The Highlanders host the Hurricanes in Dunedin for this NZ derby to open Round 4.
Will the Hurricanes do what is expected and trounce the Highlanders?
Or will the 4 injury enforced changes to the Hurricanes give the Highlanders their first win of the season?
Kick-off in Dunedin at 08:35 SA Time.
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
TJ’s: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
TMO: Shane McDermott (New Zealand)
Highlanders:
Starting XV:15 James Wilson, 14 Paul Williams, 13 Niva Ta’auso, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10 Daniel Bowden, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Steven Setephano, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Craig Newby (captain), 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Isaac Ross, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Jason Macdonald, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Replacements: 16 David Hall, 17 Keith Cameron, 18 Hoani MacDonald, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Toby Morland, 21 Michael Delany, 22 Brett Mather.
Hurricanes:
Starting XV: 15 Shannon Paku, 14 Ma’a Nonu, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Tamati Ellison, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Rodney So’oialo (captain), 7 Scott Waldrom, 6 Jerry Collins, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Craig Clarke, 3 Tim Fairbrother, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 John Schwalger.
Replacements: 16 Hikawera Elliot, 17 Jacob Ellison, 18 Jeremy Thrush, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Willie Ripia, 22 Tane Tu’ipulotu

I went for the Highlanders here.
Not sure if that is exactly the way to start my weekend though.
It is a derby and they are mostly close and the Canes were forced to make 4 changes through injury.
i know it isn’t going to happen but we need highlanders to win. the only way that will happen is if james wilson learns to kick. the guy is dismal. he single handedly lost the game against the waratahs with all the missed kicks he made.
Do Sharksworld people always take so long to wake up?
never mind the previous game where his boot could have also given the game to the highlanders.
good to see you are up at the crack of dawn.
Do Sharksworld people always take so long to wake up?
07.03.08 08:04:05 – Dawn Edit
❓ why you say that ❓
Morning Sharkies…
Morning Saffa’s 😉
for those of you not as lucky as some of us to be having weekend at the moment…….
http://www.newstalkzb.co.nz/streaming/newstalkzb-streaming.asp
Less than 5 minutes for your SB picks people……
Cost there’s like 5 minutes between posts?
Sandshark Highlanders 8
Boofy Highlanders 7
IceBabe Highlanders 6
PaarlGimmie Highlanders 6
Bru-El Highlanders 5
sharkboy Highlanders 4
fattmann Highlanders 3
———————————
Western Sauce Hurricanes 5
Debs Hurricanes 5
Ghost10 Hurricanes 5
blackshark Hurricanes 7
bryce_in_oz Hurricanes 7
KSA Kette Hurricanes 7
Sharkie Hurricanes 7
Wehan Hurricanes 8
Kandas Hurricanes 8
King Shark Hurricanes 8
Ollie Hurricanes 8
Dive Pass Hurricanes 9
robdylan Hurricanes 9
ZinZan Hurricanes 10
shark_time Hurricanes 10
Nita Hurricanes 10
shark-tank Hurricanes 10
Whindy Hurricanes 12
Pissant Hurricanes 13
Villie Hurricanes 13
SauronShark Hurricanes 13
PostmanPat Hurricanes 14
Lylmik Hurricanes 17
Fatality Hurricanes 19
the_finman Hurricanes 20
namboer Hurricanes 23
game on 1min ago.
Kids were watching Star world 🙂
888 Canes Pack weight
864 Highlanders pack weight
Canes doing very well retaining posession ruck after ruck
Canes scrum in the middle of the pitch 13m inside the Landers half
scrum reset
reset yet again.
Highlanders scrum Canes back heavily on the Loosehead.
Cowan penalised for offside as a ball flicked back from So’ialo hits him on the head.
Gopperth going at goal
good kick
3-0 Canes
7 minutes
morning ladies and gentlemen, yes some of us are just waking up, have wonderful husbands who bring them breakfast in bed, the world is a good place 😀
Setaphano has made two good runs.
first gather a kick from Gopperth. took the tackle and ran well again a phase or two later.
Highlanders on Canes 22 now
Canes turn over at ruck but knock on and Highlanders get it and go wide right.
very scrappy play in the canes half
Jerry Collins try after Canes run it from just outside their 22
good kick
10-0 Canes
11 minutes
These guys aren’t doing my Superbru any good
Penalty Highlanders for canes scrumming IN at the scrum
highlander penalty kick …
good one
10-3 Canes
13 minutes
😆 they’re doing mine just fine but I don’t want to jinx it so shhhhhhh 😆
Canes LO just inside their half and ref blows for not straight.
Highlanders opt for scrum.
blue scrum on the halfway ….. highlanders retain the ball
Hurricanes looking very good should win this comfortably.
That should jinx it 😉
Hurricanes are gonna take this.
07.03.08 08:43:57 – KSA Sharkette
Sorry KSA, you just lost all your street cred.
Handling errors after 17min
Landers 3
Canes 1
BF 🙂
When i got married i had to hand over my Man Card as well as credit and ATM cards. 😉
morning BF
jealousy makes you nasty…nasty makes you ugly…..ugly won’t get you someone to bring breakfast in bed to 😉 😆 😀
Hey Kette…i see there’s quite a few of us at 7
Highlander lose the ball as they go over the line.
