The Lions travel down to Durban for what is billed as the match of the weekend. There has been a fair amount of “sledging” on here in the build-up to this match. Let’s see who has to eat their words.
Who will be more affected by the loss of players?
Kick-Off in Durban at 17:05 SA Time.
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan
Touch judges: François Veldsman, Reuben Rossouw
TMO: Johann Meuwesen
Sharks: 15 Stefan Terblanche, 14 Chris Jordaan, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Odwa Ndungane, 10 Frederic Michalak/Ruan Pienaar, 9 Scott Mathie/Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Johann Muller (captain), 4 Albert van den Berg, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Skipper Badenhorst, 1 Deon Carstens.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Charl McLeod/Scott Mathie, 21 Riaan Swanepoel.
Lions: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Heini Gordon, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Ryno Benjamin, 10 Earl Rose, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Franco van der Merwe, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5 Gerhard Mostert, 4 Dewald Senekal, 3 Lawrence Sephaka, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Gert Muller, 18 Anton van Zyl, 19 Justin Wheeler, 20 Chris Jonck, 21 Michael Killian, 22 Dusty Noble.

I like the results of the poll on Sharksrugby.co.za a lot more than the result of our poll 😉
Yes 76.43%
No 16.61%
Too close to call 6.96%
560 votes have been cast.
TMO: Johann Meuwesen 🙄
Should be another 120 min odd game
We are Red we are White we are we are DYNAMITE !!!
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 3) :
Imitation is the best form of flattery 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 4) :
lol and where did the Sharks get that from…
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 5) :
Dunno. 😆
But i didn’t know the lions existed when i first heard that song so……………. 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 6) :
Thats cause they didn’t..They were Transvaal.. I recall hearing When the Reds come Marching but no idea.
You must try catch the game KSA , the Aussies played sublime rugby..The Deans factor has taken grip alot quicker than most thought it would.
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 7) :
Will make a point of watching it after our match.
Am keen to see the high tackle on Giteau
@KSA Shark © (Comment 8) :
By that standard, Thorn on Smit – Off and Mcdonald on Habana -Off
Lions are powerful animals who usually hunt in coordinated groups and stalk their chosen prey. However, they are not particularly known for their stamina – for instance, a lioness’ heart makes up only 0.57 percent of her body weight (a male’s is 0.45 percent of his body weight), whereas a hyena’s heart is close to 10 percent of its body weight. [59] Thus, although lionesses can reach speeds of 59 km/h (40 mph),[60] they can only do so for short bursts[61] so they have to be close to their prey before starting the attack. They take advantage of factors that reduce visibility; many kills take place near some form of cover or at night.[62] They sneak up to the victim until they reach a distance of approximately 30 metres (98 ft) or less
PK Sharks right in front 25m out.
Ruan going at goal
Over!!
3 – 0 Sharks
5min
Both teams dead set on running everything.
great tackle by Cobus Grobelaar on Botes and he forces the penalty as Botes holds on to the ball.
Rose going at goal from halfway
JUST short
Rose chips through but it is to hard and it goes touch in goal and they go back for Sharks scrum just outside their own 22.
Jannie Dup penalised for dropping the scrum
Rose has another shot at goal
Over!
3 – 3 Sharks 😉
12min
Lions offside in front of the kicker
Sharks opt for the points.
RP slots it
6 – 3 Sharks
14min
😳 scrum being reset for the 2nd time now.
Heinke is giving Jannie a working over in the scrums…proving once again that he is far and away the best scrumming loosehead in SA!
Lions spread it wide from the scrums on two occasions and looking more than okay both times.
benjamin tackled into touch inside the sharks half.
PK Sharks for Benjamin coming around a ruck before the ball was out
RP set up LO just outside the lions 22
clean take and spread
EXCELLENT REFEREEING by JK as RP gets caught with the ball and the lions player tackles him and then pulls the ball INTO RP and trying to claim RP is holding on and JK says “he’s not”
Sharks LO on the Lions 10m line
Sharks spread it wide and Jordaan caught on the far side as he knocks it on
Lions scrum
wish I was there but…………. 😥
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SSSSHHHHAAAARRRRKKKKKSSSS !
