KSA Shark ©

IRB Hall of fame nominees 2008

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :Admin on 30 Apr 2008 at 12:47

The IRB has released the names of the nominees and started the voting process for the five latest names to be inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame. There is only ONE South African in the current nominees and ONE in the Hall of Fame to date.

The third induction to the IRB Hall of Fame will take place later this year, following the completion of the induction process. The IRB Hall of Fame Induction Panel has compiled a list of candidates for the 2008 Induction.

The candidates are divided into three sections: 19th Century, 20th Century and 21st Century.

The induction process involves several stages including consultation with rugby followers around the world.

At the Induction Ceremony held during the IRB Awards 2008 Dinner – five new candidates will be inducted: Two from the 19th Century list, two from the 20th Century list and one from the 21st Century list. The public may vote for one or more of the candidates listed.

Voting Procedure
Please send an e-mail to [email protected] containing the reference number of your candidates: two from 19th Century, two from 20th Century and one from the 21st Century.

Induction Panel. (click for biography of each individual)
Donald ‘Don’ CAMERON; Thomas Gerald Reames DAVIES CBE, MA, DL; Henri GARCIA; Norman George Robertson MAIR – BL. MBE.; Pablo MAMONE; Nigel Christopher STARMER-SMITH

19th Century Nominees (click for full biographies)
19.1. Edinburgh Academy and Merchiston Castle School* (Scotland)
19.2. Joseph Arthur Gould (Wales) (1864-1919)
19.3. Melrose Club and Ned Haig (Scotland) –
19.4. Blackheath RC and Francis M. Campbell (England) 19.5. Alfred St. George Hamersley KC (Can) MP (England) (1848 -1929)
19.6 The 1888/89 Maoris and Joseph Astbury ‘Joe’ Warbrick (New Zealand)
19.7 Lennard Stokes (Blackheath & England) (1856-1933)
19.8. William Percy ‘Tottie’ Carpmael (Blackheath and Barbarians) (1853-1936)
19.9. Francis Escott ‘Frank’ Hancock (Cardiff and Wales) (1859-1943)
19.10 Rev. Frank Marshall
19.11 Liverpool St Helens RFC

20th Century Nominees (click for full biographies)
20.1 The 1905 All Blacks “Originals” and David ‘Dave’ Gallaher (New Zealand)
20.2 William (Lord) Wavell Wakefield (Harlequins and England) (1898-1983)
20.3 George ‘HGM’ Nepia (New Zealand) (1905-1986)
20.4 Frederick Richard ‘Fred’ Allen (Linwood, Canterbury and New Zealand).
20.5 Jean Prat (Lourdes and France) (1923-2005)
20.6 Dr. John Wilson ‘Jackie’ Kyle (Queen University and Ireland)
20.7 1950 British and Irish Lions
20.8 Clifford (Cliff) Isaac Morgan CVO OBE, (Cardiff and Wales)
20.9. Lucien Mias (Mazamet and France)
20.10 William James ‘Willie John’ McBride (Ballymena and Ireland)
20.11 Sir Brian James Lochore (Wairarapa Bush and New Zealand)
20.12 Cameron Michael Henderson ‘Mike’ Gibson (North of Ireland, Ulster and Ireland)
20.13 John Peter Rhys (JPR) Williams MBE, FRCS (Bridgend and Wales)
20.14 Hugo Porta (Banco Nacion and Argentina)
20.15 Serge Blanco (Biarritz and France)
20.16 Jean-Pierre Rives (Toulouse and France)
20.17 Mark Gordon Ella MA (Randwick, NSW and Australia)
20.18 David Ian Campese (Randwick, NSW, Milan and Australia)

21st Century Nominees (click for full biographies)
21.1 Philippe Sella (France)
21.2 Jonah Tali Lomu MNZM (New Zealand)
21.3 Martin Osborne Johnson CBE (England)
21.4 Vernon Pugh (Wales) (1995-2002)
21.5 Jake White (South Africa)

The five Hall of Fame inductees in 2007 were: Pierre de Coubertin (19th century), Wilson Whineary, Dr Danie Craven, Gareth Edwards (all 20th century) and John Eales (21st century). The 2006 inductees were Rugby Scholl and William Webb Ellis.


  • 19.1. Edinburgh Academy and Merchiston Castle School* (Scotland) Played each other for the first time in 1858 – the oldest continuous rugby fixture in the world.

    I voted for this one and For Jake White.

    Any chance someone can pass this email address on to Skopskiet and ask him if he will vote for Jake? 😉

  • Comment 1, posted at 30.04.08 12:50:34 by KSA Shark © (FJ!ELN!) Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • NOT ME!!!

  • Comment 2, posted at 30.04.08 12:55:12 by Clayton Reply
  • Who you voting for then?


  • Comment 3, posted at 30.04.08 12:59:02 by KSA Shark © (FJ!ELN!) Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • William Percy ‘Tottie’ Carpmael?

  • Comment 4, posted at 30.04.08 14:04:12 by racheltjiedebeer Reply

  • for those who are wondering, MNZM stands for Member of the New Zealand order of Merit

  • Comment 5, posted at 30.04.08 14:11:23 by robdylan (Sharks Forever!) Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Willie John McBride, definitely an all time great.

  • Comment 6, posted at 30.04.08 20:29:09 by racheltjiedebeer Reply

  • Some serious legends on the 20th Century list. 😯

  • Comment 7, posted at 30.04.08 20:30:51 by racheltjiedebeer Reply

  • OS Du Randt and JW are my nominee’s…

  • Comment 8, posted at 01.05.08 05:01:55 by bryce_in_oz Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.