The Stormers take to the field at Ellis Park Stadium knowing that a home semi-final is no longer possible for any of the SA teams.
Will the Lions be able to get a vital win and propel themselves off the bottom of the log?
Or will the Stormers get a BP win to place themselves third?
Kick-off in Johannesburg at 15:00 SA time.
Ref: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
TJs: Mark Lawrence (South Africa), Cobus Wessels (South Africa)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Lions:
Starting XV: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Walter Venter, 11 Ryno Benjamin, 10 Jaco van Schalkwyk, 9 Chris Jonck, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Joe van Niekerk, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5 Gerhard Mostert, 4 Dewald Senekal, 3 JC Janse van Rensburg, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Ross Geldenhuys, 18 Franco van der Merwe, 19 Wilhelm Koch, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Jannie Boshoff, 22 Dusty Noble.
Stormers:
Starting XV:15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Wylie Human, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Pieter Myburgh, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Robbie Diack, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Tony Brown, 22 Dylan des Fountain.

The Stormers find themselves in a strange situation.
A non BP win will place them level with the Canes on 41 Log points and they will then have to hope for a better Points Difference to go above the Canes.
The Hurricanes have a 106PD and the Stormers have a 49PD. So if they have any realistic chance of overhauling the Canes’ PD they will have to score quite a few tries, thus scoring the BP anyway.
So a BP win is really what is needed here if they wish to SECURE their semi spot.
I say “secure” because ending up below the Canes will still leave them with a chance of being knocked out by the Sharks later this evening.
That’s right, they have to end 3rd after their match to make sure they don’t get knocked out later. It’s still over an over till kickoff here, but crowd still very small.
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 2) :
If the crowd is anything like they are in Durban they will still be partying outside until 5min before kick-off. 😉
over an over = over an hour…LOL!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 3) :
The surroundings of EPS is a bit dodgy for that, but it’s getting better..
Sorry Stormers, It’s too tight now. Go LIONS!
Another problem with having a team that has been struggling all season playing a team that is very sccessful at the moment is the crowd support.
You have a home game with very few of the home supporters pitching and ALL the visitors’ supporters in the region coming to see their team and suddenly it is virtually a home game for the visitors.
I just chatted to our CEO, his words were “Ons gaan hulle opdonner!”
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 8) :
I hope so mate.
For my SB picks of course 🙄 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 1) :
just to add to that.
A BP win by 1 point will be good enough for 3rd for the Stormers.
That will of course leave us only needing to have a BP win by 10 points 😉
At least he sounds confident…but it won’t be easy. It’s starting to fill up a bit…crowd looks about the size of last weeks crowd now..
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 8) : Were those his exact words? 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 10) :
Would you rather play the Saders or the Tahs? The Saders slipped up badly this morning
Pretty good split on the SB picks here.
Hmmm Lions 9
SauronShark Lions 8
IceBabe Lions 8
sharkboy Lions 6
King Shark Lions 5
Whindy Lions 5
Sandshark Lions 5
Wehan Lions 5
Sharkie Lions 5
shark-tank Lions 4
Lylmik Lions 3
Nita Lions 3
———————————
Salmo Stormers 3
Ghost10 Stormers 5
Ollie Stormers 5
Villie Stormers 5
Western Sauce Stormers 6
blackshark Stormers 6
shark_time Stormers 7
KSA Kette Stormers 7
Fatality Stormers 8
Sinbinners Stormers 8
robdylan Stormers 8
Dive Pass Stormers 8
Debs Stormers 8
fattmann Stormers 9
Pissant Stormers 9
PaarlGimmie Stormers 9
bryce_in_oz Stormers 10
Kandas Stormers 10
PJLD Stormers 12
SeaShark Stormers 14
Bru-El Stormers 15
namboer Stormers 22
@robdylan (Sharks Forever!) (Comment 12) :
Word for word 🙂
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 13) :
This mornings slip up won’t happen when they have to deliver the goods.
I would hope for 3rd place and then play the Tahs.
To win this thing now, we will need to beat the crusaders and tahs on successive weekends. What does it matter in which order we do it? Both sides look VERY beatable now anyway
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 11) :
I hope they are wearing red!!!!!!!!!
