The Crusaders play their 2nd match in SA at Newlands against the Stormers.
The Crusaders are currently top of the table with maximum points from their two outing this season.
It will take a phenomenal effort from the bottom of the table Stormers to pull of a win tonight.
Kick-off in Cape town at 20:35 SA Time.
Referee: Matt Goddard (Australia)
TJ’s: Brett Bowden (Australia), Pro Legoete (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Meuwesen (South Africa)
Stormers:
Starting XV: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Pieter Myburgh, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 JD Moller.
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Robbie Diack, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Gio Aplon, 22 Dylan des Fountain.
Crusaders:
Starting XV: 15 Leon MacDonald, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Stephen Brett, 11 Caleb Ralph, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Andrew Ellis, 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Richard McCaw (captain), 6 Kieran Read, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Campbell Johnstone, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Ti’i Paulo, 17 Greg Somerville, 18 Reuben Thorne, 19 Nasi Manu, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Tim Bateman, 22 Sean Maitland.

Crusaders by Plenty i’m afraid.
Going to be VERY few home wins this weekend
positive thoughts!! at least 1 SA team will not loose this weekend 😕
🙂
JT I just HOPE that it is us.
I think the Stormers are going to have one hell of a time tonight.
Force being shown as they warm up.
I can see why Giteau wear a scrum cap when he plays. 😉
😳
Matt – another one of my daughter’s favourites.
just showed a brief clip of the Schalk incident….
hmm, quite deliberate what he did to Roos… Fernando Torres & John Terry would be proud
And i got bollocked on because i suggested in a piece that the Stormers could well be heading off on a tour to hell with 0 from three return.
Unless the Crusaders have been drinking all day or JC turns up at ten for the Stormers my prediction of 19 is starting to look under cooked.
I am p!ssed off now wrt that disallowed Lions try 👿
Let’s hope this game is a bit better 🙄
I actually think I’ll be supporting the Stroppies this game, everybody loves an underdog. Oh, & somebody needs to bring the Crusaders chariot down… 😯
JC?
Jesus Christ?
Quin – where did I put my Stomers jersey now? 😉
Our SB picks on Sharksworld.
And NO that is not a typo for Sharkboy’s prediction. 😉
sharkboy Stormers 32
namboer Stormers 7
fattmann Stormers 6
IceBabe Stormers 2
————————-
Kandas Crusaders 5
Boofy Crusaders 7
Salmo Crusaders 8
Ollie Crusaders 8
Ghost10 Crusaders 10
PaarlGimmie Crusaders 12
Dive Pass Crusaders 12
Whindy Crusaders 14
Debs Crusaders 14
bryce_in_oz Crusaders 15
Nita Crusaders 15
PostmanPat Crusaders 15
Bru-El Crusaders 17
Villie Crusaders 18
Western Sauce Crusaders 19
blackshark Crusaders 19
KSA Kette Crusaders 20
ZinZan Crusaders 20
Wehan Crusaders 21
Sandshark Crusaders 22
Pissant Crusaders 22
shark_time Crusaders 22
shark-tank Crusaders 24
the_finman Crusaders 26
robdylan Crusaders 28
SauronShark Crusaders 29
King Shark Crusaders 30
Sharkie Crusaders 30
Lylmik Crusaders 32
Fatality Crusaders 33
lol Sauce, u certainly did suggest 0 from 3, which was always on the cards, really tough draw for rassie in 2 opening games that might have had a different result, but 2 losses leading into this one, could be painful.
Ice? What were you thinking?
That’s why I like the Crusaders – they run onto the field with such an ease – no heirs and graces.
you have to remember that the Stormers are playing last year 1, 2 and 3 in the first 3 matches this year.
it was nevr going to be easy
time on
KSA – wondered about that. He must have been smoking his socks! 😈
no Luke?!
Well then I’m definitely supporting the Stroppies 😛 !
Schalk Brits covering flank on the bench…
JC?
Jesus Christ?
29.02.08 20:26:54 – robdylan
Nevermind JC, the Stroppies will need the entire Holy Trinity to rock up at Boolands to save them!
hard tackling by the crusaders, they mean business 😕
last years 1st 2nd and 3rd finishers in the first 3 matches this year
I still can’t get used to Bobs playing for them.
29.02.08 20:36:37 – Le Requinny 😆 😆 😆
Stormers looking good in the first few minutes.
Remember, though, that the Crusaders always start off slowly – then step up a gear if they need to.
the stormers are 15m out from the tryline 😯
Nessa
we need a 40 point lead by HT 😯
scrums gonna be a problem tonight ???
resets, binding issues ….
