Beeste named for Brakpan battle

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content on 3 Apr 2008 at 09:27
Tagged with :

The Wildebeest team to take on the Valke in Brakpan on Saturday shows a number of changes to the outing that bravely downed the Lions last week.

Gone are hooker Skipper Badenhorst and right wing Henno Mentz, on tour with the Sharks in New Zealand (although nobody is quite sure why). Deon Carstens has also taken his rightful place in the Super 14 squad. Kees Lensing gets a rare start at loodehead prop in Carstens’ place, while Jody Jenneker will wear the number 2 shirt. Pierre Bouwer is the new reserve hooker, while young Pat Cilliers continues his rehabilitation after knee surgery as he is named as the reserve prop. Big Nik Blignaut and captain Ali Hargreaves continue their partnership in the second row, while young Pampoen van Jaarsveld provides cover from the bench.

In a surprising move, livewire openside flanker Skollie Ndlovu has been dropped, with Justin Downey coming in at 6 to partner Jean Deysel and the ever improving Warren Whitely in the loose trio. Michael Rhodes is on the bench. This move may well backfire, although Downey himself is certainly no slouch and may well adapt well to the fetching role.

Neil de Bruyn replaces Scott Mathie at scrumhalf, while Tiaan Marx, Andries Strauss and Riaan Swanepoel remain in jerseys 10 through 13. Mentz’s place is taken by 22-year-old Sizwe Zondo, while Lwazi Mvovo and Danie Dames continue at left wing and fullback respectively. Reserve flyhalf Andrew Borgen is named in Scott Spedding’s place. Borgen played for the KZN u19 side back in 2003, before a spell in the UK with first Leeds and then later Rotherham.

Wildebeest team:

15 Dames, 14 Zondo, 13 Swanepoel, 12 Strauss, 11 Mvovo, 10 Marx, 9 de Bruin, 8 Whiteley, 7 Deysel, 6 Downey, 5 Blignaut, 4 Hargreaves (capt), 3 Harris, 2 Jenneker, 1 Lensing
16 Bouwer, 17 Cilliers, 18 van Jaarsveld, 19 Rhodes, 20 Mathie, 21 Borgen, 22 Vulindlu


  • Come on Beeste!

  • Comment 1, posted at 03.04.08 09:49:22 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Harris ahead of Cilliers…take it Cilliers is still on the mend

  • Comment 2, posted at 03.04.08 09:56:04 by Dive Pass Reply

    Dive Pass
  • Read the arti, DP? 😉

  • Comment 3, posted at 03.04.08 10:03:16 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Hey reading the team sheet is hard enough for us slower guys at the back of the class!!

  • Comment 4, posted at 03.04.08 10:08:10 by Dive Pass Reply

    Dive Pass
  • Don’t know why Scott is on the bench???

  • Comment 5, posted at 03.04.08 10:08:41 by Nessa Reply

  • Valke vs. Wildebeest: Jacques Schutte; Ernie Kruger, Rouan Cloete, Albert Keuris, True Blue Smit; Len Olivier, Morné Adams; Sean Plaatjies ©, Uwe Sauer, Warren Perkins, Ruhan van Jaarsveld, Lungelo Payi, Nico Pretorius, Ryno Barnes, Gavin Whittingham. Reserves: Frik Venter, Heinrich Dreyer, Reggie Perkins, Reg Muller, Gerrie Odendaal, Luvo Sogidashe, Nicky Kritzinger.

  • Comment 6, posted at 03.04.08 10:34:14 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Three former Natal players in that lineup.

    Len Olivier is Naas Olivier’s brother. He’s apparently a bit better, which isn’t really hard to believe

  • Comment 7, posted at 03.04.08 10:35:02 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • lets hope the valke does not do us over again we are starting to get a Beeste team that might make it to the playoffs

  • Comment 8, posted at 03.04.08 12:44:30 by barend Reply

  • Barend, I think we will lose our Quarter-final, to be honest. We’ll be up against either the Cheetahs or WP

  • Comment 9, posted at 03.04.08 13:05:57 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Right wing Henno Mentz.

    God, I love irony :mrgreen:

  • Comment 10, posted at 03.04.08 13:08:47 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.