Richard Ferguson

Cooper cited and cleared


Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :All Blacks, Original Content, Tri Nations, Wallabies on 28 Aug 2011 at 10:28
Tagged with : , , , , ,

Australian flyhalf Quade Cooper was called in front of a SANZAR judicial hearing this morning after he allegedly striked Richie McCaw with his knee in the Wallabies win over the All Blacks in Brisbane on Saturday.

After the evidence was viewed and player testimonials taken into account, the judicial hearing dismissed the charge of foul play and cleared the player from any wrong doing. Cooper admitted that his knee did hit McCaw, but that he was in the process of getting up and that the incident was not intentional.

The incident was not picked up by either the referee or assistant referees during the match, and no yellow card was mistakenly handed out for the incident. This clears Cooper to take his rightful place in the Australian effort to take their third World Cup.



7 Comments

  • Quade just loves getting into Richie’s hair… No fear this boy… He must be congratulated for standing up in this game… It was he who this time made Carter look average… Once again highlighting the value of a 9,10 partnership… Carter needs his version Genia, Morne has Fourie… Piri Weepu is not the answer there… NZ don’t have a world class 9.

  • Comment 1, posted at 28.08.11 10:57:55 by DarkDestroyer Reply
    RichardCurrie Cup player
     
  • The incident only fulfilled 2 of the 3 “YES” conditions that Antipodes based Judicial Committees look for when handing down a foul play suspension for this type of offence:

    1) Was there intent?
    2) Was contact made?
    3) Is the accused a Saffa?
    :mrgreen:

  • Comment 2, posted at 28.08.11 11:47:26 by beet Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    beetCurrie Cup player
     
  • @TankLanning: In other rugby news, McCaw has been cited for causing serious damage to Quade Cooper’s knee by striking it with his head :)

  • Comment 3, posted at 28.08.11 12:44:17 by Franshark Reply
    Author
    FransharkTeam captain
     
  • @Franshark (Comment 3) : That is only valid if the knee belongs to McCaw. :)

  • Comment 4, posted at 28.08.11 13:30:36 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • earlier on mcaw punched him just before the try was scored.

  • Comment 5, posted at 28.08.11 18:23:24 by Talent Reply
    Author
    TalentCurrie Cup player
     
  • THe Kiwi papers ae abuzz about the incident. I see the judiciary was a Saffa (Lubbe). So maybe he is trying to placate the Antipodean judiciary ahead of the World Cup, by setting the bar. So hopefully when a Bok is cited on a so so call one of their judiciary will also dismiss it within 24hrs?? We complain about the inconcistencies in SANZAR, but it would appear the main problem is that the judiciary is made up of people who never played competitive rugby, so they just look at the incident in black and white and not at the niggle involved it would appear :?: :shock: I still feel that a panel should be made where all the judiciary make a decision together all they need is to teleconference and in this way it would hopefully get rid of judge A being soft all the time when judge B always finds guilt for eg, because if the 2 where on the same panel one will cancel out the other. Just a thought.

  • Comment 6, posted at 28.08.11 23:27:42 by Dynamite Reply

    DynamiteVodacom Cup player
     
  • @Dynamite (Comment 6) : democracy is the only way… A single decision maker and or judge is not… Unless there is a chief judge for a SANZAR season and rotates… Same for World Cup, there will be soft decisions and harsh decisions… Believe me this, I know this, I have seen this, you do not want this…

  • Comment 7, posted at 28.08.11 23:40:54 by DarkDestroyer Reply

    RichardCurrie Cup player
     

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.