KSA Shark ©

Reds selection shake-up

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 5 Mar 2008 at 07:48
Tagged with :

The QR Reds have made seven changes to the squad of 22 for Saturday’s fourth round match Investec Super 14 match against the Stormers at Suncorp Stadium, in the wake of last week’s disappointing loss to the Brumbies in Canberra.

Reds Rugby reports that Head Coach Phil Mooney made two of the changes in the front row, where 22 year old prop Dayna Edwards earns only his third Queensland cap in what will be his starting debut. Edwards comes into the starting 15 in place of Wallaby Rodney Blake, who Mooney plans to use off the bench as an impact player.

Wallaby World Cup hookers Sean Hardman and Stephen Moore swap jerseys, with Moore moving to the bench as another potential impact weapon for Mooney.

“The way the game’s played now, hookers generally don’t start and finish a game, so with Sean starting and Stephen on the bench we’ve got quality players available to us at both ends of the game,” Mooney said.

Locks Ed O’Donoghue and Van Humphries also exchange places, with O’Donoghue coming off the bench and into the starting side.

In the backs, Morgan Turinui moves to his more familiar inside centre spot following a hamstring strain to Chris Siale, while Peter Hynes comes off the bench to wear jersey 13. On the wing, 20 year old speedster Brando Va’aulu gets his chance following the three week suspension of Digby Ioane for a dangerous tackle in the Brumbies match and experienced scrumhalf Sam Cordingley returns to the side after a week out with a groin strain. Hard tackling centre Charlie Fetoai is the new face on the bench.

Mooney said Saturday’s match is a vital test for the 2008 QR Reds, who have the chance to redeem themselves after last week’s 43-11 defeat by the Brumbies.

“Last week clearly wasn’t good enough so I think the world’s watching to see how we all bounce back. It’s a real challenge for the whole group,” Mooney said.

Starting XV: 15 Chris Latham, 14 Brando Va’aulu, 13 Peter Hynes, 12 Morgan Turinui, 11 Clinton Schifcofske, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Sam Cordingley, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 David Croft, 6 John Roe (captain), 5 James Horwill, 4 Ed O’Donoghue, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Sean Hardman, 1 Greg Holmes.
Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Rodney Blake, 18 Van Humphries, 19 AJ Gilbert, 20 Ben Lucas, 21 Charlie Fetoai, 22 Quade Cooper.

1 Comment

  • if the stormers don’t win this game after a team shake up, then the deserve the wooden spoon.

  • Comment 1, posted at 05.03.08 08:08:33 by try time Reply

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.