KSA Shark ©

Changes and reshuffles aplenty for the Highlanders

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :Original Content, Super 14 on 2 Apr 2008 at 08:02
Tagged with :

In what can only be described as the media unit feeling the same way as the team the Highlanders have released an almost non-existent media release to announce the team to take on the Lions at Carisbrook this weekend.

James Wilson moves to Flyhalf from Fullback to make way for Paul Williams who moves from wing with Matt Saunders coming into the squad for the #14 jersey. Daniel Bowden who started at 10 last week moves to the bench.

Niva Ta’auso drops out of the Match 22 with Brett Mather getting a starts after playing off the bench last week.

In the Forwards, there is a loose forward reshuffle with last week’s loose trio making way for a reshuffled unit this week. Steven Setephano drops out of the match 22 with Newby moving from the side of the scrum to the back. Alando Soakai also drops out of the 22 to make way for Tim Boys. The gap left by Newby is filled by Hoani MacDonald.

Hoani MacDonald’s move from lock gives Tom Donnelly a start.

David Hall switches with last week’s bencher Jason Macdonald

Aaron Bancroft is the new player on the bench in place of Mike Delany.

Below is the ENTIRE press release by the Official Highlanders site.

Please find below the Highlanders team to play the Lions at Carisbrook, Friday 4th April, kick off 7.35pm.

15. Paul Williams, 14. Matt Saunders, 13. Brett Mather, 12. Johnny Leota, 11. Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10. James Wilson, 9. Jimmy Cowan, 8. Craig Newby (C), 7. Tim Boys, 6. Hoani MacDonald, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Hayden Triggs, 3. Clint Newlands, 2. Jason Macdonald, 1. Jamie Mackintosh.
Reserves: 16. David Hall, 17. Chris King, 18. Isaac Ross, 19. Adam Thomson, 20. Toby Morland, 21. Daniel Bowden, 22. Aaron Bancroft.


  • how the mighty has fallen

  • Comment 1, posted at 02.04.08 08:11:57 by barend Reply
  • Lions – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Walter Venter, 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Jaco van Schalkwyk, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Willem Alberts , 7 Joe van Niekerk, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5 Gerhard Mostert, 4 Anton van Zyl, 3 Eugene Maqwelana, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
    Subs: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Ross Geldenhuys, 18 Dewald Senekal, 19 Franco van der Merwe, 20 Chris Jonck, 21 Rudi Vogt, 22 Jannie Boshoff.

  • Comment 2, posted at 02.04.08 08:26:35 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.