The second game of the day and first of the Currie Cup encounters, sees us to Bloemfontein where I suspect we will see the game of the weekend unfold. The Cheetahs have seen their team be boosted by returning Springboks, while Province are left selected a Bok-less team.
This does match these teams quite evenly, as the Cheetahs pack suddenly looks like they can dominate the WP pack, and the backlines are evenly matched with the return of Robert Ebersohn for the Cheetahs.
The will be a battle royale and I cannot wait for kick off.
Cheetahs team: Hennie Daniller, Riaan Smit, Robert Ebersohn, Andries Strauss, Ryno Benjamin, Sias Ebersohn, Tewis de Bruyn, Ashley Johnson, Lappies Labuschagne, Johan Wessels, Waltie Vermeulen, Francois Uys, WP Nel, Adriaan Strauss (captain), Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: Hercu Liebenberg, Marcel van der Merwe, Izak van der Westhuizen, Heinrich Brussow, Piet van Zyl, Corne Uys, Philip Burger.
Western Province: 15. Conrad Jantjes 14. Danie Poolman 13. Johann Sadie12. Tim Whitehead11. JJ Engelbrecht10.Demetri Catrakilis 9. Dewaldt Duvenage8. Nick Koster 7. Siya Kolisi6. Rohan Kitshoff5. De Kock Steenkamp4. Hilton Lobberts 3. Brok Harris 2. Tiaan Liebenberg (C)1. Wicus Blaauw
Reserves: 16. Deon Fourie 17. Frans Malherbe18. Adriaan Fondse19. Pieter Louw 20. Nic Groom21. Berton Klaasen22. Marcel Brache

Go Cheetahs …wys hulle
Watch eberson show his Class today…Sadie who?
Or let’s hope he does!!!
Sorry Ben I put my mokkers out …for good reason that is…:)
Sadie who? Giggle …mooi boerseun
Tiaan and Hercu are brothers playing against each other today
VRYYYSTAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!!!
ABSA Under 19 Competition
Free State 13 – 16 Western Province
ABSA Under 21 Competition
Free State 18 – 29 Western Province
PROOOOOOOOOOOVIIIIIIIIIIIINCE!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cheeeeeeeeeataaaaas
Daniller of injured
3min
Cheetahs 0 – 0 WP
5min
Lost the feed from Bloem.
Penelty WP 3-0
PK province
Cheetahs 0 – 3 W Province
7min
Slipping bind
Cheetahs 0 – 3 WP
8min
Sadie try.
Try Sadie
Sadi try
WP 10-0
Cheetahs 0 – 10 WP
11min
A WP win and a Lions loss will see WP top of the log.
Sadie is pretty quick
Cheetahs 0 – 10 WP
15min
All a bit frantic at the moment.
Cheetahs 0 – 13 WP
20min
Penelty WP 13-0
Cheetahs attack getting nowhere against the well drilled Province defence.
Nee hell vrystaat…
Cheetahs 3 – 13 WP
25min
Penelty FS 3-13
Cheetahs 3 – 13 WP
30min
WP keeping Vrystaat in their half.
Penalty to Vrystaat at scrum time.
Cheetahs 3 – 13 WP
35min
Cheetahs 6 – 13 WP
38min
Penelty FS 6-13
Vrystaat 9 – 13 WP
Penelty FS 9-13
Halftime 9-13
@McLovin (Comment 38) :
, u mean FS 9
@Franshark (Comment 41) : @McLovin (Comment 38) : and now u make me look stupid by editing the score
Cheetahs still well in this one.
ALL black ENG 3 – 0 Wal
11 min
@Franshark (Comment 42) :
Wales go over in the corner.
2nd half about to start.
PROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVIIIIIIIIIIINCE!!!!!!!!!!!
Hopefully WP can cut out some of the kickable penAlties they seem to be giving away.
ALL black ENG 3 – 7 Wal
17 min
Vrystaat 6 – 16 WP
41min
Vrystaat 12 – 16 WP
44min
The standard of goal kicking is very good, from both sides…
@McLovin (Comment 51) : 9=12
@Franshark (Comment 53) : Thanks goodness for the edit function.
