It’s the first test of a new era for the Springboks, with coach Peter de Villiers in charge for the first time.
Will the World Champions overcome numerous personnel changes both on and off the field to maintain their unbeaten home record against the Welsh?
Or will the 6 Nations champs under experienced coach Warren Gatland take advantage of the unsettled Springboks and record an upset victory?
Kick-off in Bloemfontein at 15:00 SA time.
Ref: Dave Pearson (England)
TJs: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand), Stuart Terheege (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)
South Africa:
Starting XV: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Butch James, 9 Bolla Conradie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Luke Watson, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gürthro Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Victor Matfield, 19 Danie Rossouw, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Peter Grant, 22 Percy Montgomery
Wales:
Starting XV:15 Jamie Roberts, 14 Mark Jones, 13 Tom Shanklin, 12 Sonny Parker, 11 Shane Williams, 10 Stephen Jones, 9 Gareth Cooper, 8 Ryan Jones (captain), 7 Dafydd Jones, 6 Jonathan Thomas, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Ian Gough, 3 Gethin Jenkins, 2 Matthew Rees, 1 Adam Jones
Replacements: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Duncan Jones, 18 Ian Evans, 19 Gareth Delve, 20 Warren Fury, 21 James Hook, 22 Morgan Stoddard

Looking forward to this. 😀
me too 😉
nice pic
@robdylan (Comment 3) : Thanks, thought I’d show my true colours for test matches. But don’t fear, happy & gay man will return.
Raced back to be here in time thought it started at 15:00 over here as it turns out its 16:00. phew !
Can’t wait anymore…The Irish looked like giving the ABs a close run.
Bloen weather:
18°C Fair
Wind from West Northwest at 10 kmph
Go Bokke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
30min to go.
HOKAAI!!!!
Wasn’t that excited all morning, but now I can’t wait anymore. 😀 😀
Even had to resort to the unusual pratice of drinking beer while watching build up. 🙄
does anyone know of an online radio that will air the game ?
Habananana Brian Habana!
Gee die bal vir Brian
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 11) :
Thinus Delport in Sky studio questioning Adi & Bolla’s selection.
@Barag (Comment 12) :
Yes
But i suspect it will be in Afrikaans.
Will you be able to understand that?
Go Boks!
I have to go to a kiddies birthday party now 🙁
But recording the game and will watch when I get back…hopefully won’t know the score!
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 15) :
Not to go down this road, but no problem with Adi. Have my concerns with Bolla though.
Thinus not happy about Matfield on the bench either or SARU. Think he got out of bed on the wrong side. 🙄
@KSA Shark © (Comment 18) : Fair enough.
Will be working my way through one of these http://draughtkeg.co.uk/draughtkeg/ , so commentary might be limited.
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 21) :
I will be following on RSG so not worries. 😉
Trying to see if R2000 is doing anything…………man their site sucks!!!!!!!!
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 21) :
Those little things were SUPER popular at the Dubai 7’s last year.
Hey you guys in SA!!!!!!!!!1 Are they available over there yet BTW?
@Barag (Comment 12) :
It seems http://www.radio2000.co.za is doing the commentary in a language you may understand 😉
right – got my feed up!
the guys on Mediazone can’t understand why Kankowksi isn’t in the squad 😉
there’s nobody there!
@robdylan (Comment 26) :
if i buy the match and the feed sucks. Will it let me download the game anyway?
10 more tests for J Smit as Capt and he’ll have the world record.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 28) : yep
man, I love this song!
the only thing that could make me love the Sharks more is if there was a Natal national anthem before each game! 😉
Chavanga doesn’t know the words to the anthem..Mujati seems to though..
David Fourie! Remember him from Idols? The first series?
check out Adi’s new cut!
Jinne, but Bekker is tall!
@robdylan (Comment 32) :
😆
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 33) :
Seems RSG has a bit of a delay. Only just started the anthem 😆
@robdylan (Comment 36) :
tallest Bok ever 🙄 😉
here we go! Go SA!
Game on!!!!!!!!!
Maybe Adi thinks he will go faster without any hair! 😉
old laws?
no ELVs and it’s aerial ping pong bullshit 🙂
penalty to SA… Bekker pulled down in the LO
here comes the first scrum
@robdylan (Comment 44) : @robdylan (Comment 44) :
I agree – have watched enough tennis the last 2 weeks.
