The opening match of the weekend sees the Chiefs host the Brumbies in Hamilton, having gotten off to a rather good start this season, compared to previous seasons where they only really hit their straps towards the latter half.
The Brumbies themselves have two victories behind them, as well as a bye, and are sitting higher up the Australian log than most will expect. I do, however, expect them to start dropping a bit, especially as they are now away from home and are facing a pretty strong New Zealand team.
I am looking forward to a good scrap here, but the Chiefs should quite comfortably put away the Brumbies.
Chiefs: 15. Robbie Robinson, 14. Richard Kahui, 13. Jackson Willison, 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 11. Tim Nanai-Williams, 10. Aaron Cruden, 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8. Liam Messam, 7. Sam Cane, 6. Tanerau Latimer, 5. Brodie Retallick, 4. Craig Clarke (Captain), 3. Ben Tameifuna, 2. Mahonri Schwalger, 1. Sona Taumalolo
Replacements: 16. Marcel Cummings-Toone, 17. Josh Hohneck, 18. Kane Thompson, 19. Scott Waldrom, 20. Augustine Pulu, 21. Martino Nemani / Andrew Horrell
Brumbies: 15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Pat McCabe, 13. Andrew Smith, 12. Joseph Tomane, 11. Henry Speight, 10. Christian Lealiifano, 9. Ian Prior, 8. Ben Mowen (Captain), 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Scott Fardy, 5. Peter Kimlin, 4. Leon Power, 3. Dan Palmer, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Ben Alexander
Replacements: 16. Anthony Hegarty, 17. Ruaidhri Murphy, 18. Sam Carter, 19. Ita Vaea, 20. Nic White, 21. Zack Holmes, 22. Cam Crawford
Tweet

LMS life line on the block pretty early this weekend !!! GO CHIEFS !! GO Tim Nanai-Williams !!!!! BRING IT HOME BOYTJIES !!!!
4 lives lost due to non selection on LMS
52 picks on the Chiefs this morning..
Chiefs screwed me over in round 2, hope they do the same to those 52
Got Chiefs on LMS too
@Zibbie (Comment 1) :
It helps to get LMS out of the way early on the weekend ..so the rest is stress free
Brumbies saved my LMS last week now the Chiefs need to pull through. As for fantasy leauge more than half my players are either on a bye,injured or in the naughty bin.
@csb (Comment 5) :
my big stress game is Waratahs .. i need to do some catching up
I only have one player in this game, Aaron Cruden..
He also happens to be my Captain.. Go you good thing!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 7) :
Cruden could clean up though ..I reckon the Brumbies are in for a hiding.
@csb (Comment 8) :
I’ve been pretty lucky with injuries, at least I have a starting fifteen who is fit without using a trade..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 9) :
you are looking good ! no trades used yet !!!!
@Zibbie (Comment 10) :
I just need to stop myself from using them..
The breaking point will be the lack of a starting fifteen, then I will start looking at a trade..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 11) :
ask your wife to change your password
I’m 2 trades down …
Brumbies 3-0 up after 5min.
@Zibbie (Comment 12) :
Wife?
Nee sorry boet, maar ek is ver van trou!
@csb (Comment 13) :
Thanks for the score updates, I’m useless on a Friday with scores, boss does not want ot budge on my idea for a TV in the offices..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 14) :
I realized that at the rate my friends are getting married my braai for unmarried friends will soon look like Dinner for one ..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 15) :
No problem I’m fortunate enough to have the occasional friday morning free.
So far Brumbies defence is up for the Chiefs attack but one gets the sense once the Chiefs break through it will become a long day at the office for the Brumbies.
3-3 all 10min
@Zibbie (Comment 16) :
I never got the invite?!
@csb (Comment 17) :
Go Cruden!
Not so much a slave driver, as he is not keen to lose most of his employees every Friday morning to rugby, and the occasional cricket match..
Or the tennis..
Or any sporting event really..
@Zibbie (Comment 16) :
I’v been a best man 3 times already …dropping like flies I tell you
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 19) :
Cruden gets the peanut and its 6-3 Chiefs 15min.
Cruden with another penalty
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 18) :
we have to organize something . i expect to see all of you at Ellis park when the Lions play against the Sharks in June
@Zibbie (Comment 24) :
My last experience at Ellis Park is something I would much rather forget!!
