The Stormers are 2 from 2 on tour and head down to Auckland to face the Blues.
In a complete reversal of the beginning of the season, the Stormers are coming off two consecutive wins and the Blues off two consecutive losses.
Tony Brown joins the Stormers on the bench.
Will the Stormers reach their captain’s target of an unbeaten tour?
Or will the Blues return to form?
Kick-off in Auckland at 06:30 SA Time.
Referee: Paul Marks (Australia)
TJ’s: Brett Bowden (Australia), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen
Blues:
Starting XV: 15 George Pisi, 14 Anthony Tuitavake, 13 Isaia Toeava, 12 Benson Stanley, 11 Rudi Wulf, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Danny Lee, 8 Nick Williams, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Troy Flavell (captain), 4 Kurtis Haiu, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Nick White.
Replacements: 16 Tom McCartney, 17 Tony Woodcock, 18 Bryn Evans, 19 Justin Collins, 20 Taniela Moa, 21 Ben Atiga, 22 Joe Rokocoko.
Stormers:
Starting XV: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean De Villiers (captain), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 JD Moller.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Robbie Diack, 20 Conrad Hoffmann, 21 Gio Aplon, 22 Tony Brown.

here comes the big one… can the Stormers win 3 in a row?
I bloody hope so.
My heart says Stormers
My mind says Blues
SB picks for the round.
As you can see i picked with my mind not my heart. 😉
Sandshark Blues 19
Villie Blues 15
Boofy Blues 15
Wehan Blues 12
IceBabe Blues 11
shark-tank Blues 10
KSA Kette Blues 10
Sharkie Blues 10
robdylan Blues 10
King Shark Blues 10
Lylmik Blues 9
Pissant Blues 9
Hmmm Blues 9
SauronShark Blues 8
sharkboy Blues 8
Fatality Blues 8
Debs Blues 7
Salmo Blues 7
Ghost10 Blues 6
blackshark Blues 6
Nita Blues 5
Western Sauce Blues 5
bryce_in_oz Blues 4
Sinbinners Blues 3
———————-
fattmann Stormers 3
PostmanPat Stormers 3
the_finman Stormers 4
namboer Stormers 4
Ollie Stormers 4
shark_time Stormers 4
Kandas Stormers 5
Dive Pass Stormers 6
PaarlGimmie Stormers 7
PJLD Stormers 7
Bru-El Stormers 8
Whindy Stormers 12
Nice split on the picks here.
A stormers win would really knock the blues back into the chasing pack
sounds like Evans is out! I knew I was right to sell him.
Come Stormers… this is just the shot in the arm that you need
Tony looking good
Paul Marks is the ref… never heard of him!
I’m off to the St John’s festival later. That should be a blast. Martizburg College against St John’s at 4pm
Evans is out… it’s confirmed.
Toeava to 10?
lots of Stormers jerseys in evidence.
come Chavanga… we want 3!
Toeava is indeed at 10…Ben Atiga in at 13. Wulf comes onto the wing
here we go. Grant to kick off
I knew that Nucifora sounded suspect when he said Evans was playing 👿
Skeate takes one against the throw. Penalty Stormers… come on PG
you at work, KSA?
Grant lines it up… and it’s good! 3-0
territory beomes points. Good start
“Nick has come through all his testing this week so at this stage we’re comfortable naming him in our line-up.”
Is there more to be read into that statement?
It certainly seems to me as if there may be a late change
20.03.08 07:01:11 – KSA Shark © Edit
This is what I had to say.
And seeing as I enjoy saying “i told you so”
I told you so. 🙂
Blues scrum on the Stormers 22
well done, KSA 😉
No, at home.
Have made the school run and let the office know i will be working from home this am.
Also keeping an eye on the F1 Qualifying for Malaysia that is tomorrow.
😆
Blues lacking penetration
Big tackle from the Stormers and the ball is dislodged. Stormers scrum
Good break off th back by 46
I think the absence of Evans hands this game to the Stormers.
Stormers have LO advantage already and now they have midfield advantage as well.
Go Stormers!!!!!!!
Blues knock again… another white scrum
Blues lacking penetration
22.03.08 06:36:46 – robdylan Edit
And against the Stormers that should be easy. 🙄
😳
Toeava is not the playmaker that Evans is… Blues look a bit one-dimensional out there. One-off runners… Stormers handling it well
Crap. Danny Lee scores!
Danny Lee sent those guys all to Baby GAP as he sold them a HUGE DUMMY.
Stormers guilty of not reclaiming a kick… Some poor tackling on Tuitavake and Wulf and there you go.