Welsh defence looks well organized
@robdylan (Comment 43) :
Yes
Wales 60kg heavier than us!
kickable penalty SA for killing at the ruck
@robdylan (Comment 50) :
Their No. 3 is the reason for those extra 60 kilos.
butch lines it up
John Thomas 😳 Playing like a ???? 😆
Go Butch. Give us 3 you good thing
man, it’s good to see Butch and John
Nice!
lovely kick! 3-0
BUTCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bolla doing well so far
another kickable one… playing the ball offside from a knock on
Another nice kick from Butch! 😀
6-0 to SA.
3 more! 6-0
I am listening to RSG
Can anyone tell me if DAWIED Jones is related to Dafydd Jones?
Dawied 😆
@robdylan (Comment 59) :
He is Rob quick at the breakdown and crisp service..pie is looking good 😀
Chavanga has a 200% strike rate 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 63) :
BUTCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Luke yet to get any ball..not mentioned once yet.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 63) : correct pronunciation would be “daffith”
Mujati is being eaten for breakfast
and now he’s penalised for scrumming in
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 64) :
Punctuation is SOOOOOOO important.
He is Rob quick????? Is that like new slang for “blits vinnig” 😉
Thanks for url KSA Shark. working for me.
How’s it looking? At the red bull vlugtag so can’t watch live…
@robdylan (Comment 69) :
So Dawief then 😎 Thanks for the help
welsh now have a kickable one for us not releasing after the tackle
it’s against Jean
@Barag (Comment 73) :
I strive for excellence 🙄
provided it requires no more than 3 paragraphs
Penalty to Wales. 6-3 to SA.
6-3
@VinChainSaw (Comment 74) :
LOOKING GOOD!!!!!!!!!!
AND BUTCH IS PUTTING ME IN A GOOD MOOD
@KSA Shark © (Comment 78) : keep striving 😉
has anyone seen Spies yet?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 72) :
😆
The force is strong in this one, it is..
and another kickable one for us! Coming in from the side.
Fuck, I hate these laws! They are so 2007
Wales just got a FK.
What was it for.
Butch kicking again – another good one. Go Butchie!!!!
9 – 3 to SA.
Its been all Juan Smith and No Spies and Watson..are they even playing..?? 😐
beaut of a kick! 9-3
Nice to see the score board ticking over but I would really like to see some good wholesome tries!
BUTCH!!!!!!!!!!!
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 88) : Kanko would have scored twice by now…
Just as I say that Luke steals one
There we go – Luke did well there.
luke won us a penalty! Well done 46
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 93) :
Say it again! 😀
In a place called kingswear and not one farking pub has sky sports!
@robdylan (Comment 95) :
😈 😈 😈
The guys from Wales seem a little pissed at being penalised. The one where butch cleared from our 22.
bekker doesn’t even need to jump in the lineout. He just reaches 😉
Boys are off-loading nicely..I like it 😀
another kickable on… right in front inside the 22
lovely off-loaf from Adi
@Superwors (Comment 97) :
RSG for Afrikaans
R2000 for English mate.
It sucks i know.
Another good one for Butch!!!!
off-loaf is like a slice 😉
it’s 12-3 to Butch 😉
Joel said (about Adi) loads of talent, lots of pace and loves running the ball. Thank you Joel!
@robdylan (Comment 106) :
A rather chunky slice Rob.
@Superwors (Comment 97) : use kuduclub 😉
I predict the 1st try will come from a cross kick for either Habana or Chavanga.
And there is “our” Doc! 😀
good to see Doc Craig there 😉
@robdylan (Comment 107) :
Can this be considered a Heineken Cup game 🙄
CJ on for Gurthro
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 111) :
grubber through from Butch IMO 😉 One of those off the outside of the foot that he has perfected at Bath this season
On blackberry so will just stick on sharksworld, not a bad option!
Juan having a huge game
And there is Dick in his shirt and tie looking very smart!
@Superwors (Comment 117) : thanks 😉
we’re getting stuffed in the scrums
That was a bit silly from Wales playing so close to the touch line.
12min left in the first half.
good kick Bolla!
Come on Bokke – how about a try?
Good run by Watson – go Adi!!! And Conrad scores!
