The Stormers start their tour down under against the Reds in Brisbane.
Will the Stormers be able to pull off a win in what should be one of their easier tour matches?
Or will the Stormers’ nightmare trip and lack of kit have unsettled them enough for the Reds to win?
Kick-off in Brisbane at 11:05 SA Time.
Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
TJ’s: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand), Simon Moore (Australia)
TMO: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)
Reds:
Starting XV:15 Chris Latham, 14 Brando Va’aulu, 13 Peter Hynes, 12 Morgan Turinui, 11 Clinton Schifcofske, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Sam Cordingley, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 David Croft, 6 John Roe (captain), 5 James Horwill, 4 Ed O’Donoghue, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Sean Hardman, 1 Greg Holmes.
Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Rodney Blake, 18 Van Humphries, 19 AJ Gilbert, 20 Will Genia, 21 Quade Cooper, 22 Charlie Fetoai.
Stormers:
Starting XV: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean De Villiers (captain), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Robbie Diack, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Luke Watson, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 JD Moller.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Pieter Myburgh, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Gio Aplon, 22 Dylan Des Fountain.

Reds by 5 for me.
Did you guys get the Brendan Venter interview from the touchline?
SB Ppicks for this game.
Lylmik Reds 14
shark-tank Reds 14
Villie Reds 13
ZinZan Reds 10
Bru-El Reds 9
SauronShark Reds 8
Debs Reds 8
blackshark Reds 8
Sharkie Reds 7
robdylan Reds 7
Dive Pass Reds 7
Hmmm Reds 6
shark_time Reds 6
bryce_in_oz Reds 5
Sandshark Reds 5
Western Sauce Reds 3
Ghost10 Reds 3
KSA Kette Reds 3
IceBabe Reds 2
PostmanPat Reds 1
—————————-
Ollie Stormers 3
Nita Stormers 3
the_finman Stormers 5
Kandas Stormers 5
Fatality Stormers 6
Pissant Stormers 6
namboer Stormers 6
Wehan Stormers 7
fattmann Stormers 8
Salmo Stormers 8
Boofy Stormers 9
King Shark Stormers 9
sharkboy Stormers 10
PaarlGimmie Stormers 10
Whindy Stormers 12
Bryce.
Nope mate I am in the office. 😉
Brendan came across as a rather astute fellow… pity he is only helping out for a few months…
KSA Shark
how the hell you are always going to pick the enemies to win against US? 😯
This time is even worse. We THE CAPETONIANS.
You are picking against US! 😆
I guess you picked the Sharks for this afternoon and not the kiwis (Blues).
Well done and good luck to the Sharks (hope they smash the Blues).
Hope you will never pick against US 🙄
Have a good weekend together with your family!
HO
i pick with my mind and not with my heart. 😉
The team i pick is not the always the one I want to win. Last night is a good example. I HAD to pick the Bulls. 🙂
Yes I have picked the Sharks tonight. THAT might have been my heart talking and not my brain. 😳
Oh before I forget.
In KSA the weekend is Thursday/Friday. The week goes from Saturday to Wednesday.
So today is the start of my week. I am in the office and will not see any matches during the day. 😥
What I want to know is how does RD post here AND turn out for the Reds in the No 7 jersey????
Stormers seem to be doing well.
The ball is charged down by Naqelevuki and he picks up passes to Bobo then to warson and he dives to the line but may have been held up.. TMO decision pending.. NO TRY – The ball is held up! Stormers 5m scrum. Diack goes blind and passes to Chavanga but he too is held up over the line by Va’aulu. Scrum 5m out once again but Januarie is blown up for not releasing the ball.
HB
That comment just makes me want to go home and watch the game even more. 🙁 😉
Then again How does Adi post as Charlie on the websites when he is clearly on the pitch. 😉
3-0 Stormers
The Reds find a good touch. The Stormers go wide and Janjes makes a good break down the left wing. The Reds are penalised for offside – Grant will have a shot at goal from out in front and ADDS the 3 points.
Geez the Stormers are looking seriously bad….
Free kick awarded to the Stormers off the restart but the Reds regain possession and use the back three to make ground. 4th phase and they are bundled into touch. Januarie clears but the ball is not out. There are a number of kicks back and forth until Will Genia passes into touch mistakenly. Play ends though when Diack knocks the ball forward having a run off the back of the lineout.
Any relation of Meisiekind Olivier?
KSA Shark
I understand.
IT MUST BE REALLY DIFFICULT TO PICK THE BLOU BULLE!!!!!!!!!!!
I hope my friend Cosa will pardon me 😉
Morning Hmmm.
