The Lions and the Sharks switch opposition this weekend with the Lions travelling to Canberra.
Will the Lions finally get an away win?
Or will the Brumbies manage a push into 3rd.
Kick-off in Canberra at 11:40 SA Time.
Ref: Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand)
TJs: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Brett Bowden (Australia)
TMO: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)
Brumbies:
Starting XV: 15 Mark Gerrard, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Stirling Mortlock (captain), 12 Tyrone Smith, 11 Francis Fainifo, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Patrick Phibbs, 8 Julian Salvi, 7 George Smith, 6 Mitchell Chapman, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Alister Campbell, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Salesi Ma’afu, 18 Peter Kimlin, 19 Ben Alexander, 20 Stephen Hoiles, 21 Joshua Holmes, 22 Sanualio Afeaki.
Lions:
Starting XV: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 Jannie Boshoff, 12 Walter Venter, 11 Rayno Benjamin, 10 Jaco van Schalkwyk, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Joe van Niekerk, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (Captain), 5 Gerhard Mostert, 4 Dewald Senekal, 3 JC Janse van Rensburg, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Eugene Maqwelana, 18 Franco van Merwe, 19 Wilhelm Koch, 20 Chris Jonck 21 Rudi Vogt, 22 Dusty Noble.

SB picks for the round.
Kandas Brumbies 33
Bru-El Brumbies 33
Whindy Brumbies 29
Sandshark Brumbies 21
Sharkie Brumbies 21
PaarlGimmie Brumbies 20
Sinbinners Brumbies 20
shark-tank Brumbies 18
Villie Brumbies 18
Fatality Brumbies 17
Ollie Brumbies 17
Dive Pass Brumbies 16
Hmmm Brumbies 16
the_finman Brumbies 16
PostmanPat Brumbies 15
bryce_in_oz Brumbies 15
sharkboy Brumbies 15
PJLD Brumbies 15
Western Sauce Brumbies 15
Lylmik Brumbies 15
SauronShark Brumbies 14
robdylan Brumbies 14
Salmo Brumbies 14
KSA Kette Brumbies 12
Nita Brumbies 12
Wehan Brumbies 8
Debs Brumbies 8
King Shark Brumbies 7
IceBabe Brumbies 7
Pissant Brumbies 6
Ghost10 Brumbies 5
SeaShark Brumbies 4
———————-
namboer Lions 4
fattmann Lions 10
Upset of the weekend. Brumbies to edge Lions. 😀
Laurie Fischers Birthday today and his last home game at canberra.
😆
Brumbies don’t have Lawrence to cheat for them this week. Could be close
Lions kick off
Grobler TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WOW!!! 🙂
come on Lions!
Conversion Over
7 – 0 Lions
4min
Missed the try. 👿
Very un-Lion-like 😯
Now I just need the Brumbies to score the next 40 points 😳
Any truth in the rumour that lawrence is on a flight from NZ to ref the 2nd half of this game?
What’s happening KSA? Game Over???
Go Lions( although a Lions win will not be good for mu Superbru )
brumbies all over the lions in their 22 now
Brumbies almost score.
grubber into in goal.
Nobody gets to it.
back for a PK to the Brumbies
Mortlock kicking at goal
Over!!!
3 – 7 Lions
10min
Brumbies comeback begins.
Franco vd merwe on for Lions
Mostert going off.
WTF was that from earl Rose. A sidestep where he ended up further back than where he started.
I have gerrard as my kicker on FL 👿 Why is mortlock kicking?
brumbies ruck on Lions 22.
slow ball
pick and go
Brumbies go wide left
get FK as Lions tackler doesn’t roll clear.
brett Bowden comes on and calls a late tackle by Lions #8
They go back for penalty.
Brumbies set up LO.
harsh call by Bowden. It was a covered pass by the brumbie and the lions didn’t know he had passed it.
brumbies go and george smith knocks from 3m out.
Lions scrum
KSA, do the laws allow for covered passes?
Ollie
No. 🙂
gerrard chips and chases.
Ludik gathers AS it crosses the line and saves a try.
quick drop out by the Lions
One gets the feeling it’s only a matter of time before the flood gates open.
Lions need some possesion.
bad call on the high tackle
brumbies are running all their FK’s
gerrard tackled high.
time off for the Brumbies scrummie down.
being subbed off.
what’s a covered pass?
Seems to be a fair crowd in.
It is when the player passes the ball but it is not obvious and it looks like he may still have the ball. 😉
A pass from OutSurance ❓
Lions kick the ball into touch.
Brumbies LO just inside their own 22
Lions get it.
