The Highlanders complete their two match trip to Australia with a trip to Canberra to face the Brumbies.
Both teams are coming off of first round losses with the Highlanders currently sitting in 11th position courtesy of a loss bonus point and the Brumbies propping up the bottom of the table.
Kick-off in Canberra at 10:40 SA time.
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
TJ’s: Pro Legoete (South Africa), James Scholtens (Australia)
TMO: Geoff Acton (Australia)
Brumbies:
Starting XV: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Mark Gerrard, 13 Tyrone Smith, 12 Anthony Faingaa, 11 Francis Fainifo, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joshua Holmes, 8 Stephen Hoiles, 7 George Smith (captain), 6 Mitchell Chapman, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Alister Campbell, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 Huia Edmonds, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Salesi Ma’afu, 18 Peter Kimlin, 19 Julian Salvi, 20 Patrick Phibbs, 21 Peter Playford, 22 Afusipa Taumoepeau.
Highlanders:
Starting XV: 15 James Wilson, 14 Paul Williams, 13 Niva Ta’auso, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10 Daniel Bowden, 9 Jimmy Cowan (vice-captain), 8 Steven Setephano/Ezra Taylor, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Hayden Triggs, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Jason Macdonald (captain), 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Replacements: 16 David Hall, 17 Chris King, 18 Isaac Ross, 19 Tim Boys/Ezra Taylor, 20 Toby Morland, 21 Mike Delany, 22 Brett Mather.

I would have gone withthe Highlanders – but we will have to see. Hard to judge the Brumbies on last week’s performance. The Saders didn’t give then any chance.
“them” 😳
Let’s consider what the Saders did to the Bulls last night and what they did to the Brumbies last week.
The Brumbies MAY not be so bad. I am feeling a little more confident about this Sb pick now.
I NEED to after I got the Chiefs game so HORRIBLY wrong. 😥
I know what you mean KSA – the Tahs’s don’t look like they are going to come back from that one.
Final whistle hasn’t gone yet, oh ye of little faith!
Well – they scored a try – so you never know!
17 / 12 to Chiefs.
I am hereby officially breaking all ties with the Bulls. I will not enter into any discussion about it. Suffice to say that, in the absence of the SWD Eagles from the Super 14, I have given my all to the Bulls. It is now finished. If you want to discuss it, go shout at those stupid Wynand Olivier, JP Nel and the likes. The Bulls Babes now also suck.
I have also petitioned the SuperBru Admin to allow me to use the SWD colours.
I also formally apologise to the SWD Eagles, their management and supporters for my double standards in the past. The fact that the Eagles also beat the Blue Bulls last night wa also a confirmation sign from somewhere.
I hate the Bulls.
Admin, I have uploaded another pic. Could you please ensure that it replaces the current stupid one. Thank you.
Good morning Kandas. Like your new pic!
Morning Nessa. Thank you. Nothing good about this morning though.
Although, your daughter is almost as beautiful as you.
Kandas
Where is the Bull in the pic? behind the Ball? 😉
Gee – thank you. Wish I had her beautiful blue eyes though. It is also unusual for young girls these days to love their rugby as much as she does. Am trying to get her to come and blog but she would only be able to blog at night so we will see.
Shocker of a game last night – but then the Saders seem to make everyone look bad.
Kandas 🙂 Sharks have some good SEC talent in our squad this year… 😉
Phew! Brunette with blue eyes. Bliss!
Rob, p*ss off!
Okay guys – going to do a few things. Back later.
Somehow, I was expecting that reaction 😉
Cheers Nessa.
Cheers Ness.
Kandas, why does the name Nel Fourie sound so familiar? I know he’s with SWD now, but where else has he been?
Nel Fourie
Squads:
SWD (Vodacom Cup)
Lions (ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division)
Lions (ABSA Currie Cup Qualifying Round)
Golden Lions (Vodacom Cup)
Cats (Vodacom Super 12)
Lions (ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division)
Lions (ABSA Currie Cup – Premier Div.)