You got the Cheetahs wrong dude. 😉 WPW TOLD you to wait and see. 😉
HO 🙂
Sormers throwing the ball around on their tryline….
Januarie kicks the ball a meter far into touch….
Ahhhhh
Seems I am going to get some decent commentary for a while.
Thanks Hmmm. 😉
Net updates are slow on SS and 365. 🙁
KSA I did not get the Cheetahs wrong..they played as I expected….I just did not think that they would be kicking the ball direct into hands of players like Sivi and Muli…..
3 – 3
Genia plays openside to Latham but Januarie is penalised for offside. The Reds go to the corner and will have the lineout in the opposition 22. The ball is lost by the Reds in the tight stuff and Januarie kicks straight into touch. Reds lineout close to the line, advantage is being played for a high tackle and Barnes slots a DROPGOAL to tie the score.
And then they conceded two penalties that both resulted in points (1 converted try and 1 penalty) in the depth of the game…
oh okay cool.
Play resumes, Latham clears to Diack who kicks it back. Reds win a free kick for hands in the ruck – they take the scrum. Cross kick by Barnes and the Reds regather. Free kick awarded to the Reds after the Stormers fail to stay on their feet.
Stormers being penalised a bit it seems.
Stormers looking good with ball in hand…
Chevange stretching them…
Brits straightening and then passing to Bekker…
Tackled just in front of the line…
Ball to other side of field…
Chevange knocks on 3 meters from tryline…
Reds pick up good kick Stormers lineout on halfway….
The Reds are tuned over, Grant clears and the ball is in touch. The ball is sent wide to chavanga after the Stormers steal the lineout. Third phase and the Stormers are 5m out. Recycled back the other way but Chavanga this time knocks on. Hynes kicks the ball into touch. Januarie snipes over the advantage line then Brits drives.
Chavanga you plonker
Stormers get the ball from line out…
Make a few breaks…
Bad pass by Januarie to No1 Prop….knock-on…
Thanks Hmmm keep em coming?
This game is boring….
JD Moller knocks on in the third phase and the Stormers are playing poorly. Reds scrum, Latham comes into the line at speed. 3rd phase and Cordingley is in touch after going down the shortside.
Where is last nights game….
LoL
no worries you will see an exciting game with plenty of tries this evening.
Just hope my team is on the correct side of those tries. 🙄
hehehehehe
Grant clears to Latham who returns the kick. Jantjes finds touch on his 10 yardline. The Reds drive until Cordingley clears to Naqelevuki who marks and then finds touch. The Stormers through Bekker poach the lineout and Bobo is used in midfield.
Stormers steal linepout…
Ball down backline…
Bobo halds on instead of passing….
Brits straightning in the backline again…
Few phases later..
Cut-out pass when they had an overlap…
Ball into touch…Reds lineout….
Bad throw in by reds..
Bekker steals again…
Grant picks up scrpas and runs through…
Try and converted…
Stormers 10 – 3 Reds
so that’s Maritzburg college 10 reds 0 😉
Reds recovers the ball from kick-of…
Few good phases of play…
Pop-up pass knocked on by Stormers tne Reds…
Scrum reds within 10 meters from Stroemrs tryline…
score?
try PETER GRANT (he surely will be the next playmaker/pivot with Die Bokke)
and WE go!
can’t believe grant scores a try after I booted him out of my FL team!
score is 10-3 for US
Penalty Reds…No1 scrumming in on the angle…
Reds opt for scrum…
robdylan
Peter Grant is the natural replacement of Butch James in the Bok XV
nice picture, HO!
Reds win scrappy scrum…
Playing back with ball in hand…
Watson penalised for not releasing ball in ruck…
Reds opt for scrum…
Maritzburg College beloved son, Peter Grant, is great
Reds get ball from scrum….
Passed down backline…just through the hands….
Lathem beats Chavange on the outside and scores the try…..
Kick missed
Stormers 10 – 8 Reds
thanks robdylan
I had some better but their size was too great for the Word Press (larger than 2MB). Pity
I had one while kicking that famous conversion at fulltime in the Currie Cup semifinal against Boland 1969. Too large.
Chevange really not playing well…
Reds field kickoff by Stormers….
Reds 13 makes break past Bobo….Reds on halfway….
heball…
Sum more field made up by reds….
Then they lose t
HO
everytime the Boks get a Maritzburg college boy at #10 they win the world cup, so grant MUST be the #10 for 2011. 😉
Stormers putting the ball through phases….
Ball dies with Bobo everytime…
Brits straightens and gets the ball over the advantage line…
Stormers over tryline…
Held up….