2m out
Benjamin butchered a certain try!!!
floating pass with two Lions OPEN OPEN OPEN and benjamin misses the ball in the basket. 👿
Benjamin royally stuffed that one up
GO LIONS!!
benjamin butchers a certain try.
Commentators confirm that benjamin is the number 1 in the S14 for handling errors.
From leading try scorers in the CC to worst handler in the S14 🙁
Oh dear 🙄
commentators just point out that RB leads the stat for most handling errors this season
Eloff must be bouncing off the walls a bit after that missed try
is there an echo in here? 😉
Lions version of Benjamin not as good as last years Stormers version.
Benjabaie 😥
Don’t mind the echo. Better that no comment 😡
I officially dislike Julian Salvi
Tyrone Smith looks deceptive and gets to within 5m of the lions line.
PK Brumbies.
Ref warns Lions that there will be nomore offences in this area.
Mortlock goes at goal.
Over
6 – 7 Brumbies
27min
7-6 to the Crims
Lions get it back from the restart.
inside the brumbies 22.
Whistle goes as Benjamin knocks it again. Whistle went before he knocked. LUCKY!!!!!!!!!!!
6-7 Lions?
Whatever happened to Radike Samo? He was awesome that one year for the Brumbies!
Lions are the worst team around for squandering opportunities. Their wings are patently not up to Super 14 standard!
Handling a bit vrot. 👿
gerrard clears high.
Ashley Cooper knocks
Scrum Lions
Lions hands are AWFUL
Very vrot. 👿 👿
Rachel
A BIT?????????????? 😡
my daughter catches better than that.
Lions knock again on the halfway
Please get them some super glue 😉
One of the lions down.
Stretcher cart on the field
Oh noo! Hope it’s not serious
Rathbone still on holiday in Aus. 🙄
Time still off
Alberts is down
Ju mean pawful 😀
off now.
Time back on.
Brumbies scrum
Mortlock TRY!!!!!!!!!!!
mortlock OVA!
Alberts not looking good at all
Lions tackling treurig.
Chisholm was running with the ball and it looked as if Rose sidestepped him instead of his sidestepping Rose.
Conversion over
13 – 7 brumbies
33min
Oh no…let’s hope the Lions don’t start crumbling again. Past couple of weeks they’ve waved the white flag after losing the lead!
Earl rose provides some more physical comedy.
Earl Rose sidesteps and then tackles himslef into touch 🙄
LO Brumbies
Is it still 1st half?
this game’s not really going anywhere
PK Lions
Rose sets up LO on the brumbies 22
Brumbies steal the LO and gerrard clears.
Benjamin hasn’t got a clue as he try to take the ball
brumbies on attack inside the lions 22 now.
Lions turn it over and clear.
And then the handling for both teams just goes to shit.
end result is a Lions scrum
Lions take it up blind
scrum Brumbies
benjamin catches a ball
What a stupid kick. 👿
That comment deserved it’s own line. 😉
Brumbies 13 – 7 Lions
Comment 88 😆
Lions to roll over for a tummy tickle again in the 2nd half?
Rachel 😉
Comment 92 of 92, posted at 25.04.08 12:35:09 by racheltjiedebeer
😆
Brosnihan: Some of these guys can’t catch a cold. 😆
yup – I fear that will happen
Benjamin had such a good season last year i can’t believe he is playing so crappola.
😯
Must be unhappy at the Lions too 😆
#97 – that’s one of the problems….inconsistancy 😡
Cru 😆
same thought crossed my mind.
Time on for 2nd half
PK Lions
Rose goes for touch
LO Lions in the Brumbies 22
clean take pick and go.
Joe gets ball and loses it forward in the tackle.
Lions kick it in goal.
brumbies dot it down
Brumbies lose it on attack
Lions kick ot clear.
Mortlock cancels on of the Lions. 😯
on = one
Mortlock just puts a HUGE shoulder in on one of the lions.
Advantage lions.
And the fools stay with an interview on Huxley on the side instead of going to see what the ref says about the shoulder charge.
PK Lions
Rose going at goal from the 10m line
JUST doesn’t curl in as he misses
Brumbies on the Lions 22 and then give away FK at ruck
There is something seriously wrong at the Lions.
I don’t think Loffie is necessarily a bad coach, he just has so many average players in his team.
The fact that the Lions had Ludeke as DOR after 2 seasons of being useless as their S12 coach speaks volumes about their ability as administrators.
Hightackle by Big Joe and Brumbies get PK to clear from just outside their 22.
Gerrard sets up LO 3m outside Lions 22
FK Lions as brumbies don’t release at the ruck just inside Lions 22.
Lions kick it up and gerrard puts it back on the boot.
LO Lions
How much do these okes get paid to play like this?