Lions (Vodacom Cup)
Golden Lions U/21 (Bankfin Under 21)
Bulls (Vodacom Super 12)
Golden Lions (Vodacom Cup)
Pumas (Bankfin Currie Cup)
South Africa (FIRA U19 – Chile)
Pumas (Vodacom Cup)
Ah. A bit of a journeyman. Wasn’t he the guy that was so good at school? Him and the late Swys Swart were schoolboy rivals, I thought
Okay this game should be underway now.
Go the Criminal Cavalry!!!!!
Come, the Tartan Mafia!
I can’t go through another one like this. 👿
Try – Bowden breaks through the middlke and gives Vainikolo the scoring pass. He scores under the posts.
Conversion Over.
0 – 7 Highlanders
5min
Ksa, at least this evening we’ll be supporting the same team, for a change!
Woohoo! Go the Landers. Ponies are even worse than the Bulls this year!
Sharksworld SB picks.
the_finman Brumbies 20
Kandas Brumbies 16
ZinZan Brumbies 12
IceBabe Brumbies 12
blackshark Brumbies 11
Bru-El Brumbies 10
King Shark Brumbies 10
Fatality Brumbies 9
shark-tank Brumbies 9
PaarlGimmie Brumbies 9
Wehan Brumbies 9
Boofy Brumbies 9
SauronShark Brumbies 8
shark_time Brumbies 8
Villie Brumbies 8
Western Sauce Brumbies 7
Hmmm Brumbies 7
Whindy Brumbies 7
Dive Pass Brumbies 7
Ghost10 Brumbies 7
fattmann Brumbies 6
PJLD Brumbies 6
bryce_in_oz Brumbies 5
Sandshark Brumbies 5
Sharkie Brumbies 5
Salmo Brumbies 5
PostmanPat Brumbies 1
—————————–
sharkboy Highlanders 4
Debs Highlanders 5
KSA Kette Highlanders 5
Bigmik Highlanders 6
Ollie Highlanders 7
namboer Highlanders 8
Pissant Highlanders 8
robdylan Highlanders 9
Nita Highlanders 10
WHY? you pick the Stormers?
Do I LOOK stupid? Wait, don’t answer that! 🙂
Highlanders must either win by 9 or 16
Try – The Brumbies play the ball wide from a scrum. Lealifano passes to Faingaa on his inside. He bursts through a tackle to score under the posts
Conversion over.
7 – 7
12min.
Do I LOOK stupid? Wait, don’t answer that!
23.02.08 10:53:04 – robdylan Edit
Darn!!!! You sure you don’t want a second opinion?
Oh ho! Getting interesting
Seems I was wrong about the 0 – 0 draw.
Gonna be a 40 – 40 draw.
I thought their problems were lack of attacking ability, seems I was wrong and it is actually their defences that are the problem. 😉
I had a meeting with a Paul Williams on Monday and am good friends with a Chris King
You found any decent coverage of this one?
nope. 🙁
consolation is that i will have decent coverage tonight
Come on, Highlanders! You realise we have both of these sides on our tour? The way the Tahs and Highlanders are playing, we could win 4 out of 5!
I will have NO coverage tonight. Wife’s birthday party
Highlanders to win by 3… One of my fav. teams!!! 😛
it’s the brumbies up by 3 at the moment, though ;(
Penalty – The Highlanders get penalised for breaking early at the scrum. Huxley slots an easy penalty.
10 – 7 Brumbies
Okes at SuperBru laugh at me and don’t want me to use SWD colours. For the Super 14, I am now a Cheetah.
I don’t understand men.. why don’t u get your wifes/girlfriends interested in sport??????????
Fair comment Reds!! Hi girl you also working today?
my wife is so stubborn that she intentionally does teh opposite of what I ask her to
Kandas… you are a sucker for punishment, boet 😉
Hi all Okes
Good luck for this afternoon’s match.
