The Lions travel to Bloemfontein for a virtual Currie Cup final replay against the Cheetahs.
The Lions and Cheetahs ended level on points last season with points difference deciding that the Lions would be 12th and the Cheetahs 11th.
Who will get the head start this season ?
Kick-off in Bloemfontein at 19:10 SA Time.
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
TJ’s: JC Fortuin (South Africa), François Veldsman (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Meuwesen (South Africa)
Cheetahs:
Starting XV: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Eddie Fredericks, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Gavin Passens, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Duanne Vermeulen, 7 Juan Smith (captain), 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Rory Duncan, 4 Barend Pieterse, 3 Kobus Calldo, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Bees Roux, 18 David de Villiers, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Darron Nell, 21 Tobie Botes, 22 Conrad Barnard.
Lions:
Starting XV: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Jaco Pretorius (vice-captain), 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Louis Strydom, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 RW Kember, 7 Franco van der Merwe, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5 Gerhard Mostert, 4 Anton van Zyl, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Gert-Andries van der Merwe, 17 Gavin Williamson, 18 Alten Hulme, 19. Joe van Niekerk, 20 Chris Jonck, 21 Earl Rose, 22 Jaco van Schalkwyk.

Must say the Cheetahs backline look good….
And we (The Lions) have idiots like Dusty and Strydom in ours….
Well at least the Lions will be in first place after the first week….
go lions!
Well at least the Lions will be in first place after the first week….
16.02.08 16:04:28 – Hmmm Edit
Dude you really DO have to turn your TV and computer screen the right way up. 😉
3 minutes to go!
let me order some dinner.
boys are on the field……
time on 😎
cheetahs look to be dominating
😯 damn right first score
i am still listening to RSG news 🙄
WHAT!!!!!!!!!
fredericks first try
1 minute
5-0 Cheetahs
3 minutes
missed the kick
5-0 Cheetahs
Eddie Fredericks try
Hmmm, klim terug in jou stoel swaar!!!!!!!!!!!!
cheetahs kick, back to the halfway for a cheetahs lineout
lol, good Fantasy rugga tip –
load your team each week with players from the Lions opponents that week
Right Hmmm?
Shahi Murg masala Anyone?
i have just ordered dinner. 😎
cheetahs looking really strong
5 minutes and the touchy touchy starting already 😯
jono has spoken “not again !”
cheetahs going for poles 6 minutes
Quinny
😆
7 minutes
5-0 Cheetahs
missed the kick
sheez RSG is only just lining up for the poles
sorry KSA would you rather i didn’t let the cat out the bag so to speak 😆
lions being forced to defend defend defend
No
it’s cool. 😆
Cheetahs seem to be doing a fair bit of attacking
handling errors :
cheetahs 3 / lions 0
Cheetahs must lose a lot of money this season with the grandstand being completely closed for the season.
sorry missed the other stats while dealing with the kids 😉
and the rest of the stadium doesn’t look all that populated either ❓
No audio from Kaplan 🙁
cheetah player kicks the ball out, just missing jono’s head …jono looks at him calmly and says “whistle” 😆 😆 😆
😆
lions looking a bit better, some good passing
cheetahs – blood
lions going for poles
14 minutes
good kick
15 minutes
5-3 Cheetahs
blood = potgieter & brussow
C’mon Cheetahs pull out a gap here.
tryline in sight again for the cheetahs
keep the updates coming my audio has a hiccup or 6 every few seconds. 👿
cheetahs going for poles again
18 minutes
brussow back on
19 minutes
missed kick
5-3 cheetahs
So I see the Cheetahs had a lucky try…
change your kicker cheetahs, you should have an 8 additional points by now
Lions looking OH SO dangerous…
that was sooooooo close for the lions 😥
lucky???
it’s all relative……. who do you support.
VRYSTAAAAAAT
What a screwup…..JPretoors and Groblaar not on the same page….
Grpblaar WAYYYYY overrunning the pass….
Close is NOT good enough….
They must jack up or I’ll start faxing….
The Cheetahs centers disappointing….when I saw that combo I though….JINNE….hands full….lol
You on a first name basis with the Lions’ Media department ?
😆
handling errors
cheetahs 6 / lions 1
possession
cheetahs 51 %/ lions 49 %
24 minutes
I can just see that fax.
Dear Sir
i went out in public and made my name kak shouting for your team…………
Yous truly
[email protected] Julle!!!!
