Today sees the Western Force finish their tour of South Africa, with a meeting against the lions in Johannesburg.
As with this morning’s match, both team have one win and one loss to date.
Will The Force finally manage that first ever victory over the Lions? Or will the Lions bounce back from last weeks horrible defeat at the hands of the blues?
Kick-off in Johannesburg at 18:30 SA Time.
Referee: Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand)
TJ’s: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Phillip Bosch (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)
Lions:
Starting XV:15 Louis Ludik, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Jaco van Schalkwyk, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Louis Strydom, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Joe van Niekerk, 7 Ernst Joubert (captain), 6 Cobus Grobbelaar , 5 Willem Stoltz, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Gert Andries van der Merwe, 18 Franco van der Merwe, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Chris Jonck, 21 Earl Rose, 22 Jannie Boshoff.
Western Force:
Starting XV:15 Cameron Shepherd, 14 Nick Cummins, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 Scott Staniforth, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Matt Giteau , 9 James Stannard, 8 Tamaiti Horua, 7 Matt Hodgson, 6 Scott Fava, 5 Nathan Sharpe (captain), 4 Tom Hockings, 3 Troy Takiari, 2 Luke Holmes, 1 Gareth Hardy.
Replacements: 16 Tai McIsaac, 17 AJ Whalley, 18 Sam Wykes, 19 Richard Brown, 20 David Pocock, 21 Scott Daruda, 22 Lachlan MacKay.

Would be nice for a local team to win tonight – will most definitely be shouting for the Lions but think the Force will just be too strong for them.
Same for me.
I have the Force by 15 tonight. (May be a bit to much)
KSA – hmmm – maybe. I think by 10.
sweet… only 4 hours to go!
🙂
man i have been busy all day.
getting programs and all that stuff installed is not really fun.
Was thinking that it would have been a good game to go to – but Ellis Park on a Friday night. I don’t know! No parking and it looks like it is going to rain.
Hi everyone!!! Hell – took me about 1/2 hour to get here…
KSA – ek skop gat!! LOL Kon nie op Superbru kom nie…so een game gemis – sukkle net so om Superbru te access.. 🙁
Hey Ice
give ME your picks I’ll do them for you…………
I promise i will not alter your selections. 🙄
Hey Ice – welcome! Thought we had lost you there for a minute.
I think the Force have the beating on the Lions backline but the Lions forwards potentially have the upperhand over the Force’s pack(the Lions generally play better on paper then grass).
If the Lions pack can dominate the Force are going to battle….please please be real lions tonight.
I’m looking forward to if Jannie can make the cut. He was good in the CC last year.
Have the Force by 13, not sure if the poor Lions have the punch to come clean. Good that Ernst is back and Joe is looking the part, but not sure about the persistance with Strydom, reluctant as I was to admit, Rose prospers in these ELVes.
Good luck. Go Leeus!
😆 😯
Bring home the victory and hammer the Aussies.
Cheers Chops, enjoy!
This Lions v WP game is not really exciting is it. 🙁
score please?
Scracthed CD here: Earl Rose is gonna make the Bok squad this year …
Sorry Quinny
14 – 16 WP
65minutes
16-14 WP
75 minutes
here comes a card
14 blue yellow card for tripping
jody rose misses penalty
Game Over.
WP win 16 – 14.
Still 45 minutes before the S14 starts.
Time to grab dinner quickly.
hey sharkies…and others…
Hi BS!
hola, mi amigos
Scott Staniforth out of Force team. Knee ligament problem.
Not sure who is replacing him.
not good for them
Hey RD – just waiting for the game to start.
KSA – that was a quick supper!
