Richard Ferguson

Theron selects squad for Argentinians

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Bulls, Cheetahs, Lions, Original Content, Sharks, WP on 5 Apr 2012 at 11:00
Tagged with : , , , , , , , ,

SA U20 coach Dawie Theron has announced his squad to attend a training camp and play two matches against Argentina during the course of the two weeks, starting 10 April 2012. The squad consists of 42 players, made up of both U20 and U19 players, and will be the last preparations ahead of the IRB Junior World Championship taking place in Cape Town later this year.

The Baby Boks will play Argentina at the Markotter Stadium on 14 April and at the Danie Craven Stadium on 21 April. There will also be a midweek match, where the team will be made up of mostly U19 players, and this match will take place on 17 April, also at the Markotter Stadium.

Certain players have not been included in the squad due to either their involvement in the Super Rugby tournament or injury, but they will be considered for the final squad selection. They include William Small Smith (Bulls), Johan Goosen (Free State), Ruan Botha, Ettiene Oosthuizen and Paul Willemse (all Lions), Paul Jordaan (Sharks) and Steven Kitshoff (Western Province).

We would like to congratulate all players, but in particular the group of six from the Sharks, with Alan Dell, Franco Marais, Braam Steyn, Khaya Majola, Nicolaas van Dyk and Pieter Steph du Toit making the grade. We look forward to big things from this group of players, who are sure to make an impact later on this year in Currie Cup.

The SA U20 training squad is (provincial union followed by name and surname):

Blue Bulls:

Abrie Griesel, Hendrik van Wyk, Jan Serfontein, Jason Thomas, Marzuq Maarman, Jaco Visagie, Rudi van Rooyen, Shaun Adendorf, Tony Jantjies, Travis Ismail, Wian Liebenberg, Jacques du Plessis (U19), Andrew Beerwinkel (U19), Leneve Dames (U19), Marvin Orrie (U19), Neethling Fouche (U19), Ruwellyn Isbell (U19).

Free State:

Kevin Luiters, JJ de Klerk, Hlanhla Hlungwane (U19).

Golden Lions:

Fabian Booysen, Marais Schmidt, Mark Pretorius, Ruan Venter, Vian van der Watt, Harold Vorster (U19).


Allan Dell, Franco Marais, Braam Steyn, Khaya Majola, Nicolaas van Dyk, Pieter Steph du Toit.

Western Province:

Cobus Nel, Dean Hammond, Dillyn Leyds, Lungelo Chonco, Patrick Howard, Rayn Smid, Kobus van Wyk, Stephan Coetzee, Tshotsho Mbovane, John Ben Kotze (U19).


  • Jeez, they could do an internal trial match: Bulls v everyone else.

    Well done to the Sharks kids, especially Steyn, who is in there for the first time.

  • Comment 1, posted at 05.04.12 11:14:35 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • @robdylan (Comment 1) :

    Does Marcell still qualify for this team?

  • Comment 2, posted at 05.04.12 11:20:13 by Pokkel Reply
    Team captain
  • @Pokkel (Comment 2) : no

  • Comment 3, posted at 05.04.12 11:25:22 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • @Pokkel (Comment 2) : he turned 20 last year… you need to be born in 92 or later to make this side

  • Comment 4, posted at 05.04.12 11:26:03 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • huge congrats to Mr Ferguson, BTW… this is his 1000th article on the site :)

  • Comment 5, posted at 05.04.12 11:27:10 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylanHead Coach
  • @robdylan (Comment 4) :


  • Comment 6, posted at 05.04.12 11:28:23 by Pokkel Reply
    Team captain
  • Frans Malherbe? Pretty sure there is more laaities running around in Voddas who dont get a mention in the article?

  • Comment 7, posted at 05.04.12 12:37:23 by PaarlBok Reply

    PaarlBokCurrie Cup player
  • @robdylan (Comment 1) : just read through those and realised we have a player in every position except for fullback

  • Comment 8, posted at 05.04.12 12:46:49 by Ludz Reply

    LudzCurrie Cup player

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.