KSA – they let you think you can win the game and then pull the rug out from underneath you. Just when you were becoming complacent.
Nice turnover by the Stormers.
29.02.08 20:39:38 – JT
which “we” are we talking about here JT 😆
I JUST love the way the arriving players at the rucks stay on their feet. 👿
STORMERS!!!!! 🙄
Saders got the bonus point yet?:EVIL:
Rob you watching?
Rob 😆
Januarie takes a ball at the back of the LO weel and run well until he gets nailed.
Stormers running a lot harder than i have expected to see.
Saders steal Stormers LO
and clear to the Stormers 22
No, I’m not
nice run from waddief!kkykjy
januarie smothered by two saders.
Won’t be long before one of them get a “watdefokkykdjy” from him I think.
lol, you missed a diabolical decision from Deaker… I’m still fuming. Hell, maybe I’m a closet Lions supporter?
Come Stormers. You need to be more than 12-0 up after half an hour!
Grant is looking extremely tanned, lucky bastard, no doubt hits Clifton Beach after practise 👿
snap Quinny
Quin – I am also fuming – maybe we are both closed Lions supporters.
good kick
3-0 Saders
15 minutes
I had the Lions game on, but missed that passage of play.
Boolands has NO EFFECT on carters kick
I like Grant – everyone has been a bit harsh on him after his performance last week but everyone had a bad day in the office – give the guy a break.
And the Crusaders take the lead with a Carter penalty…
I hear the Thames barrier starting to open 🙄
Lions are quite proudly my second team
Good play by Crusaders but last gasp forward pass saves the Stormers
TJ calls forward pass by the saders ….
stormers scrum 6m out
I like Grant – everyone has been a bit harsh on him after his performance last week but everyone had a bad day in the office – give the guy a break.
29.02.08 20:51:24 – Nessa
Me too, I think the poor guy has loads of talent. He’ll peak when he joins the Sharks though 😉 Maybe it was the fact that he was playing against his home province that put him off? The loyal patriot!
Eish, ‘Saders are looking dangerous…
22 for the Saders Maitland knocks on after good kyk by Januarie
Handling errors
Lions 1
Saders 3
Go Dan! fantasy League points machine
Quin – glad you said “when”. 😉
29.02.08 20:52:40 – robdylan
sorry there is no second, sharks or nothing
Lions, Kette?
Shees Sharkette, never knew you were THAT patriotic.
Good on ‘ya! 😎
Finally a ref who blows the LAW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
He gives Jdv a warning thatbhis players arriving at the tackle are going over and not supporting their weight. “If they play the ball i will warn them”
GOOD THING REF!!!!!!!!!!!
RD – thought I would let that one go …
I suppose I should support the ‘Tahs, given that a n umber of their players are future Sharks… but I’m starting to get a bit bored of them winning the CC every year 🙄
well you see rob you just threw me with that lions comment, I was still reeling whilst posting the stat 😳
eish, a Caleb Ralph “juggle” saves the Stromers from conceding a try…
Maitland knock and once again saves the Stormers from a certain try. 👿
These passes are going to go to hand soon.
beep beep beep beep beep
Who is the Stroppies physio?
Looks like Paddy Upton, the ex-Proteas fintness guru ❓ ❗
Possession
37% Stormers
63% Saders
Tackles Made
36 Stormers
24 Saders
stormers defending frantically
And there you go TRY ELLIS
Andy Ellis try
8-0
Oh oh – you can’t put score on the board if you don’t have the ball!
seems the stormers frantic defense couldn’t hold them …..saders try
How come the commentators of the Lions game know their physio’s name? They never mention our physio’s name when he runs onto the field?
thank heavens Carter missed
miss kick 😯
8-0
25 minutes
WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT.
Ellis licked his fingers and then drew a smoothing motion from his top lip to his side burns. 😯
Kette – it was only a matter of time.
who is our physio?
Time for Naqelevuki to justify his presence in the Stroppies squad ahead of locals like Egon Seconds, I say!
Who on earth is maitland?
Carter missed?
KSA – just when I thought the Saders were a team that were not over inflated!
Nessa, I have a 20pt margin, I am hoping for a few more 😛
Nessa
Because we are the outcasts in Dbn. No Broederbond membership down there. 😉
Quin!! Ruan Fourie with the great legs! 😉
Our physio is Ruan Fourie, for the record
Kette – don’t worry, you will get your margin. As I said, they pace themselves and will step up a gear in the second half.
Shawn / Sean maitland. came into the team JUST before kick off in Kade Poki’s place
Nice play from the Stormers!!!
With ball in hand they don’t look bad at all! It is just getting the blerry ball! 😕
He’s such a pornstar!
