Time to boast a little about proud rugby pedigrees and the like.
So come on, guys. Tell us all where you went to school. How many current Boks and provincial players has your school produced? Or were your high school days more about drunken parties than achievements on the sports fields? Either way, it’s all good.
Let’s reminisce together on a Friday afternoon.

Ok, so let me start. Pretoria Boys High School, matric 95.
Our school has produced three Springboks to date: Robbie Brink, John Smit and Chilliboy Rallepele.
There were a whole lot more guys who have played provincial rugby over the years, as well as a few that have one on to represent other countries. The most famous in the latter group would be Brian Liebenberg, who has played centre for France.
Darryl Eigner played a few games for NOFS… Tim Eraka represented both Border and NTvl. Robbie Rein played for the Bulls a few times.
Livingstone High School. π³
We were shyte at rugby but produced quite a few fine volleyball (i know very faggish) players who represented WP and SA.
We also produced a few SA schools table tennis players (another sport for gays) as well as some soccer players who played in the PSL.
Two of those Boks won World Cups Rob.
Robbie Brink π―
Hoerskool Christiana…zero…

I’m with you Ice…… my school produced no sporting heroes whose glory I can vicariously gloat in…
Dale College KWT.
We have produced a number of top quality rugby and cricket players. HO De Villiers is probably the most famous.
Current provincial players are: Keegan Daniel, Gcobani Bobo amongst others.
From my hometown though – Conrad de Beer (FS and Griqua) (might be way before most of your’s time..) π Dont recall others…
Other sports – badmington , athletics (The hurdler Ina van rensburg)Water Skiing, but about the whole highschool got Springbok colours in Beer…. π
hey i play for my province in volleyball and i’m very far from faggish lol! i hope u don’t think we all are like that! ask ice and ness about how very unfaggish i am hehehe πΏ
watarota
Just yesterday my 11 yr old son tells me that he plays volleyball at school. π―
well, he just started… π
You went to livingstone Wes?
You know mr visagie?
#9…you’re trying to convince yourself?? π π
I have always liked Volleyball. Great sport… it is HUGE across most of Europe.
As for Robbie Brink… eish. A bit of an embarrassment, actually π
Afrikaans HoΓ«r Meisies skool — so sorry no rugby players i can gloat about.. π π π π
i would have already played for my country if it wasn’t for injury. and my move to pretoria shot my place in the sa side this year
Reds – that you? Newcastle Reds? π
I am sure some of them girls can play meaner than boys… π
Plumstead High School.The cricket quota spewing home of Paul Adams and JP Duminy.
We also gave the acting world Paul Bukby π
Mike Bernado will kick your arse!
ice baby u saying i didn’t convince u? snif snif π₯
Yip. I know him.
He didn’t give me any classes though. Do you know him???
Reds – I knew a good few girls from Meisies Hoër…
watarota
You know Gershwin Rorich?
He attended out school…
Claytie! You went to the same school as Gogga? My word…
Reds – that you? Newcastle Reds?
I am sure some of them girls can play meaner than boysβ¦
Comment 17 of 19, posted at 18.04.08 14:49:52 by I’ce (ISWT)
Hi Ice. Yip the one and only Reds.
Know his daughter π
Wasn’t Mike Bernado a boxer???
What? Nailed his daughter?
I mean, you know his daughter.
Kickboxer wes.
You well Reds?? Seems you very busy!! π
Hi Ice. Yip the one and only Reds.
Comment 25 of 28, posted at 18.04.08 14:54:48 by Reds
The one that’s banned from dangling on chanderliers in 5 major hotel groups?
ya i know gosh! thats his nick. i’v been at many tournaments with that guy! he is stil considered the best volleyball player in south africa. he is the sa captain. gr8 guy but his fat now
Yip Ice thanx. My work feels like never ending. I don’t get time to chat much anymore. try to catch up now and then thouhg
DP – do I know you as well then??
#
The one thatβs banned from dangling on chanderliers in 5 major hotel groups?
Comment 31 of 31, posted at 18.04.08 14:58:46 by Dive Pass
The jacuzzi and 5 pound hammer Reds… π
Scottsville High in Kraaifontein, matric 1994…
Adrian Jacobs – Provincial, 7’s Bok & Springbok
Rodger Smith – Provincial, 7’s Bok
Daniel Philander – Provincial, 7’s Bok
Jacques Booysen – Provincial
Melvyn Smith – Provincial
Trevor Booysen – Provincial
PJLD, Plumstead? What year?
Is he still playing? He should be about 34 now?
Was as dumb as a Bulls supporter but he really excelled at sport.
DP = Luc??? π― or MJ Simms (Not sure about that anymore)??