Silly… they need to hit back
5 – 3. Atiga misses a smple kick
Farking pathetic kicking possession away twice after winning the turnover, straight to the best counter-attackers in the game!
It was Schalk he sold the dummy to.
And punished!
Morning Bryce
Blues offside again. Another penalty to the Stormers
hoesit Braaace
Some nice handling… Stormers must attack attack attack… Blues are only weak on the back foot rush defending…
where’s Nessa? Thought she would join us…
Commentators get the abuse of the TJ wrong again as the replay shows Chavanga wasn’t in touch.
6 – 5! well done PG
GO STORMERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 – 6 Stormers
13min
I like Jantjes’ hair style 😉
Morning… well afternoon okes… nice Sunny day in Melbourne but fortunately not too hot… got the coals burning down, Octopus marinating in Greek oregano, garlic and white wine… and a glass of Riesling in hand…
GO STORMERS!
Blues in from the side… another potetially kickable penalty, but this one is one halfway
Naqelawhatsit… is soooo slow on the start!
terrible pass form Grant sees Skeate knock on
Feels good shouting for the Stormers with conviction for a change. 😆
yeah… he needs about 15 m to actually get going
HAven’t heard his name… is Evans playing or not?
I wonder where admin is 😉
Evans is out
Arrrrrgggghhhhh… I knew he wouldn’t play… was suckered into re-buying him in the FL!
Blues 8 phases now and going nowhere
I sold him on Monday
Is it my TV or does the ref really not mind if the Stormers use the middle of the ruck as the offside line rather than the last mans feet.
the ref looks like John Travolta
wow… some lovely running there
Jeez that was good… so close!
Bryce
the Braai sound nice ……….. show off!!!! 😉
Chavanga’s gonna get back into Bok colours this year
Moller goes down… god, but he is useless
Same Rob… but then I bought him back thinking I was pretty smart getting him back cheaper… fookin knew they were pulling a Rassie!
Fiji forward pass to Skeate
I was a bit tempted when they named him, but by that stage I’d already bought Grant
Whe is Liebenberg back… well needed to help Moller!
Afoa is killing Moller
Two missed tackles on Lee… come on, guys.
Liebenbarg will only play after the tour… 2 weeks
Nick Williams ees going to get a [email protected] from the Boesman if he does that again!
Blues scrum, 25 mtres out
Ice is also not quick off the mark
Blues Penalty right in front, Stormers offside. Team warning issued
Cmon Stormers keep that possession… only way to beat them…
Nick Williams impresses me F%ck all. 120kgs of not much
8-6 to the Jafa Junta
Brits playing on the left wing dammit!
Why don’t we ever target the ball in the tackle… irks me no end!
ref is losing it now… blowing penalties for free kick offences
Atiga taking another shot
11-5 to the jafas
Woodcock on for White alrady
Who’s this….
Louw’s gettinga yellow card… another penalty and the Stormers are throwing this away
oh shit… it’s Hmmmm. 🙂
Atiga lining up ANOTHER shot
and it’s 14-6…
The ref is blowing the law the way it should be now. 😎
This crap about be prepared to give away FK’s all the time is crap.
Stormers are actually lucky considering they have had another one already since the team warning and the ref didn’t give a yellow.
Lets see if the Stormers can play better with 14…
One less to screw up at the ruck…
Morning Hmmm.
Your team going to do it this evening?
Well done mr ref.
Made me delete my text slating you for allowing the player to dive on Grant while on the ground. 😉
ricky drops teh ball!
but it is so open to interpretation, KSA…
This game is the worst stop-start-stop-start-stop-start-stop-start-stop-start-stop….I have seen this weekend…
Jinne it is frustrating…
well done Sireli… PK’ed Lee into touch
Brits is one weak winger in defense!
KSA….
My teasm did it last weekend…right up to actually scoring…
SO doing it is not enough….finishing it is what I need…
Sereli is stoned…
Everything in slow motion with him!
this is so pedestrian by the stormer
And Rastaman himself stays consistent with his poor handling!
someone jsut needs to remind Hmmm that the Sharks actually won the game quite comfortably last week. I think he’s in denial
Bryce
he DOES have that DAZED look about him. 🙂
WTF was Burger doing there, taking the tap and THEN trying to turn around. 🙁
BOBO!!!!!!!!!!!! where are the hands dude?
he dropped the ball before he could even get the grubber in!