BEAUTIFUL TRY JANTJES !!
@Nessa (Comment 126) :
Not on RSG 🙁
try to Jantjes! Break by Adi did it
Okay there it is now.
@Nessa (Comment 125) :
Say that again Nessa 😉 infact keep at it
BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
19-3 now
Adi could have scored himself
That was very well done by Adi..he could have gone on his own if he wanted.
19 – 9 Bokke
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 131) :
Cool hey? Adi listens when I ask.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 136) :
Sorry RSG said 19-9
Should be 19 – 3 😳
Grant on for Adi. Blood
Time left in the 1st half?
How is Butch James doing in the game, ball in hand, aside from goal kicks?
Spies is useless. Send him back to Snorstad
Sorry KSA – 5 minutes.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 140) : about 7.
@Barag (Comment 141) : well. Good distribution and kicking out of hand
@KSA Shark © (Comment 140) : 4min.
@Nessa (Comment 143) :
Thanks
Butch is having a great game – so is John.
Jacobs back on for Grant
5, 7 and 4 😯
@Barag (Comment 141) :
Solid, directing play brilliantly.
Kak tackling – Wales scores a try.
try to the welsh 15 after some pretty poor work by Chavanga all round
@KSA Shark © (Comment 149) :
The 5 and 4 were about right – don’t know where the 7 came from.
Welsh try comes from a missed tackle from Jantjes and Chavanga
😡
A real pity – Wales not in the game – and then the score a try just on half time. That sucks!
19 – 10 to SA.
Chavanga… first got ahead of the kick and then screwed up the defensive pattern
@Nessa (Comment 153) :
thanks. 🙂
19-10
kickable penalty to us
on the 22 and right in front
Another penalty by Butch – another good one.
22 – 10 to SA.
Time is up.
Butch ‘Dead eye dick’ James.
and 22-10 is the half-time score
Half Time
Springboks 22 – 10 Wales
Soccer
SA v Eq Guinea
2 – 0
@KSA Shark © (Comment 166) :
Sorry that is the half time score
The stadium is very empty. A bit disappointing for the Bokke I am sure.
Mujati is the only real disappointment so far… Spies not far behind.
Hey RSG has some interesting stuff on “verhoudings terapie” if you’re interested. 🙄
Who dicides to play the first home test of the world champs in a half built stadium in a small town? 👿
Come on Switzerland!!!
Gosh, how long is this half time?
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 171) : SARU 🙂
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 172) : has Euro 2008 started?
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 171) :
His name is Harold Verster
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 171) :
Damn good question that..
ok – we’re back
@robdylan (Comment 175) :
Today Robd.
opening game Switzerland vs Czech Rep and Portugal vs Turkey
SARU announced that the match would be played in DBN and then OFS pulled out of the deal. something about not getting enough money in the pocket out of it.
Well it seems they have even less now than they would have had.
de Villiers keeps trying to play the rush defence all on his own.
My connection is soooooooooooo good even RSG is breaking up 👿
Good tacke Brian!
Wonderful run from Spies!
I thought Spies was meant to be fast? Can’t even beat one man!
And Wales manage to turn the ball over. What a pity Spies just didn’t run straight.
@Nessa (Comment 184) : it wasn’t really…
@robdylan (Comment 187) : given the ball in space and did F all with it
GO ADI!!!!!
@robdylan (Comment 187) :
He shot through the space like a bullet and then fizzled out. 🙁
@Nessa (Comment 190) : Poor man’s Jean Deysel.
@robdylan (Comment 191) : who in turn is the poor man’s Ryan Kankowski 😉
little Vic on for Big Bekker
@robdylan (Comment 191) :
Well Rob – can’t blame me – it SHOULD have been a good run. I have huge expedctations.
Go Jean!!!
TRY!
Maybe we need a kicker….Go jean
great try de Villiers!
should probably have passed inside to Adi 😉
27-10, kick to come
30 – 10 to SA. Another good kick from Butch!
7 from 7 now… 29-10
@robdylan (Comment 193) :
ow Robd don’t be nasty to Pierre he didn’t pick himself 😥
@Nessa (Comment 199) : you given them a bonus point? 😉
Yup! Butch deserves a bonus point. What a boytjie!! 😳
Okay its safe to say I’m gonna munch down on my pie…team is looking good!