KSA – as it so happens I know the name of the Lions physio because after my niece’s op on her knee she saw him for a year to try and sort her knee out. His brother also works with our law firm.
RD – I just love him! He is such a sweetheart. He swims every day (think he is competing again). He is fitter than a lot of our players.
watdef!kkertjie is actually looking quite good, lost a bit of weight too – barely recognise him 😯
Andries Bekker saves Stormers neck – where was Jantjes? Actually where has Jantjes been all game?
Thanks ksa
What happened there.
they all just stepped away from the ruck for the Saders to pick it up. 😆
Stormers are holding the Saders nicely, 33minutes and only 8 points on the board, Saders will surely open up in the 2nd half though – I hope
Stormers are missing Schalk “Rooney” Burger…
Mind you Myburgh is pretty good.
tackles made
48 Stormers
34 Saders
Saders
8 Stormers
3 Saders
33min
I just have to ask but you okes reckon its a south Southern Island thing to have those awful mutton-chops?
Should be
Missed
8 Stormers
3 Saders
😳
Saders LO 5m from Stormers line
throw in not straight
😆 😆 yeah quinny, maybe fashion trends take a bit longer to get down down under 😆 😆
Quinny
haven’t got a clue but it look cool either way. 🙄
Quin – I have to agree with you there. They are AWFUL!
You have to ask yourself is this Stormers performance thanks to the absence of Schalk and #46
Bring on Bolla! NOW! January is ok in defene but his pass is k.k slow!
kette has just come up with the motivation behind the chops.
It is because of their love of sheep. 😛
good kick
11-0 Saders
39 minutes
11-0 Saders
KSA – personally I always remember John’s words when he spoke during the World Cup on what it is like to play without Schalk – and he said it is like playing with 2 or 3 men less on the field.
I honestly expected more score by the Crusaders at half time. Let’s hope they don’t get 4 tries tonight and that way no bonus point.
yeah NO BP would be cool.
on the sideburns…
must be a Kiwi thing in general, check this out, this is their cricket team – I kid you not – look at the player in front & the other Kiwi in the right background next to Gillespie… 😯
http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2005/02/17/20afro_wideweb__430x315.jpg
If they can hold the stormers from scoring, still get a decent margin
AND no bonus point, the KSA household will sleep well tonight 😎
Quin – don’t know how anyone can think they are appealing. 😕
Quinny 😀
Okay guys and Kette. Going to log off – spent the whole day in front of the PC and have developed a bit of a headache.
Enjoy the rest of the game and what is left of your evening.
😯 😯
just looking at SB.
Villie has taken max points on his own for both matches so far today.
5 points!!!! next best is 2,5 for the day. 😯
cheers Nessa, enjoy the game tomorrow
Go stormers!
Cheers Nessa sleep well.
Enjoy tomorrow night, and POKE them with the umbrella if they give you kak
rob you’re a confused puppy aren’t you….
why you shouting go stormers if you picked saders to win with 28pts 😕 😕
Great cross kick from carter and Saders are on attack again
Tui’ali’i takes Mujati out in the air
Fondse nice run GREAT layoff to Januarie who made and even BETTER layoff
My bru says Saders, but apart from the Blue Morons, I support all SA sides
Who’s getting laid off?
cheers everyone, got things to sort before our long drive in the morning….
enjoy the rest of the rugby…Go Saders
guess I can’t go yet, KSA doing match threads quickly…
skeate on, fondse off
brits on, myburgh off
Sleep tight Kette
blue 14 is playing well, some good tackling earlier and his kicking ain’tt bad either
ha!
This game has given me enough ammo to support my belief that Jantjes is overrated. Heaven help us if he is the Bok fullback vs the All Blacks later this year…
saders throw in at a LO 10m or so from the line
stormers doing some high tackling on saders players
saders going for poles ….
good kick
14-0 Saders
50 minutes
saders making a run towards the tryline
try saders !!!
CARTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP
miss kick 😯
19-0 Saders
52 minutes
Steyn for Green 15!!!
Dan! Missed kicks cost points in Fantasy League, you tonsil!
stormers attempt a tackle and miss, saders player runs his heart out…..thinks he has a try BUT ……..TJ puts the flag up and calls them back to their own 22 🙄
56minutes and still only 2 tries, don’t think the stormers can win but they’re definitely holding the saders
dan carter kicking again …..
good kick
22-0 Saders
59 minutes
conradie on, januarie off
stormers looking strong, heading to the tryline
blown for offside, kick for touch, LO 5m from the line
ref talking to the saders players “They’re in the red zone, I don’t expect anymore of that please !”