KSA need sms updates please :kiss:
Good Lions LO work undone by a forward pass.
Sharks get out of jail just outside their 22
6 – 3 25min
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 27) :
will do
Sharks get Fk from scrum and mathie takes a quicktap and then does NOTHING with it. 👿
Rose is growing on me , Im relly enjoying watching him play lately!
Lions win PK with some great rucking.
and again..knocked on.. 🙄
story of the Lions..
Please Baywatch me okay!
JK getting upset with his TJ.
obviously one of them told him Knock on or something over the radio but forgot to say by who.
JK: by who? By Who? BY WHO!? 😆
turns out is was the lions
30 minutes
6 – 3 Sharks
Come boys !!!!
mathie takes a quick drop out after a long kick by the lions, only to gift the lions the ball.
mcLeod on the field now please? Mathie is alsmot as kak as Mentz
Benji is catching !!!
Sharks saved by a lions knock 😳
Lions looking good at the mo.
mathie clears from his 22 at the back of the scrum.
Baywatch is exactly the kinda player we need against the Aussies.
PUNTE !!!
Rose 6 all
Botes takes the ball after it goes loose at the lions LO and once again a great tackle on him by Grobelaar forcing Botes to hold on and Lions win the PK as the Sharks all go off their feet trying to secure the ball.
Rose slots the PK
6 – 6 Lions 🙁
34min
Lions get PK on their 10m for botes doing the elbow ppushup position at the ruck.
Lions LO on our 22
Lions running it up from the LO and slowly gaining ground
5 or 6 phases now as they are 15m out and the ball is chipped. (wrong call IMO)
Sharks dot it down and go deep from the 22 drop out
There r some hotties in the crowd !
Sharks lose their own LO and on the Lions 22 as it is tapped back by the Sharks but taken by Alberts who runs the length to be caught 10cm from our line 😳
Fantastic run by Alberts..we gotta hold on to him.
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 45) :
Always Always and Kette ain’t even there 😉
$%&*((*^%£””£$%^&*()!”£$%^&*(“£$%^&* !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
knock-on with a overlap!!
WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sharks lose a Tight head in their 22 but manage to get it back and run it.
Into touch
Half time
Sharks 6 – 6 Lions
this is crap! From start to finish
@robdylan (Comment 51) :
we don’t know about the finish yet 😉
I think we finished stronger in the last 10 or 15 of the 1st half
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 53) :
MUCH STRONGER!!!
Heinke should be in the Bok side
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 55) :
He is certainly giving Jannie DuP a torrid time in the scrums.
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 55) :
I agree.
In fact Jake took with him last November for the Wales tour.
Snor cannot understand…anyway…
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 55) : Agree 100%. I have been saying this all the time!
Also the Sharks deserve what they get because they continue to select Skipper. Our lineout is a mess YET AGAIN!
Attendance 13659
Jannie is one of our better tightheads and Heinke is giving him a GOOD workout.
Oh MY WORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That was a nice white top 😯
@Villie (Comment 58) : I cannot understand how the coaches cannot see this or they can but still don’t do anything about it. It is just unfathomable!
Time on 2nd half
Lions are the far better side at the moment. We are a total mess. Shine up boys!!!
Stefan saves a certain try after some great backline spreading by the lions.
Sharks win PK and clear
Keegan and Beast on!
@Villie (Comment 64) :
once we have a scrum half on the field we will still win it.
Well bring MacLeod and Burden on then!
Deysel standing at 12 for our scrum and Strauss scrumming at 7
Sharks win PK at scrum
@Villie (Comment 68) :
AGREED!!!!!!!
Sharks scrum just inside the Lions 22 on the far side.
Mathie is so poor, its embarassing!