Canes get FK for Highlanders holding ball on the ground.
they clear
hey BShark, yup and some of us chose the same to the other side, personally hoping for our side of the scoreboard
Credit to Weepu he actually stole the ball in the tackle rather than the Highlanders losing it
can we call the game now 😉 please mr ref 😳
Penalties highlanders.
52m out middle of field going at goal
Sorry guys – top of the mornin’ to ye!
Eish, you KSA’a hunt as a pack huh? 😯
Sharkette – Actually, Im pretty good in the kitchen…
And the lounge, the bathroom, the bedroom… 😆
highlanders penalty kick …..
good kick……for the canes
10-3 Canes
22 minutes
whew 😕
07.03.08 08:58:28 – Big Fish
😳 sounds like me kind of guy
Highlanders get possesion from the 22 drop out
10m inside the Canes 22 now
High tackle Canes.
penalty inside their own 22
Highlanders going at goal.
oops me–my, now look what you’ve done to my concentration, I’m trying to watch rugby here you know
highlanders penalty kic …..
good kick
10-6 Canes
26 minutes
possesion 70% Highlanders after 26minutes
Nonu and Collins get together and knock twice in 5 seconds. 😯
sheesh but these canes have superb hands ….not !
someone wanna catch the ball, the replays they’re showing are terrible 🙄
Highlander throw skew now. 🙄
Hehehe!
Have to inject some spice into Friday morning – I know you and Lawrence are already at the weekend, but I am fighting my way through till the end of the day here!
Where is everybody anyway? I’m beginning to feel like Mercutio here! 😀
Highlanders have realised that the canes are VERY suspect under the high ball.
Cowan puts one up from the LO and Nonu is suspect yet again.
Highlanders penalised at ruck for playing ball on the ground
mercutio ❓
Fish
No-one works on a Friday!
Mercutio is some Shakespearean dude. Fish is always name-dropping.
canes on Landers 22 now. ruck middle of the pitch.
10 – 6
34mins
after two SLOOOOOOOW rucks they Canes get penalised for holding on the ground.
Highlanders clear with FK
5 calls resolved for a Friday morning,thats some kind of record.
Righto im done for the day, laat dit goedgaan.
Mercutio was Romeo’s best friend – its a compliment – you are Romeo and Sharkette is Juliet.
Dawn can be the Nurse.
Dawn, ask me what time it is.
Morning fans
Highlanders mauling well.
Maul goes down.
Highlander recycle go wide right and put it in touch 5m out from Canes line
Canes over throw and Highlander is surprised by ball hitting him on the chest with an open tryline and he knocks on.
scrum 5 Canes
Weepu clears from scrum.
BF 🙂
morning Rob
The nurse?
HALF TIME – sheesh that hooter sounds pitiful
10-6 …..not yet Highlanders are getting penalty kick opportunity
Weepu clears from scrum.
07.03.08 09:17:36 – KSA Shark ©
That’s his job.
hooter goes
Highlanders DG
kak skop.
penalty advantage. get Penalty at goal
Big Fish
You insult me beyond belief.
now for the real HALF TIME
10-6 Canes
missed kick by the Highlanders
07.03.08 09:18:31 – Dawn
Juliet’s nurser.
Go on Dawn, ask me what time it is.
our DSTV has just lost signal 😯 👿
Thank God the highlanders can’t kick…
BS
as vital as that kick was for the Highlanders to gain that psycological confidence it has now been a BIG knock to their confidence having missed it.
So we will record easy bonus point away wins over both of these sides, right?
Hey Rob.
Dawn, I sort of imagined you as one those skimpy-outfit-wearing nurses, who get pulses racing and receive tons of compliments, as opposed to urine samples.
You sure you dont wanna know what time it is?
God, why can’t the Higlanders kick?
Rob
logs?
you or me?
ok we kindof have signal again, time on ….
Its ok K-E, I told you that you can just call me Big Fish when we are in public.
They have a backline of good runners without too much skill. Its the way the ELV’s could push the game.
🙁 Paku for the canes takes the ball jsut outside his 22 and he kicks for touch.
straight into touch.
Highlanders win LO and while spreading it wide Wynand Olivier slips into their team.
God, why can’t the Higlanders kick?
07.03.08 09:26:33 – Kal-El
And from the Canes LO they take it wide and now Olivier plays for them on the other side of the field
Highlanders win LO and while spreading it wide Wynand Olivier slips into their team.
07.03.08 09:34:33 – KSA Shark ©
Classic!!!!
Highlanders LO 5m out
OK OK
What’s the time
Dawn
20 to 11
OK OK
What’s the time
07.03.08 09:38:47 – Dawn
On which planet?
or if you prefer
10:40 am
Highlanders penalty 15 in from touch 35m out.
for canes being offside
Going at poles.
changing kicker. Bowden kicking now
The bawdy hand of the dial is now upon the prick of noon. 😆
Aaah, that particular line amused me no end as a young lad doing Romeo and Juliet as a set work.