Jinne…..just kicking and crap…
Is this a WC final….LoL
16.02.08 19:30:05 – KSA Shark ©
Nooooo…we no strangers….pet names…..
Ha-Ha….
Luckily Cheetahs donno how to catch……
hehehe cheerleaders :
“lets go cheetahs lets go, lets go cheetahs lets go”
Did you guys just hear that bad English chants of “Lets go Cheetahs lets go”
Vermaak looking slow today….
Dusty has great pace for a prop….
😀
lions playing well last few minutes, good tackles, passing and running
no I didn’t hear that
😆 😆
Cheetahs running hard…
Making my Lions work hard on def…but they standing their ground for now at least…
they heard hmmm was gonna send a fax
Great steal by Doppies…standing up after the tackle and playing the ball…
Short arm Lions Cheetahs holding on…
Doppies seems to be showing signs of his ’06 form….
What a knock-on by Brussow….lol
Handling errors
Cheetahs 8 / Lions 4
32 minutes
c’mon cheetahs.
show these guys, that they can only defend for so long
Lions try
32 minutes
good kick
10-5 Lions
TRYYYYYY…..
Franco scoring a try with Brussow on his back….and showed great speed to be there for the final pass….
Lions 10 – 5 Cheetahs
that’s not how to show them 😥
16.02.08 19:40:20 – KSA Shark ©
Yes and then they start scoring….lol
cheetahs try
35 minutes
is that how to show them KSA 😉
LoL
And there they score a counter try….
36 minutes
good kick
12-10 Cheetahs
Cheetahs 12 – 10 Lions
THAT”S the way to show them
Great move in midfield….bad handeling by Pretoors….
lions going for poles
cheetahs penalised for offside
37 minutes
Lions 13 – 12 Cheetahs
39 min
38 minutes
13-12 Lions
Must say and might regret…but Strydom keeping the Lions in the game with good kicking….
No No No
Not counter scoring again….
C’mon Cheetahs show them again
Great t/o Baywatch/Doppies (not sure which one it was…
Great kick Vermaak….
Cheetahs score just as half time sounds
17-13 Cheetahs
good kick
19-13 Cheetahs
Dumb Dumb Dumb move by the Lions….lacking intensity….
Cheetahs 19 – 13 Lions
Well we need 5 points for the Lions and 2 points for Cheetahs out of this game….
Seems THIS game is a decent game for a change.
Go Cheetahs
had to udate the H/T score three times there 😳
Naas saying this is the best SA game so far…
And Fredericks try was a forwad pass…..
Said it was a lucky try….
16.02.08 19:52:48 – KSA Shark ©
Don’t wrry…we know you to be a lil slow….but we still love you…
p.s. cozz Kette said we have to…
Yes….at last some real rugby….
This is the best game, I agree with naas
To knocked forward tries……..
Dusty is useless….don’t we have a better wing….
Can’t you Sharks keep your crap to yourselves….Dusty/Solly….
Hmmm
😆
At you know that what Kette says is law.
16.02.08 19:59:47 – KSA Shark ©
Yes….so no arguments from me…
back on the field ….
time on !
Everybody think the Sharks’ great asset is their academy.
Man are they wrong.
We actually have a whole section where we identify average players and then give them JUST enough time to let the other provinces think they are stars in the making. then we make big bucks when they get bought.
Yes Yes Yes….
I thought that was gonna be a great kick….but luck of the bounce we get a scrum in Cheetahs 22….
16.02.08 20:01:47 – KSA Shark ©
You bunch of Sharks….
Lions to score 3 in a row…LoL
Bad kicking last few minutes….
🙂
Great kick by Vermaak and follow up by Ludik….unfortunate the ground knocked the ball out of his hand…
Cheetahs trying to cheat another try in….
the ground knocked the ball out of his hands ❓ ❓
Great drop and drive by Doppies…
Yes Sharkie….he gave this big big dive to catch the ball centimeters from the ground and he ate some grass and the slid head first over the ball…
good kick
22-13 Cheetahs
47 minutes
Doppies penalised…
Cheetahs 22 – 13 Lions
oh okay 😆
Is he a bergbok or a lion? why is he eating grass?
That’t the way I like it.
Go Cheetahs
I have an SB margin of 9 for the cheetahs.
