This year’s Currie Cup kicks off with a trip to Kimberley for Naka Drotske’s men.
Will the Champions get their title defence off to a good start?
Or will their pride take a knock on the hard fields of the Northern Cape, like so many fancied teams before them?
Kick off is at 15h30.
Griquas: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Gavin Passens, 13 Lafras Uys, 12 Herkie Kruger (capt), 11 MJ Mentz, 10 Conrad Barnard, 9 Tobie Botes, 8 Heinrich Stride, 7 Stephan Gerber, 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 Jacques Lombaard, 4 Wayne van Heerden, 3 Bees Roux, 2 Hans van Dyk, 1 Steph Robberts
Replacements: 16 Dean Hopp, 17 Albertus Buckle, 18 Cilliers Coetzer, 19 Gareth Krause, 20 Dougie Helmuth, 21 Jaco Bekker, 22 Egon Seconds
Free State Cheetahs: 15 Bevin Fortuin; 14 Eddie Fredericks, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Hendrik Meyer, 11 Jongi Nokwe; 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Neil Powell; 8 Schalk van der Merwe, 7 Hendro Scholtz (capt.), 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Barend Pieterse, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Kobus Calldo, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Replacements: 16 Jaco du Toit, 17 Ronnie Uys, 18 David de Villiers, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Jandre Blom, 21 Chris Rossouw , 22 Hennie Daniller.

not long now, guys!
15h30 on a Friday? Nogals early.
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 2) : yup.
They are realistic 😉
We are playing at 5 tomorrow, straight after the test…slightly daft if you ask me, I’m sure a lot of people will just stay home and watch both on tv.
is it on supersport?
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 4) :Are they not showing the “test” on a big screen at the Stadium ❓ ❓ ❓ OR maybe they think that the “derby” match will pull the crowds in anyway ❗ ❗ 😆
when is this game gonna START?!!! 😉
Wian du Preez + 1
Hendro Scholtz + 1
Conrad Barnard + 1
Hendrik Meyer + 1
So I’m on 4 before kick-off!
Holy moly i dont believe they are not showing the opening game off the currie cup
Go Cheetahs!
Go pEEl them Onyons!
@PJLD (Comment 9) :
Previous years all CC games were televised…looks like a policy change this year. Tonight’s Valke Boland game also not televised
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 8) : hendro + 2 cos he’s captain 😉
Is this match on TV?
@robdylan (Comment 12) :
You see – I got this thing all wrong…I think I am gonna end LAST… 😳
@robdylan (Comment 12) : ok, so that’s why I can’t find it on Kuduclub.
Also looks like the return WP/Sharks match ain’t gonna be on!
@robdylan (Comment 12) :
Only once the Cheetahs win the game…anyway, the match is NOT on tv
unless it’s on SABC or ETV, didn’t check for that…LOL!
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 16) : 😐
Late change to the FS team… Drew van Coller in at tighthead for Calldo
@robdylan (Comment 18) :
Ah that is sensible
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 19) : Calldo not so well?
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 16) :
Okay, it’s not on any of the SABC channels, so we didn’t miss a deal beteen SS and SABC… 😥
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 21) : this actually just pisses me off.
@robdylan (Comment 20) :
Calf injury since the S14 tour
its still not 100%- but it was reported that he will play- glad he doesnt!
Very gOOde player that- we will need him later – no need to ruin him in total!
@robdylan (Comment 22) :
It’s actually dof because SS has shares in Griquas and the Cheetahs..so they are shunning their own investment..
griquas have two props on teh bench and no hooker…?
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 23) : I rate him highly. With BJ going and Pat still crokced, we’ll need another 😉
@robdylan (Comment 26) :
hehehe- grapgat!
Live commentary via OFM website
Just gOOgle OFM
look for sport.
have earphones- 😕
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 24) :
SuperSport also the main sponsor the cricket Currie Cup and show nothing of that competition. Talk about bhaving confidence and pride in you brand. Maybe they are too busy making story book adverts about themselves (supersport) which are then flighted to themselves and their subscribers exclusively on the channel they are advertising. Madness really.
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 27) : 😆
Keep us updated, I don’t have speakers or headphones at work
jinne, but that site is VERY orange
@robdylan (Comment 30) :
hehehe- its local- used to call it RadioKapoen!
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 29) :
me neither- so have to wait for updates- who might be early toMMorrow morning!
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 27) :
Or you could just post the link 😉
http://www.ofm.co.za/ofmlive.asp
Cheetahs 7 zip
Drotske het verras deur die jong en onervare Drew van Coller op vaskopstut in te span. Sover slaag die waagstuk.