Sharks butcher a try and Vermaak clears from in goal
Just as i’m about to say great run by Grobelaar he messes it up with a wild long pass that is intercepted by Stefan
Stefan chips and Jordaan chases to catch Benjamin in his 22.
Sharks LO 20m out
Hi all. Another tired and lame performance by the Sharks in the CC. To all you Dick Muir detractors like TT, I hope you’re hanging your heads…
@Villie (Comment 72) :
it pisses me off when he tries to break and then 2 steps later realises it’s not on then instead of securing the ball he just passes and sells the guys on his outside.
score still locked at 6-all?
Mcleod ON!!!!!!!!!
@klempie (Comment 75) : Totally agree. DM was brilliant for the Sharks. He turned us around from the mess that Putt left us in!
@H.O. (Comment 77) :
Yip
6 – 6 Sharks 😉
52min
Sharks LO 25m out
tajken at the front and put on the boot.
benjamin takes and Lions spread it
odwa Ndungane win a PK for us by staying on his feet and trying to get the ball.
RP sets up a great LO for us with an excellent kick
@Villie (Comment 79) : Villie….this rugby just isn’t attractive. I haven’t even been really watching the last couple of games. Just flick over to see the score. It’s not the losing that disappoints me, it’s the not trying.
TMO pending for Sharks try
held up
Now gold stars for who the 2 commentators are shouting for..Tools!
RP going at goal
Over
9 – 6 Sharks
56min
Wepener forced into touch 5m from our tryline 😳
@KSA Shark © (Comment 80) :
dankie KSA Shark
No
@klempie (Comment 84) : Yeah must admit my enthusiasm has been waning. There is no structure or plan evident. And some of the selections are baffling. I cannot believe how we have gone so far downhill in little over a season (taking into account players away with the Boks). The skill levels are very poor!
😯 Sharks gifted a scrum on the lions line at Gordon slips and spills the ball.
give me strength!!!!!!!!!!
Brosnihan needs to rock off from commentary..crimes he is irritating!
Sykes on for Albert as we have a LO after the scrum.
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 96) :
AGREEED!!!!!!!!!!! He winds me up BIG TIME
Lions TRY by Alberts!!!!!!!
A sad sad situation for the Sharks!! 😡
How many Boks can we hope for now?? Frans Steyn and…yeah,sad man.
Fortunately for us the Lions are not any better!!
Except Alberts just scored.
PUNTE!!!
About bloody time!!!
Conversion missed by Rose
9 – 11 Lions
65min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 98) :
Sounds like he is commentating American football..
Can these commentators be anymore biased..worse than the Aussies!
i think we have just robbed the Lions of an LO as Stefan doesn’t own up to touching the ball after he let the ball bounce before going into touch
👿 moments of pathetic play with sprinkling of mediocrity here and there. 👿
9 – 11 Lions
70 min
Ill take winning ugly..sorry..you know Lion supporter and all 😎
Turnovers conceded
Sharks 12
Lions 5
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 107) :
😆 rather win ugly than lose 🙁
Jaco v Schalkwyk over cooks a kick and gives us a LO just on their 10m line
What a TRY…KEEGAN!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 110) :
He always screws things up for us!
Keegan Daniel TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
being refered to the TMO :phew!!!!!!:
Knocked ON !!!!
These Lions locks are damn decent players!
replay looks good to me, waiting for TMO
Brosnihan shut the F$%K UP !!!!!!!!!!
Try Awarded!!!!!!!!!!!
@Villie (Comment 115) :
And their loosies
RP Converts
16 – 11 Sharks
74min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 109) : Yes but it’s against the Lions. We can’t win the CC playing like this. The Bulls and Cheetahs will eat us alive. Fact.
Thats the 2nd time this season Jaco Van F&*K up screw things up for us!
