The rampant Sharks take on a Griquas team that has struggled to get off the mark in this Currie Cap campaign so far, with a draw against Province and a close win over the Pumas last week their only points. The Sharks however, are unbeaten so far and will be aiming to keep that record intact after tonight’s game.
The Griquas team is packed with quality players like Riaan Viljoen, Jean Stemmet, Earl Rose, Davon Raubenheimer and Ryno Barnes and should really push for honours in this watered down, Springbok-less competition. This is something that the coach surely would have put across to his team.
The Sharks have been very brave in selecting a team with their Springboks on the bench, and even some of them having the weekend off. That said though, the bench is loaded with the talented likes of Pat Lambie and Ryan Kankowski in case something does go wrong.
The match kick off at 19h10 and should be a cracker!
Griquas: Rudi Vogt; Riaan Viljoen, Jean Stemmet, Barry Geel, Dusty Noble; Earl Rose, Marnus Hugo; Burger Schoeman, Davon Raubenheimer, Jonathan Mokuena (Capt), Martin Muller, Hendrik Roodt, Lourens Adriaanse, Ryno Barnes, Jean Botha.
Reserves: Matthew Dobson, Ivann Espag, Frikkie Spies, Marnus Schoeman, Matthew Rosslee, Monty Dumond, Wilmaure Louw.
Sharks: 15. Louis Ludik, 14. Mark Richards, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Sibusiso Sithole, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Keegan Daniel (Captain), 7. Marcell Coetzee, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Jandre Marais, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Craig Burden, 1. Dale Chadwick
Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Eugene van Staden, 18. Peet Marais, 19. Ryan Kankowski, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Patrick Lambie, 22. Marius Joubert

Go SHARKS!!!!
“I’m on the road again”
Keep the updates flowing
SHARRKKKKSSSS!
Hi anti Chaz, was the heardrier a bid hot this morning
Qrieks with 5 ouch
@Franshark (Comment 3) : I have the SHARKS by 30
Go SHARKS!!!!!
I’ll be watching the game’s repeat @ 00h00
go sharks!!!!
Funny quality players like Earl Rose haha I have Sharks by 15
Supersport is covering a Friday night Sharks game?????
Come on Sharks.
@lostfish (Comment 10) : Hello young lady.
So far Super Sport has aired Pumas 1/3 Leopards 1/3 Sharks 2/3 Lions 2/3 Cheethas 2/3 WP 3/3 Bulls 3/3 Griquas 3/3
Oh no, it’s Pro.
Lots of Sharks support in Kimberley.
@klempie that’s what I said
How come the Boks have been allowed to play in the CC?
@klempie (Comment 13) : pro-blems
@klempie (Comment 13) : yip
@Mutley (Comment 15) : When?
@klempie (Comment 16) : what boks?
@klempie (Comment 11) : Hey Klempie, how are you?
Comment 12
Blades reckons Earl Rose is mercurial…
Pearl Rose almost knocked the ball on before he kicked it off.
Lets see if my new phone can keep up with the excitrment
Kick off
@Franshark (Comment 20) : Lambie and Kanko.
Sharks looking irresistable already.
5m scrum in front of the posts.
@klempie (Comment 27) : good Q, why they not part off bok sqaud….
Pro reckons early engagement by the Sharks.
For some reason the Kwasse think that’s fantastic.
@Franshark (Comment 30) : That’s what I want to know. I understand McLeod being released but not Lambo and Kanko. But then again, does Snorre ever make sense?
Batery flatish
Sharks get a GOOD hit in the scrum almost turn it.
@klempie (Comment 32) : Not in all his tenure.
Pearl Rose has matching gloves and boots.
@lostfish (Comment 21) : Good thanks. Been a busy week. Actually had a nap when I got home. I think I am officially old.
Griquas on our 5m line after a break by Earl.
Rose cutting the Sharks to shreds.
@klempie (Comment 37) : hahaha, I had a nap this afternoon too.
62% possession and nothing to show for it after 13 mins.
MARNUS SCHOEMAN!!!
Penalty Kwasse after a scrum infringement by the Sharks. They take a lineout.
Dirty Daniels carded.
Keegs gets a yellow for a dangerous tackle. Tiddly winks.
Pro ensuring that he gets in the papers tomorrow.