LO again, stormers hold onto the ball, saders being forced to defend defend defend
saders blown for not rolling away, another penalty
LO again on the 5m…..
after all that stormers blown for holding on and saders get a FK
Stormers so wasted a chance just now…
REf very lenient with Crusaders, though not nice to see JDV waving his hand in the ref’s face looking for the carding…roundball style 🙄
stormers blown for holding on on the ground ….
quinny, i actually thought the ref was playing it pretty evenly
saders concede a FK for holding on ….
Stormers MOM must be Diack! Drop #46!!! ❗
saders try a quick chip and chase but diack is in a perfect position AGAIN and saves the stormers
agree quinny, he has had a fabulous game, right place right times
less than 10 minutes remaining ……
will the stormers get any score on the board 😕
👿 👿 👿
this ref obviously needs a louder whistle, third time tonight players have continued play after the whistle has gone 😯
Honest question:
Does McCaw get away with murder at the breakdown or does McCaw get away with murder at the breakdown?
Did i just clear the room???
😳
yes he does
Diack has been very good – looks like the Diack who destroyed in the CC a couple of years ago. Bekker & Liebenberg were also very good. Bobo started off well… Grant has been solid not spectacular. Very good run from Chavanga just now, though I wish he stop with the chip kicks 🙄
Where the hell is Jantjes & why the hell do they persist with that “flat-track bully” Naqelevuki?
sorry WPW got an email from my brother n NZ
less than 2 minutes on the clock and I don’t think the stormers are going to score 😯
Score?
QUinny
Our loosies were very good tonight imo. Diack the best of the lot as you say with Louw not far behind.
Damn but the Crusaders are good.
The Stormers not that bad. Better than last year but still not there yet.
22-0
eish, JDV is slooooooooooooooooooowwww!
hooter going but the ref is letting play continue…
final whistle
I agree, Jantjes was not good tonight at all.
FINAL SCORE
22-0 Saders
OH MY GOD I SAW JANTJES 😯 😯 😯 😯 😯 😯 😯 😯
Final score 22-0
Stormers first shut-out ever in Super 12/14
No points scored. Eish!
sorry Wes, I actually hoped you guys could pull it off
Yeah, I feel bad for the Stormers cause they were a lot better than Stormers of recent seasons…they were just made to look bad by the Crusaders – man their defense & support runners are immense. I am very glad I’ll be tucked up in bed when teh Sharks play them in NZ 🙄
If you look at individual performances, it’s not all bad for the Strompies, you will definitely take out lesser teams.
And Charlie wanted me to go to Newlands.
😯
Butch reckons Strompies will do well do finish mid-table
ok seriously goodnight now gentlemen
Wow! Well done Stormers. How low are our expectations, he he. Margin point, yeah baby
Rassie has made a huge difference. Our tight five is actually not bad.
Our finishing and decision making needs a lot of work.
good night
Log Updated.
Crusaders clear at the top.
Stormers at the bottom
McCaw MOTM.
This guy is a farkin cheat!!!
Margin point??
I got it spot on. but have to share.
Sandshark Crusaders 22
Pissant Crusaders 22
shark_time Crusaders 22
SB Standing after this match
1 PostmanPat 20.0 2.00 22.00
2 Ghost10 21.0 1.00 22.00
3 IceBabe 20.0 0.33 20.33
4 Kandas 17.5 1.33 18.83
5 Villie 16.0 2.25 18.25
6 Nita 17.5 0.00 17.50
7 shark_time 15.5 0.83 16.33
8 SauronShark 16.0 0.00 16.00
8 bryce_in_oz 16.0 0.00 16.00
8 Bru-El 16.0 0.00 16.00
11 the_finman 15.5 0.25 15.75
12 Sandshark 15.0 0.58 15.58
13 Fatality 14.5 1.00 15.50
13 robdylan 15.5 0.00 15.50
13 Sharkie 15.5 0.00 15.50
16 Lylmik 15.0 0.25 15.25
17 Dive Pass 14.5 0.67 15.17
18 ZinZan 15.0 0.00 15.00
19 shark-tank 14.5 0.00 14.50
20 Debs 14.0 0.33 14.33
How brilliant was Carter tonight?
Carter was brilliant, Brett was also pretty darn good!
DAMN THOSE CRUSADERS 👿
Q, I’ll sms you score updates
Naas still can’t speak ingels. 😆
Ksa, you bugger!
The 2008 Stortahs moto – ALL or NOTHING!
2Night it was NOTHING.
Guys, i will be backing the Sharks throughout the S14 but you gonna have to be damn good to beat the Saders to the title.