Die twee aanwinste van die Cheetahs, Neil Powell (skrumskakel) en Schalk van der Merwe (agtsteman), is sover van die besoekers se uitblinkers.
Aan die kant van Griekwas speel Frans Viljoen (agtsteman) ‘n barshou.
Puntemakers: Vrystaat . Driee: JW Jonker. Doel Jacques-Louis Potgieter.
No real indication of stadion time maybe 20 min
ekke ek hoor f0kol! Gooi nog mielies, julle
@KSA Shark © (Comment 32) :
I have tried to
and got thrown of the site
Sensitive people- you okes
so I tread with caution! 😎
woohoo! I have it!
WOOMF
@robdylan (Comment 34) :
Tell me Griquas is gonna come from behind with a m**rse effort and win – pleeeezzzzeee…. 😉
ok… so try to Jonker, 1 kick to Potgieter so far
as usual, Superrugby’s live scorers are doing nothing
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 37) :
Not going to happen
@robdylan (Comment 39) :
I developed that page….LOL!
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 40) :
Ai Walter – mens kan maar net HOOP…
BTW – ROB – please mail me my team…I’ve lost it…
Frans Viljoen is an YSTER!
Pity He cannot hop over to the Chhetahs
But then again we cannot oFfer any Griqua a contract!
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 42) :
O doner
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 35) :
Nah dude you must be dreaming. 😆
We Will even allow you to post a RW link here (even though it has little to do with Rugby) and NOT throw you off.
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 41) : nice work
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 43) : why not?
Cheetahs 7 Griquas 3 (16 min)
penalty Barnard
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 42) : http://www.sharksworld.co.za/ccfl08/?mode=showuser&userid=48
@KSA Shark © (Comment 45) : site did go down for a few minutes. Nothing to do with OO 😉
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 47) : will you listen out for any yellow/red cards?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 45) :
Good to hear- but seriously- got bombed- incidently has put the same link to RW
@robdylan (Comment 46) :
Part of the same regional team- so we get to lOOse players to Griquas but cannot oFFer their gOOde ones an Option
RoNNie COOke
Kirchner was oFFerd more than the Bulls had- but he had to stay in Kby
he said no- A Tswanepoel I waNNa bee!
I just can’t connect to this stupid service! 😈
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 44) :
Hahahahahahaha – blonde…
@robdylan (Comment 48) :
Evene Bigger HAHAHAHAHA – I have no points – for some reason I thought i had Herkie in the team…???
@robdylan (Comment 50) :
If I “see” them I will let you know
I will be fakawing sOOn- you know- its Friday Its 4 Oclock
and the unwashed maSSes stream home to feed and for…. whatever!
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 51) : crikey… sounds like you guys got the short end of that stick
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 53) : fokit, Ice… it’s not real time! I promise I’ll load the scores after each game 😉
@robdylan (Comment 55) :
Not really- I understand the Okes from KMb concern though
Its not Prime- but its still MUCH beTTer than the Cats!
I guess Walter feels the same way!
@robdylan (Comment 56) :
Do you see ANY CHEETAH or Griqua player in my team??? 🙄 Therefore – I know I have no points… 😉
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 57) : you should just kill griquas and take their players. It’s what I’d do 😉
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 58) : oops. Sorry! 😳
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 58) :
Well you can only improve from here.
Whats up, working late today?
@robdylan (Comment 59) :
hehehe I know- but its kills the game- and is no guarantee that you will win something either!
is anybody besides OO able to connect to the audio stream? I reckon they have a filter that kicks you off if you’re not in Bloem 😉
How many points do I have? 😆
@robdylan (Comment 59) :
I thought that is what we were doing to the Free State? 😉
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 62) : so you don’t believe that we only need 5 strong teams in SA?
@Dive Pass (Comment 65) : shhhh…. you’re letting out our secret
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 41) :
Walter that’s good work….do you still do website develop?
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 64) : right now, 3. If the cheetahs win, it’ll be 6
I cant connect?
@flop (Comment 70) : me neither
@robdylan (Comment 63) :
Nah other way round – it only kicks you out if you are local as then you can connect via radio. Have you been spinning us stories about where you live… ?
I just keep hearing the stupid advert
@Salmonoid (Comment 72) : oops. The cat are out of the bag
@robdylan (Comment 69) : Really? Thanks, impressive. Wasn’t expecting a serious answer. 😎
@Salmonoid (Comment 61) :
Always work till 4h30… 🙁
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 64) :
This is not live you know!!!! 😉
@robdylan (Comment 63) :
I am not connected to the audio – I just type the commentary – if and when it appears
http://www.ofm.co.za/sport.asp?SID=1108
@robdylan
(Comment 66) :
No not at all
We need to play the top 4 /5/6, whatever the format in the Super comp- bulshit about brand, people will support their team – the regional format was ‘n copout for the BIG 4 – coz the Cheetahs were always one of the top 4.