SuperBru picking statistics
Picks for Lions 2283 (10.73%)
Picks for Stormers 18956 (89.12%)
Just got the team sheets…no changes so no Ollie…
Okay so who can we get to sponsor this idea?
Have a competition within the S14 amongst the Saffa sides. So a seperate Log where their results against each other are recorded and the winner gets a trophy.
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 20) : Ferreira and Harris are going to need to see a proctologist to find their heads after this game
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 20) :
Thanks for that info.
How is the weather BTW?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 23) :
It’s warmish and sunny, with a little bit of cloud…but just enough to hide the sun now and then. Slightly windy, might have an effect on kicks at goal.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 21) : Would we have had to give THAT ONE to the Bulls as well last year?
THAT log would look like this for this year
Team P W Points
Sharks —4-4-17
Bulls —-3-2-8
Stormers -3-1-7
Lions —-3-1-4
Cheetahs -3-0-1
@robdylan (Sharks Forever!) (Comment 25) :
Dunno
I wouldn’t think so. The play-offs wouldn’t count of course.
I am going home now.
Will be on in about 30min again.
GO Lions!!!!!!!!!
6 ex Lions in the Stormers side, so it’s almost like we are playing our B side?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 27) : Cynics would argue that not having playoffs Is the only way to ensure the Sharks win anything 🙂
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 29) : Do you guys have an A side? 🙂
Jinne did you guys see how JFourie cleared out Bobo…
And Venter stepped Bobo….
What was I saying…..only Jean is the better center fro the Stormers…
JFouire has scored more tries tan all the other LIONS players together!??!
he meant they’re playing their A side!
Now who said this game was on Sky? Its not 👿
Latest?
The only battle won up front is Heinke vs Mujati…
Stormers lost their 3rd lineout!??!
Oooh hang on it is!
Sky sports 3 interactive red button – else its Master tennis or soccer…
Damn….Stormers 3 – 0 LIONS
Ai….possible try but bad between the two LIONS centers…
Not a good pass by Venter….but Fourie should have caught it…
Brits not throwing well into the lineouts….
what a kick Rose!
Brilliant kick by Rose….with the way the Stormers are struggling in the line out the LIONS can score for the meter lieout…
But the Stormers won the lineout…
Fourie’s cross def stop on….
Great tackle on Fondse by Vener causing a knock…
Fourie bumped off Jean….Ha-Ha…where is MorneN now….
ja nee, Lions are a kak team – 5 points in the bag… bwahahaha, they really need to do something special…
30min
0-3 Stormers
and Bladen is already pissing me off. Calling for a penalty try when the scrum wheels. 👿
JdV try!
So Jean gets Jaques back and steps him for a try..
Grant hits the upright from 15m out.
0-8 Stormers
33min
Kicked out in full….Bobo…
Ai Ludik looks bad today…
He only payer Bobo has out muscled…..Rose..
Have faith boet your team is gonna pull this through
GREAT defence by the lions.
Stormers give away FK on the Lions tryline
What a try saving tackle by Fourie….forced a knock…
Lions back to 15
LIONS even held there own in the scrum with 7 players!??!
that’s it Lions!
Half time
Lions 0 – 8 Stormers
Ja Boet as Quinny says, these lions are kak the Stormers are gonna walk all over them 🙄
What you guys think of the Heinke v Mujati battle? Lots of praise for Mujati from the commentators, but personally I think Heinke is giving him a torrid time…
Lions are riight in it – unfortunately its their discipline letting them down…
@Le Requinny (Comment 34) :
Oh my Word, didn’t see that.
Will pick up the commentary in the second half.
@Le Requinny (Comment 37) :
Hey!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stop confusing me 😆 😆
LIONS !
I really hope that the Lions make a plan and invest in a Fly-half for next season..Jaco is just not good enough..
We also require Wings that can actually catch a ball 🙄
lol.
Dick Best is quite right when he says the first 10 minutes after half-time will be key for the Stormers. No tries & the Lions grow in confidence & Stormers may get a little too frantic as the clock marches on…
Stormers threw away about 2 or 3 certain tries in the 1st half…perhaps they are feeling the pressure.
Stormers look so tense! Over-trying.
hey CSB.
I am watching on Showtime with you, my SS signal keeps breaking up 👿
at the same time it was excellent defense from the Lions though. But ja, it seems the Stormers have scoring those 4 tries as soon as possible stirring those nerves around!