Sharks will be cut to pieces by the Stormers hehehehehe!
And Italy will be beaten by Wales.
Hi Me2..yip working but don’t want to… 😥 Would rather be home 2day and watch the game… I have season tickets but can’t go to the game because of me working. 😥 😥 😥 😥
Sharksworld now in 5th place, by reads, on the top sports blogs on Amatomu.
ah sherbert. Brumbies scored again!
HO! Welcome back, you delusional so-and-so!
Robdylan
where can I read the ranking on Amatomu sports blogs? 😳
I think it will be a huge pity if the Brumbies win.
After all Otago people are amongst the best in their country. And they have produced such a wonderful coach like Laurence Williams Mains (Laurie)
a penalty try? Goodness… what for?
What’s the score???
Reds going to the game….to friend’s box! 🙂
http://www.amatomu.com/cat100.php?cat=6
17-7 to the Brumbies at half time.
Hope the Landers can pull finger in the second half
Rob – what was the penalty try for?
I have no idea… not watching, just following online
31 Penalty Try – The Brumbies throw the ball around all over the place. They play the ball wide to the left. Edmonds goes for the line but is tackled high by Hayden Triggs. The ref awards a penalty try.
MY Wife is interested in sport or did you guys thing I use the Sharkette name when I felt my laterego need some airtime.
penatly to the Landers…. it’s 17-10
Sheez it’s been a long time since I Got Nevilled and came back to a positive thing.
Go The Cavalry!!!!!!!!!
Hi guys
I see there is another Sharkie on this blog. I would just like to confirm that I am the Sharkie on Sharksworld Superbru. Just to clear any confusion.
Thanx
Sharks 4 Ever!!!
Thakks Rob…I had to go to the counter for a while ..back now!
Thanks!! 😳
hey okes
congratulations (to robdylan in particular) for the 5th place on top sports blog.
I read the long ranking 😛
too many sharkies! 😉
Welcome REAL Sharkie…
Me2… what counter?
thanks, H.O.
You’re a good guy for a Stormers supporter 😉
KSA – seems like you one of the lucky ones!! 😆
Thanx robdylan 🙂
17-13, now. Landers are going to take this…
real sharkie – you need a pic 😉
Rob I have a small biscuit factory with a retail section! That’s why I work most Saturdays 🙁 Have to keep the shop open ❗
The Real Sharkie. 🙂
I discovered as MUCH, much to Sharkies disgust last night. 😳
So for further clarification
SB “Debs” = SW “Sharkie”
SB “Sharkie” = SW “The Real Sharkie”
biscuit factory? What a cool job!
Yeah Brumbies havn’t scored since half time ❓
KSA – I are officially CONFUSE!
Paint me blue and call me liefling!
C’mon the Convicts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
55 Saia Faingaa is offside. The Highlanders take a quick tap and Soiakai is tackled just short of the line. He is penalised for holding on and the Brumbies can get away from their liner.
Rob
Last night I gave Sharkie a bit of kak for poicking the Bulls to win the match on SB.
Only to figure out later when Nessa refered to her as Nessa that Sharkie, wasn’t the SB Sharkie, but only the SW Sharkie. So “The real Sharkie” is the real “Sharkie” on SB and Sharkie is Debs on SB.
if you were confussed before you musted be F$%*ed now.
Sorry to desert u guys …I’m being officially relieved of my post by my beloved husband, so i can go get ready for the game this afternoon!
🙂
See you all later!!
GO SHARKS ❗ ❗ ❗ ❗
come on Tartans
nice pic, if a bit predictable, Real Sharkie 😉
Steven Hoiles try!
But THAT’S not the real Sharkie that’s just a cartoon. 🙄
darnit… Brumbies are gonna win this
Try – The Brumbies go through 17 phases before the ball goes to the left. Hoiles forces his way over in the corner.
22 – 13 Brumbies
KSA Shark
Even I am now CONFUSED!
nope – now the Lander score a try through Vainikolo
Sorry – it was King.