But Loffie when Loffie complained about the def he fixed it…
So lets hope he gets it all sorted and able to somehow get the Lions to concentrate on all aspects of the game…
Another FK against Moller for just not being a real prop
Did i hear that wrong or are they calling him “bungle-avuki” 😆
Sucks not having a Sharks game to watch this weekend…
Half time
Blues 14 – 6 Stormers
Agree. Hmmm, you going to Ellis later?
man, it’s a lovely day in jozi
Damn right.
I am shocked though, thought we would slide down the log a bit considering we have a bye.
C’mon Stormers.
One try and you are right there again.
Have just realised I will be missing the Hurricanes/Sharks game while I am in Thailand. 🙁
Nah Robd….but we will see…..maybe I feel like it later…
So far I have 3/3 in SB
If this game stays the smae it will be 4/4
Chevange look’s good these days…
BUt Bobo still continues looking bad…..
ok – here we go with the second half.
I was thinking about going to Ellis, but it’s just too much schlep
might be quite a few 6/6’s this weekend on SB actually.
C’mon Stormers!!!!!!!!!!!
Stormers have lost their way here
Whast the hell was Jantjies doing there!?!?!?
should never have called the Cheetahs!
And pass to Chevange of all people…
Who kicks 4 meters…
6 meter out line-out Blues
Bong-eluvuki…
If Stormers continue to hand over possession… it’s all over now!
bekker on for fondse
Through not straight….lucky..
should never have called the Cheetahs!
22.03.08 07:30:00 – robdylan Edit
🙂 😆 😳
Januarie playing well….but he is struggeling with his handling a tad….
Look at all those obstructing decoy runner by the Blues!
now Lee knocks
Think we need Diack on… or something to spark things!
Listen to the songs they playing there….Ha-Ha
Something about la-la-lala….jinne
Urine samples need to be taken immediately from Daniel Braid, he’s [put on at least un-natural 8kg’s 😯
Afoa has lovely ball skills
A lot of flyhalves would have done a “soccer” there after Jantjes hit him slightly late
good stuff by Toeava for staying on his feet.
unlike Burger 🙁
22.03.08 07:34:26 – Hmmm
Hehe almost as bad as the Ellis Park music…
Both teams have gone to bits….Blues just looking better doing it…
Afoa has been a great FL scorer…better than most hookers…
Cmon Stormers… let’s get into their half NOW!
Ellis park music rocks…
At least we don’t have liefling or a really really bad version of the French trumpets….
Chavanga showing some brilliance there.
Great to see Chavanga back at pace… just needs someone else who can keep up…
Blues keeping taking the ball away
PASS BRITS!!!
Brits you plonker.
You have Chavanga on your outside and you step inside ??????????????????
Brits – it’s like stepping all is he knows how to do
Jinne skeet….
Where does this useless come from…
If he caught that a real good chance for a try…loads of spaces in front of him…
Hmmm… the trumpet call is actually Argentineasn, not French.
Nice try, though…
Stormers don’t deserve to win here… but if they can prevent the Blues getting a bonus, that’s good enough for me
Brits did the right thing as the def was crossing and would have tackled Chevange into touch…
“really really bad version of the French trumpets…”
Hear hear brother… do they not realise that that ripped from the internet version sounds so sick…
Must admit as of last year… the EP crew have at least updated their music from re-runs of Leon Shuster songs!
Ah – the blonde Maori is on
Tony Brown on.
Grant moves to 12 with Brown at 10.
THAT combo will be dangerous.
Jantjes try!
JANTJES TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Grant looks great straight off at 12…
I said it first… Jinx, KSA!
Geriatric my ARSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Brown still has it all.
PG did so well there… come back to Durbs!
darn…misses the kick
Conversion missed by Grant.
11 – 14 Blues
56min
C’mon Stormers!!!!!!!!!
Did so well where? At 12 or in that play?
Why would we need ANOTHER 12 in Durban. 😉
How freakin long was that advantage????
Jeez imagine if Brits had the upper body strength of Mealamu???
Aplon of for Nakelavuki
good. Sireli has been poor
We need some brilliance here… a JDV intercept perhaps… he hasn’t done one this season so far?
Atiga seems to be in some pain.
could this be what the Stormers need in the midfield to get that try.
Must say…
In this short time the Stormers look much much better with Brown, Grant, De Villiers combo…
Like Grant and De Villiers work together and are a combo more already (making tackles together and all)…
(that last bit was for the Durbs people)
Wonder is Atinga is wearing his mascara like last week?
Blues lacking a bit of depth?
Januarie doing great in def today hey….
S T O R M E R S !!!!
‘def’?
Joe Roco
One of my fav rugby players for a long time…
Struggling with depth???? Joe on…
defence!?!?!?!??!!????!!?!?!!?!?!?!?!?!?!!?