Stormers scrum….
15 meters in from touch…
5 meters out…
COME ON STORMERS!!!
Stormers backline lined up…
Chevange all on his own on the other side of the field…
Scrum reset 3 times and the 4th time the ref blows for half…
KSA Shark
yes my dear I know.
some days ago I wrote to PMB Varsity Rugby Club (Zak Binikos and the others) to ask for some help and informations although their website is quite helpful. hope they get in touch with me.
also Durban Collegians are in my heart 😉
Half time score:
Stormers 10 – 8 Reds
🙄
Stoemrs not really looking good…
Few stand outs….
Brits
Bekker
Fiji
Hmmm great updates thanks bud.
Chevange is te only really fast player in the world that managers to hide that speed…
And then his handling is super poor….
Me2
Did shouting for the Stormers there hurt as much as it hurt me to shout for the Bulls last night 😉
Yeh KSA…
Just not great rugby……
Bobo and Jean are blocking that backline….
yes!!!! KSA 😯
I’m at work now…have sorted problem & should be able to go home just now 🙂
Schalk the only player straightening the backline and getting the ball out…
Kirchner got two weeks
Bakkies got off.
Both teams conceded 10 turn overs…..
2nd half started….
Reds couch saying that they defended the midfield expecting Jean to bash it up…
But wll adjust te 2nd half….
so that is the Stormers’ que to bash it up now. 🙂
Bakkies, like JP Nel, always gets off!! 😡
Stormers running well with ball in hand…
Reds joining ruck from side…penalty Stormers….
30 meters out in front of poles….
Kick slotted…
Stormers 13 – 8 Reds
Reds recover kick-off AGAIN
Reds short arm for Robbie playing ball in ruck…
Reeds opt for scrum middle of field 30 meters out….
Me2
No worries when they get cited in Aus/NZ they will get loooooong suspensions.
College 13 – 8 Reds. 😉
I hope so 👿 😀
Ball goes wide (cut out by Reds)…
Scrapped 10 meters out….
Excellent steal by Louw…
Poor clearance by Ricky…
Bit of kicking…
Stormers get teh ball back and send it wide where Fiji has open line…
Bad pass by Bobo….ball knocked….
Reds recycly from scrum and drop goal by Barns….Slotted
oh dear1 Don’t tell me February is beginning to play rubbish again!
Reds keeping themselves in touch.
Fifth phase and Roe grubbers ahead to Jantjes who clears to Latham and he returns the kick. The Stormers go wide and have backs on forwards but Naqelevuki knocks on the pass from Bobo. Reds scrum, Turinui takes it to the line. Barnes tries a DROPGOAL and its OVER!
11- 13 Stormers
48min
After the a few goos phases by the stormers…and a great break by Mujati…
Diak gets short armed for holding on…
Bit of kicking (Latham vs Jatjes)
Lathen wins hands down…
Diak knocks up and under..
Reds scrum just inside Storemrs half….
February 🙂
Score? 13-11 stormers?
score?
Lathan has a great break from scrum ball…
Beats Bobo and Grant…
Tackled and Stormers get short arm next tackle situation….
Stormers 13 – 11 Reds
53 min
KSA…March, April, May…..take your pick!! Can’t stand the little man…gets toooo beg a head at times….prefer the “Gregan look alike” BUT only for the Stormers team 😆
Ball ruled to have been passed back…
Jantjes gives a great punt from is 5 meter line…
Ruled to be direct into touch..
Lineout Reds on Stormers 5..
Bekker wins the ball…Stormers knock…
😳 “big”
Scrum to reds…
Reset 4 time…
Short arm to Reds…
Score…..
TMO pending…
Me2 🙂
I prefer to call him “[email protected]” after he tried to take on Bakkies and Matfield at the same time at Ellis. 🙂
Try awarded….
Reds 16 – 13 Stormers
kick to come
Who said the Aussies can’t scrum… monstering the Stormer’s at every turn…
Another shocking day by the refs…
Commentators say Reds were lucky to et the try…no evidence that ball was grounded over the line…
Conversion missed…
Another shocking day by the refs…
08.03.08 12:17:44 – bryce_in_oz Edit
let’s hope we don’t have that problem this evening.
What will your local time when the match starts?
Reds kick ball down field from kick-off…
Schalk gets ball in middle of field in his own 22…
Steps a few people..cracks on pace….
Pass the ball out just outside Reds 22…Louw draws last player….