@McLovin (Comment 44) : What would a Sharks game be without you raining on the parade
Kwasse keep going for the line out.
Try Ryno Barnes
Barnes scores after a good maul and pathetic effort by the Sharks to break it up.
@lostfish (Comment 47) : Someone has to keep you guys on your toes.
It looked to me like he lost his bind there for a second.
And Legoete gets his wish
7-0 Griquas
Converted.
Kwasse 7 – 0 Sharks
17 mins
Penelty Freddie 7-3
Not good
Pro reckons a ruck has been formed and blows the Kwasse up for hands in. I’m not convinced but I’ll take it.
Fred puts it over.
Kwasse 7 – 3 Sharks
19 mins
@McLovin (Comment 52) : That is true
The Sharks defensive lines aren’t exactly structured.
Kwasse at 11 phases
Fantastic continuity by the Kwasse. 19 phases
Try Roodt
Kwasse on fire.
I can see who refs this game
One of the tries of the CC season. 25 phases!
Fantastic try. That was something like 25 phases. And Roodt falls over the line.
I really hope this isn’t the typical Sharks implosion in Kimberly.
Will be very impressed if the Kwasse can keep up this pace.
Mu guess is they’ll start running out of steam during the 2nd half.
Griquas 14-3
Neatly booted over.
Kwasse 14 – 3 Sharks
24 mins.
Possession has swung 73% to the Kwasse
Daniel back on.
Keegan’s card proving expensive
A chip and chase by Louis results in Viljoen getting the ball down ahead of Ludik.
Pro goes back to a penalty for Ludik being shouldered by Rose just after he chipped.
Penelty Freddie 14-6
Earl unlucky to be penalised.
Fred pings it over.
Kwasse 14 – 6 Sharks
27 mins
@McLovin (Comment 76) : Stirrer
@klempie (Comment 78) : He only stood his ground.
@McLovin (Comment 76) : hehehe! Hopefully we get a chance to get back at you tomorrow evening.
Ag that was crap Fred.
@McLovin (Comment 79) : You’re taking liberties old man.
Anybody knows the Puma Leopards score
Sharks have 35% territory.
@beet (Comment 80) :
I’m sure there will be plenty opportunity tomorrow.
Can’t trust those Free Staters.
Kwasse in from the side at 5m and ST goes for the lineout.
Kom Sharks!!
Another 5m penalty which ST uses for a lineout again.
@klempie (Comment 88) : 3rd time lucky?
Try Burden
Starting XV Burden Tri!!
Sharks with a GREAT maul and Burden goes down off the back of it.
Kwasse 14 – 11 Sharks
@lostfish (Comment 89) : Yes
@lostfish (Comment 89) : Yes!
@JarsonX (Comment 91) : Me too. Starting XV yellow card too.
Pro gets his wish.
Converted.
Kwasse 14 – 13 Sharks
37 mins
14-13
@JarsonX (Comment 91) : I read “Burden Tril!”
The real Pearl Rose coming through
Who took the conversion?
@lostfish (Comment 95) : Me too
@RuckinGoodStats (Comment 101) : Fred’s done all the kicking.
Flood gates about to open?
@klempie (Comment 99) : hehehe
Kwasse all in front of the kicker.
Fred right in front.
Kwasse making dof mistakes.
And pissing off Pro.
Penelty Freddie 16-14
HT Kwasse 14 – 16 Sharks
Halftime
@McLovin (Comment 104) : Wait for the bench.
Looks like the frog will once again turn into the Sharks’ prince.
Anyone got an update for the Leopards game???
Good work by the Sharks to wrestle back the lead.
@JarsonX (Comment 113) : A lot of lives depend on that result
Sharks had 37% possession…
Is Blades on the sauce tonight?
Adriaanse apparently infringes at the scrum (for god knows what).
@lostfish (Comment 117) : Isn’t he always?
That’s when he’s at his best.
@lostfish (Comment 117) : Is the Pope a citizen of the Vatican?
Kwasse coming a distant second at scrum time.
Oooo. Good take by Rose.
Try Kwasse after Fred was left isolated and blown up for holding on. A quick tap gets them to the line, and Adriaanse reaches around the ruck and dabs the ball over the line. Converted
Kwasse 21 – 16 Sharks.