Our SB picks look as follows:
Wehan Lions 9
sharkboy Lions 8
Salmo Lions 7
PaarlGimmie Lions 5
Whindy Lions 5
Dive Pass Lions 4
Bru-El Lions 4
the_finman Lions 3
Western Sauce Lions 3
fattmann Lions 3
——————-
Nita Force 1
Villie Force 2
ZinZan Force 3
Sharkie Force 3
shark-tank Force 3
bryce_in_oz Force 3
Ghost10 Force 4
Fatality Force 5
Lylmik Force 6
blackshark Force 6
PostmanPat Force 6
Debs Force 7
Kandas Force 7
robdylan Force 7
SauronShark Force 9
Pissant Force 9
KSA Kette Force 9
shark_time Force 10
Boofy Force 12
namboer Force 13
Ollie Force 14
Sandshark Force 15
King Shark Force 15
IceBabe Force 16
Nessa. 🙂
My good wife had dinner ready. 😎
Scott Daruda will prob move to centre – he played there last week vs the Cheetahs when Shepherd was out.
Come on Lions!
Force being shown as they warm up.
I can see why Giteau wear a scrum cap when he plays.
29.02.08 18:17:49 – KSA Shark © Edit
Quickly went to look at the Fred pics! 😉
Daruda is in.
good deduction Quinny
Quickly went to look at the Fred pics!
29.02.08 18:19:21 – Nessa Edit
OH MY WORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Now this tannie is going to be on fire tonight. 😉
KSA – I am taking 19 people with me to Loftus tomorrow and at least half of them are pretty young girls only going to see Fred because they have already seen “that” video of him. 😈
😯
i haven’t seen THAT video……………
Haven’t you? Are you sure? Don’t know that you want to.
DID they forget to open the gates at Ellis park 😯
There is NOBODY there
oh okay 😳
😀
I’m quite certain I don’t want to see THAT video!
aaah Butch is co-presenting, looks good.
Josh Tatupu on the bench in place of daruda who moves in to the starting XV.
KSA – there has been so much lighting and heavy rain in Jhb this afternoon – I think it has probably kept the people away. The local cricket was cancelled due to heavy storms – they just showed the grounds – it looks like a river.
Still – I am afraid Ellis Park is always pretty empty.
I have Hugh Bladen and Garth Wright on this side.
Lions really need a new stadium
Yup – take my word for it. He has a tattoo where you didn’t now he had one. 😉
Lions out on the field
Hope Loftus is nice and dry tomorrow
The Lions coming onto the field as Herchelle Gibbs son leads them on.
I am afraid the Lions don’t have that G’d up look about them.
The Lions need a new stadium in a better area. It really isn’t safe in that area anymore.
Ness, is he completely starkers in said video?
evening all the bodies 😎
I took a look at the weather and it seems like we may be lucky. That heavy downpour with the cricket was in Centurion – not far from Pretoria.
Kelvin Deaker is the Ref but Roos isn’t the TJ. 😉
He is TJ in our match tomorrow.
Lions know what’s coming
RD – yes he is most definitey! 😳
Hi Kette.
Benjamin pushed into touch 7m from Force try line
lions forced into touch, blue LO just on the 5m
Who’s our ref? Lawrence, innit?
howzit Nessa, looking forward to the game tomorrow ?
Sharpe dropped by his players at the LO.
Ref ” Nothing in it they drop you”
Please tell me you can’t actually see his, erm, ow you say, le winky?
I think so yes Rob.
1st scrum is reset.
Ha ha! Dumb ozzies. Go LEEUS!
Lions not looking to bad, running quite well.
Force transgress and Lions have penalty on the Force 22 7 in from touch.
Going at goal
Kette – I am. A bit nervous though. Would rather have had Bismarck there but then I suppose he is only one man.
RD – no, you don’t see his le winky.
good kick
3-0 Lions
6 minutes
Lions are looking good – first points on the board.
RD – no, you don’t see his le winky.
29.02.08 18:38:59 – Nessa Edit
WELL that’s no good, how are we supposed to measure how good a player he is then. 🙄 😉
Nessa
know what you mean, i don’t think i could do losing to them on their turf, they NEED to win for us faithful supporters 😉
Benjamin knocked on a kick a few minutes ago.
Now he knocks on a bad pass. two touches two knocks.
not both his fault though
Thank goodness, Ness! That would worry me.
You know, Bis didn’t actually have a great game last week. He fluffed a certain try five minutes in by not passing when we had a two man overlap. Also missed a few lineouts
Kette – the only way you can have a pleasant visit at Loftus is if we win – otherwise they wait for you to walk out and taunt you all the way through the stadium and out the grounds and all the way to your car. But that is NOT going to happen!