But I think it will be great to do a little road trip!
@Zibbie (Comment 24) : You want to watch it live?
Brumbies hot on attack after some great forward and back interplay and pick and drives and gets a penalty for their efforts.
kick off the upright and Chiefs knock it on.
Brumbies in a nice attacking scrum position.
@Ben (Comment 26) :
He is a brave man indeed!
Brumbies back on attack 5m out and get another penalty.
6 all after 22min
Mawnin’ all
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 25) :
Dont stress . With me you will be safe . maybe meet a nice Jozi girl .
@Ben (Comment 26) :
yes ! but beware . those off you who i dont like will be sold to the Nigerians
Brumbies have come to play ..possesion and territory going with the Brumbies.
@lostfish (Comment 30) :
Good morning!
@Zibbie (Comment 31) :
Im not so worried about being safe, Im worried that the result will be the same..
@Zibbie (Comment 31) :
No burger like a Jo’burger
@csb (Comment 32) : Brumbies are causing me stress this morning. My LMS is on the line.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 34) :
No man !!!! its the lowly Lions
you have nothing to worry about …
@csb (Comment 32) :
If the Brumbies switch on here, we could have an LMS bloodbath!
Cruden slots another.. Go my son!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 38) : that’ll be fun except that I’ll be a casualty too
@Zibbie (Comment 37) : The last time I was at Ellis Park we didn’t have a ride home when we came out.
@Franshark (Comment 40) :
Sorry boet..
But I seriously doubt that will happen..
@lostfish (Comment 41) :
Wow! That is hectic!
9 – all 35 min
@lostfish (Comment 41) : that just sucks….
@lostfish (Comment 41) :
Your car got nabbed ?
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 43) : Not what you want after a game of rugby. It was even worse for my friend, the Lions lost and his car was gone.
@Zibbie (Comment 46) : Not my car, luckily.
@lostfish (Comment 48) :
Thats not cool at all . I prefer to get there early and park an the Mc Donalds . Havent had any trouble there as yet .
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 38) : wouldn’t be good for my SB, but considering crusaders cost me a lifeline last week, I could use a chiefs-loss induced bloodbath!
@Zibbie (Comment 49) : You pay to park in a a securish lot with car guards you hope your car will still be there.
@lostfish (Comment 51) :
its better then the rest . hehe . They now have a new thing that you can get a large meal from Mc D’s after the game too . Did that the last 2 times . Worked well .
but yea its not nice i agree . if i didnt support the team i wouldent go either .
@Greg (Comment 50) : It would suck for my SB but if the Chiefs lose it would suck for my LMS. I don’t need the Oakleys, my hubby bought me some for my birthday but I like being green.
@Zibbie (Comment 49) :
Thats a good spot and close by to the entrance.
Also being dropped off with a bunch of mates in a taxi that collects you after is also less stress..
Game on
12-9 Brumbies 45min.
Come on Chiefs pull your fingers out
@csb (Comment 56) :
Uh oh..
@lostfish (Comment 57) :
please pleaseeeeee pull your finger out !!!!!
Chiefs making their way for a rare visit towards the Brumbies 22..defence has been sharp from the Aussie side.
Chiefs get the penalty.
12 all 48min
12 all
I also have chiefs to beat the 10 point margin on superpicks, so the current scoreline is not good for me, but the evening out of things on LMS will certainly compensate!
@csb (Comment 60) : They got there quite nicely though.
Chiefs seem to be waking up
@lostfish (Comment 63) :
Sure from a quick throw in their 22.
Nicely worked up the field.
Hell have Chiefs by 22 on bru
@csb (Comment 65) : I picked them by 11
LMS for this round. Some nervous people around.
Chiefs 52

HSBC Waratahs 25
RaboDirect Melbourne Rebels 11
Toyota Cheetahs 6
Highlanders 2
Emirates Western Force 1
BYE 5
Cruden you beauty
Cruden slots the peanut !
15-12 Chiefs 55min.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 67) :
No picks for The Sharks ?? Where’s the faith
Cruden jou yster!
Western Force
Go Brumbies!
@csb (Comment 70) : hey some of the the ever faithful Sharks supporters even picked the Reds to win on SB I see.
