KSA Shark ©

1st off-field Yellow Card for the S15


Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :Original Content, Super Rugby on 24 Feb 2012 at 16:30
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

With the introduction of the new white card system there seems to have been another addition that I was not aware of. The judicial officer can issue an off field yellow card even if the referee did not issue a white card and that is exactly what has happened today.

Below is the official press release from SANZAR on today’s off-field Yellow card.

Michael Hobbs issued an Off-Field Yellow Card

Michael Hobbs of the Auckland Blues has been issued with an off-field yellow card for contravening Law 10.4(e) Dangerous Tackle during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

The incident occurred in the 28th minute of the match between the Auckland Blues and Canterbury Crusaders played at Eden Park, Auckland on the 24/02/2012.

An Off-Field Yellow Card may be issued by the SANZAR Citing Commissioner for foul play incidents that are very close to, but in his opinion do not meet the Red Card threshold for Citings.

In this case the incident was acted on by the referee for the match and on further review of the match footage the Citing Commissioner deemed an Off-Field Yellow Card was appropriate.



5 Comments

  • I didn’t even know this was now possible. Good thing IMO.

    This way the guy still gets the sanction but the team didn’t get what would IMO have been a very poor YC decision.

    essentially the guy has got off with a warning/suspended sentence. I believe the yellows are cummalative (sp?) during the season.

  • Comment 1, posted at 24.02.12 16:36:48 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 1) :
    So no immediate impact for the player? Interesting.

  • Comment 2, posted at 24.02.12 16:41:39 by Big Fish Reply
    Author
    Big FishAssistant coach
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 1) : cumulative, that’s right

  • Comment 3, posted at 24.02.12 16:59:15 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 3) : ;-)

  • Comment 4, posted at 24.02.12 17:20:31 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©Head Coach
     
  • So any impact for FL ? as i have this oke in my team

  • Comment 5, posted at 24.02.12 18:37:34 by Zibbie Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner
    ZibbieTeam captain
     

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.