RD – he did, didn’t he? Now I feel so much better! Still,Skipper makes me nervouss.
Damn – try for the Force.
Shephard try.
Just pure quick hands
force try ……making it look so easy
Shephard virtually jogs the ball in from 15m out
good kick
7-3 Force
12 minutes
Took the words right out of my mouth Kette.
And despite his hairstyle – which KSA obviously doesn’t like – he doesn’t miss.
Dusty Noble great chase from the KO.
Pressure on the force and they knock.
Scrum Lions in Force 22
only time I’ve been to Loftus, we won 37-28 (CC), but before we won, there was ribbing left right and center
Lions pen
6 – 7 Force
15min
Geez – that penalty from the Lions didn’t look good to me.
Then they go and give one away to the Force – pity!
good kick
10-6 Force
16 minutes
Giteau is awesome !
great curling kick by Giteau that.
It’s amasing how quickly their supporters clear the stadium when they lose though.
And despite his hairstyle – which KSA obviously doesn’t like – he doesn’t miss.
29.02.08 18:46:05 – Nessa
jealousy makes you nasty KSA 😆 😆
The Lions are actually holding their own – hope they can keep it up.
It’s amasing how quickly their supporters clear the stadium when they lose though.
29.02.08 18:50:36 – Nessa Edit
Looks like they practise evacuation drills regularly. Did you hear the evac alarm during the Saders match? It was about 25min into the second half. 😛
Nessa
Was about to say that. The Lions are looking much better tonight
HEY!!!!!!!!!!!
You need hair to have a hairstyle, so have NO reason to be jealous. 🙄 😀
KSA – I don’t think I have ever left the stadium when my team is losing – have been tempted – but don’t think it is very sportsmanlike.
Ernst Dude!!!!!!!!!!!! choose a language.
“tackler roll weg” 😯
ok – got my feed now
Nessa
I agree, same here.
There to watch the rugby. I chirp big time and if my team loses i am there to face the music.
Geez but Matt is good!
Try Force
being refered but not needed IMO
It’s a try.
giteau is a king
Man they certainly skimped on the sound proofing at Ellis park.
Either that or Kobus Wiese is very loud. 😀
TMO says the try is a good one
forward pass!
KSA – that’s what fascinates me. I go and support my team. If my team play badly, I will be the first to acknowledge that. But I don’t attack the supporters around me about their team – just find it so unnecessary.
😯 giteau misses – just strikes the upright
25 minutes
15-6 Force
No Rob
no forward pass. Wright is thinking the same and then a replay from above cut him short mid sentence.
pass wasn’t forward
Camera angles are so deceiving
Lions look like they have run well wide and have nobody in front of them. then the shot pans out and you see they have got the ball to the wing but they haven’t got near the defencive line yet. 🙁
Penalty Lions right in front.
going at goal.
Gooooo Lions!!! Not letting the game run away from them.
Over
9 – 15 Force
27min
Big Joe takes the ball well out of the air from the KO and then benjamin knocks on.
What kind of a pass was that??
of the 4 errors by Benjamin tonight only one can be said to be his fault really.
I wonder if his team mates are trying to get him dropped. 😉
van Schalkwyk try
YAAAY!!!
No dude you do the limp thing after you have made a booboo not after you’ve scored a try. 😉
Beautiful doppies!
There is nothing like at good try! And they are in the lead.
good kick
16-15 Lions
32 minutes
YAAAY!!!
29.02.08 19:07:35 – Nessa Edit
I can see you have no SB points riding on this. 👿
lovely interplay between the centres
second skew throw the ref has missed
Sorry KSA – but think the SA teams need to keep in touch.
The week before the S14 started I was so busy at work and had such a shitty week I didn’t register for any of these – and am feeling rather left out – but never mind.
Stannard is a plank
Joe’s looking good, hey?
I still don’t see the Lions winning this – the Force will step up a gear in the 2nd half – but nice to see the Lions not letting them run away with it.