Great steal again Doppies…
He had 3 steals that I have seen so far….our 4 loosie
16.02.08 20:09:46 – KSA Shark © ❗
A Mountain-Lion
LiL Joe is on….
i have 10, they can keep scoring 😉
Lions looking good and just not getting a score on….
YOU ONLY PICKED THE LIONS BY TWO????????????
Sheez you really weren’t very confident of a win were you? 😉
Yellow to Cheetahs no 2….
jono blowing for offsides
TJ says dangerous tackle, jono says he didn’t see ….. reaching for the pocket
yellow strauss off
lions going for poles
No I was not….
I actually have two aliases and picked the Cheetahs in the other one…
NO!!!!!!!!!!!
53 minutes
kak kick 😆
22-13 Cheetahs
Hedging you bets, clever man
Bad goal kick….
Great punt by Strydom…
Then a quick throwing by J-LP and a equally great return punt….
26minutes to go, striictly speaking, anyone’s game
boy this feels like the final year when i kept telling the bulls “its not over yet” and look what happened there 😯
😳 final LAST year
Another great steal by Doppies….
That is 4 I have witnessed….
lions could score a try here ….but there goes the whistle 🙁
C’mon Cheetahs
just keep it like this I need an exact prediction on SB damn badly.
TMO decision pending
What a great passage of play….
Great pick-up from Heinke…
I think you allowed to push the ball over???
Is a double movement not when your legs move twice…!?!?
Bad call TMO
TMO says :
short of the line, placed the ball still short and the pushed in a forward motion…
penalty white
Cheetahs lineout is real good…
I think you allowed to push the ball over???
Is a double movement not when your legs move twice…!?!?
16.02.08 20:19:17 – Hmmm Edit
Correct
But the decision that he placed it short and then pushed it is also correct. if he had just pushed it it would be fine.
Kette….not a try yes…but a penalty!?!?!?
Nooooo…if it was a try it would be fine….LoL
TMO decided :
no try by the lions
penalty to the cheetahs
Why does Benjamin always stop just before he runs into the oppo player…
TMO says :
short of the line, placed the ball still short and the pushed in a forward motion…
penalty white
16.02.08 20:20:06 – KSA Sharkette
sorry my typo’s are killing it maybe…should read “placed the ball, again but still short, and then pushed in a forward motion…penalty white”
Oh my man….great plays just not finished….
score at 60 minutes
22-13 Cheetahs
sorry my typo’s are killing it maybe…should read “placed the ball, again but still short, and then pushed in a forward motion…penalty white”
16.02.08 20:24:14 – KSA Sharkette
Are you sure…do you have a huge life assurance policy…and have you asked Sharkie about this…
Cheetahs opting for scrum.
They must want the BP try.
Is Strauss back on yet?
Great tackle Benjamin….
yes KSA strauss on again
seriously poor handling here
Great Great play LIONS….
Just score please…
63 minutes
Lions score a try
Great try LIONS…
Even scoring after a delib knock down…..
so no points conceded during the yellow.
Impressive stuff by the cheetahs allround this.
64 minutes
good kick by Rose
22-20 Cheetahs
Yes Yes Yes…
Cheetahs 22 – 20 Lions
Best game of the 1st round thus far…
BLIKsem!!!!
C’mon Cheetahs bounce back now AS USUAL!!!!
Rose punting and box kicking not all that great….
Cone on….such a great game…lets not start with the kicking…
Come on Lions….
Hey man….Joe is looking good with Ball in hand…he should never have left Jozi….
Bad pass Rose….
Wasted a great counter rucking by the forwards that resulted in a t/o ball…
Did I hear correctly and did Joe just pass to a Cheetah
Great steal but then he knocked on….ai Petoors…
RSg Commentator must have swallowed to much whiskey in one gulp. 😆
Batting with his voice big time suddenly 🙂
Nope….the ball was knocked out of his hand by a Cheetah….and that was a few moves ago actually….
RSG is a LITTLE delayed. 😳
Ha-Ha Rose….making as if he is throwing in quickly and left the ball behind…cheetahs jump to reaction to wanna catch but there is nothing to catch..
😆 😆
Oh ok….was wondering if you just a lil slow to go with those looks…LoL
How much time left?
73 minutes, lions close enough to score a try
kicking for poles ….
23-22 Lions
Lions 23 – 22 Cheetahs
😛 😛 🙄
Cheetahs looking to score again….
But great tackle and steal by Rose….
And then great kick by Vermaak….