Great intercept of a short pass by Rose gives the lions the ball again
@klempie (Comment 121) :
yip
@klempie (Comment 121) :
🙄
Lions FK at scrum for early engage by Sharks
tap and go and they are 10m out from our line
PK Lions
Set up 5m LO
clean take at the LO and they maul
77min
Why do the refs always provide a running commentary. Surely they shouldn’t have to tell the teams that the ball is out, the players should know that!
take it wide
we stop them
bring it short side again
and eventually we turn it over and clear.
No advantage after the kick is kak and we get a scrum for a Lions Knock
Scrum is 13m out from our tryline
78min
Sharks get the ball from the scrum and Stefan hoofs it out.
79min
LO Lions in our 22
I GIVE UP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
And we win it..with a POOR performance. Unlucky Lions!
spread wide from the LO
ruck and they recycle
Sharks intercept and run down field before being caught
eventually Lions knock on and it’s all over.
Well Done Sharks..Although I firmly believe we should have won that game.
man! That was crap!
Sharks 16 – 11 Lions
Well Done Lions you almost had us 🙁
Nobody should feel proud after that win
bad luck Lions – you deserved that one
KSA the Tri-Nation game is up next on Showsports.
KAK game…
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 138) : What is Showsports?
Another inept display from the Sharks in winning, another valiant display from the Lions in losing.
Deja vu. 🙄
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 138) :
thanks will be watching 😎
@robdylan (Comment 137) :
So here is the reason for my “win by 15 points” call.
I just figured that when I was being balanced all season, the Sharks played very poorly; maybe if I displayed completely unfounded optimism, they would surprise me.
Quite obviously my idea was as stupid as it sounds. 👿
@Big Fish (Comment 141) :
Spot on , the amount of times the Lions get into the 22 after some good play only to screw it up is frickin unbelievable!
Did the Sharks have their Boks back?
@Villie (Comment 140) :
http://www.showtimearabia.com/Default_en_gb.aspx
@KSA Shark © (Comment 142) :
No i won’t 👿
The compound only has Showsport 1 and 2. I see it is on Showsport 3 👿
Well done sharks. If theres one team i hate nearly as much as the bulls its the lions
@wpw (Comment 147) :
Hey, don’t hate the team coz you don’t smaak Hmmm 😉
@wpw (Comment 147) :
🙄 Make up your mind , just yesterday you said you were supporting the Lions.
Stefan Terblanche should do the honorable thing + retire
@wpw (Comment 147) :
Hey, thats not what you claimed the other day??? 😯
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 144) :
it certainly didn’t look like it 😳
CSB. KSA has hit the nail on the head… Its hmmm who happened to change me mind. 🙄
@CoffeeShopBok;-) (Comment 149) :
He is torn between hating the sharks supporters and loving the great Sharks branding 😉
CC FINAL – CHEETAHS VS THE BULLS
@wpw (Comment 153) :
You dissapoint me.. 🙁
Not all Lions supporters r like Hmmm..actaually its been my experience that most Lions fans are extremely likable 😉
Next wk we play the Kittys in Jhb. Eish…
Oh no I could not bear the thought of losing to weepee.. 😈
Ag CSB… I might decide to change my mind next week. Btw, did i tell u im a supporter of the team that wins the CC this year?
@wpw (Comment 159) :
Keeping your options open..nice 😐
@wpw (Comment 155) : Yup
Once again a disaster weekend for my bru predictions..
Righto chaps enjoy your evening, next week this time I’m in civilisation ..WOOOHOOOO bring it on!!
We threw this one away, very disapointing
Walter…ur backline was very disappointing. Especially their handling
@KSA Shark © (Comment 61) : i wasn’t wearing white tonight 👿 😯
shew, glad we managed to pull this one out of the bag, makes missing it for a family birthday slightly more liveable now 🙄 😆
Trust me kette, u didnt miss much. The game was actually quite boring…
@walter van transvaal.co.za (Comment 163) :
Only because we didn’t throw as hard as you guys.
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 165) :
Coulda sworn you were. Maybe the Webcam lens was dirty 😳
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 165) :
@KSA Shark © (Comment 169) :
😳 😳 😳