Ice

A comprehensive look at Law amendment Trials (2)


Written by Iza Loubser (Ice)

Posted in :Original Content on 3 Jul 2012 at 11:58
Tagged with : , ,

In the second set of laws to be amended we will take a look at the other 5 laws that’s gonna go into trial in the months to come.

Law 12 : Knock-on or Throw forward

12.1 The outcome of a knock-on or throw forward

Add new 12.1(e)

Knock-on or throw forward into to touch. When the ball goes into touch from a knock-on or throw forward, the non-offending team will be offered the choice of a lineout at the point the ball crossed the touch line or a scrum at the place of the knock-on or throw forward. The non-offending team may exercise the former option by taking a quick throw-in.

Current Law 12.1(e) becomes 12.1(f)

Law 16 : Ruck

16.7 Unsuccessful end to a ruck

Five seconds to play the ball from the back of the ruck

Add new 16.7(c):

When the ball has been clearly won by a team at a ruck and the ball is available to be played the referee will call “Use it!” after which the ball must be played within five seconds. If the ball is not played within the five seconds the referee will award a scrum and the team not in possession of the ball at the ruck is awarded the throw in.

Law 19 : Touch and Lineout

19.2 Quick throw-in

Position of thrower at quick throw-in

Current Law

19.2 Quick throw-in

(b)

For a quick throw-in, the player may be anywhere outside the field of play between the place where the ball went into touch and the players goal line.

Amended Law

19.2 Quick throw-in

(b)

For a quick throw in, the player may be anywhere outside the field of play between the line of touch and the player’s goal line.

Law 20 : Scrum

20.1 Forming a scrum

Changed scrum engagement sequence

Current Law

20.1 Forming a scrum

(g)

The referee will call “crouch” then “touch”. The front rows crouch and using their outside arm each prop touches the point of the opposing props outside shoulder. The props then withdraw their arms. The referee will then call “pause”. Following a pause the referee will then call “engage”. The front rows may then engage. The “engage” call is not a command but an indication that the front rows may come together when ready.

Amended Law

20.1 Forming a scrum

(g)

The referee will call “crouch” then “touch”. The front rows crouch and using their outside arm; each prop touches the point of the opposing prop’s outside shoulder. The props then withdraw their arms. The referee will then call “set” when the front rows are ready. The front rows may then engage. The “set” call is not a command but an indication that the front rows may come together when ready.

Law 21 : Penalty and Free Kicks

21.4 Penalty and free kick options and requirements

Add new 21.4(b)

(b)

Lineout alternative. A team awarded a penalty or a free kick at a lineout may choose a further lineout, they throw-in. This is in addition to the scrum option.

Current 21.4(b) to (k) becomes (c) to (l)

I trust you are all well educated now! J

Law 19 in Pictures for better understanding:



23 Comments

  • Law 16 – I laaik iet ay lot!

    Best law since the invention/discovery of rugby :grin:

  • Comment 1, posted at 03.07.12 12:06:14 by FireTheLooser Reply
    FireTheLooserTeam captain
     
  • @firethelooser – Agree. Gets on my nerves when the ball just lies there and nobody can continue playing the game. Time waisting.

  • Comment 2, posted at 03.07.12 12:27:47 by Bite me Reply
    Bite meUnder 21 player
     
  • Law 16 will help to make the last couple of minutes of a match more interesting. I suppose the flip side is that when the hooter has gone you do nt actually have to kick it out anymore. Just don’t use the ball and the ref will call a scrum and end of match!

  • Comment 3, posted at 03.07.12 12:34:57 by Viking Reply
    Author
    VikingCurrie Cup player
     
  • Maybe I am just stupid but what are they actually changing with law 19? :???:

  • Comment 4, posted at 03.07.12 12:44:07 by Viking Reply
    Author
    VikingCurrie Cup player
     
  • @Viking (Comment 4) : ja jy’s stupid! Im blonde and I get it:

    Old law – you could make a quick throw in between where the ball crossed the sideline and your goal line….

    now you can make the quick throw in anywhere from the point / line where it was kicked by the opposition to your goal line…does that make more sense?

  • Comment 5, posted at 03.07.12 12:58:46 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     
  • @Ice (Comment 5) : There was meant to be a :mrgreen: after my first sentence! ;-)

  • Comment 6, posted at 03.07.12 12:59:50 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     
  • @Viking (Comment 4) : My thoughts exactly!