Possesson is only slightly more on the Force side, didn’t expect as much from the Lions, they’re staying in the game well.
Nice steal by the Lions but then ref says a forward pass.
Lions doing some enterprising things, though…
16-15 Lions
Lions 16 / Force 15. Half time.
is it just me, or is the great Heinke van der Merwe not having things all his own way in the scrum?
Evening all, just got back from work and a bit surprised the Lions are in the lead….mmmm eish no man
Doppies has redeemed himself with that assist… NO MORE anti-Doppies wisecracks..well at least until his next stuff-up ❗
howzit Sharkie
Hi Sharkie – surprising hey? They are holding their own but I must say the Force are looking more dangerous.
Hi Sharkie.
I see you have gone for the Force tonight. 😛 🙄 😉 😳
Sharkie Force 3
it was a seriously good piece of work, that. Reminiscent of Brad Barritt at his best 🙂
uncle Butch actually co-presents quite well, very unabrasive & not as opinionated as others (unlike Fitzy)…
Aaai, I remember when Stef T was co-presenting…rabbit in headlights!
Howdy Rob, Nessie…Ness you moved here. try by 13 was good…just saw the highlights. Ness do you know loftus well. we sitting on the grand stand…you reckon that is good tickets
Brad Barritt > Doppies La Grange
Naas is saying the Lions are wasting their opportunities – yet when the Force have one – they take it. Sounds familiar.
KSA Shark – i am not sharkie on superbru I am debs. But i did go for force by 7.
Must say i am doing well in all my other comps but this year I am slugging way behind…eina
Sharkie – I don’t know. Printed out a layout of the stadium to have a look for you. If the grandstand is the main stand then yes, they are good tickets.
We are sitting in 2 groups because I couldn’t get enough tickets for all of us in one place so it is a bit of a disaster. Oh well, as long as we are all there and enjoy the game – what does it matter?
Sharkie
I was aware of that, 😉 that’s why all the smileys.
The “real sharkie” was on the other day kicking up a bit of a fuss because you had taken his name. 😉
Nothing happening on the Sharks site at night – so visiting here. Also didn’t have Internet access at home before so didn’t blog at night – but now I have so am enjoying it.
boys back out on the field
time on
KSA – wondered who had taken whose nickname. Debs was Sharkie on Fantasyleague last year.
Blues have made some changes in the front row. Think they mean business!
C’mon Force.
Force almost caught inside the in goal 😯
then run it clear.
can see the odd rain drop on the screen
Pity the Lions couldn’t keep the pressure there. The Force were lucky.
Nessa / Sharkie
There was Sharkie on RW and when he came over here he registered as Sharkie but it was taken so he registered as “the real Sharkie” and of course we then had a little bit of fun with the who’s who on which site/competition.
I of course put two and two together after I gave Sharkie (Debs) stick last week for choosing the Bulls when it was infact Sharkie (the real sharkie) who chose the bulls. 😉 (the explanaition during the week was even MORE confusing)
46minutes
no score in the 2nd half, but force have possesion and territory
Inside Lions 22 now
LOL @ KSA. I saw your comment to Debs about the Bulls last week and wondered what you were on about because I know she would never back them.
vermaak thinks he has scored a try but referees whistle had gone
That is never a good feeling
The Ellis Park crowd are not happy about that!
what was wrong with that?
Looked like a try to me – great reflexes by Vermaak!
That could very well cost the Lions!!!! 👿
shocking
KSA, from the position the move started…could Deaker have allowed him to ground it & then ask the tv ref if there was no reason not to award?
Nothing wrong with that Quinny.
ref made a mistake, Luckily his Name is Kelvin and not Willie. 😳
robdylan
do you know if Le Requinny is going to send me his email address? 🙄
That should have been a try – but it looks like they may score another one.
Quinny
afraid not.
The TMO can only rule on in goal.
As an example if a player is running down the touchline and touches the line 6m from the tryline, then goes over to score and the ref asks if there is any reason the try cannot be awarded. The TMO cannot tell him about the foot in touch
I think that ball was out twice at the back of that maul
Penalty Force on the halfway for entering from the side of the ruck.