Hey guys watch out we have the Ice Reds here……famous tag team hotel demolishers
how did we seriously get into talking about volleyball? π
Charlie
You attended the same school as Adi Jacobs??? π―
No wonder he is your favourite player. π
Charlie! Rodger Smith? Ag nee man…
Adi Jacobs has deleted his profile on FaceBook π
34. ICe I don’t know about the candelier hanging but definitely the jacuzzi and 10 pound hammer one.
10-pound hammer? Oh my god…
#41 π
#39 – you are ignroing my question!! Now i am alos part of that demolishing team??
Wes – have you got a name for baba yet? If Not – here is a couple of good choices:
Baby names after 9 months due to “load shedding” :
Candle Nomvete Darkness Mapogo Eskom Tshabalala
Vroegslaap Khumalo Blackout Dube Battery Ndlovu
Generator Mashaba Loadshedding Masibuko Robotoff Vilakazi
Teekersie Oosthuizen Parrafienlamp Botha Primus Minnaar
Sonpaneel Coetzee Geiser Nel Cadac Nortje
Gasbottel vd Merwe Gasstoof van Wyk Vuurhoutjie de Bruin
Vlammetjie Joubert Besparing Villiers Isoleer Vosloo
Beurtkrag Poggenpoel Blaker du Toit Flikkerlig Wessels
Powerdip Malherbe Gas Blomerus Donker Afrika Smith
Battery charged Erasmus Middernagswart Willemse Flitslig Bothma
Kersvlam Adams Braaivleisvuur vd Schyff Braaivleis Swanepoel
Kragkrisis Potgieter Kragsentrale Knoetze Kerskrag Esterhuizen
Tripwire Petzer Tripswitch Pieterse Regulator Malan
LeΓ« beloftes Mbeki Fires van Blerk Vonk du Preez
Diesel de Klerk Koperdraad Herselman Vetkers du Plooy
Maglite Muller Kragboks de Koker Weerlig Jacobs
Rou kos du Plessis Geen kos Nolte Rechargable Diedericks
Boggerol krag Harmse Flitsbattery van Helsdingen Energiespaar Pretorius
Torch Misimang Power failure Dlamini Power station Kodisang
Kragopwekker Skosana Nat steenkool Zuma derek watts
Moonlight Moodley
Powa Failure
Loadshedd Ing
My personal favourite : Soeksteek van der westhuizen… π
We have a few names in mind.
Top of the list: Sipho Perseverance Weber π
That’s very strange Rob because he never chatted much on Facebook in the past but just a day or two ago he sent Janine a message from Facebook and I thought he was warming up to it.
What about One-Touch Silver Weber? π
Eddie Andrew Weber
lots of them seem to get cold feet about it and just disappear. AJ Venter and Steven Sykes also just disappeared one day
Black is Beautiful Bahlasela
…..just a day or two ago he sent Janine a message from Facebook and I thought he was warming up to it.
Comment 49 of 50, posted at 18.04.08 15:20:29 by Nessa
That was until Mrs Jacobs found all his messages to pretty young fans on Facebook….
Weerlig Jacobs π
DP – you took the words right out of my mouth! π
Dive Pass – are you gonna anwer me now or what??? π
Cheers everybody, till tomorrow… π
bye charlie
By Charlie!! Angels will be on duty tomorrow!! π
DP = Luc??? or MJ Simms (Not sure about that anymore)??
Comment 38 of 59, posted at 18.04.08 15:04:43 by I’ce (ISWT)
None of the above…..I was just pulling (very nice) legs…
G’day People.
Wassaup???
Cheers
Hey Methos! π―
Waar val jy uit ou maat?
How is England???
π³ π³
Cheers Charlie!
WORDUP METHOS POEPOEG!!
You wanna rockup when everyone goes home
Is heel lekker.
Werk en speel rugby.
Engeland is pis koud en nat.
Maar ten minste werk ons ligte.
Cheers
Julle Capies loop almal te vroeg.
Hier werk ons actually.
Cheers
methos! Oh my crumpet!
Where have you been hiding?
Hier werk ons actually.
Cheers
Comment 68 of 68, posted at 18.04.08 15:38:41 by Methos
Daars mos niks anders te doen nie.
Methos – are you trying to go?? π π or are you having some beers on that side that you are “cheersing” away??

I’ce – posting “Cheers” at the end of each comment is Methos’s trademark
in fact, it’s the stuff of legends!
Rob’D
Who’s your crumpet hey ?
Bit busy at work. Have read the site a few times but only signed up now.
Slayton
Jy sal verbaas wees – Hier suip die mense vreeslik.
