The third match this morning, and the first cross conference match of the weekend, sees the Reds host the Hurricanes in Brisbane.
The Reds started unconvincingly, by losing to the Brumbies, but beat the Waratahs last week to get some form of momentum. Ace goal kicker Mike Harris has been dropped to the bench for this match, so the assumption is that Quade Cooper will take over the kicking.
The Hurricanes were favourites to beat the Blues last week, but as we saw again this morning, the Blues are a different team this year, and the Hurricanes will hope to get their points ally off the mark in the New Zealand conference.
Reds: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Ben Lucas, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Eddie Quirk, 5 Ed O’Donoghue, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 James Slipper (captain), 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Greg Holmes.
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Albert Anae, 18 Adam Wallace-Harrison, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Nick Frisby, 21 Mike Harris, 22 Luke Morahan.
Hurricanes: 15 Andre Taylor, 14 Alapati Leiua, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Brad Shields, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Victor Vito, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu’u, 17 Reggie Goodes, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Faifili Levave, 20 Chris Smylie, 21 James Marshall, 22 Reynold Lee-Lo.
Tweet

Now for the Reds to complete my hat trick of correct results this morning..
I have a feeling though that the Canes will be too strong..
C’mon rooispan.
@McLovin (Comment 2) :
Go Reds…let’s make it 3 from 3!
now just for the reds, Chiefs and sharks (the three teams to win their conference ) to win and I will be happy
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 1) :
The Reds don’t often loose in Brisbane.
@Pokkel (Comment 5) :
But they havent beaten the Hurricanes since 2007?
Either way, tight game!
@BR (Comment 4) : and Bulls.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 6) : Ouch, didn’t know that stat, but it probably means they due for a win.
Reds 11 – Canes 9 after 23 min.
@Pokkel (Comment 3) : fingers crossed.
I’m 2/2 so far today… need a Canes win here though
someone please post a score,us poor working class are dying to know
@bobby 26 (Comment 11) : reds 11 – 9 canes
@robdylan (Comment 12) : thanx boet,nearly halftime?
@bobby 26 (Comment 13) :
47 minutes
Reds 18 – 8 Canes
50 min
Go Reds!!
I need GSP this week just to try and make up for last weeks disaster!
Reds 18 – 12 Canes.
Reds 18 – 12 Canes
70 mins
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 19) : thank you very much Rich
Hold on Reds!
Reds win 18 – 12!
Reds did their best to lose that one.
@McLovin (Comment 23) :
Sounded like it. Luckily I wasn’t watching.
3 from 3, one margin point!
Good start to the weekend!
Next two games are easy picks, so should be 5 from 5 before the main event kicks off.
@Pokkel (Comment 24) : I was. Skelm at work. Very difficult to remain quiet & seated.
@McLovin (Comment 26) : Yup, and you went Stormers I presume?
@Pokkel (Comment 28) : Of course. Walk in the park.
@McLovin (Comment 29) :
Ons sal maar sien.
Best joke I’ve heard in a while(only available in Afrikaans)
Koos daag by ‘n fancy dress party op met rugsak vol bier. Die gasheer vra hom: ‘Ou Maat, wat’s jy veronderstel om te wees?’ Koos: ‘Ek’s ‘n skilpad. Hierdie is my dop.
@Pokkel (Comment 30) : Brilliant.
Was it just me or was Walsh extra Walshy today? Some shocking calls in the second half.
@Pokkel (Comment 30) : My favourite joke of all time is quite similar.
Wat het die baba skilpad vir sy ma gese voor hy in die water geduik het?
Hou my dop.
Gets me every time.
@PTAShark (Comment 32) : He did seem a bit bitchy.
@McLovin (Comment 34) : He probably wanted to wear the pink NZ referee jersey, yellow isn’t a flattering colour for wide hips
@McLovin (Comment 33) :
The talent in the Australian conference is spread VERY thin. The only hope any of them have of beating the Sharks/Stormers/Bulls is if the ref is on their side – which sadly, they regularly are…
The Hurricanes not looking flash this year….
Bad start to the weekend. Only 1 from 3