  • Comment 7, posted at 03.07.12 13:02:06 by Die Kriek Reply

    Currie Cup player
     
  • @Viking (Comment 4) : @Die Kriek (Comment 7) : I have added pictures on law 19 for better understanding!

  • Comment 8, posted at 03.07.12 13:19:46 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     
  • @Ice (Comment 8) : @Die Kriek (Comment 7) : @Viking (Comment 4) :
    Dumb law change

  • Comment 9, posted at 03.07.12 13:53:56 by FireTheLooser Reply

    FireTheLooserTeam captain
     
  • @Ice (Comment 5) : So let me get this right. According to the diagram, you can run beyond the place where the lineout would be all the way to the point where the team kicked from and then make the quick throw in, thus running all the way without an opposing player being allowed to interfere with you?

  • Comment 10, posted at 03.07.12 14:00:47 by Viking Reply
    Author
    VikingCurrie Cup player
     
  • @Ice (Comment 5) : I assume that it should be that you are allowed to take the quick throw in anywhere behind the point of where the lineout would be if a formal lineout would have been taken/

  • Comment 11, posted at 03.07.12 14:05:57 by Viking Reply
    Author
    VikingCurrie Cup player
     
  • We better enroll all the players for a full law degree so that they can understand all these changes and amendments. Probably the refs too! :shock:

  • Comment 12, posted at 03.07.12 14:11:08 by Viking Reply
    Author
    VikingCurrie Cup player
     
  • @Viking (Comment 11) : So kick for territory but not for touch.

    Can anyone say “kick and chase” :roll:

  • Comment 13, posted at 03.07.12 14:19:47 by FireTheLooser Reply

    FireTheLooserTeam captain
     
  • What a royal mess!

  • Comment 14, posted at 03.07.12 15:22:57 by Die Kriek Reply

    Currie Cup player
     
  • @Viking (Comment 10) : it seems like it…and that’s what I understand but could be wrong!

  • Comment 15, posted at 03.07.12 16:17:37 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     
  • Actually I don’t get that Law 19 thing. If I do understand the ammendment correctly. This means no or hardly any terrotorial advantage to the team kicking out in the full, unless they kick it over the stadium or hire 50 ballboys to run and touch the ball before the opposing player can take a quick throw in!

  • Comment 16, posted at 03.07.12 18:28:49 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     
  • Rule 19 is the same rule as where the ball is kicked from outside the kickers 22 into touch on the full. With this rule change it seems as if the same will be applied if its not kicked in the full into touch. But i dont think this will make too much difference as not many quick throw ins are taken from where the player kicked the ball even when kicked out on the full, they always are covered and end up taking it back to normal line out spot.

  • Comment 17, posted at 03.07.12 19:22:33 by cody007 Reply

    Under 19 player
     
  • @cody007 (Comment 17) : true that – so what is the motivation behind adding / ammending it then?

  • Comment 18, posted at 03.07.12 19:36:17 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     
  • Hi everyone – thois is KSA’s opinion on that Law 19:

    “In the past (I suspect purely because of bad wording in the law) the throw in had to be taken anywhere outside the field of play between the line of touch and the player’s goal line.

    This was a bit silly because what happens if the player kicks the ball directly into touch then even if he kicked into touch on the halfway, but kicked it from just outside his 22, you couldn’t take it back to the 22 for a quick throw-in. Now with the new wording you can take it that far back.

    The issue that the guys are missing is that if a lineout is formed (2 players from either team) then a quick throw-in cannot be taken anymore. So all you need is 2 guys to form a LO and the guy has to stop running with the ball for the quick throw and return to the mark for the formed LO.

    I think it’s really just a change to get the wording and spirit of the Law right.”

  • Comment 19, posted at 03.07.12 20:32:57 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     
  • KSA’s statement makes sense

  • Comment 20, posted at 03.07.12 20:35:51 by FireTheLooser Reply

    FireTheLooserTeam captain
     
  • Ice, i’m still a bit confused but i dont think its going to have that much effect on an outcome.

  • Comment 21, posted at 03.07.12 22:13:47 by cody007 Reply

    Under 19 player
     
  • @ICE: Where is the arti on the law changes with regards to the TMO duties. Now that’s one where I want to comment on :twisted:

  • Comment 22, posted at 04.07.12 08:36:54 by Viking Reply
    Author
    VikingCurrie Cup player
     
  • @Viking (Comment 22) : as soon as that has been decided, Ill get it up! :grin:

  • Comment 23, posted at 04.07.12 09:40:27 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    IceTeam captain
     

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.