Cheers
Still making beer in your bathtub Methos??? π
Take it they arent big on breakdancing hey π
# 72 and 73 – Oh – Ok! *make mental note to get a legendary trademark*
π π
Wes
I’m going to kit myself out soon. They sell beer and wine making stuff in a Shop close to us. Just waiting for the rugby season to finish. Then I’m going to make beer and wine.
Our house has a cellar so that will come in handy.
Cheers
Okay everyone – have a good weekend. Hope we have a cracker of a game tomorrow!
Glad we didn’t play today – it was a day for the underdogs.
Ok Ness – see you at Monsoon, sooon!!! π
Clayton
No breakdancing – no jagerbombs, very little tequila.
No De la Rey.
But at least you don’t have to feel bad when you punch someone on the rugby field.
Cheers
Wes, I like it. Your lighty is named!! π
Methos – I presume the breakdancing comes after the jagerbombs and tequilas??? π
I’ce
If I remeber correctly – it’s first tequila then breakdancing, then jagebombs and then De la Rey.
Cheers
Clayton is still sore about me whipping his arse onn breakdancing.
π
Cheers
And then not remembering how you got home.
Your ex club took some flack in the papers the other day.
cheers Ness
…then lang-arm with your rugby teammates… π
#84 and 85
I’ll try and remember the correct order!! And see if I can comne right with the breakdancing thing! π
almost home time,then gym time.
you still training wes?
π π π
Not for the last 3 weeks.
IΓ§e its a bit taatie
Slacker πΏ
i got me an ipod to help me ‘focus’ while training…
haven’t used it yet π³
Clayton
I saw. But they banned the thugh and the other teama wasn’t angels themselves – from what I’ve heard.
Wes
He was a previously disadvantaged individual who never got the opportunity to go to a lekker boere skoffel. I just showed him the ropes.
And for the record – I do remember how I got home – in my car.
Cheers
ok, i’m off like a jewish foreskin.
Enjoy the rugby tomorrow!
Go SHARKS! Go STORMERS! π
I’m planning on running 4 miles tomorrow… π
Claytie what is Taatie?? π
You goes to gym on a Friday afternoon??? π―
Should be GO STORMERS (1st) and then GO SHARKS! π
Sorry to disrupt this rip roaring Friday afternoon party….
But does any one know why Johnson has been appointed England team manager as opposed to head coach…..does this mean they are still going to appoint someone else as coach to work with him?
Cheers Wes!! I’ll Hold thumbs for your boys!! π
Yes DP – Jake White… π― π― Did I say that out loud??? π
Yeah yeah, i knew better when i read the story, from what i gathered most of the okes in your span were rather rustig(as far as rugby players go)
One oke can make [email protected]
Using miles already rob…eish.
I’ve got a roundball game tomorrow π
CLAY – what is taatie??? π₯
DP he was always up for the manager position,never the head coach job.
Comment 105 of 106, posted at 18.04.08 16:06:41 by I’ce (ISWT)
There is no way that is a serious question
“Iβve got a roundball game tomorrow”
Nee man Clayton – moes die girlfriend dan nou uit trek noudat jy gay geraak het ?
Cheers
WAT??? π― π― It IS…. π³
π π
Don’t actually play much,just run around ,wave my arms, tackle kak, get off the field and drink.
Would play ruggers but no club has an 8th team in need of a scrummie that can only pass to the left.
TAATY PAATY???!!
Taaty – Crazy etc
i dont know your CapeTown lingo!!!
So you reckon i will not be able to handle it?? π
i actually thought taaty was far reaching
Well i though a 5m tall afrikaaner who just played a full rugby game and lost would’t handle it, turns out i was wrong.
Dont make assupmtions then… π
Clayton
You forgot the :
“and made a tackle – albeit slighty early”
Cheers
So i’ve learnt
Okay ladles and jellyspoons
im gonna be outta here
enjoy the weekend everyone
Enjoy the weekend
Say hi to the gf
Cheers
Well – guys – I am off…have a great weekend!!
GO SHARKIES!!!!!! π π (go stormers)
NAIL THE BULLS!!!! π π
PS Rob – I want a trademark…think of one that would suit me best! π
will do,same to the wife
Was expecting my alma mater cousie Big Feesh to post this…
Westville Boys High School in KZN…
Off the top off my head… Internationals
Cricket- Graeme Ford, Mickey Arthur, Errol Stewart
Rugga- Tim Cocks, Dieter Kriese, Shaun Payne, both De Marigny bros, Neil Penrose, Waylon Murray
Rhino’s- Coombe, Hayden
Surfing/Waterpolo/Swimming etc Dale Bamford, Pierre Tostee, Chalupsky’s, Graeme Hill
Tennis- Koenig, Wakefield, Ellis Ferreria
Banana Banana in SWC- George Komanterakis
5 times RSA chess/maths-debating champion- Duane ‘Big’ Fish
I’ll spend all weekend thinking one up for you, Icey π
Ok guys… I’m also off for a while. Peace out and good luck to the coastal teams tomorrow!