GO LIONS!!!
2nd half about to Start
C’mon Lions!!!!!!!!!
ROSE TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Try LIONS…..
YaY
My lawd – Benjamin caught, outsprinted & completed the pass for an Earl Rose try!
@Le Requinny (Comment 68) :
Seems he is spot on. 😀
Next 10 minutes is KEY for Stormers.
Just kick it over please!??! Rose
Brilliant!!
KSA is showtime delyaed..?
My kittnes have come to the party!
I reckon their attitude is that to lose is just as bad as not getting 4 tries.
Bugger these f’ing joburgers.
Narrowly missed….but miss is miss
@VinChainSaw (Comment 81) :
Bugger you!??!
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 80) :
No it is spot on for a change 😎
Jean steps Fourie again….
So now they square….
Fourie one step and bump-off on Jean and Jean 2 steps…
nice tackle pm mujati!
@VinChainSaw (Comment 81) :
And of course being a Stormer, the word bugger has a much more romantic meaning than for the rest of us. 😆
penalty stormers.
Ai…another penalty in kickable pos for Stormers…
kick for touch even thoguh it was in front of the sticks.
hope for a try.
Yes the Stormers have not gone for goal…
PK Stormers
virtually right in front on the 22 and they opt for LO
5m out. stormers take line out.
drive.
And Bobo holds onto the ball again…
sustained pressure by stormers.
like 8 phases now.
Stormers seem to have missed the win first and then get your BP’s lesson somewhere
penalty stormers.
5m out in front of the sticks.
if they get 4 tries you gotta believe they’ll also get the win.
Bekker seems to be hurting badly.
line out ball. stormers drive.
get out of jainl for the lions. but then they kick and dont kick out.
simple things.
2nd pen and the Stormers don’t go at poles again.
Give away FK at maul eventually
Baywatch you beaute….
Ball stolen from Stormers 2 meters from LIONS tryline…
Good scrambling defence by the lions.
Dunno how long it can hold out.
Well now we know that Mujati is in no way half a Heinke….
This is it Lions you guys are doing well, keep this going.
commentator is an idiot. continually talking about lighting fires and sparks and engines and shit.
sounds like he thinks he’s at kyalami.
Excellent defence boys !
Now lets get our hands on the ball
mostert steals anoher lineout.
Another lineout stolen from Stormers…
2nd half possesion
Stormers 79
Lions 21
What kind of a pass was that by Benjamin?????
😯
Benjamin catches it again and runs well again.
Fourie on for Britz
LIONS should have scored 2nd!??!
when the stormers start they’re gonna run riot.
Just dont know if they’ll start in time.
Deon Fourie on for Brits.
sorry for myburgh not Brits. That’s what you get for listening to Bros and Dros.
Benji you noodle if u’d passed earlier there would have been a possible try there..he must go next season.
Human is playing well…
I would have replaced Bobo with Des Fountain…
des fountain also on for human.
van schalkwyk misses a droppie.
v Schalkwyk DG just misses
YES…the LIONS first penalty….
JACO you %$^&**^$%^&***&%^$££% WTF is wrong with him..he can’t drop so why try 🙄 🙄 🙄
benjamin must like playing against the Stormers he is doing damn well.
game is frantic hey!
earl rose taking a very ambitious kick for goal.
Work our arses off in defence to win the ball back and he just kicks it away…AIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIiii
Rose going at goal from the touchline on the Stormers 10m line
Jaco should stop drop gaoling….jinne….
crumbs its over!
8-8.
OVER
8 – 8 LIONS 😉
54min
brok harris on. fok.
harris on for mujati
YES…penalty slotted…
LIONS 8 – 8 Stormers
go Earl!
Excellent kick from Rose…
Lions are playing extremely well though…so those 4 tries…
@KSA Shark © (Comment 131) :
It is about time….Heinke has been scrumming his head in his but…
skeate on.
@VinChainSaw (Comment 124) :
And as it progresses it will be more frantic for the Stormers and more comforting for the Lions
@Le Requinny (Comment 134) :
Yeh I agree….the LIONS can still score 4….
cant believe how you change your colours you east coast turncoat.
