KSA Shark ©

Cheetahs dealt more cruel injury blows

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :Cheetahs, Original Content, Super 14 on 2 Mar 2008 at 11:42

The Cheetahs have been dealt three more injury blows after being defeated by the Blues.

Captain Juan Smith, Gavin Passens and Jacques-Louis Potgieter will not be touring with the side.

It is reported that the players were injured during yesterdays 26 – 50 loss to the Blues.

Juan Smith’s knee injury sustained during attack for the try scored by JW Jonker, will see him on the sidelines for three weeks.

Jacques-Louis Potgieter, who had to undergo a late fitness test for inclusion to the match 22 against the Blues, has again hurt his groin.

Gavin Passens, will not tour with the side either.

Rory Duncan will stand in for Juan Smith as captain during the tour, while it is expected to have Darron Nell replace Smith in the side. Conrad Barnard will take Potgieters place in the Starting XV, while Passens’ injury will surely see Jongi Nokwe make his debut for the Cheetahs.

Naka Drotsky was interviewed by keo.co.za and told them, “It’s a big blow, but what can you do? We haven’t won a game on tour for two years, but we’ve still got a job to do. The guys are disappointed, but there is still much to be gained from this tour.”

I commented last week that the Cheetahs fielding a lock in their Match 22 was a sign that they were already struggling with injuries this early in the competition. With these latest injuries their tour to Australasia is not going to get any easier.


  • This is not good news for these guys.

    They already have a depth problem and to now lose three more top players must be devastating and to me it comes across as if Naka has resigned himself to a hiding down under in his comment.

    We haven’t won a game on tour for two years, but we’ve still got a job to do

  • Comment 1, posted at 02.03.08 11:45:03 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • The original touring party was:

    Backs: Hennie Daniller, Eddie Fredericks, Gavin Passens, Herkie Kruger of Jongi Nokwe, J.W. Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Hendrik Meyer, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Conrad Barnard, Falie Oelschig, Tewis de Bruyn.

    Forwards: Duanne Vermeulen, Darron Nell, Juan Smith (k), Heinrich Brussow, Kabamba Floors, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan, David de Villiers, Flip van der Merwe, Wian du Preez, Ronnie Uys, CJ van der Linde, Kobus Calldo, Adriaan Strauss, Richardt Strauss.

    All the players replacing the injured guys are already inthere so I ma keen to see who the replacments are.

  • Comment 2, posted at 02.03.08 12:00:17 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.