Thanks for indulging me Dawn.
missed kick
10-6 Canes
seems the new kicker might NOT be the thing they need
51 minutes
Weepu gary owen’s from the scrum
Canes retain it and then knock it at the 2nd pass.
Highlanders scrum on the halfway
Ksa, you please
canes very lucky the ball went over the DB line, highlanders should have scored a try there 😯
rob
okay cool
TJ involved.
Nonu the guilty party
swinging arm and high
Yellow for Nonu
Nonu you Nunu
How corny am I?
stupid stupid stupid
yellow 14 gets a yellow and deserves it fully for that around the throat tackle 👿
This is it Highlanders.
1 penalty and one converted try will be all i request.
07.03.08 09:47:58 – KSA Shark © 😯
KSA KSA KSA 🙄
Fairpraat Fish. That’s a good one.
Is this game boring or it just sounds that way… ❓
Kiwi commentators: Canes are getting pretty familiar with their own half in this game. 😆 😆
BS
it is a bit boring
only my SB keeping me interested
canes need to have some tackle practice, #6 with a nice throat tackle too, he’s lucky he wasn’t seen
yeah if i have a hope of getting my SB, canes best start getting familiar with the OTHER side of the field
Cowan kicks straight into touch and the Canes have a LO on their 10m line
Ja KSA, amazing how SB points give every game a bit of value…
From the sound of it…if we up our game we should get some good results away from home…
Somebody give the kicker a bucket of sand…
Weepu subbed off
Mathewson on
63 minutes
yellow scrum on the halfway
Come ON hurricanes!
3rd try for the scrum 🙄
canes have the ball 🙂
Nonu back on yet?
Cooooome Canes! Only another 6 points please. Then you guys can call it a day ❗ 😆
less than a minute to go Rob
highlanders are running this game, canes will be lucky to win, highlanders just look better all round imo
Sharks should expect to win 4 on the road. The opposition really is that weak
Thanks Kette
oooooo boys are getting a little bit too touchy feely with each other, ref has asked for the captains to have a chat with their teams
rob, Nonu on but was subbed with Tu’ipulotu almost immediately
Time left on the clock ❓ 🙁
13 minutes left
Isn’t Nonu a bit past it now anyway?
LO to highlanders on attack 20m out.
73min
another LO to highlanders
Come on Canes…get a penalty or sumthin’… 👿
Highlanders win it and knock it out wide in the abckline. 🙁
scrum 30m out in their own half to the Canes
possession
60 highlanders
40 canes
missed tackles
11 highlanders
14 canes
75 minutes
Penalty to Highlanders and they go for LO.
They should speak to victor matfield about being behind and not going at poles with your kicks.
3 goalable kicks NOT taken now.
Canes steal ball and they should have gone for poles 👿
FK to Highlanders
5m out
Penalty advantage to Highlanders.
penalty highlanders 5m out. Kicks at goal you plonkers.
And they go for LO
Canes steal it again. 👿
Highlanders are DOF
Are the highlanders refered to as Bulls in NZ by any chance.
FK highlanders 22m out quick tap.
and knock on in the pass.
KSA 😆
scrum canes on own 22
1minute left
KSA – you naughty man 😉
Maul to the NZ bulls
take it quick.
hooter goes
Highlanders are DOF indeed.
But thanks to them I might get win and margin points…
FINAL SCORE
10-6 Canes
82 minutes 😯
margin point 🙂
The NZ Bulls have ball in hand 2 minutes after the hooter after 14 phases and they F%^&en kick it away!!!!!!!!!!! 👿
Game over
no score in the second half and the most tense two minutes was after the hooter ❗
Boring stuff…but after they missed a number of kicks i understand why they were reluctant to go for poles…
KSA”s….thx for the updates 🙂
Pleasure BS
Log updated
Hurricanes move to 4th
Highlanders stay 12th
Results updated
Our closest picks are
Western Sauce Hurricanes 5
Debs Hurricanes 5
Ghost10 Hurricanes 5
GHOST10
DEBS
SAUCE
well done closest SB points on 5 Canes
Thanks KSA…well at least its not only SA teams that have ability to play boring rugby.
wouldn’t say we were lying next to each other would you …KSA the key is communication my love 😳
07.03.08 10:25:56 – KSA Shark ©
07.03.08 10:26:10 – KSA Sharkette
These KSAs are scary. 😯
So KSA, if you are so romantic, how come you only copyrighted your name and not the missus’? 😈
you know, other than the Blues and Saders, nobosy is really paying good rugger this year. The Ozmob are also shite, as are the other 3 NZ sides. It’s not just our gang of four.
BF 🙂
in a close game why don’t you kick for posts when you get a penalty. are these guys braindead?
Current SB standings after game 22
1 Ghost10 31.33
2 Villie 26.25
3 PostmanPat 26.00
4 IceBabe 24.83
5 Kandas 24.83
6 SauronShark 24.00
7 robdylan 23.50
8 Sharkie 23.50
9 ZinZan 22.75
10 Debs 22.58
11 Nita 22.00