Lions 15m out
after spreading it wide right and then left.
Rose TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Under the poles
And then they score. 😆
Lions in front. 😯
Venter’s pass to Rose may have been forward but they try is scored is all that counts.
Conversion over
14 – 13 Lions
53min
Rachel
Sometimes the commentators curse works the other way around as well. 😉
😳
Lions ruck 3m out.
Rose again!!!!1
brumbies turn it over and clear.
Lions run it back and Rose scores again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Try came from the brumbies allowing a bomb from Rose to bounce.
press the forward button!
Conversion Over
21 – 13 Lions
56min
Hectic!
Maybe we should post more negative comments about the Lions and they might just get score a few more tries.
hey Walter.
You must be feeling good at the moment.
L E E U W S!
WTF was that penalty for!!!!!!
Fortunate pen for Brumbies. 👿
Vermaak puts it through and the brumbies are caught 4m out.
PK Lions for diving on a player on the ground???????
Brumbies set up LO
Holy Crap.
These Lions are rubbish. Bunch of girls. 😉
Hope PDV isn’t entertaining any ideas with Aquaboy!
WPW
bryce / Rachel.
Only the ref knows what it was for
LOL!
Not that being a girl is in itself negative, but in a mens rugby match it is. 🙂
L
E
E
U
W
S!!!!!
“Only the ref knows what it was for”
Conspwiwacy I tell ya!
Loffie is about to have a heartattack!
One of the brumbies shows he was a plumber before he became a rugby player.
FARK sakes…
Yellow. Bubble about to burst?
Yellow for Lions #3
Seems Lawrence has arrived
Cmon Lions!
Lions steal LO ball after PK. :ccol:
Lions clear
brumbies get it this time.
Take it wide
on the 22 now
5phases
Shrek is one STRONG bastard!
10 phases
7m out
Attack the ball in the tackle Lions dammit!
Try. bliksem.
15phases
Gerrard goes over in the corner.
Being refered to the TMO
Saffa’s never do it…
The ‘Holy Crap’ was for the Lions 2nd try. 🙄
Bryce
Who is Aquaboy???
Earl?
Come on Lions!!!!
Was nice while it lasted.
Awarded!!!!!!!!!
Conversion to come
21 – 18
score???
Conversion missed
21 – 18 Lions
65min
Time left???
Etienne Ray Cyrus… ROTFLMAO… Kearnsey for president!
Good to see the mullet still alive in Jo’burg. 😆
what a superb finish by Gerrard
Ettienne Reynecke comes on and the commentators take the piss about his hairstyle.
Comments like
Should be Ettienne Ray-Cirus
Lovely wavepool in Johannesburg.
😆 😆
Mullet = kragkroon 😳
Maybe Reyenecke is trying to immigrate. 🙄
Gerrard is in my fantasy team as captain…so I score double points..bittersweet
Reynecke is a good guy..he writes a column on my page for free
PK Brumbies right infront.
Gerrard kicking
Over
21 – 21 Lions 😉
69min
Walter he is my kicker.
Glad he is kicking now and not Mortlock
27 knock ons and the ref calls them back for the 1st.
Scrum Lions
Mortlock gets his guys in and it seems like one of them slept with his wife, because he looks like he is gonna bliksem all of them in a minute.
I’ve got Evans as my kicker
Good game?
The boys about to wrap this up?
“Gerrard is in my fantasy team as captain…so I score double points”
Which fantasy site?
12 phases
Brumbies 15m out
#175 http://fantasy.simag.co.za/s14/restricted/Dashboard.j
Great defence from Lions. 😯
Bryce we are playing on the Ruggaworld FL.
FK Lions after 14 phases.
Vermaak clears
173…he who kicks penalty lineout ball..out in touch?? 😥
what’s Ruggaworld? 🙂
Sounds like one of the East randers has borrowed his wifes voice for this match 😯
AJ doesn’t even sound like that……………
181 – some kind of rugby web site ❓
Rob
😆
Brumbies TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Shocking.
Ridiculous play by the Lions… should have got RID of that ball!
One minute it sounded like the ref siad “hey blue leave it” and the next the LIONS were penalised. ?????????
oh, but that’s cruel
Gerrard converts
Game Over
Brumbies 28 – 21 Lions
183 – more like a politics website. Or at least it was. Nobody goes there anymore.
Oh well. I’m a fan of neither. might go take a nap.
I REALLY hate the Brumbies. I would like them to finish 3rd so the Sharks can give them a proper klap in the semis
3 tries each
Log Updated
Brumbies go 4th
Lions stay 14
In Durban with lawrence reffing the game.
😐
as in Northern Hemishere refs.!!!
