KSA Shark ©

Wannenburg replaces Van Heerden

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :Bulls, In the news, Super 14 on 14 May 2008 at 15:02

Pedrie Wannenburg will start in a loose trio alongside Pierre Spies and Deon Stegmann against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday after Wikus van Heerden was ruled out with a knee injury.

The BBRU reports that the team doctor Tommie Smook said Van Heerden has a small tear in the cartilage in his knee that will keep him on the sideline for two to three weeks.

With Wannenburg in the starting XV the hard hitting Hilton Lobberts will now be on the bench as the loose forward reserve. Dewald Potgieter was originally selected as an impact player, but he did not pass a fitness test because of a hamstring problem.

The coach of the Vodacom Bulls, Frans Ludeke, kept the rest of his team that thumped the Brumbies unchanged for the derby and has again named Burton Francis on the bench.

Francis will however be allowed to play in the Vodacom Cup final on Friday night, after which he will fly to Bloemfontein to join the rest of the Super 14 group.

If Francis gets injured in the final the current SA under 20-flyhalf, Francois Brummer, will sit on the bench.

In spite of the fact that there is nothing to play for against the Cheetahs, the Bulls’ captain Fourie du Preez is adamant that his team must finish the season on a high.

“We said five week ago – after the Hurricanes game – that we want to win our last four games in order to restore some pride in our jersey and to gather momentum for the Currie Cup.

“I think we have managed to do that and I am proud to say that we did not give up once we could not make the semi’s any more.

“In the past it happened that the Bulls just gave up and took 50’s and 60’s once they were out of the competition, but we have shown that we still have what it takes to compete with the best in the business.”

Vodacom Bulls: Zane Kirchner; Akona Ndungane, JP Nel, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana; Morné Steyn, Fourie du Preez (captain); Pierre Spies, Pedrie Wannenburg, Deon Stegmann, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Bakkies Botha, Werner Kruger, Derick Kuün, Gurthro Steenkamp.
Reserves: Bandise Maku, Rayno Gerber, Jaco Engels, Danie Rossouw, Francois Hougaard, Burton Francis / Francois Brummer, Hilton Lobberts.


  • Dream on Fourie 😀

  • Comment 1, posted at 14.05.08 22:54:02 by Me2 Reply
    Me2 aka Mama Shark
  • This is a step backwards for them

  • Comment 2, posted at 14.05.08 22:54:44 by robdylan (Sharks Forever!) Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • So no ball winner on the ground then?

  • Comment 3, posted at 15.05.08 12:30:22 by Hmmm Reply

  • @Hmmm (Comment 3) : Deon Stegmann

  • Comment 4, posted at 15.05.08 12:30:48 by robdylan (Sharks Forever!) Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Robd…what porno are you guys advertising….my company is blocking everything…just see my company logo everywhere today….

  • Comment 5, posted at 15.05.08 12:31:34 by Hmmm Reply

  • @robdylan (Sharks Forever!) (Comment 4) :

    Ball winner…not a player to pick up a ball that is just laying around!??!

  • Comment 6, posted at 15.05.08 12:32:14 by Hmmm Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.