@Hmmm (Comment 135) :
You mean the Stormers chiropractor is about to do some proctology work in the changeroom?
Go Lions!
12 tackles by JFourie already….he is reaqlly making a huge dif in the LIONS backline….
first tiem i’ve really seen the lions play in this game.
@VinChainSaw (Comment 139) :
Vinnie
I’m afraid the other guys with all their big talk, and 5 points in the bag and EASY win, have made me a little anti at the moment 😉
And i don’t mean other guys on this site. 😉
tony brown coming on.
Great ankle tap by January….def ry saving…
He is the inform scrummy…
@VinChainSaw (Comment 139) :
Look on the bright side, You will find out which Stormers have made the Bok side tonight already 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 144) :
thats fair…
LoL I meant TRY saving…
bolla on.
@Hmmm (Comment 146) :
Agreed
Has had an awesome season.
Will know if he makes the boks tonight 😉
come on boys. please.
only robbie diack left on the bench.
stormers keep on knocking after like 12 phases.
its so frustrating.
did you see that hit by alberts!
😳
Shees who was that tackle 😯
Only kallie Woekie seems physical enough in the Stormers whole team…
Every other pos the LIONS are tackling the Stormers back….
Welcome to super rugby deon fourie!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 155) :
Okay answered at 154 already.
who the hell is kallie woekie?
they’re playing this absurb country and western barn dance music at the stadium.
lovely back break but then knoced by conradie in the tackle.
2 great tackles by Venter…he is tackling the crap out of the Stormers fronts and backs….
they knock on in that tackle again
@VinChainSaw (Comment 159) :
Afrikaans for Naqelevuki 😀
@VinChainSaw (Comment 159) :
Fiji….
might need to start looking for a drop or a penalty to at least give themselves a chance laster tonight.
@Hmmm (Comment 162) :
Your whole team is defending well dude.
Diack on
diack on for fondse.
very mobile pack now.
Its not absurd in Jo’burg Vin..
jean called for a forward pass. quite marginal.
Jean’s making a few passing errors….think that was his 4th…
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 169) :
lol.
Things not going right for the Stormers
marginal passes going the wrong way
de villiers playing good rugby.
Lions 81
Stormers 31 😯
Tackles made:
Lions – 81
Stormers -31
@Le Requinny (Comment 176) :
I am no 1…
Bolla tuning his team mates as there is some indecision on what to do with a FK in their own 22.
another line-out stolen. wtf is going on.
That no 22 fell on top of he LIONS player….that was a poor call against the LIONS…
8 – 8 Lions
70min
@VinChainSaw (Comment 179) :
We have much much better locks….I said that the whole week….
reckon watson won that race.
Deliberate knock out by Watson…
Yellow card and penalty try to LIONS
ref asking if watso intentionally knocked the ball into touch! 😯
PENALTY!!!
@VinChainSaw (Comment 183) :
Penalty try Mr…and yellow card…foul play in 22…professional foul….
TMO for Watson attempt to tap the ball ove rthe dead ball.
I think if it is ruled YEs then it should be a penalty try?
tmo said red player knocked forward.
What!??! 😯
Luke smacked that….
TMO says it came off RED??????????????
scrum 5 Stormers defensive feed
stormers running everything.
Now I ask with tears in my eye..why have the Lions not played like this all season..???
The TMO has just stumped out his White widow joint..that was a Stormers knock..clear as day
Watson showing why i don’t rate him.
Chips in his own 22 and gives the ball to the Lions.
Ja Rose….directly into touch…
Rose gather in his own half and puts it out on the full.
rose piunts it out on the full.
stormers attacking scrum. hope they can make this line-out work.
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 193) :
Mossie was missing.
PK advantage to the Stormers for hightackle
very kickable
silly Rose
deon fourie chased down jacqu fourie!
advantage over and Mossie intercepts 😳
Lions seem dead on their feet
How’s that bonus point coming?
Kalie Woekie TRY!!!!!
stormers having an incredible phase of play.
TRY to kallie woekie.
some fo the best rugby ive seen in ages.
those players just lookled so comfortable and aware.
yellow card for ross geldenhuys.
ITS ON! at last!
Time off as ref cosults with his TJ.
