The Pumas host the Lions in a top plays bottom game to kick off round two of the pool stages of the 2011 Currie Cup. It’s David vs Goliath battle in David’s home town as the Lions travel to Witbank in an attempt to stay out of reach of second and third placed teams on the log.
The Lions are still unsure who their captain will be as Josh Strauss is struggling to get back to full fitness, and the call will be made at the stadium. Should Strauss not be able to play, Grobbelaar will captain the side.
This match would have been quite interesting if the Lions were still the team they were last year, but I am sorry to say that this will be one of the more one sided affairs of the weekend, with the Lions scoring full points.
Pumas: 15. MJ Mentz, 14. Wilhelm Hendrik Loock, 13. JW Jonker, 12. Tian Carel Meyer, 11. Deon Scholtz, 10. Coenie van Wyk, 9. Shaun Venter, 8. Christo le Roux, 7. Jaco Bouwer, 6. Corne Steenkamp (Captain), 5. Marius Coetzer, 4. Rudi Mathee, 3. Ashley Buys, 2. Pellow van der Westhuizen, 1. Dawie Steyn
Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17. De-Jay Terblanche, 18. Willem Serfontein, 19. JP Mostert, 20. Martin Sithole, 21. Tiaan Marx, 22. Johan Jackson
Lions: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Michael Killian, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Warren Whiteley/Joshua Strauss, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Wikus van Heerden, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 Johan Snyman, 19 Warren Whiteley/Joshua Strauss, 20 Jaco Kriel, 21 Doppies La Grange, 22 Burton Francis.

Lions
Wp
Sharks
Cheetahs
@JarsonX (Comment 1) : To Win!
A potential upset on the cards here …or have this Lions team finally learnt how to win …
Here’s hoping they have.
C!!! S!!! B!!!
How the hell have you been!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 4) :
Howdy KSA , long time …been well thanks limited blogging time but hope to be around now .
I’m supporting the Pumas tonight with more hope than expectation
@KSA Shark © (Comment 4) :
How was the SA trip ?
@robdylan (Comment 6) :
Thats not nice
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 7) : It was a Jol. Some excellent wildlife, Great views and people in CT, Same in Durban.
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 8) : Gone are the days where we KNEW you were gonna lose, now we have to HOPE for it.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 9) : @KSA Shark © (Comment 10) :
Sounds like u had a jol ! hope the Middle East is treating you and the family well .
@robdylan (Comment 6) : same here…
Ok so here we sit… In darkness…. Newcastle has no power….
@Franshark (Comment 13) : and as I say that power is back on yipeeeeee!!!!
@Franshark (Comment 14) :
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 8) : sorry boet… nothing personal… just that I don’t see us catching you guys if you don’t slip up somewhere.
@robdylan (Comment 16) :
Cheers but its all too good to be true right now and I keep expecting it to all come tumbling down …years of losing does that to one …
Truth is given all the major teams are missing Boks we should settle for nothing less than winning the CC …
Looks like Strauss is fit ..Hope Rhodes still starts though he needs game time without it being cut short by a yellow..
The Stadium looks in GREAT condition.
Hoekom het ek ‘n snaakse gevoel in my broek???
Nee ek het nie ge… nie.
This is not gonna be no walk over …
@KSA Shark © (Comment 20) :
Scrappy opening 5 min …Pumas look up for it and the Lions are forcing the 50/50 passes to much ..
No score yet, a very even spread of possesion and territory thusfar.
Jaco Peyper can take a few lessons from Jason Jaftha on how to ref a game ESPECIALLY how to call the engage.
10min
Pumas 0 – 0 Lions
Jafte has the scrum engage spot on …Refs take note !
Killian TRY!!!!!
Killian under the posts after a great chip and chase from Taute .
7 -0 Lions
Jaco you beauty
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 27) : I like how he calls the pause and engage so quietly, it forces the players to be quiet and calm.
Pumas 0 – 7 Lions
12min
THAT WAS SO OBVIOUS interference by v Rensburg!!!!!!!!!!!
Good Call Jason
@KSA Shark © (Comment 31) :
It seems to calm the anticipation factor ..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 33) :
Silly by Deon
Lions looking dangerous, just a matter of time for them to score a few tries, Pumas not looking shabby though.
Balls to the wings
Lions 6
Pumas 0
16min
Mapoe seems to have hurt his arm or shoulder when he got cleaned out at a ruck.
Pumas going at goal.
Pumas Penalty 3-7
The commentator with Capastagno keeps refering to him as Lionel Mapoor.
Doppies on for Mapoor. Looks like a dislocated elbow
Pumas 3 – 7 Lions
19min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 36) :
Elbow it seems ..thats a blow he was looking good at 13 for us ..
Confirmation that it is a dislocated shoulder for Mapoe.
Gonna cost me a FL trade.
Penalty Jantjies
Lions 10
Pumas 3
22 min
Jantjies slots a PK
Pumas 3 – 10 Lions
23min
Jantjies PK from the center spot short.
Pumas 3 – 10 Lions
25min
Penalty Jantjies but short
Try Rhodes
Rhodes TRY!!!!!!! Pass to him looked heavily forward though.
Lions 17
Pumas 3
28 min
Pumas 3 – 17 Lions
29min
Fantastic angle by Rhodes and the pass by Jantjies was perfect !
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 52) :
Penalty Pumas but misses
@KSA Shark © (Comment 49) :
Forward from your living room
You can see soooooo much of Spencer’s influence in Jantjies’ play.