Bey RobD
Now peace off.
π
Cheers
HTS Kroonstad.
We produced Gert Small as a Bok
We produced Ian Hattingh as a Transvaal player
We produced Derrick Grobbelaar as a Bulls players. 9He and i were Class mates in 82 to 86
We produced Riaan Potgieter who played center for OP
Hoerskool Outeniqua
Johan Heunis – Springbok
Marco Wentzel – Springbok – Class Mate
Giscard Pieters – Who didn’t he play for…
And a whole lot more.
Cheers
oh and we had a few NOFS Players as well.
Cecil Styger
and a few other who’s names will come to mind in a bit I am sure.
Hey Methos.
Long time no see.
Welcome to Sharksworld.
How’s fishing in that cold place?
Hey KSA
Ty.
We live 40 yeard from a river (and20 yards from grave yard π― )
River has Trout, Grayling and pike and barbel.
I’m looking at buying a flyrod etc but have to save up first – they are fkn nuts with their prices in this country.
Would be cheaper to buy in SA and ship it over.
How’s things with you ?
Cheers
Upington High
Tiaan Strauss – Springbok
J.G. Maritz – SA u/21 I think
Jurgens Steenkamp – Leopards, might be u/21 though
Wicus Blaauw – currently in Stormers squad
Vereeniging Highschool, Albie and Morne Morkel, cricket and quite a few other big shots, dont remember though. Its been 11 years now lol. Think Bakkies Botha is from Vereeniging tech.
Doing Well
Getting close to having had enough of this country and time to move on to a new one. π
Will start sending my CV around soon.
40 yards from a river must be excellent.
Namboer
Did you mean Tiaan Strauss – Springbok AND Wallaby? π
We Are lucky Danie isn’t on Sharksworld.
He is from Grey bloem so his list of boks miight be a little long π
Whoops! That’s him yes…forgot the WΓ΄llaby part π³
Matriculated from Maritzburg College, 1992. Both SA World Cup winning flyhalves came from that fine institution!
Superwors and let’s not forget that the next one also hails from there π
I just knew some oke from Maritzburg College would see this post. π
Wait until some Grey Bloem old boy gets hold of this post, we’ll never hear the end of it….
Of course! Forgot about Mr Grant for a minute.
Oh – KSA made the same comment above me, there goes my originality…
π CapeShark
Can’t say we’ve produced many fine props though…
For the record, Upington High has a grand total of +- 550 learners…of both genders. Quite an achievement I’d say, always have one or two players at Craven Week.
From Westville BHS myself. I hear they’re a good rugby school now, but back when i was there, it was a bit ‘gangsta’….
CapeShark
where’d you go to school?
Cs
WBHS π― So is Big Fish
and Bryce… looks like Westville is our best represented school!
Methos – you were really at school with “Planet Marco”!
LOL
Randfontein high school 94, kinda like boys town except girls were allowed too.
we produced countless car radio thieves, 5 got national colours for it.
our greatest rugby achievement was when one of our guys got to be sand boy at a transvaal-natal game back in 91.
oh and in 1993 our head boy failed matric, no jokes.
π― π―
Parreira on his way home?
18/04/2008 17:30 – (SA)
Rio de Janeiro – The Bafana Bafana coach, Carlos Alberto Parreira, has decided to give up the post and is set to return to Brazil next month.
Parreira’s wife, Leila, said in comments that the Brazilian daily Folha de Sao Paulo published on Friday: ” He already made the decision. He intends to return to Brazil early next month”, confirming rumours of recent days.
Leila said her husband was still in South Africa – the host country of the 2010 World Cup – negotiating the terms of his exit, which she said was due to personal reasons.
Leila explained that the man who led Brazil to their third World Cup trophy in the US in 1994 and also to a resounding failure in Germany 2006, missed his family.
In a recent interview with Brazilian media, Parreira, 65, complained that he was too far away from his daughters and his grandchildren.
“It is very hard to bear,” he said
well me from the best school ever with a few others in here i see
Maritzburg college π
stransky , butch , jonty and and and and and and damn long list
Brackefell Hoer π π³
Produced ….. me
Lol… WBHS gangster… I think not…
Time for Soccer RSA to half those ridiculous wages… spend the saved money on setting up age group soccer and hire someone like the guy that turned Soccer Australia around, Gus Huddink..