Ross Geldenhuys Yellow Card
Stormers backline look soooooo much better without Bobo
75min
8 – 15 Stormers
@KSA Shark © (Comment 205) :
thats funny considering you need to sit just like this later tonight…
hey all, Score?? Time??
TRY!!!
RYNO BENJAMIN on Skeate. great tackle
Diack TRY!!!!!!!!
Hahahaha Robbie you might just be eating your words!
why even take the conversion!
Jarson
77min
8 – 22 Stormers
3rd try Stormers….
LIONS discipline letting them down…
This all started from Rose kicking out on the full…
diack has been playiong really well sicne he came on.
been carrying the ball loads.
lions try?
minut eand a half left. lions scrum.
stormers really need this ball.
Come on LIONS…at least 1 try….
has been all stormers the last 15.
Not good enough. 👿
lions try.
shit.
Boshoff TRY LIONS!!!!!!!!!!!
Been a better than expected S14 for the Stormers none the less.
so. now sharks need a 5 pointer and need to win by more than 18.
nice work..well done Lions go rest and we’ll take the CC 😀
@Hmmm (Comment 223) :
They listened
@VinChainSaw (Comment 222) :
Brilliant Rose/Boshoff….kicked and Boshoff outstrinted the very slow Stormers backline without Chevange…
sorry. they need to do either.
Conversion missed
Game Over
Lions 13 – 22 Stormers
ciao
@KSA Shark © (Comment 231) :
Yes….
But the conversion was missed so we come out of the game pointless…
we only need a bonus point? Right?
I said without Schalk and Chevange the Stormers are not the same side and a semi final would have been a waste of time….
Log Updated
Stormers go 4th
Lions stay bottom
@jarsonx (Comment 237) :
Or a victory by 19…..
Think all those tackles made got the better of the Lions in the last minutes – they tired badly, Lions players looked dead on their feet for those last 2 Stormers tries.
Well well well, seems Robbie D was right.
Now I need to go have a stiff drink to ease my nerves ahead of the Sharks game – this game has just shown us all that those wins and the bonus points are NOT sommer just going to be a given!
Sharks have 40PD
Stormers have 58PD
So if Sharks win without BP they have to win by 19 or more to make the play-offs
If they win with a BP they will go 3rd.
If the Sharks go through the Stormers go home.
If the Stormers go through the Sharks Stay home
Good luck to all you Sharks folk. Should you make it you’ll have my 100% support.
well its up to us then who we want to play in the semis, saders or tahs. A bp sees us vs tahs and a win by 19 vs saders
Stuart Abbot & Dick Best reckon the Sharrks won’t score 4 tries, nor will they get a 18 point margin…
I am emotionally drained. Think I’ll join take Quinny’s lead and have a huge drink.
@jarsonx (Comment 244) :
lol, maybe worth considering IF we score 4 tries, are toevallig 17 points ahead with 1 min to go & a conversion/penalty to come!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 239) :
Only a win would have given us a chance to lift out of last if he Cheetahs lost…
How many times this season have the sharks scored a bonus point or won by more than 18?
Why the 2 hour gap?
Dinner time for me, will join a little while into the Bulls game
Oh crap….I am in 3rd spot….and catching up to robd and KSA…give me a month….LoL
@racheltjiedebeer (Comment 250) :
Bulls Cheetahs up in 10min
Sharks Chiefs after that
Think the Sharks have a good chance today. Chief are out of the comp and probably have one foot on the plane.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 253) : 😳
@racheltjiedebeer (Comment 254) :
and carrying quite a few injuries….
Am in 2 minds as in what to drink – quite fancy a glass of win but might need to settle for a non-Stellenbosch bottle just in case I jinx the Sharks…
pietman is saying on Keo the LIONS never played to win and played negative to keep the Stormers out!??!
@VinChainSaw (Comment 249) :
Twice….
Well what an intriging weekend so far.
Its all up to the Sharks now, but allow me to doubt that they can win with BP and/or more than 18 against Chiefs. My bets are on the stormers…
At least NZ have 2 teams in semis. I got worried for a minute that the Hur Blues game might have caused both teams to miss out.
http://testrugby.blogspot.com/
@Hmmm (Comment 257) :
Is his second name Suurgat? 😆
@KSA Shark © (Comment 260) :
Yes…he is usually a nice guy….but for some reason a sour ass oday….