Force going at goal
And the Force take the lead.
Over and WELL over by Shephard
16 – 18 Force
54min
Rose on
dammit janet
let’s see what Rose can do…
I hate it when washing dishes interferes with rugby
KSA geez that took me forever to read your explanation..lol
I was the first sharkie but if real sharkie want his name….no he can’t get it.
Force in the lead….
Ness what time you going tomorrow.
Rob
RD – wondered where you had gone.
Geez now that is what you call a empty stadium
Sharkie.
in Short
Sharkie on Sharksworld = Debs on SB = not on RW
“the real Sharkie” on Sharksworld = Sharkie on SB = Sharkie on RW.
easy enough but I just love confusing everyone. 😳
The last 10min IMO Deaker has been sucking the breakdown decision from his thumb! Players are getting confused at what they can and can’t do!
[email protected]….eina wena…my dishwashers name is Pretty
Get your wife a dishwasher rob then it will not interfere hey
Ness have you moved yet.
my margin seem to be a little on the big side and for that matter i might not even have the right team.
still anyones game this.
KSA sies man…..that is mean..lol
KSA – so glad you explained it so nicely. Now we all understand.
Sharkie – it is rather sad hey. Not many supporters in the stadium.
JT
I think he realises he cost the lions a try and it has flustered him.
that sort of dishwasher is £10 an hour here
would love to see an attendance figure for the match
Mitchell get’s to 3m out
Pity – it has been a good game so far. The Lions players also seem to have lost a bit of momentum since that happened.
FK to Lions will bring relief.
Where is the ref’s mic????????? 👿
Ah they heard me.
fixing his mic now.
KSA – trust you to pick that up! 😈
Just a matter of time before the Force score.
That vermaak for lions – is he the Valke player
ok Force need a converted try now 😈 please !
still having problems with the mic, giving the players some breathing time
lol KSA Sharkette – that is how i feel too
By the way Ness, we enrolled Cody at Grey College
penalty to the force for a knock on
Force kicking for goals.
I saw that Debs – nice hey? It must be expensive?
strange penalty that
Geez – he missed!
The ruck where half the ruck is on the ground and the other half just standing there with the ball is not a ruck IMO but the oppo can not attack it because the can’t go through the gate because of the players on the ground! It is ridiculous and needs to be cleaned up! Counter rucking needs to be able to take place, this is UNION FFS and not league! Also bring back RUCKING!!!
giteau going for poles…..
MISS 😯
18-16 Force
65 minutes
What grade is he in now Debs?
He missed….hell no..matt is such a dangerous player.
Ness, grade 5 and grey is not as expensive as Michaelhouse. I will have to take out a second bond on my house every year if I want to send him to Michaelhouse.
A bit scrappy now.
Lions LO on the halfway
And you have to enrol him now already? Shoe! I know, I have heard Michaelhouse is expensive.
The oke’s look tired
A bit scrappy now.
29.02.08 20:04:01 – Nessa
was just about to say that 😉
force scrum……FK by brown
JT – can you tell me how we lost so many balls in the ruck (the Sharks that is)?
Just us girls now – did we chase the boytjies away?
29.02.08 20:06:08 – Nessa
The players eunuchs now?? 😯
😈
Sharkie
What about Hilton College or Kearsney?
You can’t send your son to Grey!!! in 13 years time the Free Staters will claim that the Sharks stole him from them.
Ness they have this long waiting list, so did the interview and forms and teachers report. It is a whole selecion criteria thingie. And we sneaky…we will make donation every year and then he will be guaranteed to get in..
C’mon Force !
Just us girls now – did we chase the boytjies away?
29.02.08 20:06:50 – Nessa
KSA dealing with work emails
no you don’t get rid of us that easily. 😉
I got a work email that i had to deal with.
Dealt with now.
