Here is the SA U-20 squad

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :In the news on 6 May 2008 at 15:24

The South African Under-20 team to participate in the inaugural IRB World Junior Championships next month in Wales has been announced.

The new tournament, which replaces the traditional Under-19 World Championships, takes place from June 6-22, according to a report on News24.

No less than 16 players who formed part of last year’s SA Under-19 squad, have made their way into the team to be captained by Gerrit-Jan van Velze.

The 26-man squad includes 14 forwards and 12 backs.

The South African selectors have included three players who have played for the Springbok Sevens as well as two youngsters with Super 14 experience.

Juan de Jong, Robert Ebersohn and Wilton Pietersen, were all capped for the Springbok Sevens team earlier this year.

Centre Stephan Dippenaar and scrumhalf Francois Hougaard (both Bulls), are the duo who already boast Super 14 experience.

Free State fullback Pietersen is the current Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Year while Golden Lions flank Johan van Deventer, the 2007 SA Under-19 Player of the Year, was also named among the forwards.

In Wales South Africa will contest Pool B with Samoa, Scotland and the United States.

Eric Sauls, the SA Under-20 coach, said his team was looking forward to the challenge in Wales.

“South Africa has a proud tradition at junior international level with many current Springboks having made their name first at this level. Our squad includes the core of the SA Under-19 team of last year that performed so admirably before losing to New Zealand in the final.

“I would like to believe we have a fair amount of continuity and experience in the squad and this will hopefully contribute to our performances.

“We had two training camps and also played against our French counterparts on four occasions this year, so our preparations have been extremely good. The team is looking forward to the tournament and eager to do well,” said Sauls.

SA Under-20 team:


Cecil Afrika, Wilton Pietersen, Omphile Seabela, Vainon Willis, Lionel Mapoe, Robert Ebersohn, Juan de Jongh, Stephan Dippenaar, Stefan Watermeyer, Francois Brummer, Francois Hougaard, Dewaldt Duvenage.


Nick Koster, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Luvuyiso Lusaseni, Johan van Deventer, Thiliphatu Marole, Sabelo Nhlapo, Cornel Hess, Martin Muller, Jean Rossouw, Corne Fourie, Frederick Kirsten, Wiehahn Herbst, Henri Bantjes, Pieter van Vuuren.

Manager: Willem Oliphant
Coach: Eric Sauls
Assistant coaches: Donald Ngwenya, Jerome Paarwater
Technical assistant: Andre Eloff
Doctor: Pierre Viviers
Physiotherapists: Bafana Sihlali, Wayne Hector
Conditioning coach: Graham Bentz


  • so the numbers are as follows, in a squad of 26

    Blue Bulls 11
    Free State 4
    KZN 4
    WP 4
    Griffons 1
    Lions 1
    Boland 1

  • Comment 1, posted at 06.05.08 15:53:41 by robdylan (Sharks Forever!) Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • So the Bulls are sourcing kings at the moment……

  • Comment 2, posted at 06.05.08 15:59:03 by Dive Pass Reply

    Dive Pass
  • On what form were these guys selected? Has there been an under 20 tournament on the go or are most of these guys Vodacom Cup players or are they basically being selected on last years performances?

  • Comment 3, posted at 06.05.08 17:04:09 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the Subtle
  • No one from the Eastern Cape? 😯

  • Comment 4, posted at 06.05.08 17:05:35 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the Subtle
  • I have no idea how the Bulls manage to get so many guys into the team… just doesn’t seem right.

  • Comment 5, posted at 06.05.08 17:20:34 by robdylan (Sharks Forever!) Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • One of the Bulls fans’ BIG gripes at the moment is the fact that they have so many top youngsters (almost to many) and then before they turn senior they are let go to play elsewhere.

  • Comment 6, posted at 06.05.08 18:41:54 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • Salmo

    I think the EC guys are probably in the Bulls group. 😉

  • Comment 7, posted at 06.05.08 18:42:40 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • Any good flyhalves in there that could come and be Grant’s understudy in Durban?

  • Comment 8, posted at 06.05.08 18:43:49 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • Francois Brummer is the only flyhalf in the squad.

  • Comment 9, posted at 06.05.08 19:58:04 by robdylan (Sharks Forever!) Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • KSA… not sure what position Ebersohn plays… but as you would have seen in the Sevens… this little guy made a mockery of the NZ PI Seven’s beast’s defence… he stood up and was counted… we’ll take him… 😉

  • Comment 10, posted at 07.05.08 05:22:22 by bryce_in_oz Reply

  • Only one lock at 2m… and there is a prop taller than a lock 😯

  • Comment 11, posted at 07.05.08 05:29:20 by bryce_in_oz Reply

  • Just read concern that not enough Black Players in squad less than in last years squad. Ausie team has 11 players with Super 14 experience this squad only have 2. Probably because its easier to make excuses at the beginning of the comp.

  • Comment 12, posted at 07.05.08 06:23:44 by Dynamite Reply

  • “Ausie team has 11 players with Super 14 experience this squad only have 2” mostly Islanders…

  • Comment 13, posted at 07.05.08 07:21:22 by bryce_in_oz Reply

  • That is one of the problems in SA, generally our coaches are reluctant to throw the youngsters in. Both the Aussies and Kiwi’s squads will have loads more players with Super 14 experience.
    If we have talented young players, they should be given opportunities no matter what their age. Dick showed he wasn’t afraid to give youth a chance, most notably with Frans Steyn.

    The Lions should “import” some of the Bulls youngsters if they’re good enough and play them instead of some of the other embarassing players that don’t perform week in and week out. Note: the caveat is if they are ANY GOOD coz the Super 14 is a tough environment!

  • Comment 14, posted at 07.05.08 09:52:10 by Villie Reply
    Competition Winner

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.