KSA Shark ©

Lions for Cheetah clash

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Lions, Super 14 on 13 Feb 2008 at 16:38

The Lions have announced their team to take on the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein this Saturday, 16 February in their opening Vodacom Super 14 match of the 2008 season.

A strong side, with the inclusion of a few new players, will meet the Cheetahs in what is sure to be an exciting cat fight, with both teams looking to pick up where they left off in the Currie Cup. The venue is the same, the teams similar, but a new year, a new competition with new challenges will bring plenty to the game.

The GLRU reports that with Ernst Joubert out injured, Cobus Grobbelaar will Captain the side, with Jaco Pretorius named as his deputy.

Off-season signing from the Sharks, Dusty Noble, is named in his debut match for the Jo-Burg side, while Joe van Niekerk, back from an extended stint in Cape Town, has been named on th bench.

The Lions will be pulling out all stops to secure victory and start their 2008 Super 14 campaign on a strong foot.

The team is as follows:

Starting XV: 15. Louis Ludik, 14. Dusty Noble, 13. Jaco Pretorius (Vice Captain), 12. Doppies la Grange, 11. Rayno Benjamin, 10. Louis Strydom, 9. Jano Vermaak, 8. RW Kember, 7. Franco van der Merwe, 6. Cobus Grobbelaar (Captain), 5. Gerhard Mostert, 4. Anton van Zyl, 3. Ross Geldenhuys, 2. Willie Wepener, 1. Heinke van der Merwe.

Reserves: 16. Gert-Andries van der Merwe, 17. Gavin Williamson, 18. Alten Hulme, 19. Joe van Niekerk, 20. Chris Jonck, 21. Earl Rose, 22. Jaco van Schalkwyk.


  • Okay Only the Bulls, Cheetahs, Chiefs, Hurricanes and Force outstanding

  • Comment 1, posted at 13.02.08 16:41:29 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • Ross Geldenhuys? Oh my word… who is he?

    I love the way the Nobles leave Natal, where neither can get into a Vodacom Cup team and each one immediately gets a Super 14 starting berth.

    We know how to teach em, all right 🙂

  • Comment 2, posted at 13.02.08 16:54:10 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.