The crowds in Bloem will get better once the new stadium is finished-and the game grows beyond its traditional aupporters base( which is Shrinking exponentially due to the Exodus2Oz)
I dont have to debate the impact of the Outback on player development.
@robdylan (Comment 52) :
i just got it working and it is playing Fooking music.
Is it half time?
you okes also getting the “no free stream entry point” message?
Innit?
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 64) :
One Pointy beard and a round head and That Nose MAY be a point as well 😳
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 76) :
Except when you are playing golf of course and then its 8.30.
@Dive Pass (Comment 68) :
Sort of…my company sells a web based system called a “Business Brain”. I manage the dev team and do some development
14-3
Bioplus scores the second try
rack up 1 point for Potgieter for the 2 kicks 😉
@robdylan (Comment 79) :
I gave up with IE and downloaded Firefox 3.0. Added a plugin and there you go
@Salmonoid (Comment 81) :
mmmm ….yes… 😳
Cheers all – and GO SHARKS!!!!

Shocking really..and people wonder why the CC is dwindling..why not put up a hour long show with team reviews and interviews before the 1st opening game of the season..regardless if its two of the minor league teams playing.
4 minutes to halftime
ok – now it is halftime… that was a quick 4 minutes 😉
@robdylan (Comment 79) :
Well then you propbably have to pay for it. To buy back exiles from the Sharks no doubt.
what’s a barshou?
@robdylan (Comment 91) :
PK… 😳 sort of..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 85) : I’m using FF 3… was getting nowhere, so I switched to IE.
But is the commentary on radio? Or is it just the text comments?
@robdylan (Comment 91) :
a legal PK
figure of speaach
He is playing a quality game
“regardless if its two of the minor league teams playing”
Howzit CSB
Feeling weLL?
First half
OFS 14 – 3 Griquas
OFS
Tries: JW Jonker, Schalk van der Merwe.
Conversions: Jacques-Louis Potgieter 2.
Griquas
Penalty: Barnard
@I’ce (TKMITFM) (Comment 92) : ah – ok. Thanks
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 95) : I was waiting for that 😉
@robdylan (Comment 93) :
I dont listen to radio- so it might be broadcasted
the text is what i saw as well!
@robdylan (Comment 93) :
I understood it was on the radio but seems I must be wrong.
@robdylan (Comment 98) :
Ag well roBBie- sometime the angler must be kept happy as well!
Rob image trying to get a tackle counter, line breaks etc from this sort of commentary ….. if you had of had a full blow FL you would have had to have sent OO to the match….but he might have cheated for the Cheetahs 😉
@Dive Pass (Comment 102) :
The same way the Kiwis do on testrugby.com….
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 101) : indeed 🙂
Nobody has Bioplus in their team… that’s a wasted try 🙁
sounds like he (Bioplus) is having a good game. Based on my somewhat rusty translations of Hendrik Cronjé’s musings
@Dive Pass (Comment 102) : yes – exactly. I think this is why they tend not to do it for Currie Cup
This is also why I’m giving points for being in the 22, not actually getting onto the field. In a game like this, there’s no way for me to tell which replacements actually make it on
arrell by maaaai seeeelf, can like to be aaareeellll baaaaai maaaaai seeeeelf, kwaai ek sê
not even keo-them has a outjie by kimberly nogal
still 3-14 after 45 minutes
Oh, the excitement!
Yeah it seems Hendrik made the trip all on his own. 😉
way way
6-14 now… one can only assume Barnard did something
@Oranje Orakel (Comment 95) :
Howzit OO yea I’m good thanx..I thought that may get you too post 😉
@robdylan (Comment 108) :
Put that beer you are using as a mike down Rob….it maybe after 4.30 in SA but not in the UK
@KSA Shark © (Comment 111) : he’s so bored he’s probably blind drunk already.
Kinda the reason we don’t send Claytie to cover games like this 😉
14 – 6
after 50min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 111) :
KSA I saw showtime advertising Currie Cup games..Heres hoping that they will tonights game..
@Dive Pass (Comment 115) : yeah, but drinking during the work day is socially acceptable here 😉
@robdylan (Comment 116) :
or 7’s tournaments 😆
Henners reckons that the KWAS have all the possession in the second half so far but can’t penetrate the TAHS defence.
Like the TAHS have a defence 😉 They should have used it in the Super 14 😉
@robdylan (Comment 119) :
ah I miss a ice cold beer… 🙁
@KSA Shark © (Comment 120) : it would be nice if we had a bit of a budget to do stuff like that, actually
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 122) : shame pal… when last did you have one?
