KSA Shark ©

Brumbies make two changes for Force showdown

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 14 May 2008 at 07:41
Tagged with :

The Brumbies have made two changes to their starting XV for their final match of the 2008 Investec Super 14 season against the Western Force at Subiaco Oval on Friday night.

The Brumbies Media Unit reports that winger Francis Fainifo and scrumhalf Patrick Phibbs return to the starting line-up after coming off the bench against the Bulls in Pretoria last week. They replace Afusipa Taumoepeau and Joshua Holmes who revert back to the reserves list.

The CA Brumbies forward pack remains in tact with John Ulugia holding down the hooker’s position while George Smith, Mitchell Chapman and Stephen Hoiles will continue to make up the side’s back row.

Head Coach Laurie Fisher has opted for a traditional four-forwards, three-backs bench, with Saia Faingaa, Salesi Ma’afu, Peter Kimlin, Julian Salvi and Matt Toomua joining Taumoepeau and Holmes in the reserves.

Outside centre Stirling Mortlock will eclipse Brett Robinson (43 caps) as the second most caps as CA Brumbies captain and will finish the season within five matches of George Gregan, who led the CA Brumbies on 49 occasions.

Fisher says Friday’s match is an important one in building towards 2009.

“It’s important to finish the season with a good performance, not only to only end the season on a high but to set the side up for next year,” he said.

“Our goal isn’t to do anything radically different in our last match and throw the ball around frivolously. We have a focus on consolidating on what we’ve worked on throughout the season and continue developing towards 2009.

“Over the past few weeks we’ve created a lot of opportunities that we haven’t capitalised on. We have a mixture of experience within the squad and it’s important that we’re aware of our decision making and probably show a little more patience when we create those opportunities.”

CA Brumbies v Western Force
Subiaco Oval, Perth
Friday, 16 May 2008

Starting XV:
1. Nic Henderson
2. John Ulugia
3. Guy Shepherdson
4. Alister Campbell
5. Mark Chisholm
6. Mitchell Chapman
7. George Smith
8. Stephen Hoiles
9. Patrick Phibbs
10. Christian Lealiifano
11. Francis Fainifo
12. Tyrone Smith
13. Stirling Mortlock (c)
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper
15. Mark Gerrard

16. Saia Faingaa
17. Salesi Ma’afu
18. Peter Kimlin
19. Julian Salvi
20. Joshua Holmes
21. Matt Toomua
22. Afusipa Taumoepeau

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.