I picked the Sharks on SB and Cheetahs on LMS.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 67) :
At least 6 lifelines/lives lost in the Rebels/Cheetahs game..
Nice!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 67) : There’s no such thing as a guaranteed win anymore
@KSA Shark © (Comment 74) :
You are a brave man..
The Cheetahs? Could work in your favour!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 75) : I’d prefer a draw
@JarsonX (Comment 78) :
So would I
@KSA Shark © (Comment 74) :
Cheetahs could sneak it ..Rebels with late injury withdrawls and knakkered from last weeks effort.
come on Chiefs!!!
@csb (Comment 80) :
I’ve gone Cheetahs on SB.. I reckon they will target this match as the one they HAVE to win on tour..
Straight from the Jake White coaching manual …maul it up field about 20 m and get the penalty.
15 all 64min.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 77) : They were robbed last week, they are going to be HELPED this week.
Mark my words.
@csb (Comment 83) : A draw would me on LMS as well.
Regardless of the outcome Brumbies have impressed me tonight ..Chiefs have been poor though …
And Chiefs maul it up field and get the penalty
And they go for the lineout
was very kickable …
@Zibbie (Comment 6) :
ive changed my mind … this is the big stress game …
@csb (Comment 86) :
NEE MAN !!!!!
@csb (Comment 86) :
That could be a mistake..
Chiefs are known to be up and down.. If they can sort out their consistency issues, they could do well this season..
Chiefs OVER and called held up …
Chiefs held up over the line after about 12 phases of attack.
@csb (Comment 83) : Straight from the JW coaching manual. ‘Defence wins RWCs”
Attacking scrum 5m out under the sticks …got to score …
Is that a hotrod/speedway track around the outside of the pitch?
Chiefs score ! phew …
@csb (Comment 92) : and they do
@csb (Comment 94) :
YEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Sona Taumalolo with the try an easy conversion to come.
22-15 Chiefs 70min.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 95) :
U enjoy the big potential massacres on LMS ..
@csb (Comment 99) : YES!!!!! less competition for me
Brumbies with the turn over and hot on attack 5m out …Noooooo!!!
Brumbies over. TMO pending!!!!!!!!!
Going up stairs for the try …some handbags now …
@KSA Shark © (Comment 102) : “Is there any reason I cannot award this try.” If there is a reason then we will go back for a brumbies penalty.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 102) :
To be clear a draw means you lose a life ?
I don’t have Chiefs!!! I have Tahs
GO BRUMBIES!!!!
@csb (Comment 105) : korek
@csb (Comment 105) : YES. You have to pick a winner not a “drawer”
@robdylan (Comment 106) :
Cheeky Monkey !
@csb (Comment 99) : I do too, but not when I’m the one dying
Try awarded kick to come …
AWARDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Conversion to come from WIDE to draw level.
oh no oh no …
@KSA Shark © (Comment 112) : Conversion 5,5m from touch on the 22.
And OVER !!!! 22 all 76min.
noooooooooooooooooooo
Over!!!!!!!!!!
ALL LEVEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
C’Mon Brumbies!!!!!!!
@robdylan (Comment 106) : As do I!
GO Brumbies!!
Whats going on in NZ if they can’t get their ground clock working ..
Brumbies have never lost at this ground. Not sure if they’ve drawn.
Here come the Chiefs …nearing the Brumbies 22..crowd getting well behind the home team now …
Chiefs are on fire suddenly!!!!!!!!
3m out ..going for the try instead and OVER !!!!!!!!
Chiefs try or no try??
And to think I was going to go brumbies on SB originally, I got swayed by the preview articles, here, supersport and rugby365 all called a chiefs win, by a reasonably comfortable margin
Try time Chiefs !
Dammit!!!!!!
Chiefs try awarded
Not what anyone expected.but my lms still alive
What a conversion.
Conversion over 29-22 Chiefs lastplay and the Chiefs win !
sjoe !!!!!!!!!!!
Phew, I am still alive. I was stressing for a while there.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 129) :
That was almost an LMS massacre.
4 non pick eliminations on LMS and 52 VERY relieved players.
Thats 2 LMS close matches in a row ..
What is the largest loss on LMS before?
My FL Cappie got 7 kicks.. and a win.. awesome
I got a margin point on SB.