Okay guys I need to go to bed but i will say this.
Stormers surprised me.
The 22 unanswered points doesn’t REALLY do them justice, they were a little better than 0 on the score board.
lol Kal-El.
Naas is SO boring…but it’s still better than watching the Stortahs try and play rugby.
Thanks KSA (for nothing)
Rob. 😛
Night all.
Q, I’ll sms you score updates
29.02.08 22:26:56 – robdylan
HUH?
What scores?
Yeah Strompies should have nailed a try when they had those successive penalties. Don’t worry – 4th rime lucky perhaps 😉 ?
Cheers guys.
I hope you destroy the Bulls tomorrow…
Scores for when the Sharks play at Jade
Watching the SA sides is the most frustrating ever. Our guys do some of the dumbest things on the field at times. And why do our fullbacks persist on kicking aimlessly when they get the ball? It is SOOO obvious what is coming next because it happens EVERY time.
Conrad Jantjes looked an incredible prospect when he first burst onto the scene (remember his debut against the Ozzies?) but just isnt half the player now.
It exasperates me!!
Villie
Conrad had a brilliant season last year.
He has only just come back from injury.
I do however agree regarding our fullbacks and their aimless kicking…
Wpw
I am being a bit harsh. He was good last season. I think it was just my frustration getting the better of me!!
However we just seem to lack any invention and it must be the easiest thing ever to defend against SA sides!! Let’s hope the Sharks show some flair tomorrow
No, Jantjes was only good in the Currie Cup last year.
Big difference btwn S14 & CC. Naqelevuki is proof of that – he may very well score braces against the likes of the Valke, Pumas & Griquas, but he does nothing special at S14 level – could explain why he wasn’t picked up a NZ Province 🙄 WP have more talented wingers than any other province & it sucks that they get left out for the token Fijian. Hell, even Dylan Des Fountain got more involved & looked more promising on the wing!
You guys reckon the new laws might favour smaller, more elusive wingers?
Rob
I agree regarding the Fijian.
Even Aplon would be a better bet.
We need to get Chavangha, Aplon and Jantjes into the game.
Rob
I don’t believe the new laws should have any effect on the wingers. Other than that they need to use their head a bit more. A bit of variation from the back 3, rather than just kicking anywhere downfield, is imperative
So our guys are all screwed! Ludik did ok, though, didn’t he?
Rob,
I missed the Lions game…save for the last 20 mins coz I was still at work. However I’m a big Ludik fan and believe he’s got what it takes. I’m looking for him to take another step up this season. He is one who has the skills, now I’m looking to see how mentally strong he is.
That is one of the big strengths of Jaque Fourie. Mentally he is AWESOME. He believes he is the best and no opponent phases him at all.
You also in the Uk?
Yes Rob,
I am UP North now…in Wigan (halfway between Manchester and Liverpool). Actually live on new houses built on the Orrell rugby club training fields.
Did my time down South and decided to get out of the big smoke and get a decent property for my bucks. Couldn’t handle paying £200k for a 1 bedroom flat!
Cool man. How long you been here?
Isn’t wigan league country?
9 years now but I go “home” at least once a year. Last year I did 4 trips. Went to Cape Town to watch the SHarks – Stormers Super 14 game in May, to KP for the Super 14 semi. Then back again for CC semi against Lions. And back again to watch Bokke in semi and final (wanted to experience the atmosphere in SA coz I was confident of a WC victory)!!
new rumour floating around that Leicester have put a big offer in for Danie Rossouw….
aaai, the exodus continues…
Exodus, all right! Movement of Jah people!
Oh, yeah! O-oo, yeah! All right!
Exodus: Movement of Jah people! Oh, yeah!
Nice! What do you do workwise? Must get lots of time off
Yep…very much league country. I have 2 neighbours who play league. One for St Helens and one for Wakefield.
The part of Wigan I live in was the Union part of Wigan though. Dewi Morris used to play here!! 😀
Why would they want him? Paperweight? Doorstop?
Danie Rossouw is still effective under the old laws and has proved himself on the softer Northern Hemisphere grounds and miserable conditions. I guess Leicester are hoping the ELV’s aren’t universally adopted!! 😀
Rob…I do contract work..kind of like consulting. Last year I worked for 2 months, took 2 weeks off, worked for 2 months, took 2 weeks off, worked for 4 months and took 2 weeks off. Not great on the finances but worth it for the rugger!
I am officially jealous!
I can’t stay away from Kings Park or the Sharks for too long!
Ok, off to bed. Big day tomorra! Sleep tight all
Bobo’s handling is consistently non-existing… and where has Chavanga’s pace gone…