I’m leaving for the South of France on Sunday for a week. Might have a beer or two while I’m there.
@robdylan (Comment 123) :
Yip
@robdylan (Comment 124) :
I am leaving for Dbn in a few days. beer will be on the menu
14 – 9
56 min
9-14 now. Barnard trying to win this on his own
@robdylan (Comment 124) :
Nice! good time of year to go too , 4th of May at 21 hundred hours 😀
@KSA Shark © (Comment 127) : we put the home team’s score first, not so? 😉
Hy speel n barshou – He having a barnstorming match.
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 129) : and how much longer?
Close to Nice… a place called Sofia Antipolis
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 131) : thanks. You just wake up? 😉
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 129) :
That date is in the past??? Are you saying you have already been? 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 134) : no – that was when last he had a beer
@robdylan (Comment 132) :
5 weeks , you going on a holiday?
@robdylan (Comment 135) :
Oh Okay 😆
Ok Ex pats I am off home to get ready to go down to the rugby tonight….enjoy the match later
Griquas 9 – 17 FS Cheetahs
65min
That was a penalty by Chris Rossouw, but who cares i don’t think anyone fancied him for their team 🙄
hendrik is losing interest in the game, clearly.
@Dive Pass (Comment 138) :
Enjoy you bugger 🙂
@Dive Pass (Comment 138) :
Cheers
Enjoy
Today was supposed to be our first full day in SA for the Vacation. 🙁
ok, now it’s 9-20. Kleintjips is on and has kicked 2 penalties.
Griquas 9 – 20 FS Cheetahs
67min
@robdylan (Comment 133) : 😳 Maybe I should refresh before I post. 🙄
Greetings all. Still sitting at work and have had a monster of a day…no time for blogging!! 😡
Can’t wait for the Sharks game now. What time is KO?
@Villie (Comment 147) :
Our kick-off is 19:00 SA time
Griquas 16 – 20 FS Cheetahs
76min
Stefan Gerber try
Barnard Conversion
getting exciting!
Is 20-16 the final score?
So exciting that the last post was 5 minutes ago.
Griquas 16 – 20 FS Cheetahs
That Bonus Point may just come through to help the Griquas later in the season.
I said Cheetahs by 5 so looking good on SB
Thanks to the commentators.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 155) :
To avoid the wooden spoon?
Scorers:
Cheetahs:
Tries: JW Jonker, Schalk van der Merwe.
Conversions: Jacques-Louis Potgieter 2
Pen: Chris Rossouw 2.
Griquas:
Try: Stefan Gerber.
Conversion: Conrad Barnard
Pen: Barnard 3.
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 158) :
Hehhehehe
I think they will be above Boland and Valke at least.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 160) :
I guess so…
Closest Pick Point winners on SB
Milissa Cheetahs 4
jarsonx Cheetahs 4
Lyndy_in_Mtl Cheetahs 4
@KSA Shark © (Comment 162) : Big pool, huh?
Margin Point winners on SB
stef Cheetahs 1
Girlshark Cheetahs 2
Reds Cheetahs 3
Milissa Cheetahs 4
jarsonx Cheetahs 4
Lyndy_in_Mtl Cheetahs 4
Walt Cheetahs 5
Flashman Cheetahs 5
sharkboy Cheetahs 5
PJLD Cheetahs 5
Uncle Kev Cheetahs 5
Tjopper Cheetahs 5
Sharks No 1 Cheetahs 5
Kandas Cheetahs 5
Letgo Cheetahs 5
Sandshark Cheetahs 6
Debs Cheetahs 6
molly Cheetahs 6
G4BR13L Cheetahs 6
SeaShark Cheetahs 6
KC Cheetahs 7
Boytjie Cheetahs 7
KSA Kette Cheetahs 7
DESTROYER Cheetahs 7
Wallywong Cheetahs 7
geraas Cheetahs 7
Jen Cheetahs 7
Villie Cheetahs 8
blackshark Cheetahs 8
Bricktop Cheetahs 8
Squirt Cheetahs 8
Madam Modra Cheetahs 8
Pump Cheetahs 9
shark-tank Cheetahs 9
Salmo Cheetahs 9
Bulls_up Cheetahs 9
@robdylan (Comment 163) :
flippen huge!!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 162) :
Wonderful, and American lady takes the early laurels. Well done.
Cheers!! Thanks 4 updates..off to the game now!!!
@Salmonoid (Comment 166) :
2 North Americans in there.
I had the Cheetahs by 10. 👿
@ra-cheltjie de’ be-er (Comment 169) :
close but no cigar.
At least you’re not one of the 12 who picked the Griquas.
Morne is ONE of those 12 BTW 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 170) : What were they thinking? 🙄