It’s all change in the Force camp

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 20 Feb 2008 at 19:41
Tagged with :

Emirates Western Force Coach John Mitchell has named his team for Friday night’s Super 14 Week 2 clash with the Cheetahs at Vodacom Park in Bloemfontein.

Article courtesy

Mitchell’s men will face a Cheetahs outfit desperate to make amends for last weekend’s shock season-opening loss to the Lions.

The Perth-based team also has to contend with the loss of fullback Cameron Shepherd, who was ruled out this morning with a knee ligament strain.

Drew Mitchell will raise a half century of Super Rugby caps and will return to the position he played for the majority of the 2007 season in Shepherd’s absence.

The change prompted a re-shuffle of the backline, with Scott Staniforth and Ryan Cross sliding out one position to outside centre and wing respectively, while Scott Daruda moves from the bench to inside centre.

Former Brisbane-based boilermaker James Stannard will make his run on debut at scrumhalf after a 15-minute cameo from the reserves bench in his Super 14 debut against the Sharks in Durban last Friday.

The No.9, who goes by the nickname ‘Chucky’, has extra reason to celebrate this week with his 25th birthday occurring the day before his starting debut.

Coach John Mitchell has also tinkered with his forward pack, selecting a rookie blindside flanker and a new-look front row.

Australian Under 19 star Sam Wykes will make his Super 14 debut in the number six jersey, while another relative rookie, Pek Cowan, will make his starting XV debut at loosehead prop.

Troy Takiari replaces AJ Whalley at tighthead prop, while rookie lock Tom Hockings has edged out David Pusey to retain his place in the second row alongside Captain Nathan Sharpe.

Mitchell has provided plenty of cover for his big men, naming five forwards on the reserves bench.

Former Brumbies flanker Tamaiti Horua will make his debut appearance for his new club, after gaining a release from Japanese club Toyota last week.

Horua, whose last appearance for the Brumbies came prior to the expansion of Super Rugby in 2005, will celebrate his return to Australian Rugby alongside a resurgent Lachlan MacKay.

MacKay has managed just three appearances for the Emirates Western Force since joining the team for its debut season in 2006, spending the majority of the past two years rehabilitating from various leg injuries.

Coach John Mitchell said he had always planned to mix up his team selections during the three-week South Africa tour.

“We had a plan for every member of the touring squad to play football on this tour and we’re sticking to that plan,” said Mitchell.

“Obviously with Matt (Henjak ) returning for the tribunal we were left with one less back in the squad for this match so we’ve had to go with five forwards on the bench,” he said.

Team vs Cheetahs
22 Feb 08
Vodacom Park
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 Pekahou Cowan
2 Tai McIsaac
3 Troy Takiari
4 Tom Hockings
5 Nathan Sharpe
6 Sam Wykes
7 David Pocock
8 Richard Brown
9 James Stannard
10 Matt Giteau
11 Nick Cummins
12 Scott Daruda
13 Scott Staniforth
14 Ryan Cross
15 Drew Mitchell
16 Luke Holmes
17 AJ Whalley
18 David Pusey
19 Tamaiti Horua
20 Scott Fava
21 Lachlan MacKay
22 Josh Tatupu


  • This is one of the more if not most difficult result to cal this weekend IMO

  • Comment 1, posted at 20.02.08 19:52:39 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • KSA – it is a difficult one to call. But I think the Force are going to take this one.

  • Comment 2, posted at 20.02.08 20:10:15 by Nessa Reply
  • No. Cheetahs will win, I think. No Cameron Shepherd, no Henjak. No Fava. New props

  • Comment 3, posted at 20.02.08 20:19:04 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • We’ll see …

  • Comment 4, posted at 20.02.08 20:19:50 by Nessa Reply

  • OK I thought you guys need a bit of blue blood over here! Just left that “Dinkskrum” groupie with their “oranje blanje blou”. It has nothing to do with “thinking” take my word for it! 😛

  • Comment 5, posted at 20.02.08 20:28:20 by AB Rugby Supporters Voice Reply

  • Evening AB


    I am with you on this one,I think the Force are going to do it this weekend.

  • Comment 6, posted at 20.02.08 20:35:15 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • Howzit AB. Welcome to Sharksworld.

    Your “blouspan” have been taking a bit of stick here… nice to have someone to defend them 😉

  • Comment 7, posted at 20.02.08 20:37:53 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Actually as i have said one or twice in the last few days.

    There are going to be a few more away wins this weekend

    Lions Blues (Blues)
    Bulls Saders (Saders)
    Cheetahs Force (Force but COULD be Cheetahs)
    Sharks Stormers (Sharks but COULD be Stormers)
    Hurricanes Reds (Dunno)
    Chiefs Waratahs (Waratahs)
    Brumbies Highlanders (0-0)

  • Comment 8, posted at 20.02.08 20:41:36 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • wow, some real dud games this week. Brumbies Highlanders? Crumbs…

  • Comment 9, posted at 20.02.08 20:49:23 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!

    Have NO clue who to call in that one, probably gonna go with Highlanders.

    Will wait and see what Kette picks and then copy her maybe 😉

  • Comment 10, posted at 20.02.08 20:55:20 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • definitely Highlanders to win that one. Snorefest, I reckon

  • Comment 11, posted at 20.02.08 20:58:24 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Cheetahs team:

    Starting XV: Hennie Daniller; Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Gavin Passens; Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Falie Oelschig; Duanne Vermeulen, Juan Smith (k), Heinrich Brussow, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan, Kobus Calldo, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.

    Subs: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, David de Villiers, Kabamba Floors, Tobie Botes, Conrad Barnard, Hendrik Meyer.

  • Comment 12, posted at 20.02.08 21:18:39 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • is that a completely unchanged team?

  • Comment 13, posted at 20.02.08 21:37:19 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Hallo All,
    heard about the site,
    thought i’d have a look.
    Good effort.
    i know some of the lads at DS,
    like i know guys at RW
    and at keo’s
    when there was mark and maybe two bloggers.
    I never notived anything untoward
    or more so than posts at any other of the above mentioned sites.
    Stick to rugby buddy.

  • Comment 14, posted at 20.02.08 23:40:56 by Duiwel Reply

  • Howzit Duiwel

    Welcome to Sharksworld. Glad you like it so far.

  • Comment 15, posted at 20.02.08 23:43:24 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • RobD,
    Shithot site man,
    welll done,
    will pop in from time to time,
    if i may,
    i think its a refreshing addition to SA rugby.

  • Comment 16, posted at 20.02.08 23:45:43 by Duiwel Reply

  • You will always be welcome here, Duiwel. I’ve yet to meet a fellow Sharks fan that I didn’t like 😉

  • Comment 17, posted at 20.02.08 23:56:35 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • 1 Pekahou Cowan
    2 Tai McIsaac
    3 Troy Takiari
    4 Tom Hockings
    5 Nathan Sharpe

    If the Cheetahs don’t literally WALK that tight five backwards at will, then they’re just not trying.

    Keep it tight and grind them to death. Then unleash your backs in their 22. That’s how the Sharks should have played it. Take heed, Cheetahs

  • Comment 18, posted at 20.02.08 23:58:14 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • You just gotta laugh at the Aussies sometimes. 🙂

    The headline from Foxsports announcing the inclusion of Stannard in Henjaks place.

    Boilermaker replaces troublemaker

  • Comment 19, posted at 21.02.08 00:59:16 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.