Conversion good, 22-20
THAT was the intention. 🙂
Glad to see it worked. I am not even sure if that second post makes any sense. 🙄
AG NEE F%K ek loop nou 👿
C’mon Brumbies only you can make me stay.
13 minutes left.
C’mon Brumbies.
(Sorry i just couldn’t stay away) 😉
4 points ahead, yet…
sorry, two points. My maths sucks
71min
Missed Penalty – The Brumbies are penalised for joining the ruck from the side. Wilson misses to the right.
22 – 20 to the Brumbies
robdylan
actually I don’t like the Stormers like I love Western Province.
And the fact Luke Watson plays with us lets me very disappointed 👿
James Wilson just missed a kick to take the lead! Moron
Watson – rather you than us 😉
right.
the sooner we get rid of him the better.
perhaps we might send him to the Blou Bulle 😯
Blue Bulls could play him at flyhalf or centre
Let’s hope the Brumbies don’t do a Cheetahs on us.
C’mon Brumbies!!!!!!!!!!!
no, no.
they send him to the Limpopo Rugby Sub-Union to play with the amateur-status men 😆
H.O. Bulls are so dire that ANY ballplayer would actually be an asset to them
c’mon KSA Shark!
how can you support the Brumbies?
That’s the final score.
Crap!
HO
It’s all about SB points. 😉
Okay log updated.
Brumbies rise to 11th
Highlanders drop to 13th
Fixtures and results updated
KSA Shark
I understand 😳
Sharksworld SB marging point scorers.
Western Sauce Brumbies 7
Hmmm Brumbies 7
Whindy Brumbies 7
Dive Pass Brumbies 7
Ghost10 Brumbies 7
fattmann Brumbies 6
PJLD Brumbies 6
bryce_in_oz Brumbies 5
Sandshark Brumbies 5
Sharkie Brumbies 5
Salmo Brumbies 5
PostmanPat Brumbies 1
Notice I am in there 😎
DAMMIT
Having a very bad week so far
Postman pat takes MAX SB points ALL BY HIMSELF for the 2nd time this weekend.
He seems to be kicking our arses here.
darnit darnit darnit
bru standings after this match.
1 PostmanPat 12.0 2.00 14.00
1 Ghost10 13.0 1.00 14.00
3 IceBabe 13.5 0.33 13.83
4 Kandas 12.5 0.33 12.83
5 the_finman 11.5 0.25 11.75
6 Nita 11.5 0.00 11.50
7 Dive Pass 10.5 0.67 11.17
8 Fatality 10.0 1.00 11.00
8 SauronShark 11.0 0.00 11.00
10 Bigmik 10.5 0.25 10.75
11 namboer 9.5 1.00 10.50
11 shark_time 10.0 0.50 10.50
11 bryce_in_oz 10.5 0.00 10.50
14 sharkboy 10.0 0.33 10.33
15 robdylan 10.0 0.00 10.00
15 fattmann 10.0 0.00 10.00
17 Sandshark 9.5 0.25 9.75
17 Villie 9.5 0.25 9.75
19 Western Sauce 9.0 0.50 9.50
19 Sharkie 9.5 0.00 9.50
19 shark-tank 9.5 0.00 9.50
19 PaarlGimmie 9.5 0.00 9.50
19 Bru-El 9.5 0.00 9.50
Pman Pat has scored 9 points so far this weekend, followed by Ghost10 with 7 and Ice Babe with 6,5.
not even done with week two and already 3 sa teams in the bottom half of the log.
Lovely
and I’m back at 15 🙁
Okay i need to get some work done.
back in a while.
Next up.
Sharks v Stormers.
GO SHARKS!!!!!
robdylan
be calm.
Bok supremo Pieter de Villiers recently claimed that he expects no less than 3 SA teams to go through the Super 14 semifinals this year 😥
Lions, Sharks and Stormers 😉