Try Luke…
Ricky has been good… but needs replacing after 50 mins… oh how the Stormers could do with De Kok…
Converted
Stormers 20 – 16 Reds
4am KSA… will have to have a nap before…
Stormers looking the better team last 5 min
Bryce.
ouch. glad I am not you mate.
Stormers not giving up so easily it seems.
Be sure and happy all of you.
Stormers win today 😉
NO HO they can’t win it will affect my Superbru results. 😉
Short throw in and reds hooker down the line….
Great tackle by I think it is van zyl on wing…
Reds hooker knocks on…
A whole lot of nothing…
Reds srcum Stormers off their ball..
Short arm Reds Stormers playing the ball on the ground….
reds opt for scrum…
How many times have the Stormers been scrummed back now?
Penalty awarded to the Reds after the Stormers scrum. The Reds control possession but in the seventh phase lose it. Stormers scrum outside their 22 but its a great scrum from the Reds and they end up with a free-kick.
Stormers scrum just outside their own 22..
Jantjes forced onto wrong foot…..
Good result though as bal skewed off foot and rolled down field…
Stormers protecting the lead….
Kicking when they have good attacking ball…
10 min left
Grant makes a great break…
Passes to Bolla who gives a poor pass past Louw who had open tryline…reds pick up scraps…
Poor kick from Lathem straight into Jantjes hands (great catch)…
Great break by Bekker in middle of field….
Great stepping by 22…
Some bad passing but still manage to score..
Stormers try..
22 is des fortuin…not van zyl
Stormers 27 – 16 Reds
That must be it for the Reds.
Time left?
Just over 5 min left and the Res are two tries behind…
Stormers keeping ball in hand….
Reds getting no ball
des Fountain almost getting past out wide…legs jut scrapped…
Reds penalised for dangerous tackle…
Stormers punted for line..
Lineout to them 10 meters out….
Brits stepping past def…
Handling letting him down….scrum Reds
76min
27 – 16 Stormers
Bobo the worst Stormer on the park…
Lathem the worst player on the park this game
Stormer going for the BP try it seems and their 5th try of the season. 🙄
Hold on Stormers!!!
Great hands…
4 backline players right next to each other (in about 5 /6 meters space)…
Ball through the hands quickly….
Try Chevange (untouched)
Bonus point
Converted
Stormers 34 – 16 Reds
BP Try Stormers.
Well Done.
😎
Game over yet???
Hats off to the Stormer’s…
Rassie must be a happy man!!! Well done 😛
Log Updated
Stormers move to 10th
Reds 0n 12th.
On my way home now to make potjie for the neighbours birthday!!
GOOO SSSHHHAAARRRKKKSSS!!!
REDS 16 – 34 STORMERS
Lucky neighbour. 😉
Enjoy.
Go Sharks!!!!
Nice work Rassie! His first away win
Well done stormers-dont mind losing those points.
Jeez Bolla is a nob eh… thinks he’s a premier league footballer when he scored…
damn damn damn
and this will more than likely get spammed too so…
damn damn damn for that also 😡
there goes my GSP for the round 👿
Our SB winner is.
Whindy Stormers 12
congrats
Sharksworld SB standings after this match.
1 Ghost10 34.83
2 Kandas 29.83
3 Villie 29.75
4 PostmanPat 29.00
5 SauronShark 28.00
6 IceBabe 27.83
7 robdylan 27.00
8 ZinZan 26.75
9 Debs 26.58
10 Sharkie 25.50
11 Dive Pass 25.17
12 Fatality 25.00
13 Nita 24.00
14 Ollie 23.83
15 KSA Kette 23.75
15 the_finman 23.75
17 bryce_in_oz 23.50
18 shark_time 23.33
19 Lylmik 23.25
20 shark-tank 23.00
Jeez I’m dropping down that list quicker than Bobo knock-on 😯
Who is winning the SW FL?
WE won 😯
As I promised you.
KSA Shark pity for your SuperBru (by the way: Yannick Bru was a very good hooker for Stade Toulousain and French national team, 18 caps).
Peter Grant has a brighting future (Bok jersey at flyhalf)
Quinny
damn damn damn
and this will more than likely get spammed too so…
damn damn damn for that also
there goes my GSP for the round
08.03.08 12:58:57 – KSA Sharkette Edit
NO Napping for me this evening 😉
The Stormers could have had 50 + points today. Its been a long time since I’ve seen so many “certain” tries butchered.
Having said that the damn Aussie TV stations are cheats.
Nice win for the Stormers. Pity the Cheetahs couldn’t hold out this morning – they should have one that one too.
Hi Nessa
The Chiefs 1st try was VERY dubious indeed. These TV ref decisions are a big joke now!