KSA Shark ©

Sivivatu racks up 50 for Chiefs

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 21 Feb 2008 at 00:41
Tagged with :

Sitiveni Sivivatu will play his 50th game for the Chiefs this Saturday when the Chiefs takes on the Waratahs in Round Two of the Super 14 at Waikato Stadium.

The Chiefs’ official website reveals that the 25 year-old becomes the 13th player in the franchise’s history to play 50 Chiefs game.

Sivivatu will again start on the left wing for the Chiefs, but this weekend he will be combining with Viliame Waqaseduadua who is set to debut for the Chiefs in the number 14 jersey. Sosene Anesi suffered from a sore foot this week and is rested for this match as a precaution.

It is a mostly unchanged Chiefs line-up that will take the field in the team’s first home game.

Foster has named the same forward pack that played the Blues in the opening round.

“We believe that we haven’t had a chance to get our game out on the park yet. The best way to do that is to use the guys who went through last week’s experience. We really need to focus on our game this week,” said Foster.

Brendon Leonard will start in the number 9 jersey for the Chiefs with David Bason offering cover for this position on the bench. Bason was called into the squad from the Chiefs Wider Training Group this week to replace Jamie Nutbrown who is out for more than six weeks with a medial ligament injury.

Foster has opted for a different mix in his reserves this week with lock Toby Lynn and loose forwards Tom Harding and Faifili Levave being named in the starting 22. Kristian Ormsby was not considered this week due to a shoulder injury.

The Chiefs team to play the Waratahs on Saturday 23 February at 7.35pm at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton is:

Starting XV: 1. Simms Davison, 2. Tom Willis, 3. Ben Castle, 4. Jono Gibbes (captain), 5. Kevin O’Neill, 6. Liam Messam, 7. Tanerau Latimer, 8. Sione Lauaki, 9. Brendon Leonard, 10. Stephen Donald, 11. Sitiveni Sivivatu, 12. Callum Bruce, 13. Richard Kahui, 14. Viliame Waqaseduadua, 15. Mils Muliaina.

Reserves: 16. Aled de Malmanche, 17. Ben May, 18. Toby Lynn, 19. Faifili Levave, 20. Tom Harding, 21. David Bason, 22. Lelia Masaga.

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.