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 201) : you mean “prick” himself? 😉
team is doing well, though… my word
Okay its also time for Pienaar to come on and Bolla to go grab a shower.
@robdylan (Comment 205) :
😈
man, but how quick is Williams?
And Spies scores! Go figure.
Bolla did all the work.
and Spies gets a try… the hard work was all Luke’s and Bolla’s
Okay – let me get it right this time.
36 – 10. Full house for Butch.
I tell you what… pound-for-pound, 46 is probably the strongest guy on the field.
Ruan is on.
Ruan, Bis, Pakslae all on
@robdylan (Comment 216) :
Pakslae?
Still 20 minutes to go – can you believe it? Seems like a very long game.
Another good tackle from Adi!!
@Nessa (Comment 217) : Danie Rossouw
Its been a while since we’ve had a ref that has been kind to us..must be the World Champs tag 😛
Percy on for Adi
Why is Ruan off? Is is just blood?
What position is Percey playing if Adi is off..
game has lost a bit of structure
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 224) : outside centre!
@Nessa (Comment 223) : he isn’t
Wales score a try!
Williams in under the poles
@robdylan (Comment 227) :
I see him now. Thanks – I have lost the plot a bit.
36 – 17
36 – 17.
@robdylan (Comment 231) :
😀
@Nessa (Comment 230) : game has gone funny…
Go Percy!!!!
try to Percy!
Looks like a powerful game from Boks. How is the Welsh lineout going? Rees? Alun Wyn Jones?
Ness – is it just you and me left? 😉
@Barag (Comment 237) : badly, I fear
43 – 17 to SA. Flawless kicking by Butch. Not an easy one at that.
Rees went off after 50… missed a good few throws.
43-17!
it bugs me to say this, but Luke is my MOM
Percival da man !!
Ruan got that all started
Who came in for Rees?
@robdylan (Comment 243) :
I think I agree although Juan also has ahd a good game.
Egshellent!
TMO for a Habana try… don’t think he got it down
@Barag (Comment 245) : some little blonde dude…
Hibbard, would be his name.
CJ and Hibbard have both been carded
Hibbard has big cojones… took on both CJ and Gurthro
Rees and Mujati back on
nope… uncontested
Rossouw packed at prop!
great – just lost my feed.
Ness – still there?
Yup Rob – still here.
Time is up on the official clock.
Whistle goes!
that’s full time. 43-17!
That game fizzled out towards the end.
still a bloody good performance! Well done PDev and the Bokke
Well done Boks!
Be back a bit later guys
Are ‘we’ going to give Mr de Villiers credit or say that he was ‘carried’ by the experienced Boks. 😈
Cheers all – thanks for the company!
Well done to all involved.
Well done Boks and PDV/Muir/Gold brilliant 1st up performance.
Its gonna be a good season if they keep improving.
Wales looked a bit shell shocked..they were terrible though, but that had alot to do with the pressure the Boks put on them on defence and at the break down.
Bokke!!!!!!!
The score would’ve been higher if we had a kicker. Just kiddin…well done to all – especially the newbies and rusties… go bokke!
WHOOOO HOOOOOOO
Well Done bokke!!!!!!!!!
congratulations to PdV and his boys, they did a good job of putting away the Welsh, even with their firstrate coach Gatland… i was pleasantly surprised, especially by the performances of those who were most doubted, Bolla, Luke and Adi …..they really played their part
Who was man of the match? I’d have picked Luke or Butch
butch was MOM
@spykerbaard (Comment 273) :
Is that confirmed as awarded at the game? It seems 365 has different ideas 😉
From 365
Man of the Match: The most obvious candidates are Butch James, John Smit and Juan Smith. Resisting the sentimental, we declare Juan Smith the Man of the Match – for what he achieves in line-outs, in tackling, in carrying the ball, in nonstop action.
This is the problem with man of the match, particularly with reference to the fantasy league. There’s either no announcement, or several 🙂
Can’t argue with Butch. His boot ensured the Welsh never got in range. I thought Luke did more than Juan. Also thought Spies was close to useless. No pace, no step and fell off more tackles than I could count
@KSA Shark © (Comment 274) :
It was on tv directly after the game, interview, kruger rand prize and all