Caitlin is here shouting “white, white! well done white!” 🙂
Is Januarie trying to test Brown?
Passing on his knees, above his head….
now she says “he’s the cleverest referee in the whole world”
ok – I’m offline. Battery is flat.
Later guys
Come on Stormers! I am sending all my late night mojo to you.
Cheers dude
Rob Eskom playing games again?
Hi Lyndy… been meaning to ask what brings a wee Canadian lass to a Saffa rugby blog?
Januarie not looking convinced that he was offside at the LO, but the replay shows he was and by quite a bit as well.
Blues going at goal
January can kick with left and 😯 right foot
How did the Blues player get the ball ahead of anyone else….
Great steal by Schalk though…
Most probably the most important steal of the day so far….
Wulf shows the importance of following up a kick at goal, but can’t get over.
11 – 14 Blues
70min
Jeez Brown passing the ball at Mark speeds 😯
22.03.08 08:01:58 – bryce_in_oz
He was taught well by Andre Pretorius
GET BONG-elavuki off!!!!!
Bungle-avuki knocks it.
SEND HEEM OFFFFFFFFFFFFFF!
Andre who?
There should be a citing for this!
Officials got that wrong…………
let’s hope the citing commissioner get’s it right.
Grant going at goal
Scores level
Hi Bryce_in_oz,
I sort of stumbled onto a Super 12 game a few years back and liked the game and at that time FoxSportsWorld Canada seemed to be airing a lot of RSA teams so I got to know them and then got hooked. I don’t really know how I found this site but I like it so far.
14 – 14 Stormers 😉
72min
C’MON STORMERS
Andre “bullet pass” Pretorius
2 white offside
kickable
Blues going at goal
Cool Lyndi… welcome… it’s been years since I’ve had poutine…lol!
Nooooo…Nokulevuki is playing well……
That was a real real real bad scared smack (not really a pass) by Jantjies….
Pass was poorly directed and had no momentum…
Eish… Atinga’s mascara getting in the way again!
Miss to the left.
C’MON STORMERS!!!!!!!!!!
Chavanga off (cramp)
Aplon on
Ai Brown…
And you can’t even blame altitude….
NOT in straight!
14 – 14
78min
My internet is slowing down now for some reason…taking 1 min to send a comment..
Grant knocks it on
Bungler touches it and Watson plays it from infront. Offside
Penalty blues.
Going at goal again
And the Blues are ahead….
And final wistle goes…
PO3S!
over.
Game over.
Stormers 14 – 17 Blues
My SB for the weekend is 4/4
Log updated
Blues go 3rd
Stormers 8th (below Waratahs on PD)
No BP for the Blues.
Well played Stormers.
Sinbinners gets the SB closest pick point all to himself.
Got to give the Poeftah’s a bit of cred… they’ve taken more points from this leg than I thought they would…
Now come on LIONS!!!!
Darn.
I think this may be their best ever tour and they are not finished yet.
What’s a Poeftah?
Dammit Dammit Dammit!!! 👿 👿 👿 😳
Yay. But I need it. Lots of catching up to do after joining the pool late.
I don’t think the Bulls are going to do it…..
But lets wait and see…
😳 Kandas
I see Villie got some much needed points over you here. :ouch: 😉
Wasn’t suppose to happen. The Gods promised me.
But, we’ll fight on…
Darn lots of Bulls supporters there…
22.03.08 08:14:37 – KSA Shark ©
Bloody ball went backwrds so It should never have been a PK! Bloody NZ TJ called and not the ref 👿 👿 👿
We was robbed!
Morning JT,
how has your day been?
SB going well this weekend? 😉
hmpf…
I have my own game to worry about today. 14:00 my time KO… Yesterday we had rain/snow and it was bitterly cold, this morning sun is out and bright and warmed up nicely. Perfect for RUGBY!
I must agree (tentatively)
I was not sure if the replay was from a reverse angle or not but it all looked okay to me.
how good is the drainage on the pitch.
Surely the rain and snow will cause it to be a little bit of a mudbath?
It was one of those games that could go either way… It went their way 🙁
Oh well pretty happy with the performance though. 11 points on tour, just a pitty they had such a slow start and got the bulls before Ludicrous could get his influence on the bulls to show 🙄
22.03.08 11:49:04 – KSA Shark ©
We played in terrential rain last season on that pitch and our feet were dry 😯
😆
IOW pretty good.
What is the most the Stormers have scored on tour.
this must be it or close to it and they still have games to come on tour.
Damn that is good drainage. 🙂
A win in Perth would be perfect! Not only for the Stormers but for the guppies as well
Damn right you are there.