Vickerman out as Wallaby squad named

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :In the news, Tri Nations on 2 Jun 2008 at 09:23

New coach Robbie Deans didn’t wait long to make changes to Australia’s rugby team, naming seven rookies on Monday in a 30-man training squad for the June 14 Test against Ireland.

Report courtesy News24.

Waratahs Luke Burgess, Dean Mumm and Lachie Turner join Force duo Ryan Cross and Richard Brown, Reds winger Peter Hynes and rookie Brumbies prop Ben Alexander as the uncapped players in the squad.

Deans, a New Zealander, led the Crusaders to their seventh Super 14 title on Saturday, beating the Waratahs 20-12. There were 13 Waratahs players named on Monday.

The Reds had six players in the squad, including the oldest, 32-year-old Sam Cordingley. The Brumbies also had six players while five were taken from the Perth-based Force.

Stirling Mortlock retained the Wallabies captaincy.

Several players from last year’s World Cup squad were not considered because of injury – Dan Vickerman, Chris Latham, Drew Mitchell, Scott Staniforth, Hugh McMeniman and Greg Holmes.

Vickerman will be sidelined for six weeks due to an ankle injury requiring surgery.

After flying into Sydney on Monday to take up his new position, Deans said he was looking forward to his team’s first training session on Tuesday at Manly Oval.

“There are a lot of new faces in this squad, in both the playing ranks and the coaching staff,” said Deans. “Our ultimate goal is the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand, but that is a long way into the future. In the interim there is a lot of hard work to be done.”

Australia will play 14 tests this year.

Australia squad:

Forwards: Ben Alexander, Al Baxter, Richard Brown, Mark Chisholm, Matt Dunning, Rocky Elsom, Adam Freier, Stephen Hoiles, James Horwill, Stephen Moore, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Paul, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Benn Robinson, Nathan Sharpe, George Smith, Phil Waugh.

Backs: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Luke Burgess, Sam Cordingley, Ryan Cross, Matt Giteau, Peter Hynes, Digby Ioane, Stirling Mortlock, Brett Sheehan, Cameron Shepherd, Lote Tuqiri, Lachie Turner.


  • No surprises…

  • Comment 1, posted at 02.06.08 09:42:54 by bryce_in_oz Reply
  • Nope

  • Comment 2, posted at 02.06.08 10:09:23 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Yip, definitely no surprises.. 🙄

  • Comment 3, posted at 02.06.08 10:28:56 by ra-cheltjie de' be-er Reply

  • Although with Latham and Mitchell injured I’m surprised Gerard didn’t get a call… his season was pretty good at 15…

  • Comment 4, posted at 02.06.08 10:55:42 by bryce_in_oz Reply

  • Thoguht Vickerman was anyway hanging up his boots.

  • Comment 5, posted at 02.06.08 15:49:11 by VinChainSaw Reply
  • Come Saturday 19 July I think these Aussies are going to give the
    Boks a hiding at the Subiaco Oval, Perth. The Wallabies vs Springboks
    Tri-Nations clashes have become so boring and predicable over the years. If the match is played in SA the Boks win and if it is played
    in Australia the Wallablies win. And I’m sure the All Blacks will
    win the Tri-Nations again.

  • Comment 6, posted at 02.06.08 18:55:06 by rugby brain Reply

  • Very much as expected. Thought Luke Burgess and Polota-Nau had outstanding Super 14’s and Dean Mumm improved with every outing.

  • Comment 7, posted at 02.06.08 22:50:53 by Villie Reply
    Competition Winner
  • @rugby brain (Comment 6) :

    I disagree… from memory we have a decent record there all things considered… and besides I’ll be attentending that game (tickets booked) en-route back from RSA… so here’s hoping we already have a few wins under the belt by then…

  • Comment 8, posted at 03.06.08 04:22:14 by bryce_in_oz Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.