Kwasse starting the 2nd half like a house on fire.
Obstruction by the Kwasse off the kickoff.
Lambo is on and is going to take it.
Through.
Kwasse 21 – 19 Sharks
51 mins
ST offside and penalised.
Kwasse keeping the Sharks in the game with some dof mistakes.
Especially at kick-off.
Over.
Kwasse 24 – 19 Sharks
53 mins
van Staden is also on.
Kwasse have 65% possession in the 2nd half
Kom Sharkies!!!
Any updates, my stream died.
Kanko is on….and he’s had a trim!
Kanko with a new hairdo on for Botes
Kanko appears to have invested in a hair straightener.
@klempie (Comment 134) : @JarsonX (Comment 135) : @McLovin (Comment 136) : any updates about the rugby?
Chadwick penalised for scrumming in.
Vogt from halfway.
All of a sudden Sharks giving away plenty of scrum penalties.
Penelty Vogt
@lostfish (Comment 137) :
Kwasse 27 – 19 Sharks love
61 mins
Joubert and McLeod are back.
@klempie (Comment 141) : Thanks Klempie.
Penelty Lambie 22-27
Kwasse blown up for I dunno what. I think someone left the scrum early.
Lambie puts over a sitter.
Kwasse 27 – 22 Sharks
64 mins
Penelty Vogt 30-22
Burden penalised. Vogt puts it over.
Kwasse 30 – 22 Sharks
66 mins
Ref is against us
6 out of 6 for Vogt so far.
Botha goes down in the scrum.
Sharks go for a linouet.
Gruquas pressure forces the Sharks to cough it up.
HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Lambie APPARENTLY held on there. Pro you bloody doos.
If the Kwasse land this kick, that line out just cost the Sharks 6 points.
@klempie (Comment 151) : Howzit, thanks for the updates. Just joined this thread. Seems like Sharks making too many silly mistakes to win this.
Penelty Vogt 33-22
Kwasse 33 – 22 Sharks
70 mins
@Mutley (Comment 155) : ok, well that sounds like the game’s in the bag. How man mins left to play?
Try Mokoena
Kwassa building phases into our 22.
Game over. Mokoena scores the bonus point.
Saw a few highlights of this game. Seems like Keegan’s sin-binning proved costly. Scored 2 tries while he was off the field. Stef also gave away a soft penalty by scooping the ball from offsides….
Should’ve gone with the Kwasse on SB.
Plumtree underestimated the qriquas in kimberley out of all places very arrogant sharkies!
Griquas 40-22
Eeeek! The score is not pretty.
@klempie (Comment 159) : Ok, well there you have it
4 tries… doesn’t say much for our defence does it…?
Oh well at least I get a FL try from Mokuena
Vogt puts another one over.
Kwasse 40 – 22 Sharks
75 mins
@beet (Comment 164) : haha arrogant sharkies plumtree should have used all his boks
@Muzi (Comment 162) : It’s not that… Sharks always implode in Kimberly.
@CapeShark (Comment 166) : Not at all chap.
Kimberley is no place for youngsters lol you need real men with balls
to beat qriquas
@klempie (Comment 171) : It’s the curse of Kimberly.
Hats off to the Kwasse.
Played well.
Also had the ref against them.
Penalty against Kanko. Vogt from our 10m line.
@Muzi (Comment 162) : Muzi, boet, pls don’t talk cr*p here. Plum & Sharks weren’t arrogant; coach was rewarding the players that had shown promise and he wanted to keep that winning momentum. Griquas played very well.
Penelty Vogt 43-22
Crickey.
Who would have thought Kwasse by 20+.
Over.
Vogt is a ridiculously good kicker.
Kwasse 43 – 22 Sharks
78 mins
This is a dondering of note…
@lostfish (Comment 170) : Yes its that plumtree thought that the little sharkies who thrashed the bulls could do the job against griquas
this is the currie cup anything can happen hahahaha
@McLovin (Comment 178) : Who would have thought the Leopards would get their first win in the Currie Cup.
Griquas win 43-22
@klempie (Comment 179) : Use all your available boks do not underestimate the pumas and griquas of this world
FT Kwasse 43 – 22 Sharks
Absolute hiding. The Sharks were nowhere.