Cheetahs 12 – 16 WP
45min
Vrystaat 15 – 16 WP
51min
Wales 7 Eng 10
@McLovin (Comment 54) : I see u trying to catch me
Brussow on the field.
Brussow on…. And its almost if that’s all this game is about(according to the commentators)
Way too many mistakes from WP.
They need to catch a wake up, and quickly.
WP very lucky to get away with a turnover scrum.
WP doing their utmost to gift Vrysaat the game.
Less than 20 to go
Vrystaat 15 – 16 WP
63min
ALL black ENG 13 – 7 Wal
HALF time
Vrystaat 18 – 16 WP
66min
Penelty FS 18-16
It’s all Vrystaat at the moment.
FS to take the lead here
Fondse yellow
Yellow card for Fondse.
FS 21-16
Vrystaat 21 – 16 WP
66min
penAlty WP.
Kickable.
Vrystaat 21 – 19 WP
69min
Yellow for fondse
Penelty WP 19-21
Vrystaat 21 – 19 WP
10min to go.
@McLovin (Comment 72) : a bid harsh that yellow
Free state incertecpt try.
All my FL players getting Subed
Try Vrystaat
F*%%!ng Brok Harris throws a lovely intercept pass.
FS 28-19
Good night nurse.
Well played Vrystaat.
Took their chances.
Ouch!
Harris always at flyhalf & even scrumhalf today.
Centre Brock Harris throwing a intercept
Penelty WP 22-28
Free State deserved winners today.
WP very sloppy in the 2nd half.
FINAL SCORE
Vrystaat 28 – 22 WP
Fulltime FS 28 WP 22
WOoooOoOOoOoOooooo cheetahs
ALL black ENG 20 – 7 Wal
47 min
@McLovin (Comment 92) : sorry bru
Well done Cheetahs.
Well played cheetahs
0/3 on SuperBru. Hopefully I score 0/4. Meaning the Bulls lose
BuLls to win
@Ben (Comment 99) : 1/3 for me
Quiet blog …mmm…wonder where wpw is hiding? Ping …vrystaaaaaaaaat
AlterEgo
Did your team win this past weekend??
Aaaaw wpw i am not a sore loser and cheetahs my second team as i live in Ficksburg. Actually any team that beats wp puts a smile on my face. We sharks are sharks win or lose. Funny how people behave when tables turn …@wpw we are still the cc champs you havent even got a wooden spoon in the newlands trophy cabinet…ssshhhhhhhhh
Oh it was us who gave province as schalk burger said a lesson
Bokke:
WP = 5
Lions = 2
Not all that much dif…but WP are 3rd on the log…
Wanna say WP are that poor that 3 players make such a big dif?
Plus Jano and Doppies did not play…
And Jano wont be again (unless Mitchel really needs to)…you gotta love that policy of his….
However…the season just started (4th out of 14 rounds)…so there is still a long way to go….
But I will enjoy top of the log while we are there…
@wpw (Comment 103) : its all planning, u have to loose to qriekwas in kimberley to win the CC… See 2010 CC for reverence
The only dif between WP and the Lions 4 rounds was Cheetahs (WP) and Pumas (Lions)…
Other than that they played the exact same teams…
And the Pumas were the Lions closest…and toughest thus far…
And if you draw at home against them? lol
@Hmmm (Comment 106) : Plus Schalk, Bekker, Vermeulen & Elstadt out injured.
No more Francois Louw.
Also about 17 flyhalves out injured.
So that’s at least 12 first choice players not available to WP in the Currie Cup.
@McLovin (Comment 112) :
Lions have injuries too…
Of the 5 WP Bokke only 4 play in the same team at the same time…
Lost a few players….
Just saying if all those players were available…how diffirent would the team be:
Midfield, and 2 loose trio?
@Hmmm (Comment 113) : Locks (Elstadt & Bekker), loose trio (Schalk, Flouw, Vermeulen), midfield (Div & Fourie), wings (Habana & Aplon)
Bench – de Jongh
And then 3 or four flyhalves.