Lions in a league of their own.
😳 “hemisphere”
So now it is the Sharks tomorrow.
C’mon Sharks!!!!!!!!!!!
I want Lawrence to come and visit me here in Sevenoaks. I have a few points I would like to discuss with him.
Nobody goes there anymore.
Comment 191 of 200, posted at 25.04.08 13:28:49 by robdylan (Sharks Forever!)
No kidding. It’s really dead there lately. 1 comment every 20 minutes or something similar
Why can’t the SA teams help us out?
And by ‘us’ i mean the top 2 SA teams.
wpw, after the way the Stormers dropped the Sharks twice in the last 2 Super 14’s???????
😆
Ollie – I think it’s a case of reaping what is sown
I have a horrible feeling the Highlanders are going to shock the Stormers tomorrow
When was that Ollie???
Our excuse is that we didn’t have a coach. 🙄
I have that same feeling robbie. 😥
Ollie
That’s the stuff you tell him.
Now that WP are up there they suddenly want help. After never giving any help 😉
wpw, when they rolled over and played dead against teams that could/did derail the Sharks campaign. 👿
We beat the Crusaders for you last year didn’t we??? 😳
(Think it was last year)
But you lost to the Bulls by a very large amount and I don’t need to remind you who won the final against the Sharks, do I? 🙄 😆
Actually the Bulls won that game with a very suspicious number of points on the board
Yeah but then played dead against the bulls in the final round.
Thwy needed to beat you by 33 points to go 2nd on the log and they did.
no – you are thinking of the year before… the Bulls beat the Sharks into 4th spot thanks to an absolutely woeful performance from the Stormers.
That bloody Ghost is floating off into the sunset on SB……
1 Ghost10 69.5 5.42 74.92
2 Sinbinners 63.0 2.94 65.94
3 Kandas 62.0 3.28 65.28
4 Dive Pass 60.0 3.40 63.40
5 Fatality 60.0 1.83 61.83
6 SauronShark 59.5 1.36 60.86
7 Villie 58.0 2.25 60.25
8 namboer 58.0 2.24 60.24
9 IceBabe 58.5 1.33 59.83
10 PostmanPat 57.5 2.25 59.7
i think he’s about to start lapping people
For the right amount of cash i can keep him from making his picks for 2 weeks while you guys catchup 😯
Comment 221 of 221, posted at 25.04.08 14:27:12 by Clayton
You mean you won’t accept 2 tickets to a test match in Durban? 😉
what amount would that be? 😉
Claytie
Do you accept ‘monopoly money’
Comment 222 of 224, posted at 25.04.08 14:36:11 by Dive Pass

222. DP I will also pass on the test tickets if it means Boks against Ausies. 😈
I need to go run
#208 & #210
NFW
Comment 226 of 227, posted at 25.04.08 14:54:51 by Reds
Ok then but its your loss,I have watched some humdingers in the past with the Aussies at Kings Park
Hougaard extends Bulls contract
25/04/2008 14:09
Pretoria – Flyhalf Derick Hougaard has signed a contract with the Bulls that will see him playing for the team until the end of 2011.
According to the Bulls’ website, Hougaard started his senior provincial career for the Bulls in 2002 and if he stays injury free until after 2011 Currie Cup he would have played for the union for 10 consecutive years.
He set the world alight in 2002 as a 19-year-old when he was influential in the Currie Cup and made his debut for the Super 12 team in 2003 against the Brumbies.
Over the years Hougaard has become Loftus Versfeld’s “Liefling” and it is encouraging to see that he continually wants to improve his game and that he is always prepared to put in the hard yards.
He is already the Bulls’ highest points scorer in Super Rugby with 473 and is one of only a handful of players who has amassed 50 games or more for the Bulls.
229. DP I have season tickets but as I’m not a Boks or Ausies fan I will rather save my petrol for another game
Comment 230 of 231, posted at 25.04.08 15:12:23 by wpw (YNWA)
Saw that, no overseas clubs scrambling for his signature then.
That’s probably cos he is crappola!
Amazing how some guys want to play elsewhere and Hougaard signs for them.
Probabaly coz nobody else want him 🙄
Very strange Reds….tell me about your childhood and that Springbok that poeped on you when you were small?
I see that Superbru has a Facebook version, anyone know anything about it?
snap snap snap 😆
[email protected] You playing Psychologists with me now? 😀 😀
😉
238 Not going to work on me. I’m uncure able.. even hubby gave up on me 😈 😈
A Neurotic builds a castle in the air, a Psychotic lives in it and the psychologist collects rent from it.
I’m just trying to make some money so I can take up Clayton on his bribe offer above….