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 55) :
Im rather enjoying the new commentator along with Cap ..anyone know who he is ?
Penalty Pumas 6-17
Pumas 6 – 17 Lions
33min
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 58) : He mentioned his name at the start when he said the guy was joining him from down on the field, but I couldn’t figure the name (even after rewinding to listen)
The young sharkies are really coming thru for the city of gold
Penalty Jantjies
Lions 20
Pumas 6
37 min
Jantjies PK
Pumas 6 – 17 Lions
37min
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 62) :
@KSA Shark © (Comment 61) :
I tried too but my pvr only kicked in after kick off
WHY is that PK Advantage!?!?!?!??!?! Nothing wrong with the tackle on Jantjies
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 66) : Hey dude! Are you back? Long time no see! Are you still off the same opinion about Meyer Bosman?
It warms my heart seeing handling like that …
TRY TAUTE!!!!!!
Try Taute
@Ben (Comment 68) :
Halftime
Lions 27
Pumas 6
Excellent reffing yet again!!!!!!!!!!
1st he was happy to give the Lions slow ball because he knew the slow ball was better than the PK.
Then he awarded a Penalty later and was aware that there was a quick tap on the way and decided NOT to warn the Puams but to wait until the next stoppage, which was a try.
Jason Jaftha is a great referee.
Cheerio Gents gotta run , have a lekka weekend !
Go Sharks ! 4 tomorrow
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 72) : Told you we shouldn’t have bought him. He is kak!
Pumas 6 – 27 Lions
3 tries to none.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 74) :
As long as he gets the scrums right
@Ben (Comment 76) :
Hindsight hey ..
Only 5833 attendance
@CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 75) : Cheers.
great play by the Lions only for it to be turned over at the ruck. In the old days that was the usual, quite unusual nowadays
Whiteley looking good.
Pen scrum to pumas- cilliers not coping it seems (again).
Is waylon murray out for the season?
@bergshark (Comment 82) : As you say that he gives away a penalty.
Try pumas!!
Pumas try, being refered to the TMO for grounding.
Lol no try :$
@KSA Shark © (Comment 86) : replay shows it to be a knock on.
Defending 5m scrum to the Lions.
Lions defending below average but the Pumas just can’t score, for 3min now
Pumas knock it on
What has become of elgar watts?? Guess he shouldnt have left the pumas for the boland.
Pumas scrum 5m from the Lions line
Pumas win another PK on the opposite side of the field and opt for a LO 5m out
Was that a pumas line-out??
@KSA Shark © (Comment 93) : Lions take the Pumas’ LO ball.
@bergshark (Comment 94) : You wouldn’t say so but yes.
Try Pumas
Steenkamp try
it took the Pumas more than 8min in the Lions 22 to manage a score.
Lions 27
Pumas 13
59 min
Coenie v Wyk (looks about 12 years old) slots the conversion
Pumas 13 – 27 Lions
59min
Possesion after 20min in the 2nd half
Pumas 72%
Lions 28%
@KSA Shark © (Comment 101) : we just had a lekke braai, family visiting for the weekend…
How go’s there by you?
The bearded man is on
Josh Strauss on for Rhodes
@Franshark (Comment 103) : Weekend over, just getting ready for work tomorrow
@KSA Shark © (Comment 106) : ai, eina…. You have weekend thursday and friday
@KSA Shark © (Comment 106) : and this is how it goes
just survived my first 2 days in the new place- was good actually
@rekinek (Comment 108) : new place? You moved?
@Franshark (Comment 109) : workwise
livewise still the same
@rekinek (Comment 108) :
I actually started work on Monday and then we were scheduled for a 5day Eid (holiday) except they decided I needed to work the last 2 days of Eid, So my 1st day back was Today (Sunday in our terms) and while tomorrow is still a holiday for everyone else, I will be at work.
@Franshark (Comment 109) : and still the same cars
71min
Pumas 13 – 27 Lions
Lions 3 tries
Pumas 1 try
@rekinek (Comment 112) :
And animals?
@rekinek (Comment 112) : Still test-driving?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 114) : the old fat fish that would not die finally died
I was actually sad (against my will)
and since then it’s just the 2 of us and the old cars
@KSA Shark © (Comment 114) : they don’t have kid’s, yet
75min
Pumas 13 – 27 Lions
Pumas LO 5m from Lions line
Pumas try
MJ Mentz TRY!!
@Franshark (Comment 115) :
hmmm (caugh caugh) we try not to limit ourselves – but half’s heart decided on the brand already
Lions 27
Pumas 20
77 min
@Mutley (Comment 122) : Go PUMAAAAAS
12 yearl old Coenie v Wyk converts
Pumas 20 – 27 Lions
2 Tries to 3
77min
Lions on the Pumas Line and they win a PK with 10 sec on the clock, tap and go
Snyman bonus point for Lions
Lions BP try on 81:20 for Johan Snyman
Fulltime
Lions 34
Pumas 20
Conversion over
Pumas 20 – 34 Lions
My pick was Lions met 13… Close…
well done Lions
@robdylan (Comment 6) : @CoffeeshopBok;-) (Comment 8) :
NAH !!! evey time he backs or supports the Lions we dont go so well … THANX ROB !!!!! keep up the good work
The Lions set pieces again wasn’t good they need to work on them but Cilliers played a good game so did Deon van Rensburg and Jantjies defence was brilliant. For the Pumas Corne Steenkamp had a monster of a game, it won’t surprise me if he plays for a bigger union next year