play in?
25min try Griquas Jean Stemmett, coversion missed by Rose. Griquas lead 13-7
Try Griquas Dusty Noble, conversion by Rose is over althou right infront post. griquas lead 20-7. 30min
Shibbit Pumas! My asset is on the line in LMS!!!play like u played against the Sharks!!
Fransie – just glad u okes made it safely!!
groete vir klein Sybrand!
34min Try Griquas No:13 conversion is good. Griqus lead 27-7
38min try Griquas by Barry Geel and the conversion is good. Griquas lead 37-7, Griquas on fire at the moment.
Ag no man, wtf is going on with the Pumas??? I was in 2 minds who 2 choose..a Pumas team at home or a wounded Kwas team…seems I chose wrong! Ek @#*@ sommer di Pumas! Nearly gave me heart attack last week and this week they seen MIA!
half time score is 34-7 to the Griquas.
Nee man Pumas
Former Sharks centre, Jean Stemmet having a good one, and Strooilie let him go, and rather opt for Marius Joubert who seems to struggle to fit in
49min try Pumas from a absolute awesome steal on their own try line with two kicks across the field to score a brilliant try, conversion is good. score 34-14
PUUUUUUUUUMAAAAAAS!!!
Ag man, and now I will start my week with a 0/1 record. nee man…
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 35) : Unfornately the All Blacks will corect that tomorrow against the Boks
53 min penalty the Griquas and they nail it, score 37-14 to the Griquas.
@G West (Comment 37) : ahh, dis Pumas team is makeing me angry…
58min yellow card rto Griquas.
60min try Pumas conversion missed. score is 37-19.
64min brilliant try by the Pumas from a knock by the Griquas, conversion is good. score 37-26 to the Griquas.
Power out in ptn
@G West (Comment 41) : You at the game?
69min Griquas penalty, going for posts and Riaan Nails it. 40-26
@KSA Shark © (Comment 43) : ya im at the game. leka cold here hey.
@G West (Comment 45) :
@G West (Comment 44) : And with that my SB goes out the window
77min try Pumas, conversion is good. Griquas still lead 40-33.
Damn Pumas.
Rose goes for a second drop in the last minute and nails it, Griquas win 43-33 and there goes my SuberBru!
@G West (Comment 48) : a Draw will be good enough for me.
C’mon Pumas one more try!!!!!!!!!!!
@G West (Comment 50) : Damn!!!!!!!!!
Was the last drop attempt over?
Pretty sure it wasn’t?
Not that it makes any difference to my SB.
@McLovin (Comment 53) : I Think Not?
365 has it as missed
@KSA Shark © (Comment 54) : Supersport has it as over ???????????????????????
The Log will be updated once we have confrmation of the final score.
WHAAAAT happend here…. Gee and I almost went for the Pumas on LMS….
If only the Pumas played the first half as they did in the second
Okay confirmation that Rose missed both the late Drop goals.
Log updated.
Pumas get 2 points from the match and the Griquas get 5.
Before this Game.
123 still alive.
9 still alive with no lifeline.
22 out of the game.
After this game
109 still alive.
11 still alive with no lifeline.
36 out of the game.
12 Non pick deaths
6 Lifelines lost
2 eliminations
@KSA Shark © (Comment 60) : Non pick deaths suit me just fine!
Sorry, about the miss understanding about the drop goals, The stadium score had the second drop as over and from where i was i couldn’t see if it went over, i know for a fact the first one was missed thou. Anywayz seems all cleared up now. I was surprised by Rose actually, he played really well apart from his kicking. His distribution led to two of the Griquas tries to kudos to him for playing some good rugby again.
@G West (Comment 62) : No Worries, half the country got it wrong
@KSA Shark © (Comment 60) :
Bloody ost lifeline..
Going for broke next weekend.. we shall see what happens!
Great comeback by the Pumas
#$%!@ Pumas cost me . . . on SB and sportsbet!
that is just S!@t they cost me a point on SB had pumas by 7