@Muzi (Comment 180) : Just read comment 176
@Muzi (Comment 169) : when Pro started penalising our scrum that was the ballgame.
And Plumtree doesn’t need Kimberley to prove it. He’s arrogant period
@Muzi (Comment 180) : Ok, I’m outta here. Trollers starting to troll. Cheers guys.
@McLovin (Comment 178) : Yip, very disappointed. Who would have thought we would lose by that much?
Have to say WELL DONE GRIQUAS.
@lostfish (Comment 181) : I’m guessing that win was tonight.
My SB sunk before it left the harbour.
@Muzi (Comment 183) : That argument might’ve made sense if Plum hadn’t brought all the Boks on at the start of the second half, which was the half we got dondered in.
@CapeShark (Comment 176) : rewarding players pfffttttt it was arrogance he will not take that chance ever again!
@beet (Comment 186) : Bit harsh on our coach there ,Beet?
@Puma (Comment 188) : Certainly not me.
Like you said, well done Kwasse.
@Muzi (Comment 169) : Doubt Plum was arrogant mate. Think he was just giving the players another game that have won all our games for us so far. You can’t drop players that have produced till now.
Next week we will no doubt see more of our Bok players playing.
Piss-poor play from the sharks.
Senior players like Bosman and Stef didn’t stand up – in fact fell into the stupid kicking like the halfbacks.
Very disapointed – although youngsters like Coetzee and Sithole still shone.
Does this change the Lions Bulls game of tomorrow
@CapeShark (Comment 192) : nothing to do with his ability as a coach but I’ve witnessed it first hand when the cameras weren’t on him.
What a great start to the weekend
the sharks get blown away well absolutely bullied off the park by griquas hahaha…..keegan daniels has a BIG problem with his temper
the guy must relax tjoe.
Cheers unlucky sharkies!
@Big Fish (Comment 195) : Agree.
Like in S15 our centres letting us down.
Anyhow out of here now. Cheers everyone.
Oh yes ! On the positive side of things it was good to see kanko finally find his razor
@Plumtree: please select the same team for return game at shark tank.then let’s see what they have learnt.they will be hurting emotionally from this loss.let’s see this game front up physically to the griquas on our home ground..sharks4ever!!!!
@Muzi (Comment 200) : I’m so rooting for the Lions tomorrow.
Kanko was rather quiet..
@Muzi (Comment 198) : Don’t speak too soon mate. Your team playing Lions tomorrow…hehe.
Leopards beat the Pumas
@bergshark (Comment 203) : I’m not sure that playing the Boks, less than a week after they got back from Aus was the cleverest move.
@McLovin (Comment 189) : Sadly. Bye bye LMS lifeline.
We just didn’t seem keen on “the fight” tonight
dunno,I might be wrong..
Lions finish the weekend no worse than second on the log!
So.. Perhaps wouldve been better to sign bertie rather than riaan..? Hehe just kidding.go gouws prinsloo..! But I think this kwasse fb could excell at a team like the bulls (dunno how his attacking game and def one-on-one is,but he is some deadly kicker..and one -dimensional is the forte of the bulls right?;-)).
Some NB things. The Griquas won the all important battle at the breakdown. The wind was a big factor – we didn’t use it well enough in the 1st half. A few crucial penalty decisions went against us. But well done to the Griquas.
@beet: they did play as the breakdown..sometimes even well on our side of the ruck
and bit of shirt tugging here and there to disrupt botes and co to get across on cover defence..
I’m outta here.good night all..!
@Franshark (Comment 3) : anti Chaz, apologies, u had it spot on, my hairdrier was to cold it seems
Well that was one big mess….. Just watched the repeat and coulnd not believe my eyes… We thought we don’t have to play to win… Eish
@Muzi (Comment 172) : like the Lions ?
@Zibbie have you noticed the deafening silence from Muzi
@Sharksmad – The Blog’s Dudette (Comment 217) :
Its BEAUTIFUL aint it !!! heheheheheh
We lost …well done griquas… Next
Did not watch the game…
Were Griekwas just too good or were the Sharks off….
Ref was awful in decisions sharks started to get upset over them and cost the game. Old lesson play the ball not the whistle.r
We seriously need new centres, NOW!!!
@ Ben and urgently too!