KSA – I did not like Hilton, and hubby did not like Kearsney and it is Harker tradition that they go to Michaelhouse. We will be the first ones to break that tradition…and never in my life will i let my son play for the cheaters
Shephard
exclaims “intensely” that he wasn’t happy about going into touch there. 😆
okay the force can score a 5 point now and then i am on the spot with my prediction
Force are spending too much time in the “wrong” half of the field 👿 less than 10minutes for that conveted try they’re going to get
OBVIOUSLY SOMEONE IN THE COMMENTARY BOX IS A LITLE “DIE MOER IN” 😯 😯 😯
Very clever Debs! Like your thinking.
JT 🙄
Kette – KSA is just sulking because the Force are not winning by as much as he wanted them to. 😆 Force are looking good all of a sudden.
😆 😆 he just realised that Nessa, but prompmtly told me I was also out of the margin 👿
I can see Sharkie and kette Moering each other when the Force score their try.
One has a 9 point SB margin and the other has a 5 point SB margin 🙂
KSA – us girls play nicely! And the OTHER has a 15 point margin if I remember correctly.
idiot ref, blows for a forward pass when the force were heading for my converted try 👿
LOL i will vote for kette.
Ness they are.
Does anybody have information on that okie that replaced vermaak
C’mon Force
Whats his name Sharkie?
interesting that each team is pretty even on the handling error stats
Come on LIONS!!!
Dont know KSA that is why I am asking…
Sorry Debs – can’t help you there.
Tackles made
111 Lions
57 Force
😯
18-16 Force
Sharkie.
#20 Chris Jonk
http://www.lionspride.co.za/content/s14-players.html
Oh well force won, one point atleast…cant complain I suppose.
Must check what i put down at the bookie for the games
ok gotta go cut and package the brownies now, catch you all in a bit
Grey College? Great school for future Sharks.
Poor Lions
let’s see…
Win point: check
Margin point: check
Why does this result not feel good?
Lots of tackling – shame. Hard luck for the Lions.
Brownies? Pack some for me please Kette. 😀
Villie was spot on! Go Villie!
log Updated
My hubby says that Villie watches the game before us – so he knows the score! 😈
KSA – you gonna manage to do the match threads before you go tomorrow?
Ag nee, Deaker cost them the game. 2 very lucky breaks for the Force in their last 2 games … 🙄
For the Lions:
Pro’s –
Defense
Interchange btwn Doppies & Jaco
Gerhard Mostert
Jaco van Schalkwyk
Cons –
HANDLING!
Loose passes
Kelvin Deaker & the disallowed try
Louis Strydom
Hell brownies…mmmm now i want some too
Enjoy Kette.
Okay that is me for the night.
Bye all
Have a good one.
Nessie see you at the game
man – Ross Geldenhuys is my new hero
Debs – see you there! Enjoy the rest of your evening.
Please wish hubby Happy Birthday for me in the morning.
Rob
i will do them tonight.
But remember that i will not be online in the am.
I will remember, KSA!
See you guys a bit later. GO STOOOORMERS
Referees should never, NEVER guess! That is what happened here! You do NOT GUESS as a referee. rather get it wrong for not seeing it than saying you saw it when there was NOTHING to see!
Ref is a kak job but shit like that just brings it upon themselves!!
Sharksworld Winners are
Nita Force 1
Villie Force 2
ZinZan Force 3
Sharkie Force 3
shark-tank Force 3
bryce_in_oz Force 3
Ghost10 Force 4
Fatality Force 5
Lylmik Force 6
blackshark Force 6
PostmanPat Force 6
Debs Force 7
Kandas Force 7
robdylan Force 7
————-
SauronShark Force 9
Pissant Force 9
KSA Kette Force 9
shark_time Force 10
Boofy Force 12
namboer Force 13
Ollie Force 14
Sandshark Force 15
King Shark Force 15
IceBabe Force 16
agree JT, that was speculative from the ref, also sounded like he was late on blowing the whistle – a sure sign that he was unsighted & undecided. SHOCKING ❗ ❗ ❗
KSA – do you get anything extra for having the exact margin?
I hate it when a good game is ruined by a bad decision like that! 👿
Ness, there is one bonus point on offer and it is divided between all the players that are closest to the real score. In this case, Villie gets it all to himself
Thanks RD – that sounds fair to me.