Whooooooooo!!!! What stinks, its me
@KSA Shark © (Comment 129) :
@lostfish (Comment 137) :
The vultures were circling
@KSA Shark © (Comment 142) :
I snuck a margin, had them by 12..
Newsflash: I made it past round 4
@lostfish (Comment 140) : Not sure the number, last year rebels lost in week 1 by 43-0, next week they were up against brumbies, and just about everyone had the brumbies. rebels won 25-24, LMS was almost over!
@lostfish (Comment 140) : I THINK there was a number in the 50s or 80s last year. We were finished after round 3 last year.
Yesssssss I has the Chiefs on SuperBru
One point margin difference.. Yes!!!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 149) :
Coz the week after, the Crusaders went down to the Highlanders or somthing to that effect.. Bloodbath!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 149) :
That was also cause we had no lifelines ..
@csb (Comment 153) :
Did I actually have a lifeline after I forgot to pick in the 2nd week??!!
@Ice (Comment 155) :
Ek dink jy is dood, tannie..
@Ice (Comment 155) : Yes! Please tell me you didn’t think you died? Did you stop playing?
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 156) : sy is nou.
@Greg (Comment 148) : I remember that.
Do we really have to wait the whole day for more rugby??
@Ice (Comment 155) : no… missed pick = INSTADEATH
@Ice (Comment 155) :
no . if you dont pick your gone . one time
@KSA Shark © (Comment 157) :
A missed pick is DEAD? Not a lifeline lost?
Ek is nou deurmekaar?
@lostfish (Comment 160) :
after this game i think i can go another week without more excitement
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 163) : It was, now it’s not.
Woohoo!!!! Chiefs keep me in LMS!!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 157) : Yes! I thought I was dead… I was basically told I was dead on here…
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 163) :
BTW . great call to have Curden in your side from the start !
@Ice (Comment 167) :
you where dead .
@Zibbie (Comment 168) :
Oh thanks.. It was a left field decision, and is working rather well for me..
Now if only I followed my gut and put Harris in from the start as well..
@Ice (Comment 167) :
like he said
@robdylan (Comment 161) :
@Ice (Comment 155) : no pick no live…..
@Franshark (Comment 172) : ok, but u must know if even Rich and KSA was confused, hoe d@nners deurmekaar was EK?!? ‘N Verkleurmannetjie op ‘n smartie box does not BEGIN to describe it!
@Ice (Comment 173) :
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 163) : @robdylan (Comment 161) :
I was messing with Ice.
A non pick is immediate elimination regardless of lifeline status.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 175) : don’t tease the children…
@KSA Shark © (Comment 175) :
Jislaaik oom.. Jy het ons op hol hier!
@robdylan (Comment 176) : @Richard Ferguson (Comment 177) :
you guys should do synchronised swimming
@robdylan (Comment 176) : pfttttt!
@Die Kriek (Comment 3) : not on your life can the brumbies beat the chiefs so you were screwed in rd 2 and the rest of the 52 of us were spot on and still keeps of life still on track
Well done Chiefs
for LMS
ahh pity nobody picked Brumbies
@rekinek (Comment 182) :
how are you keeping Rek long time no see
@rekinek (Comment 182) : It’s a pity the Brumbies didn’t win actually
@chaz (Comment 183) : good good madame
just quite busy and bit sick now (looks like I will have to say goodbye to my tonsils)
@KSA Shark © (Comment 184) : if it wouldn’t for picking chiefs in LMS I would share in your disappointment – let’s keep cheering for Force
@KSA Shark © (Comment 184) : what was the biggest bloodshed in LMS ever?
This question would make for good SW trivia
@rekinek (Comment 185) : Trust me, get rid of them buggers!!
@Ice (Comment 188) : but they’ve been with me for so many years …. i’m attached
@rekinek (Comment 189) : trust me, it is poison!
@chaz (Comment 180) : The Brumbies ran it pretty close. They did better than anyone thought they would.
@rekinek (Comment 185) : good luck, I had mine out really late and it is PAINFUL. Make sure you never let the Myprodol wear off for at least 2 weeks.
@lostfish (Comment 192) : Rather insist on a 2 week hospial stay with a pethadine self~administiring thingymabob!
@Ice (Comment 193) : Even better!!!!! Although those things are capped at a certain amount after a certain amount of time.