L/O 5 meters from Cheetahs try line…
WTF?!?!?!?!?!?!
C’mon Cheetahs show them how it’s done
lions seem to have found the form they were lacking at the start of the game
earl rose almost a drop goal
Lions slowing down the game forming rucks and playing it slow…even a dro goal from rose underneath the poles and restart by Cheetahs directly into touch….
Rose just took his drop goal on RSG 😆
Lions keeping the ball tight but running hard into the Cheetahs with every carry…
Great box kick y Rose…l/o inside Cheetahs 22 to Ctahs
LoL Sharkie…you got a huge delay….been 2 lineouts….few rucks and a scrum since then….LoL
1 minute …..
22-23 Lions
Game still going on my side
Not straight by Ctahs…Lions scrum….
Lions keeping possession well and taking a scrum for every free kick…
Hooter…punt into row Z as Kapistanio says and final Whistle….LIONS WIN BY 1…
the lions pulled a bulls on us 😳 😆
congrats, they really pulled it together
LIONS ARE THE CHAMPS
Hmmm
You get all the Bru points to yourself. closest prediction. 😎
congrats
And with a away win…..
Game over
Yay Yay at last….cozz I was not doing to hot on Bru after the first few games….
not just yet there hmmm 😆 😆 😆
Hey your log is out dated….LoL
Hey hmmm what’s it feel like to have your team in the top half of the log for a change 😉
Congrats Lions
actually to both teams.
Sounds like it was a decent game.
no it’s not 😆
There is something wrong with Sbru!?!?
Telling me I never selected but I have 3 points…
Kette
At the lions the wins are few and far between and they tend to feel like chapions when they get A win.
Well Done Lions.
MOTM Franco van der Merwe
16.02.08 20:52:13 – KSA Shark ©
We were in the top half until round 6 last year…
yeah my SB is screwy too 😐
bru is all stuffed up at the moment.
All day yesterday it showed everyone in 1st position even this morning still. 🙄
Why are we called A & G Lions
That soooooo lame….
I wanna see my Bru points….LoL
Naas/Garth and Tony just have praises of the game….
ok, well its been fabulous boys, but i am off to shower and climb into bed, its beena looooong day 😕
My bru no shows me as zero points.
They are a bietjie confused over there.
Give them 30min to get sobered up and then it should be sorted
Now I have nil Bru points….
Actually you were Hmmm.
Okay well then welcome back to the top half of the log dude 😉
cheers Kette.
I guess the Bru guys are as ecstatic as everyone else about this great great game and that the LIONS won…..LoL
LoL
Thanks Sharkie
Cheers Kette
Well I am off to friends….see later…
Sheez the log is congested after round one. 🙄
7 teams within one point of each other 🙄 🙄
Cheers Hmmm
Thanks for the commentary
LoL Sharkie….
Tough comp this year….LoL
It is my pleasure….
Hey seems posting during games really gets you post numbers….
I am in the top 5 after just 27 hours on here…
hehehehehe I am in top spot by now I think.
DAMN RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!
I AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!
😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎
I think I am catching you KSA….
hehehehe
Go Lions! Nice win – looking good.
Just to clarify for someone.
Once the teams are on the same points then you go by PD to determine who is above the other and if you have the same PD then you go to Try difference………
Seeing as the Bulls can’t score tries 😉 we are above them in the log.
Thanks for that KSA – always nice to be above the Bulls on the log. Just what I like to see!
Seems like everyone has called it a night – just you and I left KSA. Have a good evening.
Pleasure Nessa. 😉
Seems this season is going to provide some surprises (bit of a cliche that)
The Bulls have managed to start the seasom with a win for only the 3rd time in 10 years.
I have work in the morning so won’t be around for much longer. 🙁
Night Nessa.
Sleep Well we are the top SA team thusfar. 😉
coulda / shoulda been the Cheetahs though. BP was there for the taking.
I am back and going to post random shyte all night to ensure I get top spot back 😉
SuperBru would appear to have seen its ass…
16.02.08 22:57:57 – robdylan
Like only you can robd…..
yay!
Superbru is Indeed working and it seems my little lady is ahead of me. 🙁
Superbru is Indeed working and it seems my little lady is ahead of me.
17.02.08 15:16:55 – KSA Shark ©
😛 😛 woohoo I am too 😛 😛
😳 😳 😳
Nobody like a smarty pants 🙄