That’s almost the entire first choice side.
Only players currently playing for WP that can be considered first choice are 1,2,3,9 & 15.
We can all say this and that …wp do not have a bench …lions only have one bok…its great for youth and other players to have a chance how boring is the cc if all are available…y
Round 4 shees only by round 7 can we start presumptions
Flo has left…so then the Lions can mention Kockett etc…
Just saying…even though those players will make a dif to WP….Lions can resources missing that will improve them too…
@Hmmm (Comment 117) : Massive difference.
List your missing Lions players. Include Kocky. Then we can add CJ to the WP list.
Lions situation nowhere near the same.
@AlterEgo (Comment 115) : Loving all the youngsters in the Currie Cup.
Makes for some entertaining matches.
The Lions are crap and bankcrupt. Pass it on…
@wpw (Comment 120) : They are also top of the log
@McLovin (Comment 118) : With that thought in mind. How did the Bulls lose to the Lions then?
@wpw (Comment 120) :
Pass it on…
Lol …weepees are crying and lions on top…i think wp will be bankcrupt soon as well paying all those bok players who did not perform… And did not perform in cc final last year and super 15 …
Love it
Btw come 19th of august wp versus lions and sharks this week end …ouch
WP have a decent team a lot of good players in the mix so do the Lions and Sharks. A lot of young guys getting a go. Sadie, Taute, Jantjies, Lambie, Sitole and the Eberson twins al have big futures ahead of them. The Bulls should be worried, for years now the didn’t realy develop players just always bought them and its starting to catch up with them. Bakkies, Matfield, Steenkamp, Rossow, Du Preez will never play for the Bulls again and they haven’t realy developed depth
Yawn!
@wpw (Comment 128) : When you get bored, I get worried.
@ ksashark nope wpw is pissed off not bored …good lions and cheetahs
@ mutley yep you are correct except who will be left at wp after wc ….giggle
@AlterEgo (Comment 131) :
“giggle”??? What, are you a 13 year old school girl??
@Big Fish nope an ecstatic cheatah fan …oooo you come from the crank house go join your friend and sulk together seen that you cannot take a joke…vrystaaaaaaat
Careful you attacking my integrity now …lol…see thats a joke …smile
@Big Fish (Comment 132) :
I’m amazed at the lack of respect from some of the n00bs on the site!!
@wpw you just cannot get over it can you… ??? Now you bringing in respect hahahahahaha you serious ? Hahahahahaha goodness you are a funny guy… Let me whisper in your ear …VRYSTAAAAAT!
Hey Big Fish so what time is the get together at your house for us sw folk…???
@AlterEgo (Comment 137) :
6pm. Ask wpw for details – maybe he can give you a lift too.
@Big Fish (Comment 138) : Im not drinking
Looks like Claytie is offering to give AlterEgo a lift.
Now thats the spirit..just directions please
Guess ill set my tom tom for driving up table mountain then fly off hoping to reach constantia or aim right and land in the harbour of hout bay….that would make wpw very happy
@wpw (Comment 135) :
WPW…you have never really respected anyone….I have seen more people get into a blog brawl with you then anyone else…and not only just on this site…
You are not special…the world and the people on it owe you nothing…
I don’t know Alterego…but lets hope you can get over yourself before he leaves like others like silverfox, etc…
If you really like yourself that much…start your own blog…then you can say what you want and possibly even enjoy it…
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 139) :
Clayton…seems I have not been on here for TOOOO long…not drinking? LoL
@Hmmm well said ole chap couldnt agree with you more…who gives a damn if you post 10000 plus comments but manners goes a far way. We all are entitled to opinions but if one starts attacking the person instead of the ball …then dont complain if you feel whiplashed. Who gives a sh-t if im a noobie which should read as newbie lol. There are a select few here that think we must agree and bow down in their presence…what a joke. I selected my name purely to rattle those who think too much of themselves. I get given a final warning on voicing a public statement that was political and degrading to the sharks and OVS and to us fellow south africans.
If people continue to be picky and down right nasty on here then this sight will become a ghost town. I hope this has not offended any narrow minded people. Shalom